Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Re-mastered for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, this game and its expansion pack offers enhanced graphics, immersing the player in the demonic world of this terrifying horror game. Players experience a never-before-seen single-player story, 'The Lost Mission,' featuring seven new levels.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    Still creepy, still fun eight years later. Not quite enough new content to win back old fans, but first-timers will delight. [Jan 2013, p.74]
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    Doom 3 BFG Edition is an outstanding package for the price tag. If you have never played the original Doom 3, it is a must for fans of the genre.
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    DOOM 3 BFG Edition is basically an appetizer for the main course that is DOOM 4. Still, it's a fantastic bundle for any horror enthusiast or DOOM fan, or even anyone looking to relive one of the better games of the last generation. It's flawed, sure, but there's almost a bit of charm in that
  4. Oct 25, 2012
    67
    Doom 3: BFG Edition is still an enjoyable romp through armies of hellspawn, and if you've yet to play the Doom series, there's a lot to like here. Just be prepared for plenty of repetitive strafing and hours of fragging ugly demon ass. This is quite clearly the devil's work.
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    60
    The BFG Edition is the best you're going to do right now if you want to buy a new copy of a shooter that, for better or worse, ranks among the most hyped video game releases of all time.
  6. 60
    Doom 3 has flaws that have only become more obvious with time, and tweaking a few gameplay mechanics isn't enough to rectify them.
  7. 30
    Terrifically boring. [Issue#92, p.84]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Clearly people don't understand how to rate a game. This is DOOM 3 Plus ROE with the Lost Mission. Includes 5.1 Surround Sound, ImprovedClearly people don't understand how to rate a game. This is DOOM 3 Plus ROE with the Lost Mission. Includes 5.1 Surround Sound, Improved Rendering and lighting, new check point save system as well for 3D Visuals. ( All which I read off the back of the game I bought) Doom 3 BFG is DOOM 3 Major Expansion and well worth every penny. Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Its alot of Doom and worth every dollar I spent on this BFG edition. I do not understand the negative reviews. I already played all theseIts alot of Doom and worth every dollar I spent on this BFG edition. I do not understand the negative reviews. I already played all these games but it is nice to have them all in one menu and not have to look for my old disks. Its like buying a movie trilogy after you seen the movies. This is a must buy for us old folks who have been playing this series since the mid 90s. Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    I never got a chance to play this game on it's first iteration and now that there is an HD re-release I decided to pick it up. Really, I loveI never got a chance to play this game on it's first iteration and now that there is an HD re-release I decided to pick it up. Really, I love it. I can't imagine that the HD edition did that much improvement to the game, and it's 7 or 8 years old. That's a pretty huge feat. I haven't finished it all the way through, but I am already happier with this $40.00 purchase than I have been with a few of my $60 ones. I wish the audio on the weapons sounded better, that's my only complaint. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    Hey look. Another game getting flack it really doesn't deserve. For the record Doom 3 came out at a time when first person shooters wereHey look. Another game getting flack it really doesn't deserve. For the record Doom 3 came out at a time when first person shooters were really hitting that stride. Now days the market is over saturated with military shooters and stories are taken a little more serious in the genre. By today's standards the game does not set a high bar and looks merely average next to other games on the market. But this is a remake folks. Can't expect greatness. Funny enough the game is better than I remember. I only had it for the original XBOX and I must say I think I may of gave it a harder time than it deserved. The game still uses sound well to create suspense, dark areas create tension and will leave you wondering if you have the ammo to go through another 2 or 3 rooms (Lets assume you play it on hard), and the monster closets where the local demons spawn out of thin air still can make you jump right out of your seat, something Resident Evil hasn't done in a decade. So it has the scares down and can get you a little nauseous. It does have problems though. Some of the levels were meant to be dark and the transition with the light on your weapons and just more light in general was a clumsy after thought. You can't configure your control or can only do it by their standards, it takes way to long to get interesting, and the new levels did nothing for me. No new weapons, no new enemies. Basically it feels like a more polished version with minimal effort given to people who has already invested serious time in the game 7 years ago. But this wasn't created for those folks. I recommend if for people who never got to play it or never played the PC version. Everyone else should just move on. But make no mistake, it isn't a bad game. If anything it was a nice surprise. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2012
    8
    I was extremely excited for this game and in some ways, it did not disappoint. However, it did fall a bit short for me. Let me start off byI was extremely excited for this game and in some ways, it did not disappoint. However, it did fall a bit short for me. Let me start off by saying, if you have the original on pc and you are expecting to get your $40 worth on console, you will be disappointed due to the vast amount of mods for the original pc game. But the game doesnt deserve to get knocked for this. It was redone for the console crowd who may not have played the originals. Now that being said, it does deserve to be knocked for several things. For instance, you cannot install this game to the HDD if you want to play the originals. That just doesnt seem well thought out. There's got to be a reason for that, and it better be a damn good one. Also, there's a lack of control customization. It's either their way or the highway. Not a huge deal since its got the basic shooter layout but still, i would tweak a few things like crouch not being a RS click. And while some people are going to rip this game to shreds for taking the fear and suspense out of it with the flashlight fix, brighter lighting, etc. But that's not a valid reason. They redid the game to feel like the originals, pure fun shooters. However, one "feature" they added in doesnt sit well with me. The autosaves. They're jarring as hell. Its not like its every few seconds but when it does save, its like a 3 second freeze that reminds you that you're playing a game. But all those things aside, the game is what they promised. A remastered doom 3, a few extra missions, and the originals. The execution just wasn't flawless.

    ****So I wanted to make a change on my previous review. I originally called this a 7 due to the inability to play the originals while the game is installed to the HDD. This can be bypassed by opening one of the originals from the "My Games" area of the dashboard. So 8 it is. And to Grimdandelo, the reason why people are posting their first reviews on THIS game is because of people like you who take it upon themselves to rate something a 0 because its not call of duty, skyrim, etc. If the people who do enjoy this game don't voice their opinion, it will get crap scores. Alot of people base their purchases off of reviews and there is absolutely no reason for someone not to buy this game. Its a piece of gaming history******
    Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2012
    7
    This version of Doom 3 is very good; a beautiful game to look at. There are only two but annoying problems. The first are the auto saves thatThis version of Doom 3 is very good; a beautiful game to look at. There are only two but annoying problems. The first are the auto saves that intrude upon the experience with a sudden rude pause. The second problem is even worse. There is no option to map your weapons to the d-pad. Instead they decided to permanently assign fists and chainsaw to right, grenades to up, and the soul cube to left. These are not my go-to weapons for the great majority of time. Instead I have to scroll weapons with either LB or RB looking for the pistol, shotgun, machine gun, chain gun, grenades, plasma gun, rocket launcher, BFG-9000. In the heat of battle (which is the whole time), either you have memorized what gun is best for that fight or you're left to frantically scroll through the gun menu while trying to survive. This my friends is an unacceptable blunder; a gross oversight of the d-pad's Raison d'être.

    Did not yet play any of the other stuff.
    Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2012
    5
    If you never had played this game before, it's a MUST BUY. If you are a Doom fan, you can miss this one without feeling guilty. The newIf you never had played this game before, it's a MUST BUY. If you are a Doom fan, you can miss this one without feeling guilty. The new missions are all except new and this pack is just a HD edition of the games. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews