Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    70
    Happy Action Theater is not really a game. It is however an impressive demo that shows what Kinect is able to do. It's fun to see yourself on the screen, instead of a small avatar. Unfortunately, developer Double Fine hasn't fully used Kinect's camera. It just isn't enough.
  2. Feb 17, 2012
    70
    A nice experiment with some genuinely fun moments, and a great showcase for what Kinect can accomplish, but unless you have young kids or like to play with simple toys, Happy Action Theater won't do much for you.
  3. Feb 3, 2012
    70
    Double Fine Happy Action Theater's imaginative scenarios make for unstructured, lighthearted fun.
  4. Feb 2, 2012
    70
    None of the activities are particularly inventive, but I also wouldn't go so far to say they're boring, either. Enough of them are interesting that you probably won't regret buying Happy Action Theater for yourself. On the other hand, it should prove to be sufficiently engaging for kids (and kid-like adults, particularly when alcohol is in the room).
  5. May 21, 2012
    69
    More of an interactive demo than a game, it will hold your attention for about the same amount of time as a short demo will.
  6. Feb 17, 2012
    67
    Double Fine's Happy Action Theater isn't a great "game", but it is the best tech demo and use of Microsoft's Kinect peripheral to date. There is a simplistic joy to be found in this title and you really get out of it what you put into it. There is no purpose, no goal(s), and no real requirements to succeed. Players simply interact with a variety of environments and have a ton of fun. It may not sound like much, but it works, and the manner in which it does is almost like magic.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Awesome fun for kids but parents & family as well. My three year old daughter can´t get enough of this game! A must-have forAwesome fun for kids but parents & family as well. My three year old daughter can´t get enough of this game! A must-have for Kinect owners in my opinion. Almost all the minigames are fun and entertaining. The price is fair too. Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2013
    1
    I don't know what I am thinking when purchasing this game on xbox market. what a stupid and lame 'game'. kick balloons, throw lava, takeI don't know what I am thinking when purchasing this game on xbox market. what a stupid and lame 'game'. kick balloons, throw lava, take photos. I am not a 5 years old, so if you are not/ have no children avoid this 'game' at all cost. Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2012
    6
    Had a little fun with. 2-player mode is incredibly enjoyable: throw lava at each other, feed the birds, dance, jump, crush etc. We wereHad a little fun with. 2-player mode is incredibly enjoyable: throw lava at each other, feed the birds, dance, jump, crush etc. We were running from one side of the room to another like kids and had a great time. Things changed when another 2 friends signed in... More than 2 players cannot interact! We tried many times to grab some lava and throw it, but only two players were actually "playing". The other two were unable to do anything. Sadly underdeveloped. Oh well. Still, it has some good little ideas. Full Review »