DmC: Devil May Cry Xbox 360

DmC: Devil May Cry Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1376 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a society infused with demons only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world for what it really is. Join Dante in a stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – uncover the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’sIn a society infused with demons only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world for what it really is. Join Dante in a stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – uncover the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’s dark past confronting some the most familiar faces in the DmC universe. Harness unimaginable powers combined with Dante’s notorious arsenal of weapons: sword, scythe, axe, pistols and more. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    100
    I highly recommend Devil may Cry. It’s a great action game that hangs with the best the genre can offer. Combine that with its cool aesthetic and engaging characters, and you have the first can’t-miss release of 2013.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    Sure, the combat can be argued all day long by purists of the series, but if that is your hang up, you are denying yourself an amazing game to play. Fans of the genre, series and games in general definitely need to see what Ninja Theory has achieved here. It's easily an early contender for my favorite games of the year.
  3. 90
    DmC is a superb reboot that delivers on all fronts, and does it with aplomb. For the first time in ages, we're excited to see where Devil May Cry goes next.
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    Making one of the best gameplay styles around even better is no easy task, and Ninja Theory was able to do it only partially. Still, this is a great action game, fast paced and spectacular, that should be enjoyed by any fan of the genre.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    85
    A worthy rebirth of the franchise as it possesses fast-paced chaotic action, which is diversified by the several weapons that make up Dante’s arsenal, an engaging soundtrack, and a story worthy of the DmC franchise.
  6. Jan 19, 2013
    80
    DmC doesn't feel old and stale. It feels new and fresh and furious, eager to prove itself and more than capable. If you're an old DMC diehard, this new vision won't disappoint, it'll delight.
  7. Jan 14, 2013
    70
    Ninja Theory has the know-how, the lust to experiment and the talent. But we are not completely convinced by Dante's reboot.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh,Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh, cry and cheer. Dante, our main character, is an edgy, memorable individual who doesn't care about anyone but himself. This makes him an outcast that anyone who's ever had a bit of a 'loner' streak about them will instantly relate to. Have you wanted to scream at the world to *bleep* off? Then this is a character for you. Virgil is anything brilliantly written character, seemingly a cool, calm and collected person he later shows a darker side in his pursuit for freedom. Much like a roller coaster, this ride isn't for children and pregnant women. Only mature gamers such as myself should go on this white-knuckle adventure through purgatory! You would be doing yourself a massive disservice by not buying this game (which has some DLC I already can't wait for!) because of some entitled individuals who can't see the woods for the trees due to their blind rage over something that is different from what they are used to. Give this game a chance. Collapse
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    I've played the DMC Franchise before, this is totally different.The New game, DMC, is amazing.Hack and slash, great combos, nice arsenal ofI've played the DMC Franchise before, this is totally different.The New game, DMC, is amazing.Hack and slash, great combos, nice arsenal of weapons, good story and likable characters, I really enjoyed the game. Who ever's giving this a bad review, probably doesnt like the Hack and Slash, and the awesomeness of this game.
    I mean just the core awesomness, when slayed Demons with beastly Sword, or other weapons...
    you cant possibly give this a bad score, its mega fun, even if you dont enjoy the story, its mega fun, the combat and jumping around Smashing Demons brutaly awesome.
    Whoever gave the game bad review, obviously doenst enjoy the Genre of the game, dont play it, go play Sims or some "peaceful" games....DMC rocks
    Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Amazing game,the graphics and the story of this are awesome.Almost everything is interesting about this game,but the gameplay,is justAmazing game,the graphics and the story of this are awesome.Almost everything is interesting about this game,but the gameplay,is just perfect,there so much weapons,combos and fun in this game that I caught myself laughing on how much fun I was getting in the fights and in the story.
    Devil May Cry is famous for been hard,this game is no exception,if you try the hardests modes of course.But a thing that I do miss from the older games of series,is the freedom.This new Devil May Cry is linear as hell and there is almost none puzzles in this game.
    Even if all these issues,this is still an awesome and fun game,every fan of the series should try this amazing game.
    Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2014
    7
    It is a good game with a good story. It was a nice reboot of a great series. When you compare it to the previous games, it falls flat, but asIt is a good game with a good story. It was a nice reboot of a great series. When you compare it to the previous games, it falls flat, but as a stand-alone it was an immersive game with good graphics and an easy-to-understand fighting style. Overall it was a little too easy, and in other places it seemed the story was trying too hard to appeal to fans. It could be juvenile and the backstory of characters such as Dante and Vergil seem to rely on prior knowledge of the series, so if I was someone who had never played a Devil May Cry game, I would find the story hard to get into but still a great game. Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    4
    As much as I wanted to hate this game with a firey passion for the Edward Cullenization of Dante...I just cant. This game is nigh unplayableAs much as I wanted to hate this game with a firey passion for the Edward Cullenization of Dante...I just cant. This game is nigh unplayable don't get me wrong. The characters are far from likable, so much so that if, at any part of the game, Dante had decided to kick a puppy, I doubt I would've been surprised. The dialogue sounds like it was written by a 13 year old boy who just learned to swear from his abusive step-father. Basically they took a fun camp game we all love and "modernized" it. The gameplay is it's saving grace. Its tight, fast and a lot of fun, much like the old games. Although the lack of a lockon or targeting system, make parts of this game a nightmare. And thats to say nothing of the level and boss fights which are amazing! However the fact still remains that there are several middle fingers to the fans sprinkled about the game. All in all this game pushes me WAY to far and practically begs me to put it down. If I can't stand the main character, why would I want to play his game? The Problem is not that they changed Dante, It's what they changed him too. Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    1
    It's obvious that the developers had no respect for fans. The game is also buggy as hell and the style system is broken. See YouTube videos toIt's obvious that the developers had no respect for fans. The game is also buggy as hell and the style system is broken. See YouTube videos to verify both of those claims. Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    0
    Played DMC1 when it came out and I was so impressed with all the style that I kept playing till DMD. Played DMC3 till DMD as well because IPlayed DMC1 when it came out and I was so impressed with all the style that I kept playing till DMD. Played DMC3 till DMD as well because I like DMC1 so much but I thought it was acceptable. I thought DMC4 deserved a 0/10 and I've stopped caring ever since. DmC is practically a new game. If the new generation enjoys it then so be it. I never understood what most kids see in movies like twilight, hunger games and these new disney tv shows, but it seems this is what Team Ninja is going for with DmC so I bid them God speed. I hope those same kids will like this as well. From the media previews and gameplay all around the internet and from watching the first 5 mins of the game (too boring to watch any further), if I had to rate it based on these experiences only, I would give it a 3 Expand

See all 360 User Reviews