DmC: Devil May Cry Xbox 360

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1440 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 3, 2017
    9
    eu levei um susto quando eu vi a media do jogo no User Score, como assim 5.1? eu achei o jogo excelente, um Hack and Slash de primeira, tudo bem que teve a polemica do visual do Dante mudar, mais eu acredito que esse nao seja o motivo dessa nota tao baixa, o trabalho de voz é excelente, o grafico é bonito, a jogabilidade é muito boa, bem fluida, tem chefes muito grandes, alguns sao bemeu levei um susto quando eu vi a media do jogo no User Score, como assim 5.1? eu achei o jogo excelente, um Hack and Slash de primeira, tudo bem que teve a polemica do visual do Dante mudar, mais eu acredito que esse nao seja o motivo dessa nota tao baixa, o trabalho de voz é excelente, o grafico é bonito, a jogabilidade é muito boa, bem fluida, tem chefes muito grandes, alguns sao bem dificeis, o jogo tem uma jogabilidade boa, o antagonista do game é apenas ok, eu achei que ele deixou um pouco a desejar, o Dante continua um grande personagem, a trilha sonora é excelente, foi um jogo que foi muito bom passar o tempo, eu gostei demais. Nota 9.4 Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2016
    10
    I've put about 130 hours into this game (more than even DMC 3), getting triple S on all Dante Must Die (the hardest difficulty without a gimmick) missions. Still haven't gotten that for the expansion though, but someday I'm sure I will. Now this is an action game: to have hours played competing with an RPG is deserving of extreme praise.

    Everyone hates the main character (I think he's a
    I've put about 130 hours into this game (more than even DMC 3), getting triple S on all Dante Must Die (the hardest difficulty without a gimmick) missions. Still haven't gotten that for the expansion though, but someday I'm sure I will. Now this is an action game: to have hours played competing with an RPG is deserving of extreme praise.

    Everyone hates the main character (I think he's a great fit personally), but if you can get 130 hours out of an ACTION game, you really should not care about the story, or characters. The combat is most important.

    This game's combat is riveting, except maybe against the Ice knights. Fights are just far more intricate in this game than in the other Devil May Cry games. Hitting large groups at once, juggling enemies in the air, dodging in the air, parrying by attacking into an opponents attack. I like the combat in this DMC much better than in the others, but a big part of that is just having an easy to use dodge. Also, as I said, I got triple S (the highest score rank), but what I didn't add is that I did that without a lock-on system. You're really fine without it, unless you love the guns I guess.

    One thing I should note, and advise about, is that it is better not to figure out the key to each enemy type (I'm specifically thinking about the fat guys and the ninjas). You could just crush enemies by putting your key in the hole, but it is better to let the enemies fight back. Do not always fight just to get the high score, or easy kills. In this way, the game will be significantly more fun for those trying to get fun out of it, and less fun for the rest. Also, make an effort to keep your camera on the enemies, as only the ranged ones attack from off screen. This last thing is a major flaw in my opinion.
    Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2016
    9
    Devil May Cry uno de los juegos mas iconicos del PS2, por esa razón este juego obtuvo tanto hate por parte de los fans de Dante, se puede ver reflejado en la critica injusta de los usuarios, dividiendo a los fans en los que les gusto y a los que ni siquiera le dieron oportunidad. La verdad este juego logra ser impecable uno de los mejores Hack and Slash de la ultima década, un sistema deDevil May Cry uno de los juegos mas iconicos del PS2, por esa razón este juego obtuvo tanto hate por parte de los fans de Dante, se puede ver reflejado en la critica injusta de los usuarios, dividiendo a los fans en los que les gusto y a los que ni siquiera le dieron oportunidad. La verdad este juego logra ser impecable uno de los mejores Hack and Slash de la ultima década, un sistema de combate rápido y frenético, excelente soundtrack, buenos personajes y una trama seria en ocasiones muy bien lograda que a la vez parodia en forma de critica la sociedad actual, llena de empresarios y monopolios donde los medios de comunicación se encargan de desinformar a la gente. El nuevo Dante respeta demasiado al DMC 1 y DMC 3 siendo un chico inmaduro con gran sentido del humor. El reboot no era necesario, pero le sentó muy bien después de los mediocres Devil May Cry 4 y 2, ademas de lograr que el publico se interesa por la saga en general. Seria glorioso que Capcom mantuviera ambos universos. Excelente juego lo recomiendo seas o no fan de la saga. Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2016
    10
    This is the best Slasher of 2013. Best gameplay of the series and fantastic
    atmosphere. One big minus is a characters and story, but story was never best side of the franchise.
  5. May 7, 2016
    10
    I played Devil May Cry 4, but I like to new design of Dante. I enjoy this DmC more, I feel DMC4 a little boring and this is much more fun. The environment design is pretty awesome too.
  6. Mar 2, 2016
    8
    As a not diehard Devil May cry fan i enjoyed this game very much.The best of hack and slash.But the bad is that the Devil May Cry franchise has never been full hack and slash,had more puzzles and sharper story.I understand that the change of the main characters also brought some negativity,but overall i find this game amusing for me.
  7. Jan 31, 2016
    7
    DmC is a mixed bag. on one hand, it completely derails all of the fan favourite DMC characters, on the other, it makes the combat fun and engaging. first, lets go over the story, you play as Emo Dante who lives in a caravan, because why not, right? Dante gets greeted by Cardboard Kat, and Dante gets attacked by Demons, so Dante uses Ebony and Ivory, and Rebellion to fight his way out. thenDmC is a mixed bag. on one hand, it completely derails all of the fan favourite DMC characters, on the other, it makes the combat fun and engaging. first, lets go over the story, you play as Emo Dante who lives in a caravan, because why not, right? Dante gets greeted by Cardboard Kat, and Dante gets attacked by Demons, so Dante uses Ebony and Ivory, and Rebellion to fight his way out. then Dante meets his twin brother Vergil who tells Dante they should be a team to kill the Demon King Mundus, who killed their mother and imprisoned their father. So Dante goes around doing all the dirty work for Kat and Vergil. Before I continue, can i just ask why Capcom completely uprooted Dante and turned him into a Emo potty mouth douche bag? or why they derailed Vergils character? who barely does anything until the very end of the game? Sorry, but this game pissed me off, the only thing that holds this game up is the superb combat and mechanics, and even that does't compare to other hack'n'slash games out there. Don't pay full 60$ for this game, just pay 5$ or 10$, or better yet, buy the DMC HD Collection, you'll be happier with yourself. Expand
  8. Jan 4, 2016
    9
    The game looks stunning,Dante is really hot character,secondary characters look really nasty but awesome as well,the gameplay is fun when it comes to fighting with different weapons to extend combos,the platforming could of worked a bit better though.A game you'll probably have a blast with i know i did.
  9. Dec 19, 2015
    8
    Very addictive combat, if nothing else. If you've played devil may cry 4, or bayonetta, you'll feel right at home with this game. I loved bayonetta, but I have to say, this game edges it out in terms of action and visuals. It is almost on par with arkham city for action
  10. Dec 14, 2015
    6
    Pros:

    - The gameplay is sweet. Switching between angel and demon mode is pretty cool, and makes up some really cool combos. The combat is more realistic, too. - The level designs are visually stunning and definitely worth playing through. Limbo is really cool. - Bob Barbas and Mundus make cool villains. - Good story. Say what you want about the characters. They story was good. It
    Pros:

    - The gameplay is sweet. Switching between angel and demon mode is pretty cool, and makes up some really cool combos. The combat is more realistic, too.
    - The level designs are visually stunning and definitely worth playing through. Limbo is really cool.
    - Bob Barbas and Mundus make cool villains.
    - Good story. Say what you want about the characters. They story was good. It clearly rips off They Live however, but it's still worth playing through.
    - Good voice acting. It sounds more natural than the original, and even as a standalone game, its voice acting is pretty good.

    Cons:

    - No targeting system. It's really a pain in the ass when you're trying to kill one demon and end up shooting another. Also sometimes I would be in the air trying to Angel Dash to another platform, but the camera would auto target the demons in the previous platform and I would dash in the wrong direction and fall.
    - The characters are just awful. The good guys to be specific. Dante's redesign isn't too bad, but what's the point of making his hair black? They didn't do it for Vergil. It doesn't make any sense. His hair turns white in the end anyway. Alright, let's be frank. Dante is a mean-spirited douche, and lacks any charm and comes off as unapproachable. Vergil is a coward, talks like a weirdo and his motivations and goals don't make any sense. Kat is the dullest character (less dull than 4's Kyrie, though) in the game, and her backstory doesn't help make her interesting either. It's funny how we knew less about the classic Dante and he was still likable and interesting, but we know so much about the new Dante and he comes off as dull and annoying. Lesson: sometimes less is more. I think the worse part about the new Dante is that he's a try-hard version of the original. You can see the Ninja Theory was trying to make him appeal to everyone, both the general audience and the Devil May Cry fans, and they fail at it. I think I would've preferred Ninja Theory's original vision of Dante. You know, the really emo one. Just change his look, make his hair white and you could've had an interesting, emotionally unstable version of Dante. It could've been what Skyfall was to the 007 franchise. It's funny because the creator said that he didn't care what people thought about his Dante, but he clearly does and it shows. And Vergil... Oh my god. How can they make a character this bad?
    - The dialogue is terrible. Dante's interaction with the Succubus was the worst. You know, where they yell **** you" to each other three times. You can tell Ninja Theory had to completely scrap the idea of a PTSD Dante, and they had to write up something really quick. Only problem is it really shows. The dialogue is at its worst.
    - Dante's backstory doesn't work. For example, Dante being in conflict with his demon side and his human side? **** it. Let's make him a super-powered nephillim. An angel-demon hybrid. But let's still have him questioning his humanity for some reason. Seriously, Ninja Theory, either you're trying to make him different from the original or you're trying to make him similar. Choose one. Or if you're trying to do both, at least make it consistent. Making Dante a nephillim was pretty creative, but having him do things the original demon-human hybrid is just weird. Also, Dante was apparently tormented by demons. Then why isn't he more like the original vision than the wise cracking, badass classic? Changing Dante's backstory and trying to make him more like the classic? Nope. Just makes the character worse and less interesting.
    - The ending is **** The conflict is so forced. Seriously, Vergil, who was willing to sacrifice Kat for Dante, tries to kill his brother. Oh, he needed his brother to defeat Mundus but now he doesn't need him anymore, you say? Vergil could've done this whole job himself. Don't bull**** me. He is both "smart" and strong. He didn't even need Dante. They just wanted to make Vergil the bad guy and set up a sequel. I mean can you imagine Vergil being a villain in the next game? Mundus was a good villain because they make him out to be an **** throughout the game, but in the end they put a twist in it. Mundus explains his ideals; what would happen if humanity had freedom. And you actually feel sorry for Mundus because our **** protagonists killed his child. Vergil would be the worst villain. He's whiny, stupid and his character traits are more inconsistent than Dante's.

