User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 108
  2. Negative: 7 out of 108

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HughJ.
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    DOOM is an all-time classic. Fast, simple gameplay, "good enough" graphics, and now, easy online play, leaderboards, and achievements. Doom 3 may be prettier, but nothing tops the original for innovative, fun blasting action. I hope the other official WAD files (Doom 2, Final Doom) are released as low-priced add-ons.
  2. EricS.
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    There's no question that Doom is underwhelming compared to more modern First Person Shooters. However, there is no denying that it is one of the most games ever released. Every FPS, including Halo and Half-Life, owe a tremendous debt to the game that popularized the genre. Is Doom a better gaem than Halo? Hell no. I won't lie and say Doom is "just as fun today," nor is any game There's no question that Doom is underwhelming compared to more modern First Person Shooters. However, there is no denying that it is one of the most games ever released. Every FPS, including Halo and Half-Life, owe a tremendous debt to the game that popularized the genre. Is Doom a better gaem than Halo? Hell no. I won't lie and say Doom is "just as fun today," nor is any game released over a decade ago. But judging by its originality and impact on the industry, Doom is worthy of any gamers respect. Expand
  3. ChuckP.
    Oct 7, 2006
    6
    Great classic play but inexcusably horrible connection issues make online play frustrating. Lag and disconnects are very common no matter whom you connect to.
  4. MarkC.
    Sep 29, 2006
    6
    It used to seem so cool, but after playing Halo 2, Call of Duty 2, PDZero and Far Cry, it's really hard to go back and not laugh at the graphics. Reminds me of watching The Exorcist a few years ago: back in the day it was scary, but now it just seems a bit silly.
  5. Anonymous
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    Way better than crappy Halo. or Call of Duty. The only thing that comes close is Half-Life.
  6. WillP.
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    DOOM still holds up as a great game on the 360. The thing that makes this iteration of DOOM so awesome is the online leaderboards. Even after all the achievements have been earned, its still fun to come back and try to increase your leaderboard rankings.
  7. RedXIII
    Oct 4, 2006
    8
    It was great back in the day, still great today. Bonus points for the online play.
  8. DarrellD.
    Jan 15, 2007
    8
    Some lag and somewhat broken display on a monitor, but still very fun and nostalgic.
  9. Andyman
    Sep 28, 2006
    8
    A pixel-perfect port of the PC version of Doom. Mapping the movement and look function to the 360's dual analog sticks is a nice touch, and makes the gameplay feel much fresher than 12 years old. I'm knocking it 1 point apiece for not incorporating the PlayStation version's outstanding soundtrack, nor the Nintendo64 version's updated visuals. Even despite these A pixel-perfect port of the PC version of Doom. Mapping the movement and look function to the 360's dual analog sticks is a nice touch, and makes the gameplay feel much fresher than 12 years old. I'm knocking it 1 point apiece for not incorporating the PlayStation version's outstanding soundtrack, nor the Nintendo64 version's updated visuals. Even despite these omissions, it's still as much fun to play as ever, especially online. Get it if you're a fan, pass if you're not. Expand
  10. bigcheese
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    I had never played a doom game before I downloaded this on xbox live and I was really surprised by how good it was. Even though the graphics are dated, the game play is actually a lot more fun than most modern fps games. The game is kind of short (about 30 levels), but it has lots of replay value from the different difficulty settings and multiplayer. Lets hope doom 2 will be on xbox soon!
  11. David
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    Great and classic game. Now for the low price of 400 MS points ($5) this is a must own game. It really held up over all these years and brought back a lot of memories. The top two difficulty levels, ultra-violent and nightmare, will surely give hardcore gamers something to master and perfect their scores for the leader boards. The only gripe I have is the online multiplayer.Hardly anyone Great and classic game. Now for the low price of 400 MS points ($5) this is a must own game. It really held up over all these years and brought back a lot of memories. The top two difficulty levels, ultra-violent and nightmare, will surely give hardcore gamers something to master and perfect their scores for the leader boards. The only gripe I have is the online multiplayer.Hardly anyone ever plays online and I imagine it is because of the connection issues. I've only had one really good game that I could actually play without too much lag. Overall though, great purchase for the price, which includes all four episodes; and it's a whole lot of fun. Expand
  12. StevenH
    Sep 24, 2009
    9
    This was a very good port of Doom (probably the best). The original graphics and gameplay are almost completely carried over, although there are some subtle changes in the music and weapon placement in co-operative play that give it a nudge for the worse. To make up for lack of weapon sharing in the original game, the developers set weapon placement in co-op to deathmatch settings, whichThis was a very good port of Doom (probably the best). The original graphics and gameplay are almost completely carried over, although there are some subtle changes in the music and weapon placement in co-operative play that give it a nudge for the worse. To make up for lack of weapon sharing in the original game, the developers set weapon placement in co-op to deathmatch settings, which means you have to walk about 50 feet from the very beginning to pick up the rocket launcher, which was odd. Some of the music sounds a bit different but not any moreso than would be caused through different interpretations of the original MIDI. Lastly, it is now possible to switch between the chainsaw and the fist without picking up a Berserk, which was somewhat pleasing. Overall, a worthy purchase. Expand
  13. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    The father of the " FPS " genre, classic gun and running experience packed with a decent multiplayer . Old school FPS fan might want to play this tittle.
  14. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    The ORIGINAL DOOM! Oh my good, DOOM 1! Without all of these stupid Doom 2, Doom 3, Doom 4, Doom 5, Doom 6... All I am saying is back in the day, Doom the original was the bomb. I still love it: I have it on my laptop. Sure the graphics suck, but it is so addicting and fun. Plus, it is probably the first FPS ever made. WITHOUT DOOM, THERE WOULD BE NO COD! NO BATTLEFIELD OR HALO, OR WHATEVERThe ORIGINAL DOOM! Oh my good, DOOM 1! Without all of these stupid Doom 2, Doom 3, Doom 4, Doom 5, Doom 6... All I am saying is back in the day, Doom the original was the bomb. I still love it: I have it on my laptop. Sure the graphics suck, but it is so addicting and fun. Plus, it is probably the first FPS ever made. WITHOUT DOOM, THERE WOULD BE NO COD! NO BATTLEFIELD OR HALO, OR WHATEVER YOU LIKE THESE DAYS!!!! Expand
  15. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Why is the score around 80? This absolute CLASSIC deserves nothing less than a 10/10. A gaming masterpiece, I will never forget this game. Once you get started, you barely notice how old this game is!
  16. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    Great lighting, great maps - not linear at all!
    And the best part, easy to mod!
    I recommend you buy it! And throw your copy of COD/Halo/Doom 3 out the window so hard, it kills the cat it hits!
  17. Feb 5, 2015
    8
    The best port of a classic game. It doesn't support KB&M and obviously no mod support, but that's all that's holding back this excellent port. The only better way to play it is using a source port on PC. If you play one FPS in your life, make it DOOM.
  18. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    I never played doom 1 before it came with doom 3, so I never knew what all the rage is about. I didn't realize I would have so much fun playing it. It was more fun than a lot of the modern games out nowadays. The shooting and hit detection was spot on and the shotgun so satisfying. The game was both challenging and fun to find secrets and get to the exit.
  19. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    I remember playing this the week it came out. It blew everyone's minds. Granted it was running on a beefed up version of Wolfenstein's engine, but Doom made it f**king awesome!

