Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 7, 2011
    100
    The advancements in RPG mechanics would be enough to set it apart, but the real achievement of Dragon Age II is in the story-telling. I could point out the improved combat and graphics till there's blood covering my face, but BioWare is one of the few companies that uses the advanced computing power available to modern game designers to let you actually play a role.
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    95
    Dragon Age 2 takes everything that made the original so outstanding, and improves upon it effectively, offering another compelling, extensive, epic experience that will win you over with its rich character and tremendous attention to detail.
  3. 94
    Manages to be the same great epic as its forebear in terms of sheer scale and ambition, while packing in superior visuals, improved gameplay and a stronger grasp on its own unique identity.
  4. Mar 9, 2011
    92
    Though it doesn't hold a candle to its predecessor when it comes to sheer breadth, Dragon Age II has quite a bit more soul.
  5. Mar 9, 2011
    91
    An excellent role-playing game, and a logical and direct evolution of the previous game, more action-focused and more polished, although its action focus won't please everyone.
  6. Mar 8, 2011
    91
    It may be difficult for hardcore gamers to ignore the revamped combat system, but once you calm down and excuse some minor flaws, you'll find an amazing game in Dragon Age II.
  7. Apr 22, 2011
    90
    Above all, it seems like Dragon Age II is an experiment. If you're a fan of the first game and expect a direct continuation, either in story or mechanics, you'll be disappointed. If you're not willing to put up with some rough edges and some mechanics that don't quite work as intended, you'll end up having a hard time. But if you're going for a game that has some of the best storytelling in RPGs in a while, or you're looking for a BioWare RPG to tide yourself over until Mass Effect 3, you won't do much better right now than Dragon Age II.
  8. Apr 1, 2011
    90
    Bloodier, muddier and cleverer than Origins, this is a story as much about Kirkwall as about Hawke, a stepping stone setting up what I can only imagine will be one hell of a conflict in the threequel. Perhaps above all, though, it's still the most fun you can have with dragons without being eaten alive.
  9. Mar 23, 2011
    90
    BioWare set the bar quite high for themselves with the Dragon Age: Origins. With big-but-subtle changes, the developer tries to address a larger audience with the second game, but this doesn't mean that these changes aren't fit for the hardcore demographic. On the contrary, Dragon Age II keeps the deep RPG-elements and the gratifying story that turned the first part into such a well received game.
  10. Mar 11, 2011
    90
    Dragon Age 2 is a great RPG for PC and consoles, but it lacks a bit of complexity.
  11. 90
    Some great storytelling and enjoyable fighting prove once again that Bioware is the king of modern role playing games.
  12. Mar 8, 2011
    90
    It's not better than the predecessor and the constant reuse of the environment feels cheap. However it's still got that great storytelling, characters and hard moral choices that is the series signum.
  13. 90
    Dragon Age Origins was an enormous mouthful in a time where huge games are a rarity. Dragon Age II is somewhat shorter, but nevertheless a big game with an exceptionally well-framed story. Most of the new additions and updates are welcome, even if they don't put the game at the front of the pack. Easily recommended.
  14. Mar 8, 2011
    90
    You will either love or hate the game - I do both. Every twist of the story is followed by boring side quests. But the little story flame keeps burning and every flare of it keeps me in the game. I want to know what this is all about, even if it is only because I want something to happen.
  15. Mar 8, 2011
    90
    Although, visually, it still fails to reach standards of pure excellence, Dragon Age 2 proves to be a fantastic fantasy-RPG that will undoubtedly satisfy both fans of the genre and potential newcomers.
  16. Mar 8, 2011
    90
    Despite the change in pace, graphics and tactics, Dragon Age II is once again one of the greatest RPGs of our time, thanks to an interesting storyline, fascinating characters and a fun, over the top dark fantasy combat system.