    Story- 8/10
    Main Characters - 1/10
    Gameplay - 8.5/10
    Level Design - 9/10
    Dialogue - 2/10
    Voice Acting - 7.5/10
    Villains - 7/10
    Creativity (As a Reboot) - 4/10
    Overall - 5.875/10, so basically 6/10

    This game is worth your time. It's not as bad as some people it out to be, but it's not as good either as others make it out to be. But you should definitely play it. Sure, the characters and dialogue are terrible, but there are still good aspects in the game. The gameplay and design are the best aspects. So yeah, give it a shot.
    Expand
  11. Dec 2, 2015
    8
    Really enjoyed this, I mean I can get why people were hating the new take on Dante and Virgil, I hated the whole hipster look and attitude and the girl was very irritating. However the fighting system was simple enough to get into but getting more abilities could up the challenge of combo moves which made fighting enjoyable. The last boss sucked big time but most of the others wereReally enjoyed this, I mean I can get why people were hating the new take on Dante and Virgil, I hated the whole hipster look and attitude and the girl was very irritating. However the fighting system was simple enough to get into but getting more abilities could up the challenge of combo moves which made fighting enjoyable. The last boss sucked big time but most of the others were amazing, and some of Dantes dialogue was actually pretty funny, the fanboys will always cry when something in 'their' game changes, I hated this game when it was first announced myself but found it much later on sale a while after it had been out and was very surprised when i played it, I completed it three times and will probably buy it again for the Xbox One. Basically, don't make the same mistake as me and judge the game before playing it. Expand
  12. Nov 20, 2015
    6
    DmC: Devil May Cry has got to be the worst entry in the series, reboot or not; nothing seen in this game relates to the original series other than character, weapons, items and location names.

    The story is as basic as any modern day game with no effort placed into it; the characters that are borrowed from the original series have no relation to who they originally were. Dante, or in my
    DmC: Devil May Cry has got to be the worst entry in the series, reboot or not; nothing seen in this game relates to the original series other than character, weapons, items and location names.

    The story is as basic as any modern day game with no effort placed into it; the characters that are borrowed from the original series have no relation to who they originally were. Dante, or in my case "Jerry" as I call him, is more of a lazy character who complains about everything and cares only for himself; Vergil somewhat is like his original but isn't as smart as the original; Mundus, now with a incorrect pronounced name, has been butchered from evil demon to business man whose boss battle is far less entertaining and challenging than the original. Apart from this, Kat, who is new in this game, is somewhat helpful but only appears when the plot needs her.

    The gameplay is still intact with its combo craziness and honestly, it works here as it did within the originals; the weapons included are at best alright but i rarely use the grenade gun or the scythe. Enemies are mixed to plain boring in terms of attacks; one enemy called the Witch shields herself with a bubble that can only be destroyed through angel weapons and can shield a random enemy should the player focus attention on another threat, it's annoying. Worst addition is the colour-coded enemies, use angel weapons against blue and demon against red, it breaks the combo.

    Graphics look decent but I've seen better (DMC4); music is usually a strong point for me in a review but just like the story, it's cheap; rather than using official music, Capcom decided to go with licensed music from Combichrist. I'm not saying Combichrist music sucks, just using a lot of licensed music in a game just proves how bad the company truly is as well as how lazy they were; I loved the original music from all four previous games.

    Ninja Theory developed this game for western audience, fair enough, but why change something that didn't need changing in the first place? This game doesn't deserve the title of Devil May Cry; terrible story and rebooted characters but alright if it was its own standalone game with no relation to the Devil May Cry series I know and love.

    All DMC fans approach with caution; any non-DMC fan may find some enjoyment within this game but overall - 6/10
    Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2015
    6
    It's ok too casualized for my taste though, wish we got DMC4 combat where getting an S felt great and wasn't easy as it is here. I also wish that the character wasn't a self insert from the developer and we got the real dante instead.
  14. Oct 26, 2015
    7
    This game is insane and cool! But even Nero a Devil May Cry that I hate, has more personality than this fake Dante, the storyline of this game can be ignored but I loved the gameplay and the mechanics, but I still prefer the old Dante, he brings me a good nostalgia.
  15. Jun 26, 2015
    8
    I went in to this game with fairly high expectations, and i went out satisfied with the game. With some complaints of the weak story, weak characters and such other. But hey, this is DMC we are talking about, since when has strong characters and story been a selling point for the series? The main selling point of this series has always been the fast paced combat and the ability to play theI went in to this game with fairly high expectations, and i went out satisfied with the game. With some complaints of the weak story, weak characters and such other. But hey, this is DMC we are talking about, since when has strong characters and story been a selling point for the series? The main selling point of this series has always been the fast paced combat and the ability to play the game after your own style. Although they did remove the style system from earlier games, the combat is still very fluid and fun to play. They have added in a fluent weapon switching system (thank god) as i felt the previous system was clunky and hard to switch in combat. I also feel like Ninja Theory did a good move with moving all the combat to Limbo, which allowed some of the best level design i have ever seen in a Hack N Slash game. Dante also moves more realistically in combat compared to the earlier games. Although a lot of people complained that the game is too easy, they probably only played it on Nephilim (Hard) and did not take the time to play/unlock the higher difficulties, because that is where the challenge lies. You can complain about how they changed Dante, Since i played the earlier DMC games, i got very confused when Dante screams "NO" when he is thrown out the window. But then again, we play this game for the combat, and they managed to nail that in a good way. Then there is the whole DLC known as Vergils Downfall. I didnt care for the story much, i found the combat system very fun to use. The only major complaints i have about it is that the level design is weaker than the main game, the campaign is a bit too short, only 6 missions, and you cant play Vergil in the Bloody Palace. I would have also loved some weapon variety from Vergil other than just his katana, Yamato. Other than these flaws i found the game very enjoyable, and i am still playing it to this very day Expand
  16. Jun 6, 2015
    2
    Well i gotta say, i gave it a shot. I'll admit that i wasn't a big fan of the character design changes, but with the new skins you can download i figured heck that's an easy fix. Its the gameplay that cant be fixed though, and it was terrible.

