DmC: Devil May Cry Xbox 360

DmC: Devil May Cry Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1425 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a society infused with demons only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world for what it really is. Join Dante in a stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – uncover the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’sIn a society infused with demons only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world for what it really is. Join Dante in a stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – uncover the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’s dark past confronting some the most familiar faces in the DmC universe. Harness unimaginable powers combined with Dante’s notorious arsenal of weapons: sword, scythe, axe, pistols and more. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    100
    I highly recommend Devil may Cry. It’s a great action game that hangs with the best the genre can offer. Combine that with its cool aesthetic and engaging characters, and you have the first can’t-miss release of 2013.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    Sure, the combat can be argued all day long by purists of the series, but if that is your hang up, you are denying yourself an amazing game to play. Fans of the genre, series and games in general definitely need to see what Ninja Theory has achieved here. It's easily an early contender for my favorite games of the year.
  3. 90
    DmC is a superb reboot that delivers on all fronts, and does it with aplomb. For the first time in ages, we're excited to see where Devil May Cry goes next.
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    Making one of the best gameplay styles around even better is no easy task, and Ninja Theory was able to do it only partially. Still, this is a great action game, fast paced and spectacular, that should be enjoyed by any fan of the genre.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    85
    A worthy rebirth of the franchise as it possesses fast-paced chaotic action, which is diversified by the several weapons that make up Dante’s arsenal, an engaging soundtrack, and a story worthy of the DmC franchise.
  6. Jan 19, 2013
    80
    DmC doesn't feel old and stale. It feels new and fresh and furious, eager to prove itself and more than capable. If you're an old DMC diehard, this new vision won't disappoint, it'll delight.
  7. Jan 14, 2013
    70
    Ninja Theory has the know-how, the lust to experiment and the talent. But we are not completely convinced by Dante's reboot.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh,Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh, cry and cheer. Dante, our main character, is an edgy, memorable individual who doesn't care about anyone but himself. This makes him an outcast that anyone who's ever had a bit of a 'loner' streak about them will instantly relate to. Have you wanted to scream at the world to *bleep* off? Then this is a character for you. Virgil is anything brilliantly written character, seemingly a cool, calm and collected person he later shows a darker side in his pursuit for freedom. Much like a roller coaster, this ride isn't for children and pregnant women. Only mature gamers such as myself should go on this white-knuckle adventure through purgatory! You would be doing yourself a massive disservice by not buying this game (which has some DLC I already can't wait for!) because of some entitled individuals who can't see the woods for the trees due to their blind rage over something that is different from what they are used to. Give this game a chance. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to the hate. This game is actually quite good. Stunning graphics, amazing music, a story that is interesting, fantastic acting,Don't listen to the hate. This game is actually quite good. Stunning graphics, amazing music, a story that is interesting, fantastic acting, and the Dante we all know and love. This IS Devil May Cry. The controls are tight and responsive, the battles are furious and fun, and yes, there is a humorous homage to Dante's white hair early in the game. At least rent this beast and give it a shot. I think if the "haters" would just shut up and play it they would be pleasantly surprised. Ninja Theory has grown so much as a developer wherein each game is better than the last. They should be proud of DMC and I hope Capcom and players allow them a sequel cause all I wanna do is keep playing. Thanks Ninja Theory. Collapse
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    The definite hack-and-slash game on the 360. It might not be the DMC that we all know and love--and that's exactly why it's good thing. WhileThe definite hack-and-slash game on the 360. It might not be the DMC that we all know and love--and that's exactly why it's good thing. While I own the previous games, and I enjoy them for what they are, none of them are definitively excellent. The have no story (don't argue, they don't) and just thrive on the beautiful-if-clunky combat that we all love. Sure, the story here might not be Pulitzer Prize winning, but it's definitely a step up for the franchise driven by nothing but killing aimlessly because the game tells us to. The combat? Beautiful and smooth, all wrapped up in an absolutely glorious artistic style. This is it, this is the game I've been waiting for. Epic as sin, and sure as Dante we're sin. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    a decent hack and slash game that maybe plays it too safe? it was an ok overall game, but one where I had more complaints than praises. Thea decent hack and slash game that maybe plays it too safe? it was an ok overall game, but one where I had more complaints than praises. The story and cast of characters were as weak as any game I remember playing in recent memories; it's basically I hate you and I'm going to kill you type of story. The gameplay is fun, however the magic wears off once you realize the move list does not grow as the game goes along, and the later weapon additions in the game were a non factor. I guess the secret to enjoying this is to not marathon play it. If your not hack n slashing, you're jumping from one area to another chaining to each other, those are the only two gametype in this game. Anyone who enjoys hack and slash games go ahead you'll know what to expect; but it is a step below god of war imo. 75/100 Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    4
    As much as I wanted to hate this game with a firey passion for the Edward Cullenization of Dante...I just cant. This game is nigh unplayableAs much as I wanted to hate this game with a firey passion for the Edward Cullenization of Dante...I just cant. This game is nigh unplayable don't get me wrong. The characters are far from likable, so much so that if, at any part of the game, Dante had decided to kick a puppy, I doubt I would've been surprised. The dialogue sounds like it was written by a 13 year old boy who just learned to swear from his abusive step-father. Basically they took a fun camp game we all love and "modernized" it. The gameplay is it's saving grace. Its tight, fast and a lot of fun, much like the old games. Although the lack of a lockon or targeting system, make parts of this game a nightmare. And thats to say nothing of the level and boss fights which are amazing! However the fact still remains that there are several middle fingers to the fans sprinkled about the game. All in all this game pushes me WAY to far and practically begs me to put it down. If I can't stand the main character, why would I want to play his game? The Problem is not that they changed Dante, It's what they changed him too. Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2013
    1
    This is my first review here so be gentle :)
    Where to start with this game, my main problem is that the combat is poorly done with bad
    This is my first review here so be gentle :)
    Where to start with this game, my main problem is that the combat is poorly done with bad mechanics. Many people here have said it better than me before, but its sluggish and repeatative.
    Besides that the story is juvenile and unoriginal, and the abortion scene is both ugly and stupid.... such a scene would be okay if we actually got any reason to care, but its just for shock effect.
    Characters are all unlikeable and i find myself hoping they all die by the end.... I Would not recommend this game, and am ashamed of myself for defending and buying it... rent it first to see for yourself or something.. dont pay
    Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    0
    Played DMC1 when it came out and I was so impressed with all the style that I kept playing till DMD. Played DMC3 till DMD as well because IPlayed DMC1 when it came out and I was so impressed with all the style that I kept playing till DMD. Played DMC3 till DMD as well because I like DMC1 so much but I thought it was acceptable. I thought DMC4 deserved a 0/10 and I've stopped caring ever since. DmC is practically a new game. If the new generation enjoys it then so be it. I never understood what most kids see in movies like twilight, hunger games and these new disney tv shows, but it seems this is what Team Ninja is going for with DmC so I bid them God speed. I hope those same kids will like this as well. From the media previews and gameplay all around the internet and from watching the first 5 mins of the game (too boring to watch any further), if I had to rate it based on these experiences only, I would give it a 3 Expand

See all 425 User Reviews