User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1365 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    Great game, haters aside the new DMC is a great game, solid gameplay and a well told plot, also an awesome design, from foes till scenery details all have a great design, worth buy!!
  2. Jan 26, 2013
    8
    DMC is an excellent combination of old and new. You've got stylish action and the B movie vibe while mixing things up for a more interesting narrative and fun combat that doesn't require you to memorize a list of move sets. The campaign is short but you'll have fun.
  3. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    A thoroughly enjoyable game, the combat is smooth with only a few minor flaws and feels refreshing yet slightly familiar. As for the story I found it engaging, this is where to game differs from previous entries the most (for obvious reason) but the main characters and their stories are engaging and the fresh take on Virgil's story alone is worth watching.

    Don't knock it before you try
    A thoroughly enjoyable game, the combat is smooth with only a few minor flaws and feels refreshing yet slightly familiar. As for the story I found it engaging, this is where to game differs from previous entries the most (for obvious reason) but the main characters and their stories are engaging and the fresh take on Virgil's story alone is worth watching.

    Don't knock it before you try it and I can't wait for bloody palace.
    Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2013
    1
    In fact the real score is 7, because is not a bad hack and slash, but is a terrible DMC, the personality of Dante and vergil is a lot different of the original characters in a bad way, in the original Vergil dont use guns, and Dante is a bad ass, the enemys are repetitiveness and the combat or gameplay is not good, is better ninja gaiden 1 and 2, Bayonetta, god of War and Dantes inferno,In fact the real score is 7, because is not a bad hack and slash, but is a terrible DMC, the personality of Dante and vergil is a lot different of the original characters in a bad way, in the original Vergil dont use guns, and Dante is a bad ass, the enemys are repetitiveness and the combat or gameplay is not good, is better ninja gaiden 1 and 2, Bayonetta, god of War and Dantes inferno, for my this is a not DMC, is better the DMC 2 than this Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    I wasn't sure how I'd feel about this DmC game, but it turns out I had nothing to worry about. This is a REBOOT, and it has a different feel than other DmC games -- but the hack n slash combat is still amazingly fun, the old challenge is there, and I found myself laughing many times at Dante's ridiculous bravado... in a good way. The story is straightforward and has a few poignant moments.I wasn't sure how I'd feel about this DmC game, but it turns out I had nothing to worry about. This is a REBOOT, and it has a different feel than other DmC games -- but the hack n slash combat is still amazingly fun, the old challenge is there, and I found myself laughing many times at Dante's ridiculous bravado... in a good way. The story is straightforward and has a few poignant moments. Most of all, this game looks better than any other DmC game, with more color and a dynamic environment that is constantly shifting and trying to kill Dante. I could not imagine this game being more fun to play, plain and simple, and that's what all video games should be about. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    This Game is Fantastic.The story isn't Great but the game itself is solid.Great Graphics,great mechanics, really great art direction.This is not only the best devil may cry games, its one of the best hack and slash games of this generation.
  7. Jan 30, 2013
    2
    Good Game.....TERRIBLE Devil May Cry, there's not more fun Dante is complete destroy, Vergil is a gay-worry mankind no more a **** villain who only cares are more power! Vergil is no more, Sparda and Eva don't taste like before....only Kat is a safe character....
  8. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    I played the game since it came out, super excited for it.
    I put the game in my xbox and i was enthralled.
    The game has amazing production value and the oozes style, fighting is fun and fast. I'm still playing the game (currently going through heaven or hell mode) and i'm still loving every second. The only thing i don't care for is the lack of a manuel lock-on system which would've
    I played the game since it came out, super excited for it.
    I put the game in my xbox and i was enthralled.
    The game has amazing production value and the oozes style, fighting is fun and fast.
    I'm still playing the game (currently going through heaven or hell mode) and i'm still loving every second.
    The only thing i don't care for is the lack of a manuel lock-on system which would've been great.