    Even though it is graphically dated, it is still fun to play to this day. Is there anything more satisfying than ripping through an army of Imps with your shotgun and Chainsaw. Evil Dead: This is the video
    I remember playing this the week it came out. It blew everyone's minds. Granted it was running on a beefed up version of Wolfenstein's engine, but Doom made it f**king awesome!

    Even though it is graphically dated, it is still fun to play to this day. Is there anything more satisfying than ripping through an army of Imps with your shotgun and Chainsaw.

    Evil Dead: This is the video game you were supposed to make!!!!!!

    Overall:
    A legendary game that gave birth to the modern FPS genre.
    Expand
  20. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    It's like a Paul Verhoeven version of Aliens with Lovecraftian elements and inspired by thrash metal.

    YOU ARE HUGE. THAT MEANS YOU HAVE HUGE GUTS. RIP AND TEAR.
  21. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Dated but still awesome for only 400 MSP get it and it now has multiplayer and co-op split-screen and xbox live as well and all the original episodes are still here updated graphics, achievements and all the modern polishings
  22. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    Doom didn't invent the First Person Shooter but it defined it and it's legacy lives on to this day. You therefore have to review this watershed game from two perspectives: what it was like playing it when it was originally released and how it holds up today. 20 years ago Doom was revolutionary. The (sort of) 3D graphics and level design were like nothing we'd ever seen before, weapons wereDoom didn't invent the First Person Shooter but it defined it and it's legacy lives on to this day. You therefore have to review this watershed game from two perspectives: what it was like playing it when it was originally released and how it holds up today. 20 years ago Doom was revolutionary. The (sort of) 3D graphics and level design were like nothing we'd ever seen before, weapons were varied and kickass, the sound design was rock solid and the multiplayer was a revelation. It was also one of the first games that truly had a distinct "atmosphere". It was scary, nailbiting and just plain eerie. For the first time I felt truly immersed in the world of the game. This wasn't just a fun way to kill a few hours, Doom was an experience. But how does it hold up? I can't speak for younger gamers who are playing it for the first time but I still think Doom is a blast to play. I love all of the things modern shooters have brought to the fray both in terms of graphics and gameplay but sometimes I want to just mindlessly strafe through a horde of demons with a shotgun. No stealth, no jumping and rolling, no cover system, no crosshair --- just plain old run-and-gun. People still watch Casablanca and Gone with the Wind after 70 years, why shouldn't people play Doom after 20? It's a classic. Expand
  23. May 30, 2013
    8
    This here is the of all FPS's. This is a great game and is definitely worth the 5-10 dollars you spend paying for this game. Not a whole lot of diversity besides shooting, but who cares, it's so satisfying to shoot everything.
  24. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Carmacks and Romeros masterpiece. Ahead of its time. The very first series that got me into First person shooters. It is simple & fun. If the world would go under and someone would ask me what game would i choose to have with me this would be the answer. Midi music from godlike bands like Metallica, Pantera, Slayer, AC/DC and many more just made you addicted. I dont care that people sayCarmacks and Romeros masterpiece. Ahead of its time. The very first series that got me into First person shooters. It is simple & fun. If the world would go under and someone would ask me what game would i choose to have with me this would be the answer. Midi music from godlike bands like Metallica, Pantera, Slayer, AC/DC and many more just made you addicted. I dont care that people say Catacombs or Wolfenstein put shooters into the map. In my eyes this will always be the revolutionary fps game of all time. Expand
  25. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    I use Z Doom that allows you to run the old WAD file games on a modern PC and O/S and even in 2014 I still play using Z Doom The Ultimate Doom, Doom 2: Hell on Earth, Final Doom: Plutonia Experiment & Final Doom: TNT - Evilution. I do play Doom 3 but for me Doom 1 and the other games in the series that I have mentioned in this post are the best, so I would recommend Doom 1 on the XBox 360I use Z Doom that allows you to run the old WAD file games on a modern PC and O/S and even in 2014 I still play using Z Doom The Ultimate Doom, Doom 2: Hell on Earth, Final Doom: Plutonia Experiment & Final Doom: TNT - Evilution. I do play Doom 3 but for me Doom 1 and the other games in the series that I have mentioned in this post are the best, so I would recommend Doom 1 on the XBox 360 for anyone who likes these type of games and maybe you will see why even today I still play the Doom games via Z Doom. Expand
  26. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    Doom is one of best X-box arcade games it has that classic feel of the original its a classic and if you haven't got it yet I highly recommend it. well it has some problems like the first time I downloaded it was lagging but I think that it was my x-box and some times it freezes
  27. May 27, 2015
    10
    A fun, action packed, good old 2000s Arcade game that makes you feel like your actually fighting against the forces of hell. Though not pretty looking compared to today standards, this games still has the good things of modern day horror games: different challenging difficulty, unexpected jump scares, crazy monsters, awesome weapons, crazier bosses, hidden secrets and Easter eggs, and anA fun, action packed, good old 2000s Arcade game that makes you feel like your actually fighting against the forces of hell. Though not pretty looking compared to today standards, this games still has the good things of modern day horror games: different challenging difficulty, unexpected jump scares, crazy monsters, awesome weapons, crazier bosses, hidden secrets and Easter eggs, and an interesting story. So if you liked Wolfenstein play its twin brother and still have a blast! Expand
  28. Jul 29, 2016
    10
    [I played the PS3 counterpart, it should be like this. I review it here, as PS3's Doom page doesn't exist on Metacritic]

    There are many beautiful games. At some point, however, in the long history of video games, some real revolutionary masterpieces are created. Some people have played them at the time, other people later, still other people after decades. But a masterpiece remains a
    [I played the PS3 counterpart, it should be like this. I review it here, as PS3's Doom page doesn't exist on Metacritic]

    There are many beautiful games. At some point, however, in the long history of video games, some real revolutionary masterpieces are created. Some people have played them at the time, other people later, still other people after decades. But a masterpiece remains a masterpiece. This was Doom, 23 years ago. This is Doom, now.

    Doom's plot: many agree on the fact that it never had much importance; also id Software itself. Plot, setting, or whatever you call it, the fact is that it works great: a lost space-marine, on Mars, in a space station overrun by demons spitted out from the mouth of hell. Save humanity, shut the mouths of evil, or die in the attempt. Main character doesn't speak, a "doom-guy", an unspecified person that everyone of us can really feel to be. By the way, along all 4 episodes, the plot is told in detail with screen text, which I liked to read and made me excited.

    Doom's gameplay: this is the true essence of Doom. It all started here. Sure, Wolfenstein 3D has conceived the first-person shooter genre, but with Doom, id Software consecrated it, pushing it to higher levels. The feeling of "run-and-gun" is excellent, designed for pleasure, and the weapons are many, each one is different, each has its own physics reaction and feedback of the shots give excellent feel; the game requires use of a weapon depending on the type of enemy to kill, placing a dose of reasoning behind the game. Take aim, having to move only on the X axis, it may seem easy, but not always. The levels' structure is intricate, deep, structured with doors, switches and skull-keys that require exploration among the hordes of demons; also, as with the use of weapons, Doom requires even minimum use of brain to solve some "puzzles" that lead to secret rooms. Confined spaces require a high perception of the environment in which the player moves, and good reflexes. Of course health and armor are calibrated as a percentage, and must always be kept in check to prevent to die. The stimpack and ammunitions quantity in the levels, to be taken, are well balanced, and power-ups as "Supercharge" or "Megarmor", or "Invulnerability", are only placed where necessary. The number of enemies is varied, interactivity is high (also they attack each other), and shooting to the face at the stronger ones is not a good way to get out alive, especially if you are in high outnumbered. Bosses, or the most deadly enemies, are really tough and can put the game on a high level of challenge, even with the use of some advanced tactics. Particular HUD is very nice, and it provides all information needed, with doom-guy facial expression that react to almost every action in the game, giving the feel to be alive. Real concept of first-person shooter: few minutes of game, and the immersion is complete. Atmosphere itself, is fascinating and sometimes it gives chills and fear, being afraid of what will be after the next door, or after the actioning of a switch. Gameplay is fast, frenetic, but reasoned and studied, simple in mechanical and fun. Perfect? Yes, probably.

    Graphic and technology: yes, because Doom, in the 90s, it was also this. The improvements compared to W3D engine, have been many and are clear as textures, light's levels and animations. The graphics in 2.5D and the use of a two-dimensional map to transform the layer into a pseudo-3D on single plane is simply brilliant. Despite the absence of room-over-room and Y axis, the graphics engine has still a great depth, and even after two past decades is still able to impress. The level design is excellent and revolutionary from enviroments, to weapons (Shotgun, Plasma gun, BFG 9000) and enemies (Baron of Hell, Cacodemon, Spiderdemon, Cyberdemon). Use of violence and splatter is absolutely out of mind, still delicious. Bobby Prince's soundtrack is perfect, it fits perfectly to the Doom's mood and atmosphere; tracks like "At Doom's Gate", "Sign of Evil" and "Suspense" are absolutely unforgettable.

    How can Doom be defined? A work of technical, mechanical and artistic genius. A total revolution. It is said that everyone, more or less, have played Doom at least once and may be true because Doom really is a game for everyone: simple and fun, challenging if you want it. Doom destroys the concept of modernity, because even in the next 1000 years, despite its old age, will be fun and simple, just like today and yesterday. And that's why Doom has changed everything and has enchanted millions of people, with fun, challenge, speedrun, modding and much more. Give Doom to a young boy and he will love it, no matter if in the 90s, or the 2000s, or 2010s - guaranteed. This is a real game for everyone, and not profane things like Wii Sports.

    Times have changed, first-person shooters have changed (often in worse, unfortunately).
    But Doom is immortal because the classic never dies.
    Expand
  29. Mar 26, 2016
    9
    I have beaten this game many years ago and I'm currently doing a playthrough of DOOM II when I thought "Hmm, perhaps I'll talk about my opinion on this game while I'm at it". I mean I usually review games after I've finished them so that I can give all of the information I know from the start to endgame.

    DOOM is a game developed by id Software and started out as a DOS game for Windows
    I have beaten this game many years ago and I'm currently doing a playthrough of DOOM II when I thought "Hmm, perhaps I'll talk about my opinion on this game while I'm at it". I mean I usually review games after I've finished them so that I can give all of the information I know from the start to endgame.

    DOOM is a game developed by id Software and started out as a DOS game for Windows 95 twenty years ago. It was considered to be the most played game at the time with its innovative graphics and gameplay. DOOM takes place at a few moon bases where an unnamed marine, known to many as "Doomguy", travels and defeats monsters who have spawned from Hell. He also travels into Hell to get to the root of the problem.

    DOOM isn't like your typical first-person shooter. There are several choices you can do to move around, such as the keyboard per se, as I use that to play the game. You can still use the mouse, however it's a bit difficult to navigate levels. But that doesn't mean the controls are wonky and terrible. It's still pretty easy to move around. You can't jump though, but you can run across gaps to "Jump" from platform to platform. But this gimmick gets focused heavily in the fourth episode exclusive to "The Ultimate DOOM", which I have for Steam and iPhone.

    So let's talk about the combat features, such as the weapons and monsters. According to the story, all of the monsters you have to fight are something out of Hell, for example, there are things like Imps, Demons, Specters, and barons. Oh, and let's not forget about the lovable "Cacodemon" you can find later in the game. Monsters like imps and demons are easy to kill, but at the end of the first episode, you come across some Barons of Hell which are pretty difficult to defeat, as they attack fast and require many hits to kill. You'll also find more difficult monsters, like the Cyberdemon, who shoots rockets like a maniac, as well as the final boss which is the "Cyber Demon" or sometimes known as the "Spider Mastermind".

    The weapons you can use in the game are pretty sick to use against these monsters. That's why I have a blasted good time playing this game because of all the violent things you can do with the weapons and monsters. At the start of the game, you have a pistol, which is the weakest weapon in the game. Later, you can pick up a shotgun which is much greater than a pistol. Then there are other ones out there like the Chaingun, Rocket Launcher, and even the Chainsaw. There is even a plasma gun you can find in secret areas, and in even more secret areas, you can possibly find the greatest weapon in the game; the BFG9000. Also known as the "Big "F***ing Gun".

    Now for the miscellaneous bits: I really LOVE the soundtrack. It really matches the mood in some levels. My favorite one of the bunch is the music in E3M1 called "Hell Keep" where it really fits in with how you are going to have a serious time in Hell. That song is called "Untitled" by the way. As for graphics, they were good at the time. You couldn't really make anything better twenty years ago so this was pretty spot on. In later ports, there was a bonus episode called "Thy Flesh Consumed" where I don't really know how it follows the canon of the main story, but the levels of this episode are pretty tricky and technical with unique gimmicks and perhaps a few other things. The only major complaint I would give to the game is trying to solve puzzles to beat certain levels. I mean when I'm trying to find a button or key, it usually takes me five minutes to move on. Sometimes if I DO find something, it's just a lousy secret area. But as I kept replaying the game, I knew what to do and I have fun again.

    So yes, DOOM is one of the greatest first-person shooters and one of the first ever. I consider DOOM to be my most favorite first-person shooter ever, aside from Half-Life 2, which I love as well but I guess deem that second best. DOOM is a total pass for me. The gameplay is great, the story is great, the music is great, the vast majority of the game is great.

    STORY - 9/10
    PRESENTATION - 10/10
    GAMEPLAY - 8/10
    VALUE - 8/10
    OVERALL - 9/10
    Expand
  30. Jun 13, 2016
    9
    This is amazing vedeogame, this game is better than Doom 2 and Wolfenstein 3D and I think this is best game of 1990-1995 . Good shooter, which the start this franchise and I think this game is best of all time, in this game must kill monsters and soldiers and levels in this game are short, but in Doom Levels must not to think too much . Good game with awesome graphics for 1993 and I thinkThis is amazing vedeogame, this game is better than Doom 2 and Wolfenstein 3D and I think this is best game of 1990-1995 . Good shooter, which the start this franchise and I think this game is best of all time, in this game must kill monsters and soldiers and levels in this game are short, but in Doom Levels must not to think too much . Good game with awesome graphics for 1993 and I think this game enter in My Top 5 favourite shooters, this game is very addictive and amazing . Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    90
    Doom remained young at heart. (...) Doom´s speed, the simple but highly energetic movement, its wicked and labyrinthine levels are something that no Call of Duty, no Halo, no Killzone, not even a RAGE can offer.
  2. This Xbox 360 version of the game stays mostly faithful to the original, and it holds up well after all these years.
  3. At the time this was released, it blew people's minds and nearly everyone played it. The innovation doesn't hold a candle to today's games, but it carries over nicely as an Arcade title.