Doom 3 BFG Edition Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Re-mastered for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, this game and its expansion pack offers enhanced graphics, immersing the player in the demonic world of this terrifying horror game. Players experience a never-before-seen single-player story, 'The Lost Mission,' featuring seven new levels.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Doom 3 BFG Edition Announcement Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Dec 17, 2012
    90
    Still creepy, still fun eight years later. Not quite enough new content to win back old fans, but first-timers will delight. [Jan 2013, p.74]
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    Doom 3 BFG Edition is an outstanding package for the price tag. If you have never played the original Doom 3, it is a must for fans of the genre.
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    DOOM 3 BFG Edition is basically an appetizer for the main course that is DOOM 4. Still, it's a fantastic bundle for any horror enthusiast or DOOM fan, or even anyone looking to relive one of the better games of the last generation. It's flawed, sure, but there's almost a bit of charm in that
  4. Oct 25, 2012
    67
    Doom 3: BFG Edition is still an enjoyable romp through armies of hellspawn, and if you've yet to play the Doom series, there's a lot to like here. Just be prepared for plenty of repetitive strafing and hours of fragging ugly demon ass. This is quite clearly the devil's work.
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    60
    The BFG Edition is the best you're going to do right now if you want to buy a new copy of a shooter that, for better or worse, ranks among the most hyped video game releases of all time.
  6. 60
    Doom 3 has flaws that have only become more obvious with time, and tweaking a few gameplay mechanics isn't enough to rectify them.
  7. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 6, 2012
    30
    Terrifically boring. [Issue#92, p.84]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Clearly people don't understand how to rate a game. This is DOOM 3 Plus ROE with the Lost Mission. Includes 5.1 Surround Sound, ImprovedClearly people don't understand how to rate a game. This is DOOM 3 Plus ROE with the Lost Mission. Includes 5.1 Surround Sound, Improved Rendering and lighting, new check point save system as well for 3D Visuals. ( All which I read off the back of the game I bought) Doom 3 BFG is DOOM 3 Major Expansion and well worth every penny. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    If you want a game that scares the crap out of you this game is for you. If you love the Doom classics then this game is for you. This is aIf you want a game that scares the crap out of you this game is for you. If you love the Doom classics then this game is for you. This is a must own game in your horror category for games Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    Graphics don't make a good game. Doom 3 and RoE were and still are excellent games. The new "lost missions" are excellent and the 3D reallyGraphics don't make a good game. Doom 3 and RoE were and still are excellent games. The new "lost missions" are excellent and the 3D really pops. This is a must have for classic horror fans. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    Not sure what is with all the negative reviews. The big news here is the Shoulder Mounted Flashlight. Nuff said. Totally worth the purchase,Not sure what is with all the negative reviews. The big news here is the Shoulder Mounted Flashlight. Nuff said. Totally worth the purchase, especially if you want to combine the love of retro games that you may or may not have grown up with along with an enhanced version of the game that rebooted the franchise. This is really just a precursor to Doom 4 to get people more familiar with the history of the games. Now I will admit playing Doom and Doom II on the console was weird and awkward at times, but Doom 3 played hard and looked hot. Hear my full review on the show, http://liquidgamer.podbean.com Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2012
    8
    I was extremely excited for this game and in some ways, it did not disappoint. However, it did fall a bit short for me. Let me start off byI was extremely excited for this game and in some ways, it did not disappoint. However, it did fall a bit short for me. Let me start off by saying, if you have the original on pc and you are expecting to get your $40 worth on console, you will be disappointed due to the vast amount of mods for the original pc game. But the game doesnt deserve to get knocked for this. It was redone for the console crowd who may not have played the originals. Now that being said, it does deserve to be knocked for several things. For instance, you cannot install this game to the HDD if you want to play the originals. That just doesnt seem well thought out. There's got to be a reason for that, and it better be a damn good one. Also, there's a lack of control customization. It's either their way or the highway. Not a huge deal since its got the basic shooter layout but still, i would tweak a few things like crouch not being a RS click. And while some people are going to rip this game to shreds for taking the fear and suspense out of it with the flashlight fix, brighter lighting, etc. But that's not a valid reason. They redid the game to feel like the originals, pure fun shooters. However, one "feature" they added in doesnt sit well with me. The autosaves. They're jarring as hell. Its not like its every few seconds but when it does save, its like a 3 second freeze that reminds you that you're playing a game. But all those things aside, the game is what they promised. A remastered doom 3, a few extra missions, and the originals. The execution just wasn't flawless.

    ****So I wanted to make a change on my previous review. I originally called this a 7 due to the inability to play the originals while the game is installed to the HDD. This can be bypassed by opening one of the originals from the "My Games" area of the dashboard. So 8 it is. And to Grimdandelo, the reason why people are posting their first reviews on THIS game is because of people like you who take it upon themselves to rate something a 0 because its not call of duty, skyrim, etc. If the people who do enjoy this game don't voice their opinion, it will get crap scores. Alot of people base their purchases off of reviews and there is absolutely no reason for someone not to buy this game. Its a piece of gaming history******
    Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    Let me get this out of the way: I love Doom. It was one of the games I grew up with, and I still play it to this day. When I heard they wereLet me get this out of the way: I love Doom. It was one of the games I grew up with, and I still play it to this day. When I heard they were releasing a remastered version of Doom 3 and its expansion Resurrection of Evil, as well as a brand new expansion (The Lost Mission) and the 2 classic Doom XBLA offerings, I simply couldn't resist. Aside from the slightly upgraded visuals and a few additions, it is largely the same Doom 3 I played on the first Xbox in 2005 (I've never played the PC version). I'm interested to see what The Lost Mission has to offer, and I already know how the classic Doom games are like. In all, an amazing package. While it may not be as good as The Orange Box, it's still a great deal, seeing as you're getting 3 awesome games and 2 expansion packs. Now if only they would announce Doom 4... Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2012
    5
    This game is pretty bad. Loading times are atrocious. Repetitive Enemies and horrible AI. Graphics, guns, voices are bad too. I neverThis game is pretty bad. Loading times are atrocious. Repetitive Enemies and horrible AI. Graphics, guns, voices are bad too. I never played Doom 3 before but always wanted to being a fan of the horror genre. I always thought I was missing out. I guess not. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews