User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 65
  2. Negative: 32 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 28, 2011
    6
    Legacy includes some new enemies, 3 side-quests and a decent plot for the main quest. The DLC costs $10 for around 1-2 hours of gameplay. If you enjoyed Dragon Age II you might like this as well, but if you were disappointed with Dragon Age II than Legacy isn't for you.
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    0
    I played Dragon Age II and was majorly dissapointed. I decided to throw Bioware a virtual bone and download Legacy, wherein I discovered a world of crap. Sure, there's a 'new' enemy, Genlocks (who were in the first game) and you have to adopt all new flanking tactics because they have frontal shields...Kind of like LOTR on the Gamecube 10 years ago. Or Terminator Salvation, or Crysis 2's Large Aliens..Or any game ever. Oh wait. I guess it's not new, its generic and bland and unimaginative. The enviroments are still painfully linear, and the story was lacking. Let DAII die and make a good third installment. Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    1
    Dont believe all these things about how great it is. JUST BIOWARE STAFF trying to prevent you from reading the truth. THRUTH: Nobody will need 6 hours to finish this. 2 hours tops
    Nothing has changed. Story has become worse with nothing in it.

    All these stories about making changes and listening to customers complaints are nonsense. They are charging 10 dollars for 1 to 2 hours of
    gameplay. Story is very thin and pointless. No interesting discussions or choices just a repeat of same old same old.

    No new enemenies final boss is joke.
    I was really hoping Bioware could set things straight but is not what happened. Avoid at all cost especially for 10 usd.
    Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    3
    The bad models and gameplay still infect what could have been a good DLC. Unless Bioware makes a real expansion that fixes some of the underlying problems of the sequel, this game will never be appreciated... rightfully so.
  5. Jul 27, 2011
    2
    0.0 After releasing a rushed , **** , disappointing game like DA2, I tried to trust them when they said they were "listening to the fans" to make "what they want" **** This DLC is pointless, over-priced , simple and not worth wasting your money or BiowarePoints on it. But I must say that DA2 original game is so **** bad that even this simple "Legacy" crap has a better story. Won't be buying another DA2 DLC unless it is like 100 times better than this one. 10â Expand
  6. Jul 28, 2011
    9
    Legacy it is a great adventure during or after you finish the game. I am giving a 9, because is short, in one hour you can finished but is a great history of Hawke's family. You can find new enemies, new locations, a new weapon, etc. I want more content for this game.
  7. Jul 28, 2011
    3
    I really believed Bioware when they said they listened to fan feedback but this almost excactly like playing da2. The only positive things are that there are more cutscenes and more party banter but I would have preferred at least some dialogue with the other party members but yet again there is none. It's loaded with badly made and ruined darkspawn and genlocks, they look awfull! A hack and slash action with a little story. Collapse
  8. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    Legacy is a great addition, the new environments are refreshing, but they some are repeated. Hawkes Key is a good addition as well. However the last boss is a pain.
  9. Aug 1, 2011
    0
    Legacy is one of the worst Bioware efforts to date. The story is boring, the combat is mediocre at best, and the final boss fight is so stupid that it is almost laughable. Also, the final fight is very badly glitched, resulting in the possibility that you cannot complete the main quest at all. I had to reload my game more than a dozen times before it actually worked right.

    I am very
    disappointed that I wasted my money on this garbage. DA2 and this Legacy add-on are indicative of how far Bioware has fallen since they were taken over by EA. Bioware used to make actual RPG's, where you could totally customize the characters in your party (imagine that). Now with their recent games you cannot customize your party members at all, and you can barely even customize your own character's appearance. You can play for days and not get a single decent-looking set of armor (and unlike other things in the games, armor is something that you are looking at the entire time, so it is kinda important). I have two rogue character-types that I play (one a melee two-weapon fighter, and one an archer), and the choices are so drastically limited in these games that the two characters end up looking exactly the same (i.e. not enough appearance options). I never had this problem with the original Dragon Age (or the original Mass Effect, fwiw).

    If you like actual RPG's, avoid at all costs.