  17. Mar 7, 2011
    90
    BioWare have comprehensively hit back at detractors of the original game and Dragon Age II delivers a distinctive fantasy RPG with far broader appeal and personality than before. Mega-nerds may feel slighted that they can't dig into the mechanics quite so easily but few would argue that this slicker, more streamlined approach isn't a vast improvement. [Apr 2011, p.73]
  18. 90
    Next to its predecessor, Dragon Age II may be a slightly altered beast, but the minute Isabela slyly chirps "I like big boats, I cannot lie" to a Desire Demon in the murky Fade, you'll realize this game offers some of the deepest, nerdiest, most worthwhile 40 to 60 hours you'll ever love losing sleep over. [April 2011, p.70]
  19. Mar 21, 2011
    89
    If you like your RPGs old-school with plenty of Tolkien and Dungeon Master mixed in with sword wielding warrior women and moody elves, then Dragon Age is for you.
  20. Mar 23, 2011
    88
    Dragon Age 2 is a perfect example of how a great sequel should be put together.
  21. Mar 21, 2011
    88
    Dragon Age II might stir up a little controversy for the radical changes BioWare implemented in the series, but many of them were done to make the game more accessible. It's still the Dragon Age many of us know and love, it's just growing up a bit. If you're looking for a fantastic adventure with incredible dialogue, vastly improved visuals and visceral combat, this game won't disappoint.
  22. Mar 12, 2011
    88
    BioWare streamlined the whole Dragon Age experience, making it more involving and dynamic than the first one: the great story and dialogue management are amongst the game's higher points, while we would have liked something more from the too basic visuals and level design. A recommended game, even to the most conservative players.
  23. Mar 8, 2011
    88
    Dragon Age II is streamlined, not simplified. It's a great game within its own rights, but issues with the overall story, repetitive environments, and control scheme keep it from being truly fantastic.
  24. Mar 16, 2011
    87
    Combat may take some time to get used to, but overall a spectacular game from Bioware.
  25. 87
    The new battle system and the action gameplay are nice. Only the level design is obviously too repetitive. The game looks and feels a lot more accessible than its predecessor.
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2229 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    0
    I have been following Bioware through their first ever steps. I own all their RPG titles until this day. Sadly this will be the last Bioware title I will own. As such an old fan I came to appreciate the effort put into game making. Titles such as Baldur's Gate, KOTOR will always be memorable. What can someone say about Dragon Age II though? The gameplay is dumbed down to the point of hack/slash. Thanks but no thanks, Diablo III will do a better job than this. Storytelling is linear and non thrilling. Tactics are next to non existent and inventory, customization are a shadow of what is expected for an RPG game of this caliber. That said I think 60 bucks for a game rushed to please the mass fan base it too much. 30 would be good for this quality.. Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    4
    Sadly DA2 is no roleplay Game in my Oppinion anymore. The only thing this game has is fighting (with much blood and exploding hordes of enemies - like the Marketing said.. for every button something flashy happens) also there are no Skills anymore, beside the fighting skills... The other thing is the story presentation, which Bioware still is good at.
    But things like the restricted inventory and kodex entries (50% percent of the things you find are nondescript junk?? really?), the MMO Interface.. this all makes it to an Action Adventure at best. As a roleplay game it sadly fails in nearly every way :(
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    2
    Soulless, disappointing, misstep (if not outright misshapen). Bioware has long been a gem of rich storytelling and having the ability to define gestalt. However, glamor doesn't make a game. The graphics & sounds effects are clean, dark, & too simple to bring reference to the genre (they're more suited to modern, the future, or a tech setting). The quality of voice & story leaves one wondering that budget cuts were in the wrong areas--quite frankly, the game feels low rent, a sellout, & hoping to be a cash cow--or else promising to deliver to an immature crowd. The deviation from the genre just doesn't work. Given critic reviews of the game vs. user reviews, I wonder that critics are now as out-of-touch as Tom Cruise. As much as I feel that Overlord was an underrated game by critics, I call this game far too overrated. It's a huge let down. Let RPG fans mourn the loss of Bauldur's Gate, the downfall of it's "successor", & pray Skyrim is better, not bastardized, nor as dumbed down. Full Review »