    Dont listen to all the angry reviews it's simply not fair to give this game a 1 or 2, a true 1 or 2 game would be mindjack and so on.
    Expand
  9. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Great an fast storytelling. The combat system is well balanced and easy to learn but hard to master. The Reboot was the best Dante could happened (with or without white hair)
  10. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    This is the best Devil May Cry game since before the first game even came out! The game has great art direction that alternates between two distinct worlds with a brilliant soundtrack, and the plot has a kitschy '80s feel about it. I particularly like the design of Dante, who wears a stylish coat and has amazing hair (there's a hilarious moment where Dante tries on a white wig and notesThis is the best Devil May Cry game since before the first game even came out! The game has great art direction that alternates between two distinct worlds with a brilliant soundtrack, and the plot has a kitschy '80s feel about it. I particularly like the design of Dante, who wears a stylish coat and has amazing hair (there's a hilarious moment where Dante tries on a white wig and notes how ridiculous it looks... so funny). And above all, the combat is great fun, with lots of combos spanning across numerous different weapon styles. The game has an extensive range of unlockable difficulty modes and good replay value. An absolute triumph and a real breakthrough for the series. Expand
  11. Feb 1, 2013
    2
    I do not recommend this game for the old fans, as it does not meet the standarts that the old DMC games has offered(excluding DMC2), I am an old fan for this particular franchise myself, I have to say, I do not care about the new Dante or the old one, it is just a skin, it is not something that would make or break the game, the bad thing about this game is its gameplay, well considering itI do not recommend this game for the old fans, as it does not meet the standarts that the old DMC games has offered(excluding DMC2), I am an old fan for this particular franchise myself, I have to say, I do not care about the new Dante or the old one, it is just a skin, it is not something that would make or break the game, the bad thing about this game is its gameplay, well considering it is a DMC game of course, Firstly the jump cancel became useless since even if you jump cancel, you cannot land the majority of Dante's moves while JC-ing, not only that but the lock on system is also not implemented in this game, you would probably think that this is no big matter, but it actually is, it can add many combo possibilities as well. Another negative aspect is the writing, its got degraded so bad that it cannot get any worse and while I'm at it the voice acting is on the same level of the writing, while the bosses had a very little impact on me, nothing would be engraved on my memory unlike the other DMCs. If only this game had a different title then the old fans and the new ones would be satisfied and all of this wouldn't have happened. Expand
  12. Feb 1, 2013
    4
    Well.. this is really easy, the game is not bad, but unfortunately compare to the previous Devil may cry is not. Gameplay is less responsive, it has less combos(and the ones that it have cannot be done between one another make in it repetitive), and the difficulty level is not enough for you to make an effort of fighting. The platforms sections are boring, the "world trying to eat you"Well.. this is really easy, the game is not bad, but unfortunately compare to the previous Devil may cry is not. Gameplay is less responsive, it has less combos(and the ones that it have cannot be done between one another make in it repetitive), and the difficulty level is not enough for you to make an effort of fighting. The platforms sections are boring, the "world trying to eat you" is not exciting and doesn't invite you to run and bosses are easy. Graphic are good, but not enough, to brightly for the style. Story might be good but since I liked the last one more I can't make a proper assessment. And the music is really good, but I like more the previous soundtracks. In overall the game is mediocre because they change it for a more easy and average gamer and has lost its essence and fun for the sake of a better investment as a project. Expand
  13. Feb 2, 2013
    1
    Hmmm where to actually start with this steaming pile of a game....Ok lets start at the most noticed, first off...wtf have you done to dante? i mean REALLY!? you completely destroy what was loved about dmc...the characters...i mean why make a game with the same name if your going to well just get rid of the main character that was in the rest of them....i hope your company falls for this,Hmmm where to actually start with this steaming pile of a game....Ok lets start at the most noticed, first off...wtf have you done to dante? i mean REALLY!? you completely destroy what was loved about dmc...the characters...i mean why make a game with the same name if your going to well just get rid of the main character that was in the rest of them....i hope your company falls for this, 2ndly, lol cant even get off the topic of the first, i mean wtf? you expect a more "mature" audience for this game? how so? just because hes non stop swearing? the guy talks more then any other character in any game ive ever played, it wasnt even humorous...it was just plain pathetic, this game is just pathetic, the creators of this game are pathetic and this game needs to be taken off every shelf in any store that sells it and thrown in the trash. If your going to make another dmc, lets hope its not a complete and utter failure of a game, i played it 1 day....and went out and got my money back for it saying it was "broke" and just got another game of the same value....sad how someone has to lie about a game they used to love playing but now it just makes me cringe at the thought of it, Game play not so bad, the graphics pretty sweet, the main character? lol makes me just hate everything all together, first off the original Dante was half human/ Demon, now we have some joke of a half demon angel?.....wtf? lol and the line of "you can call me dante, the demon killer"........idk but it sounds like someones kid wrote that part into his dialog....just please gtfo and dont make another game. K thx for wasting my time on this Expand
  14. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    I really recommend this game, it have a good story, great places.