    Expand
  10. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    I thought Legacy was great. I mean, if you didn't like DA2, then your not going to like Legacy, as it's more of the same. But I loved DA2. I play on Nightmare difficulty, and it actually took me 7 hours to complete this dlc because the battles take so long on nightmare and because I did every sidequest. Legacy introduces some new enemies, develops the backstory of Hawke, Bethany, and Varric a little more, has an optional secret boss that is EXTREMELY difficult on the Nightmare difficulty, has a cool final boss, and has new weapons and armor. It if very linear in terms of the areas you explore, but that didn't bother me. Also, for those who were bothered by repeated environments in DA2, all environments in this new dlc are new. Expand
  11. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    Wow, it looks like the haters and trolls are still bitter that Bioware didn't make an Origins clone. Anyway, I am giving the DLC a 10, to counter the unfair reviews by people who didn't actually buy/play the DLC and are just leaving low scores to be jerks. In reality this DLC is more of an 8. If you loved DA2, like I did, and you have been wishing for more, you will enjoy diving back in to play this DLC. Expand
  12. Jul 26, 2011
    2
    Bioware missed a major opportunity to win back some fans that were disappointed with DAII. Not that this wasn't a good attempt at DLC, but the fact that Bioware expects us to pay $10 for the DLC after the majority of us felt cheated. If it were a free release, as sort of an apology for the redundancy of the main story, no question that I would give this a 10. But as a $10 download, it's linear and unimaginative an give little incentive to play as it doesn't really involve your characters (except Varric) or give reference to the original game whose character we all felt a more personal connection with than the Hawke character because of limited choice. I'm you're wondering whether or not this is worth it, pass it up and wait for the Witcher 2 on 360. All Witcher 2 dlc has been promised as free. Hint, hint Bioware. Expand
  13. Aug 16, 2011
    3
    Sadly, The Dragon Age Saga, continues to be downsized into tiny little bits that truly are not worth the amount of money paid. Simply put this DLC should be $5.00, it is nowhere worth the $10.00 price. Legacy will take someone, who even looks into every corner about 1.5 hours. There are Some new enemies, that don't really stand out and are forgettable. The end Boss Battle, is also quite forgettable. Adding this to the Dragon Age Cannon, made me just remember and long for what I hoped Dragon Age 2 would be, instead of a Stripped down version. If you didn't mind the rushed feel of the full game, then you may want to pick this up as a Deal of the Week, but it in no way is worth $10.00. Very Forgettable! Expand
  14. Aug 9, 2011
    8
    Adds 2+ hours of gameplay that is unchanged from DA2, (good or bad depending on your opinion of the original), but for me the real draw for me was the story elements. While Malcolm Hawke's role was underplayed, it was great to see grey wardens get screen time, and learn about one of the more interesting evil characters that the series has put forth (similar to the architect from awakening but with a more interesting past.) combat was satisfying, conversation was great, and it was all in all a solid package from bioware. Expand
  15. Aug 22, 2011
    3
    Well disappointed. Especially since the folks on Bioware Social Network raved about it. I must of forgot I was listening to biased fans in denial about a mediocre game and now a DLC to go with it! Anyway 800 points for little over two hours play. I just bought Old World Blues for New Vegas for the same price tag and got almost 8 hours. Ok maybe its a bit unfair to compare two different games like that. However for gimmick weapons and enemies that should have been included in the main game makes me feel disappointed. Bioware did take note from some feedback from DA2 very negative opening. No longer are we seeing rehashed environments and some thought looks like its been put into it. Its everything DA2 should have been on release. So why such a low scored review. Well the DLC doesnt redeem the game. As said its what DA2 should have been on release and the flaws of that should have been made into this DLC to make it good. You can tell a lot of it is cut content, or should I say unfinished content that never made the launch. Massive flaws are still apparent and other then for lore and a couple of new swords the DLC isn't that great. It was nice to see they put in effort of bringing back each voice actor. But all they get is a couple of extra unique lines. An Improvement no doubt. But still a mediocre DLC for a very mediocre game!! Expand
  16. Sep 26, 2011
    0
    Bioware has not learned it's lesson. Drop DA2, its a pathetic game. The storyline, again is garbage. It is obvious that Bioware will be putting out an inferior product from now on. Dragon Age 3 will not be an improvement if they do not start from scratch and drop all aspects of DA2. Is Bioware serious, the blood of Hawke. Who cares about Hawke. Talk about the worst main character in the bioware universe. Expand
  17. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    A great addition to Dragon Age 2. If you like me play on nightmare, don't use cheats to make your game easier and you use a save that's not with a top-geared character it will take you 6+ hours. The story is nice and most of the fights seem refreshing, not to mention the bosses. The ending boss is a little too techical so in other words easy, but there is also another HIDDEN boss who is quite fun. All the companions talk which is a first for a Bioware DLC allthough the items you get are a little sub-par ( something i don't care about) Best Bioware DLC to date, better even then Shadow Broker and i like ME2 more then DA2 Expand
  18. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    Its not perfect but its still 3/4 hours more of playing Dragon Age 2! its not perfect but still good! I think they keep theyre good ideas for Dragon Age 3
  19. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    Greetings all!