    I can say, i hate Dante's new attitude, and there where a few key moments where if i where in the room with him in a few instances, for example
    Well i gotta say, i gave it a shot. I'll admit that i wasn't a big fan of the character design changes, but with the new skins you can download i figured heck that's an easy fix. Its the gameplay that cant be fixed though, and it was terrible.

    I can say, i hate Dante's new attitude, and there where a few key moments where if i where in the room with him in a few instances, for example when he would act like a hard ass to that spray paint girl, who was the victim of sexual preditors and all that, I would have had to wup his ass. I have a pretty short patience for that sort of conduct. Which is why it makes a good bad guy charector, not so much a hero. It reflects a type of insecurity with a person who is struggling with his manhood and feels that they need to prove their strong every chance they can, which are qualities i dont find suitable in a hero. BUT, those things are easy to ignore because their fictional and you can skip cut scenes.

    It was the dumbed down fighting and rediculous "alternate demention dreemland" bullcrap that ruined the game for me. I like having to learn every combo to perfection in order to getting super stylishes and stuff. I DON'T like being given them for using the same move over and over, and then being forced to use certain combos in repition on certain enemies. I felt like i was just mashing buttons most of the time. and WAY TO GO with just trumping stinger with the grappling hooks.

    Why is everyone obsessed with alternate universes anyway? Screw dreamland. It's too easy to write the whole thing off as just an illusion. They had a good plot with the media being controlled by demons, why didnt they just have the demons manipulating footage and altering peoples memories with that soda and hypnosis, and have everything happening in the drudges of reality, the back allys where people dont go because their so dangerous. I dont know about other people, but my work takes me into these hell pits and dark allys here on earth, and it wouldnt be hard to convince someone they where controlled by demons lol. Thats kinda where the myths and legends came from in the first place. so why muddle that with some fantasy dream trip?

    Its bad when Men In Black has a better plot that something you've written. and its even worse when you steal the mechanics of a game *cough*castlevania LOS*cough* that based its mechanics of off the game that you are remaking, which was the trail blazing bar setting masterpiece written in video game history. And its even worse when you make those mechanics choppy and slow, to the point where the player has to take his time while playing rather than fry his brain creating combos.

    bottom line, its a fun game. The attitude of Dante will make your blood boil, and the fighting mechanics get a little monotonous, and you spend all of your time in dream world cause demons dont exist in the real world, but all that aside you can have fun playing the game. I'll tell you what, it makes you feal really good at video games though. cause its a very easy game to beat.
    Expand
  17. Mar 15, 2015
    0
    This is not a Devil May Cry. NT totally ruined title with this reboot. This game looks like bad parody of original games with poor combat system, bad protagonist etc. I want to forget this shame and I hope we'll never see a sequel/prequel/whatever of this crap.
  18. Feb 12, 2015
    10
    Simply one of the best Hack-n-Slash games ever made. If you don't like this game, you either A, don't enjoy the genre, or B, you're an old DmC fanboy that has a problem with the series getting a much needed overhaul. Everything about this game is awesome. The art is insanely cool. The music matches the style and pace perfectly. The combat is smart, fun, and challenging (as long as you'reSimply one of the best Hack-n-Slash games ever made. If you don't like this game, you either A, don't enjoy the genre, or B, you're an old DmC fanboy that has a problem with the series getting a much needed overhaul. Everything about this game is awesome. The art is insanely cool. The music matches the style and pace perfectly. The combat is smart, fun, and challenging (as long as you're playing on the harder settings) and the new Dante is way cooler. The only part I didn't like was the "F*** You" line. But other than that I loved the new characters. If you like Bayonetta and old DmC games but aren't a stupid fanboy, you must play this game. I literally have play almost every game in the genre and I can honestly say that this game is near perfect. Ninja Theory hit this one out of the park. I only hope the dumb old DmC fanboys don't ruin the chances of a sequel for us real gamers. Expand
  19. Feb 10, 2015
    7
    Gameplay 4.5/5 doesn't get perfect score because the lack of a lock on feature other games in series had. Combat had good flow combos were a little to easy to string together though.

    Boss Fights: 5/5 best boss fights in the series Level Design 5/5 Levels offered a variety of challenges. I love running though the stages as the ground you were standing on morphed and jumped to
    Gameplay 4.5/5 doesn't get perfect score because the lack of a lock on feature other games in series had. Combat had good flow combos were a little to easy to string together though.

    Boss Fights: 5/5 best boss fights in the series

    Level Design 5/5 Levels offered a variety of challenges. I love running though the stages as the ground you were standing on morphed and jumped to different locations. Lots of really awesome stage hazards too.

    Story 3/5 story is decent at best but the story has never been a strong point for this series. Only real issue is the length the game seems shorter then previous installments.