    If you are a fan of Devil May Cry, you should give it a try because is a really fun game, you will play it several times. Don't pay attention to the people says, you should buy it or rent it if you want.
    I'm a great fan of this saga and i have never complain about the characters, so yes play it
  15. Feb 6, 2013
    0
    This game has a lot more problems more than I could describe on a single review is the kind of thing you have to experience to realize how bad it really it is, the funny thing is that some people actually like it that's fine my only explanation for that is that they've never played other DMC games, even so this game should strike fear into who ever plays it for all the wrong reasons, I canThis game has a lot more problems more than I could describe on a single review is the kind of thing you have to experience to realize how bad it really it is, the funny thing is that some people actually like it that's fine my only explanation for that is that they've never played other DMC games, even so this game should strike fear into who ever plays it for all the wrong reasons, I can only advice you to ignore the paid reviewers and focus instead on the community reviews here's my short list of problems with the game, first of all the story by god the story is like the kids at 9gag got together and decided to create a fan fiction piece that was later implemented in to this game who ever wrote it must have been high and if he wasn't he's one of the worst writers I've ever seen with the abundance of deep lines suck as "F*** you" every five minutes. The combat is a complete mess, not only is it baby mode compared to the past games but it is nothing but an unsatisfying button masher that rewards you for doing absolutely nothing. Lastly Dante, lets ignore the fact that the developer for the game thought it would be a great idea to model him after HIMSELF for a second and lets focus on the fact that he acts nothing like the old Dante, its as if he's a different character all together and well he iS a different character all together which lets me to believe that this was just some random mediocre game that at the last minute got DmC put in the title so it could sell, the sad part is that that wasnt the case making the situation even worse. I went optimistic into it giving it a chance and got out wishing I never did. Expand
  16. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    This is a good game! Graphics are nice, it has a stylish and artistic look. The story suits the style of game perfectly. To those who complain about story this is a hack n slash not and rpg. And the gameaplay is great fun. The controls are super responsive and the combos look and feel great to pull off. The level of difficulty ranges from easy to very challenging to suit most gamers. ToThis is a good game! Graphics are nice, it has a stylish and artistic look. The story suits the style of game perfectly. To those who complain about story this is a hack n slash not and rpg. And the gameaplay is great fun. The controls are super responsive and the combos look and feel great to pull off. The level of difficulty ranges from easy to very challenging to suit most gamers. To all you fan boys of the original series grow up and stop acting like spoilt brats. U got four games, be happy and appreciate that devolpers are trying to stay fresh and inventive. I sure dont want a boring and stagnant gaming world. If the game isnt for u personally thats fine but be more mature and critique the game on its true merrits dont just stamp your feet and cry cause u didnt get what u want. Your ruining the gaming world. U gotta evolve people. Expand
  17. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    The best DMC since number 1. The new developers (Ninja Theory) made it more organic, less twitchy, and much more enjoyable than recent DMC's. Story and writing is also much much better than previous DMC's (not that it ever mattered in this game). Some of the more original level design of this generation. As an older gamer, I rarely complete a game more than once, but I know I will go backThe best DMC since number 1. The new developers (Ninja Theory) made it more organic, less twitchy, and much more enjoyable than recent DMC's. Story and writing is also much much better than previous DMC's (not that it ever mattered in this game). Some of the more original level design of this generation. As an older gamer, I rarely complete a game more than once, but I know I will go back around with this. Buy it to support Dante (in whatever form he takes) Expand
  18. Feb 7, 2013
    7
    Many people are bashing on this game, while yes I admit I HATE the new Dante it doesn't mean the game deserves a 0 it's a decent game, great gameplay, and while it may be easier you have to understand that some of these changes were done to help introduce new players. Overall, if you can get over Dante and you look at the core components of what makes a good game it passes.
  19. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    Absolutely fun action game, with amazing level design and complementary music and sound effects. Story witch is not top notch by any means is good enough to pull you in and make you want to see want is going to happen next, as well as giving a solid ground for character development.
  20. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    when hideki kamiya left capcom this saga died.
    Its kinda sad to see a great game fall like this, cmon EVEN KAZUMA K ANEKO SMT SERIES)hell with dmc3 ,also dmc4 was amazing....
  21. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    I've played the DMC Franchise before, this is totally different.The New game, DMC, is amazing.Hack and slash, great combos, nice arsenal of weapons, good story and likable characters, I really enjoyed the game. Who ever's giving this a bad review, probably doesnt like the Hack and Slash, and the awesomeness of this game.
    I mean just the core awesomness, when slayed Demons with beastly
    I've played the DMC Franchise before, this is totally different.The New game, DMC, is amazing.Hack and slash, great combos, nice arsenal of weapons, good story and likable characters, I really enjoyed the game. Who ever's giving this a bad review, probably doesnt like the Hack and Slash, and the awesomeness of this game.
    I mean just the core awesomness, when slayed Demons with beastly Sword, or other weapons...
    you cant possibly give this a bad score, its mega fun, even if you dont enjoy the story, its mega fun, the combat and jumping around Smashing Demons brutaly awesome.
    Whoever gave the game bad review, obviously doenst enjoy the Genre of the game, dont play it, go play Sims or some "peaceful" games....DMC rocks
    Expand
  22. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    Once you get past the fact that this game is a reboot of a beloved franchise you'll find a wonderful game hidden beneath. Combat Is fast, fun and engaging. The story is a combination of the plots of the first and third games but with a lot of fresh new twists added in so that veteran players won't be board. Speaking to Devil May Cry veterans, as a veteran myself, give DMC a chance. It's aOnce you get past the fact that this game is a reboot of a beloved franchise you'll find a wonderful game hidden beneath. Combat Is fast, fun and engaging. The story is a combination of the plots of the first and third games but with a lot of fresh new twists added in so that veteran players won't be board. Speaking to Devil May Cry veterans, as a veteran myself, give DMC a chance. It's a great little gem of a game that by the end manages to capture the true DMC essence even if it has a fresh coat of paint. Expand
  23. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    Ok first thing first, It is a pregnant Demon that gets shot in the belly..... Why this gets failed to mention in every review is crazy and is it not a game about hunting Demons, this kept me from playing the game cause you all make it sound like its a woman that get shot in the stomach....... and thats crap and you all know it. Now to the actual review, story wise it is very much a rip offOk first thing first, It is a pregnant Demon that gets shot in the belly..... Why this gets failed to mention in every review is crazy and is it not a game about hunting Demons, this kept me from playing the game cause you all make it sound like its a woman that get shot in the stomach....... and thats crap and you all know it. Now to the actual review, story wise it is very much a rip off of "they live" but its a good one..... i really enjoyed the story and really if you have played any of the other games the story is no better or worse in those ones, the combat in the game is well done..... my only complaint is your score does not reset until you get hit and it makes it really easy to get a crazy high score with minimal effort but all in all the combat is great. Graphics are great as well and the level design blew me away, you are always changing locations and the levels are highly well done. Now boss fights were amazing but they were all so easy, once you know what to do it is really easy to avoid getting hit and overcome the boss battles. Now the really bad part about this game is DANTE........ He is such an ass in this game, the old Dante was but this one just makes it hard to care about the story at all, really no one in this game is likable..... though towards the end of the game i did start to care slightly, i'm looking forward to what they do with the next game. Really it could have been better but it could have been a hell of a lot worse too. Now you might be thinking why should i trust this guys review....... to that i would say because i am a huge devil may cry fan, so much so that back in 2002 i had a son and i named him Dante...... Though that was after the old Dante. If your a fan i would say wait till it goes on sale and pick it up, still a great game even though no one is likable. Expand
  24. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    This was if not the best hack n slash game to come out since the first darksiders.....im tired of everyone giving false neg feedback ....yea i was on the hate wagon for the whole makeover n my fav series is the classic dmc series but this is a perfect move n u can play as the classic dante if u wana be a cry baby....grat game ,great flow of controls, great story ,only reason i didnt giveThis was if not the best hack n slash game to come out since the first darksiders.....im tired of everyone giving false neg feedback ....yea i was on the hate wagon for the whole makeover n my fav series is the classic dmc series but this is a perfect move n u can play as the classic dante if u wana be a cry baby....grat game ,great flow of controls, great story ,only reason i didnt give a 10 out of 10 is becasue i dnt like that he is half demon n half angel....thats the only part i dnt agree with Expand
  25. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Anyone insulting this game to me seems to still be upset over the "They changed Dante!?" issue from 2010. I say this as I suffered from this and wanted nothing to do with the game, until September last year when I saw the trailers. Even then you have the option of reverting back to the Classic Dante look in the download content. He is even put in the mid-mission cutscenes and almost all ofAnyone insulting this game to me seems to still be upset over the "They changed Dante!?" issue from 2010. I say this as I suffered from this and wanted nothing to do with the game, until September last year when I saw the trailers. Even then you have the option of reverting back to the Classic Dante look in the download content. He is even put in the mid-mission cutscenes and almost all of the pre and post mission cutscenes. For starters I can say I prefer these characters to the old ones. I hate all things hipster and dub-step like, but this Dante seems more of a badass than the old one, he was witty and had a cooler edge that the previous Dante lacked. This Vergil, while more 'nerdy' in my view, is better in almost all aspects. And the leading girl is by far the best one from all the DmC games. I mean on looks alone Kat has them beat, and she also has a better background story. This story makes more sense than the other (especially DMC4 as I am still wondering how Nero came to acquire Sparda's blood and power) That was not really explained well. Really is he his son, nephew, some guy that drank his blood, what happened? The fact I had to replay every mission, location and boss fight in DMC4 made me want to commit suicide and realize how dry the well was for Capcom and how far they went for you unappreciative fans, just so you could use Dante. Really I don't thing you understand what else they could have done with those extra missions. The same with the DMC3 special edition with Vergil. The music is better than the previous two, especially DMC3. I remember trying my hardest after mission 1 in DMC4 to finish all fight scenes to avoid hearing the phrase 'The time has come and so have I.' (First verse of Nero fight scenes.) The music is different in almost all the locations and fight scenes, and get me more geared up for fighting than the other games did. The combat, I have the feeling it turned out like this because everyone wanted the iconic style ranking system and combo system, and then criticised Ninja Theory for not doing anything but make it slower and that they just copied it from the old ones, even though it was largely requested that the combat system should remain the same, or else. The 'lack of locking on' for me is a good thing, even though it is still there and they just got rid of the annoying ring. Locking on made it too easy, or too restricting, because i found I could change targets for abilities, such as Drive, by changing by flicking the stick/d-pad in the direction of the target you wanted to hit instead, either during the charge or just before the attack. Yeah it got slower, but when i played the other games afterwards, i didn't find that it got that much slower. The only down with the combat for me was the ease in which I could fill the progress through the style ratings to SSS. Nobody should complain about the mixed attribute fights being chore like, as those create the best combo atmosphere. If you want a challenge, complete those on Heaven or Hell without taking damage, especially the mixed Rages. I also read that someone said the fights were too easy on the harder levels, even though he didn't complete the game. This made me want to punch my hire a team of agents to find whoever it was, so I could kick them in the balls, because...YOU HAVE TO COMPLETE THE GAME TO UNLOCK ANY OF THE CHALLENGING DIFFICULTIES. That was directed at you Wesker500. I recommend completing this game on Nephilim level and then going up from there for the challenging fights. And Dante pretty much gets the same amount of weapons in this DmC as he did in DMC4, the weapons are pretty similar to those in all the other Devil May Crys but then again, the weapons are repetitive, and repeat themselves over and over, but in different colours. I love the half angel, half demon angle, and the weapons and powers as this made linking combos, cooler and fun, and doing so made me feel the style rank was earned, even though I think it was just put in there because, all the fans wanted it there to judge it, and the producers probably didn't. The environment is better, I enjoy that it changes a lot throughout the game, but I do miss some of the gothic themes. I didn't experience any glitches or framework problems, when I played it, so maybe it depends on the owners console/platform. I found it to be a great gaming experience, far better than its predecessor, as it was enjoyable for longer, and has better replay value. Expand
  26. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Somewhere in time I lost my love for rapid action hack n slash games but this game is insane! My love is back! The controls and gameplay are so well balanced. It's has a very understandable control system that lets you chain all the moves with all the other moves to combine wicked combos. The enemies are very diverse and challenge you to come up with different tactics. Always changing itSomewhere in time I lost my love for rapid action hack n slash games but this game is insane! My love is back! The controls and gameplay are so well balanced. It's has a very understandable control system that lets you chain all the moves with all the other moves to combine wicked combos. The enemies are very diverse and challenge you to come up with different tactics. Always changing it up. The music is very cool too and the environment design is very very good. Gorgeous locations and inventive levels make sure you'll never have a dull moment even if there are no enemies around. That brings me to the pacing which is just just perfect. It's fighting, climbing, resting, jumping, running at just the right speed.

