Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    Slightly dissapointing. It's not a bad game but a much worse one than the first chapter of the saga, and we're sure that BioWare can do far better than this.
  2. Mar 10, 2011
    70
    Dragon Age 2, like the first, feels like a whisper of a promise rather than a burst of fresh air, always heralding that maybe – just maybe – the next sequel will be better. For now, it is robust, enjoyable and promising. But most of all, it's safe. It's safe.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    70
    Despite its game mechanics being streamlined to cater the console-audience with a high tempo and a smaller set of statistics, Dragon Age II is still a massive role-playing adventure. With its immersive storyline and good class system, it its yet another Bioware game in the collection of great role-playing experiences.
  4. Mar 8, 2011
    70
    While Dragon Age II doesn't quite measure up to it's predecessor, the streamlined approach was a solid effort - if Bioware can somehow marry the best parts of Origins and Dragon Age II, it will produce one of the best RPGs the world has ever seen.
  5. 70
    The frustrating thing is we have a feeling Dragon Age II is going to be criticised most for its gameplay changes than its storytelling failings. You might not like the new direction but it works as BioWare intended. But the story you carve with your new combat skills doesn't always seem worthy of such risky innovation.
  6. Mar 8, 2011
    70
    Despite the way narrative has been re-structured and the combat made meatier, this sequel follows the old conventions of the genre too literally to develop an individuality beyond them. Two entries down the pipe, and Dragon Age is still experiencing the growing pains of a series that's more dedicated to studying fantasy games than developing its own personality in the genre.
  7. Mar 11, 2011
    65
    There are occasional strong moments, but unless you're desperate for more of the Dragon Age setting, it would be best to replay Dragon Age: Origins or Mass Effect 2 instead.
  8. Mar 28, 2011
    60
    It's quick, painless and will leaving you wanting more. Perhaps it doesn't bear the weight other RPGs do, but it carries its own and smoothly enters players into its world. Overall, it may not challenge, but it does please.
  9. Mar 23, 2011
    60
    There's a lot to like in BioWare's latest, but the sad truth is that even before the halfway point you'll have seen pretty much everything the game has to offer, several times over in many cases. [Issue#107, p.86]
  10. Mar 21, 2011
    60
    Dragon Age II isn't a bad game, but it is a huge disappointment from such a respected and otherwise consistent developer. While the combat has been improved significantly, its failings in other areas – areas in which BioWare usually excel – are numerous and baffling. In the 32 hours it took me to finish the game, I spent the last 10 wishing it would hurry up and get to the good bit at the end. And then it turned out the ending was a bit non-committal and rubbish, too. A shame.
  11. Mar 11, 2011
    60
    The claustrophobic setting is the game's most glaring weakness: you can't have an epic adventure in a single city any more than a child will be content to endlessly explore his own back garden. [Apr 2011, p.82]
  12. Mar 8, 2011
    60
    Dragon Age II is blessed with a deep universe and a ton of content, but it's sadly undermined by its technical side. Even though, visually, the game goes beyond the original, it still forgoes some elements of its predecessor in order to become more action-oriented, which is a choice that will most probably keep dividing opinions. We'd have hoped to see this sequel install the franchise as a must-have by correcting the shortcomings of the original. Instead, we'll have to make-do with finding it most entertaining indeed, but without any added praise. Too bad.
  13. Mar 28, 2011
    50
    Bioware has stripped away the veil of grandiose adventure, and what's behind the curtain is a truly uninspired RPG.
  14. Mar 11, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  15. Mar 22, 2011
    25
    Defying all expectations, BioWare managed to take one of the most memorable Western RPGs in recent history and completely destroyed everything that made it so good.
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2229 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    0
    I have been following Bioware through their first ever steps. I own all their RPG titles until this day. Sadly this will be the last Bioware title I will own. As such an old fan I came to appreciate the effort put into game making. Titles such as Baldur's Gate, KOTOR will always be memorable. What can someone say about Dragon Age II though? The gameplay is dumbed down to the point of hack/slash. Thanks but no thanks, Diablo III will do a better job than this. Storytelling is linear and non thrilling. Tactics are next to non existent and inventory, customization are a shadow of what is expected for an RPG game of this caliber. That said I think 60 bucks for a game rushed to please the mass fan base it too much. 30 would be good for this quality.. Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    4
    Sadly DA2 is no roleplay Game in my Oppinion anymore. The only thing this game has is fighting (with much blood and exploding hordes of enemies - like the Marketing said.. for every button something flashy happens) also there are no Skills anymore, beside the fighting skills... The other thing is the story presentation, which Bioware still is good at.
    But things like the restricted inventory and kodex entries (50% percent of the things you find are nondescript junk?? really?), the MMO Interface.. this all makes it to an Action Adventure at best. As a roleplay game it sadly fails in nearly every way :(
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    2
    Soulless, disappointing, misstep (if not outright misshapen). Bioware has long been a gem of rich storytelling and having the ability to define gestalt. However, glamor doesn't make a game. The graphics & sounds effects are clean, dark, & too simple to bring reference to the genre (they're more suited to modern, the future, or a tech setting). The quality of voice & story leaves one wondering that budget cuts were in the wrong areas--quite frankly, the game feels low rent, a sellout, & hoping to be a cash cow--or else promising to deliver to an immature crowd. The deviation from the genre just doesn't work. Given critic reviews of the game vs. user reviews, I wonder that critics are now as out-of-touch as Tom Cruise. As much as I feel that Overlord was an underrated game by critics, I call this game far too overrated. It's a huge let down. Let RPG fans mourn the loss of Bauldur's Gate, the downfall of it's "successor", & pray Skyrim is better, not bastardized, nor as dumbed down. Full Review »