    Characters 2/5 All the characters are less likable then the previous installments in the game series. I despise the main character and that's not a good thing. They kept trying to mix old Dante's personality with the new version and it was offsetting. The even went far enough to insult their old clients that built their franchise, by poking fun at the old character designs.

    Difficulty: 3/5 the game was a lot easier then previous games. However once you unlock the mode where you die in one hit, its not so easy anymore regardless of what anyone tells you.

    overall id say 7/10 I would give it a higher score but
    -the character design
    - and the developers attitude towards the old fans left a bad taste in my mouth.
    I own all 4 games in the series and the reboot.... IF you want to know how id order them best to worst. here it is.

    1'st: DEVIL MAY CRY #3
    2'nd: DEVIL MAY CRY #4
    3'rd: DMC
    4'th: DEVIL MAY CRY #1
    5'th: DEVIL MAY CRY #2
    Expand
  20. Feb 8, 2015
    5
    I'll start with the conclusion: this game's pretty bad. And I'm not even a DMC fanboy... I only got into DMC with DMC3 back in 2005, and I decently enjoyed DMC4.

    - Story is bland, rehashes DMC3's plot along with DMC1's, and the ending is very similar to DMC4, only with a more negative or neutral connotation rather than 100% positive. Weird inconsistencies that cause the entire story to
    I'll start with the conclusion: this game's pretty bad. And I'm not even a DMC fanboy... I only got into DMC with DMC3 back in 2005, and I decently enjoyed DMC4.

    - Story is bland, rehashes DMC3's plot along with DMC1's, and the ending is very similar to DMC4, only with a more negative or neutral connotation rather than 100% positive. Weird inconsistencies that cause the entire story to lose cohesion, such as when Dante's local strip club suddenly has no memory of him, and he's not on the list of approved guests, even though he was there at the start of the game.

    - The writing is hamfisted and you can clearly tell the game tries too hard to be cool. Edginess. Edginess everywhere: 'f*** you', 'me a God VS you a piece of s***', one boss trying to puke on you while saying f*** you, Bill O'Reilly ripoff calling you a ''little S-word''. Mundus's concubine saying ''the world is at last your b-word... as am I'', which not only makes no sense since she was always his b-word, but her saying that was completely irrelevant to the situation and tasteless. It felt like the concubine was explaining her relation to Mundus to you, which was unnecessary and makes for a terrible script.
    Devil Trigger gives you red veins and... white hair? What happened to the white hair joke of ''never in a million years''? Blatant fanservice even though the fans were blasted and insulted multiple times by Ninja Theory.

    - Gameplay has done away with lock-on function, limiting your combo potential since you have no directional input combos anymore. Some enemies can only be killed with certain weapons, which limits your combo potential too, and it's annoying when you're accidentally another enemy with the wrong weapon (no lock-on, remember?)
    You can button-mash your way through all battles, still being able to get high 'S' scores. You just need to damage enemies, you don't need to be stylish while doing it, which was a Devil May Cry staple.
    The game has nowhere near as many combos as DMC3 and DMC4, and the attacks are visually underwhelming. Sound effects are equally weak.
    You're often forced to fight in the air. Guns are underpowered just like Angelic weapons, and demonic weapons destroy the entire freaking world.

    - Enemy design is interesting, but utlimately every enemy looks too much alike, and their attacks are often very similar too. I also felt that enemies could've used a bit more color and more imaginative designs than just 'demonic porcelain puppet with chainsaw attached to shoulder'. Designs like Berial and Credo from DMC4, and DMC3's bosses are just way better. Getting past enemies' defenses often comes down to wailing on them with an overpowered demonic weapon. Angelic weapons are weak as hell.
    All bosses can be beaten in pretty much the same way; get behind/beside them with platforming, wail on them, rinse and repeat.

    - Cutscenes can be overly 'emo', even though that wasn't the angle the game was going for. Things like Dante looking for his 'heart' (emotions and humanity) by cutting himself open and checking if he still had his literal heart... it's just stupid and childish and incredibly cliché.

    - Graphics are okay, characters look pretty realistic, though level design color gets annoying after a while, since everything's just red, red, red. And then blue, blue, blue. Green, blue, orange. ''Alright, level design = finished. Great job, everyone!''

    I almost feel obligated to rate this game lower just because of Ninja Theory's insulting comments that old Dante isn't cool anymore, as though taste is now suddenly objective. As though they get to decide what we should think. Comparing old superhero-ish Dante to the cowboys from Brokeback Mountain lying in a grassy field... no. Just no. That was a blatant attempt to make old Dante look lame, and they took a boring picture to represent that. I even got the feeling that they were insinuating Dante was gay (probably not though), and I guess homosexuality is synonymous with 'uncool' nowadays.

    The game is mediocre. It rips off the movie They Live, it's got a half-baked conspiracy story, boring characters, it mashes DMC3 and DMC1's plots together, and it doesn't really feel like Devil May Cry. Its gameplay is restrictive and sometimes very dull. I can't believe a Devil May Cry game from 2013 is actually worse than DMC3, from 2005. Yeah, it's better than DMC1, because DMC1 wasn't very good yet, it was just scraps of RE4. Besides, it was a 2001 game. Any reviewer worth their paycheck can't compare this to DMC1. If they *must* compare it to anything (I honestly hate comparing new games to old games), compare it to the best in the series, DMC3.