    I really like this game. highly recommended.
    Expand
  27. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Most of the reviews about this game are biased and uncalled for. DMC is exactly what a devil may cry should be; a wise cracking gun toting sword wielding anti-hero out to defeat the demons.

    Story is well written if a little predictable. The combat system is easy to get used to but difficult to master, which i suppose is one of the replay values in a DMC game. However all the other
    Most of the reviews about this game are biased and uncalled for. DMC is exactly what a devil may cry should be; a wise cracking gun toting sword wielding anti-hero out to defeat the demons.

    Story is well written if a little predictable. The combat system is easy to get used to but difficult to master, which i suppose is one of the replay values in a DMC game. However all the other stuff you'd expect in a DMC game is there too such as Dante Must Die mode etc... The only differences between this and other entries is that Dante is a) younger b) has different colour of hair and is not overly using the colour red as past incarnations did.

    And none of this is a bad thing I like the old Dante and I like the new one. The new Dante is not a middle finger to the DMC fans he's an evolution. He has the same charm and wit of the old Dante, just more attitude. Which basically boils down to an overuse of bad language and gestures but i like this as i think it makes sense when you consider the psychological aspects of Dante's character in DMC.

    Change should be embraced; so what that Dante now has black hair instead of white; that he is more Punk Rock than Glam Pop the game itself is a good game. Does what its supposed to and offers up what a DMC game should.

    My final point is this if you think the combat system is "bad" or "clunky" or anything else go back and play the first Devil May cry on ps2 or HD collection and then try DMC. As DMC has a fast paced easy to pick up combat system while the original DMC has a very clunky combat system.
    Expand
  28. Feb 15, 2013
    0
    They ruined the characters. Emo-tized everything. The white hair wig joke was a slap in the face and I hope that capcom goes out of business!!
  29. Feb 15, 2013
    6
    Combat Controls
    One thing that DMC was always about was C&C, smooth controls and crazy combos. And to be honest its somewhat here not at previous titles levels(i'm looking at you three), but still fast and furious. you'll notice old favorites like stinger and Helm breaker, and maybe some new ones like karma and double jump. as said before i did have issues with the controls, if you have
    Combat Controls
    One thing that DMC was always about was C&C, smooth controls and crazy combos. And to be honest its somewhat here not at previous titles levels(i'm looking at you three), but still fast and furious. you'll notice old favorites like stinger and Helm breaker, and maybe some new ones like karma and double jump. as said before i did have issues with the controls, if you have tried the game on the 360 you'll probably know what i mean, but for those that don't its the weapon change. yes one of the core elements of this game holds you back right at the start, but in the beginning it wasn't that big of a deal, later on however this becomes a big issue later on when weapon change matters. you have to hold the shoulder buttons while attacking to use the weapon, and not just a little tap to cycle them but thought the whole combo, which make the combat later on tedious at best, also the lack of lock on would seem like a problem in other DMC games here, not so much. also why are their so many dodges one is fine, with out lock one their really wasn't a need for so many making for an even easier game. And the game while full of cool combos feel shallow with how predictable and easy the enemy AI is. For most part i didn't even lose half a life bar until later on when I had issues with the controls. Even bosses fell a tad to choreographer to simple grunt expose your weak point after attacking AI. And Devil trigger is only really used to fill up health meters.All in all a very different feel from the origins of the series but not so bad that i couldn't stop playing. still in my preference for a DMC game its disappointing. way to forgiving and hands out to many S ranks in my tastes.
    5 out of 10 (on PC i would give it a 6.5 only because of key binding)
    Story and Dialog
    Now this is where i have real issues with this game. i know that DMC is not know for its moving plots and life changing writing, but this one by far is most carbon copy plot ever. no really its just like They Live, go watch this. Now i like They Live, but not its video game rehash. Why, not so much that its bad idea, no its a pretty good concept. it all come down to a connection, between me and the characters and the world its in. Dante is like a a kid who tries to hard to convince me that hes his older cooler brother, Virgil's dialog was every emotionless and uncharismatic, and Kate wasn't that bad but she seamed to perfect, some how falling in love with Dante even though their wasn't much to love.he wasn't to witty, nor was their a deeper person on the inside with complex feelings and showing his though subtle hints like the old DMC. no he was just a person that is angry at something and never really get that resolved in game. his dialog is bad, and reduced to cursing and very predictable evil banter with the enemy.also the whole half angle/demon thing left me feeling that he to unrelatable, being a mere meager human. they even use the term Nephilim which are human/angle hybrids. also putting bill o'reilly in any type of media is wrong.
    4 out of 10 (Kate really save you here DMC)
    Platforming and Puzzles
    Not bad, considering the controls. The whole holding the shoulder buttons thing was what brought this down for me. because i have to hold the shoulder buttons it make it very arduous to say the least. too many times have i plummeted to my doom because of this,(Doom is a relative term here, like i said this game is way to forgiving) the delay between switching weapon is ridiculous and frustrating. the only reason i didn't really care about mastering this is, again, how forgiving it was .puzzles are at DMC2 level so its not so bad but nothing really jumps out at you. but overall i, its meh.
    6 out of ten(meh)
    Graphics
    Let me be the one to eat my hat on this one, the game looks fantastic. crisp, clear, and vibrant. the levels are varied and while at time frustrating the platforming was beautiful. the enemy's look great, lots of variations of them, their attacks look amazing, so amazing in fact that i would some times let Dante get hit just to see what would happen. Limbo is just as breathtaking as they said it would be and they delivered on it spot on. i am amazed on what Ninja theory did. also on a side note the enemy's looked very much like the one in DMC2, which i liked(yeah i know is bad, but played like an adventure so i liked it), and so dose parts of limbo.
    8.5 out of 10
    Over all a 6 out of 10
    Did DMC: Devil May Cry win the heart of the hard core, probably not. Did it get new blood in the sires Yes it did. for me i prefer the old DMC to this but in all honest it wasn't that bad of a game, it just wasn't what i wanted to a game called Devil May Cry.
    Expand
  30. Feb 18, 2013
    0
    *Sigh* *Sigh* *Sigh* This game is absolutely horrible and a smack to the face of the real Dante. According to the game designers "If the old Dante walked into a bar he would get laughed at." If that is their argument the same goes for all video game characters, right? Mario and Luigi would get "laughed at in a bar" may as well change them.... What about Pacman and Link? May as well change*Sigh* *Sigh* *Sigh* This game is absolutely horrible and a smack to the face of the real Dante. According to the game designers "If the old Dante walked into a bar he would get laughed at." If that is their argument the same goes for all video game characters, right? Mario and Luigi would get "laughed at in a bar" may as well change them.... What about Pacman and Link? May as well change them too.

    Now getting into the game, the combat is so easy your average aborted fetus could master it, the taunt button is removed and you can get an SSS on the style meter by using a few oversimplified "combos."

    The dialogue is absolutely ridiculous, I find myself laughing at it's childishness, especially in the Succubus boss fight (A complete rip off of Slurm in Futurama as somebody else mentioned) where Donte and the Succubus yell you" back and forth.

    Some redeeming things about the game are that they added in Nero's arm mechanic (The angel lift and demon pull) which was one of my favorite thing in Devil May Cry 4, also the graphics were nice and the combat flowed smoothly.

    One of my biggest problems with this game and why I hate it so much is the games director "Tameem" claimed old Dante wasn't cool and then went on to design the new Dante to look like him, take a look lmfao, real sexy there bro. ****ing ****

    https://lh3.ggpht.com/-m-5V65dnQrU/T4hcbMWm1AI/AAAAAAAAADc/V3PCEmPz6GE/s1600/tameem+v+dante.jpg
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    85
    A worthy rebirth of the franchise as it possesses fast-paced chaotic action, which is diversified by the several weapons that make up Dante’s arsenal, an engaging soundtrack, and a story worthy of the DmC franchise.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Beyond the near-perfect controls and satisfying combat, Ninja Theory has clearly sweated the game's atmosphere and visuals.
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    Ninja Theory have against all odds created something fresh; a creatively superb and in places fantastic action adventure game. It will not be for everyone and is certainly more mainstream than previous efforts but DMC is a rip roaring start to 2013.