Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    85
    A neat little expansion, well formed and surprisingly well-paced; if you enjoyed the main game, it's definitely worth a download.
  2. The best Dragon Age expansion to date, and well worth the admission price - for a change. Plus, the end-game loot is a decent bonus.
  3. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    It's an absorbing and varied side story that feeds back into the wider Dragon Age universe in subtle ways. What more could you need?
  4. Dec 4, 2011
    75
    BioWare has listened to the feedback of its fans and brought us the Mark of the Assassin downloadable content. Fortunately this piece of extra content offers enough variety to keep it fresh. You will also find a great new member for your team, Tallis, who is voiced by femme fatale Felicia Day. Tallis is a great and welcome addition and it's a shame you can't keep her after you've finished this DLC.
  5. Nov 1, 2011
    75
    A better package than Legacy, Mark of the Assassin has a great story to tell and is worth picking up if you're a fan of the Dragon Age franchise.
  6. Oct 27, 2011
    75
    MOTA runs about 3-4 hours in length, which is fair for the $10 price tag. The ending also has the potential to substantially impact Dragon Age III so I am excited to see where that leads.
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    75
    If you're looking for more of what Dragon Age II had to offer, or you just like Felicia Day, Mark of the Assassin is a pretty decent buy. It'll only last you about three hours, but compared to the average movie ticket, it's not an awful deal. I can't recommend it without reservation, but at the very least, I can assure you I had a better time than I did in Legacy.
  8. 75
    After spending most of your time in Dragon Age II confined to the cramped, dingy corners of the politically scrambled seaport of Kirkwall, the wide-open greenery and lush palatial estate of Mark of the Assassin are refreshing.
  9. Oct 19, 2011
    70
    If you want to spend some additional hours in the world of Dragon Age, Mark of the Assassin is still one of the best ways to do it.
  10. Oct 13, 2011
    70
    A fun new character breathes life into Dragon Age II: Mark of the Assassin.
  11. Oct 13, 2011
    70
    Although it doesn't reach Legacy's and the Exiled Prince's quality standards, Mark of the Assassin proves to be a worthy DLC that won't surely disappoint any fan of the franchise.
  12. Oct 10, 2011
    70
    Mark of the Assassin introduces strange and sloppy stealth sequences along with new quests and an interesting new character in Tallis. It starts out rather bland but it gets more interesting as the story progresses. In the end it's a lot better than Legacy, but only worth your money if you're a fan of the main game.
  13. Oct 22, 2011
    65
    A lighthearted and straightforward game that does most things right and nothing truly wrong.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    I don't understand the fascination with Felicia Day. She was fun in Dr. Horrible and The Guild, but why should that be a selling point? WhyI don't understand the fascination with Felicia Day. She was fun in Dr. Horrible and The Guild, but why should that be a selling point? Why should adding a character voiced by her draw me back into DA2? Let me add, a temporary character only available in this adventure. Plus, it's yet another adventure that lack depth with a focal character that the typical mark mouthed rogue. The robbery concept was intriguing, but the entire stealth mechanic was boring. As was the resolution. At least it's not a repetition of dungeon or a cobbled together story from semi-related events. It's not bad... it's just not very good. Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2011
    7
    Dragon Age 2 had its flaws, but i was able to overlook them as they were mostly cosmetic. Here, in Mark of the Assassin, a great deal of theseDragon Age 2 had its flaws, but i was able to overlook them as they were mostly cosmetic. Here, in Mark of the Assassin, a great deal of these issues, such as variety in environments, have been attended to. Felica Day is surprisingly competent in her role as Tallis. The new environments are much more varied and colourful. Combat is as fun as ever and Tallis is granted her own special abilities that fit in with the style of her character traits. For 800 points i feel i have spent my money wisely and i think this DLC is proof that designers, when they communicate with their audience as Bioware have, are capable of crafting an experience that allows them to maintain a creative flair as well as cater to the wishes of the public. This DLC is fun, has interesting characters and presents a story that helps expand the Dragon Age universe and its people. A solid 7. The only thing that holds this back from being an 8, for me, is that the stealth section here seems experimental and isn't quite as engaging as it could have been. Still, it doesn't drag on and it is not particularly difficult. Full Review »
  3. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    Found this DLC to be mildly engaging. Introduced new areas and new creatures, colors and scenery were vibrant and banter was humorous. PlotFound this DLC to be mildly engaging. Introduced new areas and new creatures, colors and scenery were vibrant and banter was humorous. Plot was pretty weak and Tallis was a bit annoying. Stealth section was a little to long and awkward at times. Some of the optional puzzles were more tedious than challenging. Tallis VA's delivery of lines seemed flat at times. I could have skipped this one. Full Review »