    And no, the fans can't be the cause of DmC's financial failure. The fanbase is far too small and fluid to make much of a difference. DmC was made for a huge, western audience, and it was supposed to sell great regardless of the fanbase. It only sold 1.1 million. Even general gamers didn't like it. Glad to hear DMC5 is a possibility now.
    Expand
  21. Dec 23, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Where to start about this game? Well first off I want to say that DMC fans don't dislike this game because ''they don't like change''. If that were true, DMC would've died years ago, since each DMC has been pretty different from the last. Each Dante was different too. I'll explain just why this game fails objectively and subjectively.

    The plot isn't all that logical. Mundus (the demon king) wants to control the world through debt, but... why, exactly? Because he hates humans? He wants them to be enslaved? And why would he want that? Why not kill them altogether in his demon form, or let other demons do it for him? Where did this Mundus even come from, and why would he send demons after Dante if Dante never posed a threat? Mundus didn't even know about Vergil, so it's possible Dante would just leave Mundus alone.
    The plot, in my opinion, is kinda childish. Like somebody else said, it's a typical 'corporations are evil, government is bad' story.
    The characters are pretty unremarkable, not likable. Kat goes from shy to annoying and passive-aggressive in the blink of an eye. Vergil comes across as whiny and generally insane. If we're supposed to feel bad about his fight with Dante and his fall from grace and transformation into a wannabe dictator... well... I don't. It doesn't work because Vergil was unlikable in the first place. He stabs people in the back, shoots them in the stomach and lets it sink in... he's honorless.
    Dante is an uncaring and obnoxious guy. His character would've worked better if it allowed for drama; if Dante's demeanor were contrasted with bouts of emotionality. As it is, Dante never inspires you to love him or to laugh at any jokes he makes. He's unethical and disturbed just like Vergil, and that never really changes.
    And the plot ending makes little sense. Dante decides, based on his interactions with Kat (who was useless, ran away, got caught, etc) that humans can rule themselves and aren't useless in any way. Why is Kat a character when Dante could just interact with local humans? Maybe some humans could be part of the Order, so that Dante can get to know humans better? Naah, of course not, that would make too much sense. Vergil's revelation that he wanted to rule the humans (with Dante) wasn't a revelation... we already knew he had plans, it was telegraphed multiple times in overly obvious ways.

    The gameplay's poor. You've got no styles, which means fewer moves than in DMC3 and 4. You've got no lock-on mechanism, making you randomly target enemies (usually the one closest to you, though). The angel weapons are underpowered, while the demon weapons are overpowered. Some enemies force you to use angel/demon weapons only, which limits your combos. Those weapons just don't have large enough movesets.
    Almost every combo finisher sends enemies flying, meaning you're forced to use the Demon Pull or Angel Lift if you want to keep attacking.
    The bosses are so easy it's insulting, and it comes down to being forced to exploit their weaknesses with platforming. Devil Trigger only makes it even easier because it's a slow time function.
    Platforming, by the way, isn't platforming at all. It requires no skill, and little timing. All you do is press the same button over and over.
    Overall, the game's too easy. You get SSS rankings like candy.

    The soundtrack and the acting are okay, not much else. The guy voicing Vergil sounds believable, if a bit annoying. Tim Phillips (Dante) sounds thoroughly bored, even when the writing tells him to be shocked or angry. When he yells, he sounds like he doesn't mean it... just bad acting. The best voice actor would be the one who voiced Kat, whom I can find very few faults with.
    The music is okay, though like the game, overly edgy. It comes across as trying too hard, and it would've been nice if it were more like songs rather than anthems.

    Graphics are nice, it looks surreal and menacing. That said, all the color and contrastlessness (yeah a new word) really got to me. Got a nice headache souvenir from Limbo. The characters sometimes look weird too - Kat's face shape seems to change with each cutscene, and V&D occasionally look like mannequins or something.

    I don't see why this game gets high grades from some people. It's not even as good as DMC3, a game from 2005. Bayonetta 2 is far superior to DmC in almost every way, and in the end, it's more similar to DMC too. DmC threw everything (except gameplay) that defined Devil May Cry in the trash. And yeah, I am a DMC fan, but that also makes me a good critic of new products in the franchise. I advise you not to support this game. Get the HD Collection and DMC4 if you want a 'fix'. This game's only decent.
    Expand
  22. Dec 21, 2014
    8
    A really solid HnS game. Nice visuals, and an intriguing storyline.

    If you're looking for a game you can spend some time just blowing off stress with, here you go
  23. Dec 19, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As I started playing, I was hopeful about its quality. I'm not a fanboy; I see many flaws in DMC too, though it knew what it was doing.

    First, its story is incredibly juvenile. It's a plot that mirrors the Illuminati conspiracy theory. Aside from that, it also criticizes capitalism in a very hamfisted way, with Dante scoffing at billboards and slapping a can of energy drink out of somebody's hand. Mundus, the leader of Limbo, is a demon who's a corrupt businessman who 'controls the world through debt'. No idea how that works, and it's never explained either. Mundus's motives are not explained, and there is no backstory on him either. He could just merge the demon world with the humans' and let their world get overrun by demons, but I guess he never thought of that.
    Dante meets his twin (whom he doesn't recognize even though he looks exactly like him), and is told that their father was banished by Mundus. That somehow motivates Dante to defeat Mundus, even though he had no interest to before, and he has no reason to avenge his father either, since he never knew him and has no connection to him ideologically or emotionally. Vergil and Dante never try to find out what exactly happened to their father, or even if he's alive.
    Somewhere along the line, Vergil shoots Mundus's wife through the stomach to kill both her and her child. It doesn't matter that that woman was a demon, it's still immoral. Dante simply reacts shocked, but shrugs it off fairly quickly - he even rubs it in when he meets Mundus. Throughout the game, the words 'f*ck you' are repeated at least six times, as though it's supposed to make you angry, but it only comes across as though the game tries to be as edgy as possible. It's very cliché.