    My first review! I am a massive RPG and Bioware fan from the Baldur's Gate era and have always felt confident that I will get my money's worth when purchasing one of their titles. Purely from an entertainment perspective, I always compare video game investments to movie theater pricing. Where I live, a movie ticket will run you $12 or more for 2-hours of entertainment
    (assuming you don't spend the additional obligatory $20 on soda, popcorn et al). So spending $60 on a Bioware game that provides 80+ hours of solid entertainment and story-telling that is often better written and voice-acted than most movies today...it is kind of a no-brainer. I personally feel that DA:O was the best RPG ever made (yes...Nostalgic Ones...better than BG2!). Was DA2 perfect? No. It did feel rushed and the repetitive environments did drive me crazy but...the characterization, story-telling and continued world-building was fantastic. I played it twice and (based on my movie theater comparison) felt I definitely got my money's worth. The amount of time, effort and finesse that goes into making these things is astounding to me. The almost rabid vitriol surrounding DA2 makes me concerned that Bioware will throw up their hands and abandon this great story. Removing myself from the maelstrom of herd-mentality negativity surrounding DA2 and comparing Legacy in an objective manner to other similarly-priced DLC, I thought it was great! I paid $10 for 3-hours of enjoyable entertainment. I recently spent $13 (before snacks) to see Captain America. By comparison Legacy was was a far better entertainment value. Expand
  20. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    An excellent piece of DLC, and if you enjoyed DA2 you'll almost certainly enjoy this. New story, more background info on Hawke, and fully voice acted. If you're one of the DA:O fans who were disappointed with DA2, you should give this a try. It doesn't address all the issues people seem to have had, but does make a good attempt to take account of fan feedback. Length wise it's what we've come to expect from Bioware, about 2 hours, also fairly linear. That said, as with most Bioware games, there is good reply value. Some decent new equipment as well, especially for any Bloodmages in your party. It can be played at any time after you reach the city, though perhaps best to wait until after your trip to the Deep Roads (and no, that's not a spoiler, you're told about the Deeps Roads expedition at the start of Act 1). Would have scored it higher, however I found the final battle a little annoying (I'd explain, however that would be a spoiler). Expand
  21. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Pretty much a must play if you have any interest in the Dragon Age lore. Corypheus is one of the *original* Tevinter Magisters that entered the Golden City, and one of the very first darkspawn. Apparently the Golden City was already tainted when the magisters entered.
  22. Jul 28, 2011
    0
    I really believed Bioware when they said they listened to fan feedback but this almost excactly like playing da2. The only positive things are that there are more cutscenes and more party banter but I would have preferred at least some dialogue with the other party members but yet again there is none. It's loaded with badly made and ruined darkspawn and genlocks, they look awfull! A hack and slash action with a little story. Collapse
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Oct 6, 2011
    58
    This DLC is for those who're dedicated to the Dragon Age brand and that's about it. This short addition does a little to flesh out the Hawke story, but doesn't have the impressive scale that some previous Bioware DLC had.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    60
    Dragon Age II: Legacy is a pretty boring expansion. The combat is a bit more challenging, but the use of tactics doesn't make any sense. Legacy isn't a bad downloadable expansion, but is just very disappointing.
  3. A little short and lighter on moral choices than we'd like, but the killer loot and smart new enemies make up for its shortcomings. [Nov 2011, p.112]