    The characters are one-dimensional. Kat does nothing but complain, gets captured and serves mainly as a plot progresser. Instead of being a strong female character like Trish, Kat is portrayed as a useless but cute girl. Vergil comes across as overly emotional, and he wants to replace Mundus as a dictator, simply because ''humans are weak''. Vergil also looks contradictory. He's got a posh Homburg hat, but he also wears a black coat with a blue floral pattern type of thing. His behavior is equally confused. At the end of the game, Kat reassures Dante that ''I know exactly who you are - you're Dante''. First off, she still doesn't know him well, and secondly, the hints at a romantic relationship make no sense. If anything, she seems to harbor feelings for Vergil, which are never discussed again.
    Dante himself is like an obnoxious football hooligan or something. He comments that he's ''Dante the demon killer'', and every time he smiles, it's like a smirk. The transformation from a-hole to likable, flamboyant trash-talker I had hoped for is not there. He is unlikable.

    The gameplay is almost as bad, though thankfully the Capcom team worked on it too. The game has half as many combos as DMC4 did. The styles were removed. The lock-on function was removed, which means you're flailing at enemies Dante decided to target. There's enemies who can't be hurt by your normal weapons, so you're forced to switch to demonic or angelic weapons - which severely limits your combo potential in groups of enemies. Some enemies can only be defeated by grappling toward them.
    The boss fights are far too easy and rely on shallow platforming elements. One of the weapons is so overpowered you can kill bosses in a few hits, while also racking up style points. Some of the weapons have essentially the same function in combat, and the Aquila is only useful for disabling weak enemies so you can focus on a strong one.
    The gameplay can still be fun, there's still a little comboing potential. But with all the boring, shallow platforming in between fights (consisting of grappling onto ledges over and over), that doesn't help much.

    The enemy design is lackluster; instead of having anime-like demons with elements from human mythology, we now have enemies like Poison, who looks like a huge caterpillar. The only demon who I thought looked decent was Bob Barbas. His fight was nice. Still, I can't help but facepalm at the juvenile comparison to a Fox News anchor. Just because Fox News is stupid doesn't mean it's evil or tries to control the world. It's hamfisted.

    The graphics are okay, but most levels consist of one color; it goes from red to blue to green. But, there was an upside down realm, which looked great.

    The soundtrack gets your blood pumping sometimes, but it's edgy and not too varied.

    Overall, the presentation is hamfisted, the characters unlikable and shallow, the gameplay bland and two steps down from previous DMCs, the acting mediocre, the dialogs ridiculous, the soundtrack decent, and the graphics too colorful and monochromatic (but creative and epic). The game doesn't feel like Devil May Cry either; the characters and story are different, and there's no real horror or anime style. Skip this game, wait for DMC4: Special Edition.
    Expand
  24. Oct 31, 2014
    6
    Before i go off on a rant, can i ask why reboot a great series like DMC? Capcom has been failing with Resident Evil since their master piece with 4, 5 and 6 (especially 6 since 5 had some redeeming factors but not enough to make it a good game) have been terrible.

    Anyways onto the game. It follows this "new" Dante and Vergil in this new world controlled by demons. From the original
    Before i go off on a rant, can i ask why reboot a great series like DMC? Capcom has been failing with Resident Evil since their master piece with 4, 5 and 6 (especially 6 since 5 had some redeeming factors but not enough to make it a good game) have been terrible.

    Anyways onto the game. It follows this "new" Dante and Vergil in this new world controlled by demons. From the original series Dante was born a demon and a human woman. In the new game he is born from a angel and demon. Okay i can go with that, changes it a bit but not enough to think this is a bad game right? Wrong

    From here we find out that Dante has been changed from a witty badass to this uninteresting younger irresponsibly version of himself. He has no love for humans, he basically wants to sit in his trailer and cry about his past. So right off the bat hes an unlikable character. One of the opening cut scenes is him flying though the air getting dressed while a piece of pizza covers him up. He eventually changes his mind about humanity and voes to protect him, but all throughout the game hes not the same Dante we have known for years. There is even a pun at the old Dante, why? All Ninja Theory is doing is alienating the fans even more. We LIKED old Dante, and didn't want him to change. So why say F the fans for wanting the old Dante back?

    Now we meet up with Vergil, our twin brother we just find out, and hes no better then Dante. Hes annoying and whinny just like Dante, and hes supposed to want to rule the humans but its never really explained why except for "I'm better then them" In the original series Vergil wanted power, more specifically the power of the dark knight Sparta, his father. Its all out there and explained. Here its not explained and I'm sure as a fan we just didn't care either.

    Onto the art style. There's no denying this game looks great. The limbo world you visit looks stunning. Each enemy looks good and resemble a manikin(I'm assuming they were inspired from the original game) and they all look really cool. All the bosses looked stunning, they took a lot of time to design each environment and it shows.

    Onto the combat. In DMC4 you were able to switch from your devil arms and guns freely and using the d-pad you could switch from what style you wanted to use, similarly in DCM3 you could select between 2 guns and devil arms at the start of each level and you could switch freely between those. In DMC (the reboot) you only get rebellion. On certain trips to limbo you are able to use rebellion on certain painting and upgrade it to demonic or angelic weapons and depending on what button combination you old you can switch freely between them in combat. Now where this isn't the worst way to switch weapons in a action game, I don't get why you cant just cycle though it instead of having to hold a single button just to do a combo. The guns themselves are a joke, the weakest they have ever been in a DMC game, I don't think i even used them once. Combat itself feels quiet shallow. Basic SSS attacks is all you need to kill most basic enemies.

    This being a modern Hack and Slash game it has a ranking system, but its the most forgiving system Ive seen especially in a DCM game. There is no real punishment for using the same combo frequently and your rank will only go down if you get hit, it is no longer based on time.

    Another questionable decision was to remove targeting from the game. On harder difficulties targeting is a necessity to easily get rid of the weakened and easier mobs or to focus down one harder mob, like a Blitz from DMC 4. Why remove something that is in every action game and every DMC game before this?

    Overall looking past the fact of the reboot and on its own individual game, it has a few things that make it a okay game. The environments and enemies both look good. The combat is shallow and not very rewarding, but not bad either. The story and characters are both awful.

    If you look at this game as a standalone, separate from the original DMC games it isn't a terrible game, it just isn't good either.
    Expand
  25. Aug 20, 2014
    0
    Quite possibly the worst game in the franchise. Even worse than Devil May Cry 2 from the original series. The storyline and dialogue sound like it was written by a five-year old, and don't even get me started on the color-coated enemies. Just whose idea was it to make color-coded enemies and weapons?! The boss fights do not live up to their name, either. I also can't believe that theQuite possibly the worst game in the franchise. Even worse than Devil May Cry 2 from the original series. The storyline and dialogue sound like it was written by a five-year old, and don't even get me started on the color-coated enemies. Just whose idea was it to make color-coded enemies and weapons?! The boss fights do not live up to their name, either. I also can't believe that the critics here gave this game a score of 86. That really shows how quality of gaming is going down the drain. Also, this new version of Dante looks and acts like a womanizing crackhead who also does meth. Also, when the hell are you going to introduce angels as a plot point, when we don't see any during the entire game? Except for Eva, and of course, Vergil, whom don't even count because they're basically giant lawn gnomes that do nothing. Yes, Vergil does nothing, even if he's a playable character at one point. Long story short, there should be a hell of a lot of holy fire going on, but I'm not seeing any of it. This game did nothing to live up to it's hype, and all it did was injure my wallet. Expand
  26. Aug 16, 2014
    8
    In my opinion, the most important thing in a game is the gameplay, and I liked that in this game. It is true that the story is not very interesting and it gets boring at some parts, but I do not care about it, because the gameplay makes me feel that I am "The Boss". I finished the game like four times because I wanted to play every game difficulty and complete every secondary mission and IIn my opinion, the most important thing in a game is the gameplay, and I liked that in this game. It is true that the story is not very interesting and it gets boring at some parts, but I do not care about it, because the gameplay makes me feel that I am "The Boss". I finished the game like four times because I wanted to play every game difficulty and complete every secondary mission and I did not get tired. Expand
  27. Jul 22, 2014
    0
    This is the **** game I have ever seen ever in 15 years of gaming. Whoever gives money to the **** at Ninja Theory studio, know that I will find you and **** on your face.

    I wanted to vomit after seeing the trailer and kill myself after seeing some gameplay.

    This is the truth, I am not exxagerating. Peace out!
  28. ECU
    Jul 17, 2014
    8
    DmC does nearly everything right. Fast action, cool characters, dynamic levels they are all great and well tought. But there are some minor issues too. There are few too many platforming levels and they are not working well. This is an action game so controls and camera are designed for slashing, not for jumping around trying to land on the perfect spot. But the point where the game trulyDmC does nearly everything right. Fast action, cool characters, dynamic levels they are all great and well tought. But there are some minor issues too. There are few too many platforming levels and they are not working well. This is an action game so controls and camera are designed for slashing, not for jumping around trying to land on the perfect spot. But the point where the game truly shines is level design. All levels follow the same design elements though they are never dull or repetitive. Fighting your way through a dynamicly changeing level is too fun to miss out. Expand
  29. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    This is a fantastic game. The game play is amazing. The level design is one of the best I've ever seen. The only criticism I have for this game is that it was on the easier side, for the first play through at least. The difficulty of course ramps up as the harder modes are unlocked. As for the characters, I for one liked them but i'm guessing that many didn't that's why they are judgingThis is a fantastic game. The game play is amazing. The level design is one of the best I've ever seen. The only criticism I have for this game is that it was on the easier side, for the first play through at least. The difficulty of course ramps up as the harder modes are unlocked. As for the characters, I for one liked them but i'm guessing that many didn't that's why they are judging this game entirely on subjective terms. Expand
  30. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    Yes it takes a bit of a darker tone with Dante, but come on. The visuals are amazing, the voice acting is alright, the combat was awesome, and who could forget Combichrist! I can literally sum up what I loved most about the game with one word. Combichrist!
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    85
    A worthy rebirth of the franchise as it possesses fast-paced chaotic action, which is diversified by the several weapons that make up Dante’s arsenal, an engaging soundtrack, and a story worthy of the DmC franchise.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Beyond the near-perfect controls and satisfying combat, Ninja Theory has clearly sweated the game's atmosphere and visuals.
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    Ninja Theory have against all odds created something fresh; a creatively superb and in places fantastic action adventure game. It will not be for everyone and is certainly more mainstream than previous efforts but DMC is a rip roaring start to 2013.