Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    25
    Defying all expectations, BioWare managed to take one of the most memorable Western RPGs in recent history and completely destroyed everything that made it so good.
  2. 74
    I can honestly say I had hoped for more from Dragon Age II. Considering Bioware have a history of nailing their sequels, I can't help but feel this was handed off to their reserves developers as the big guns work on Mass Effect 3.
  3. Mar 7, 2011
    100
    The advancements in RPG mechanics would be enough to set it apart, but the real achievement of Dragon Age II is in the story-telling. I could point out the improved combat and graphics till there's blood covering my face, but BioWare is one of the few companies that uses the advanced computing power available to modern game designers to let you actually play a role.
  4. Mar 28, 2011
    50
    Bioware has stripped away the veil of grandiose adventure, and what's behind the curtain is a truly uninspired RPG.
  5. Mar 21, 2011
    60
    Dragon Age II isn't a bad game, but it is a huge disappointment from such a respected and otherwise consistent developer. While the combat has been improved significantly, its failings in other areas – areas in which BioWare usually excel – are numerous and baffling. In the 32 hours it took me to finish the game, I spent the last 10 wishing it would hurry up and get to the good bit at the end. And then it turned out the ending was a bit non-committal and rubbish, too. A shame.
  6. Mar 16, 2011
    80
    The purist, PC-RPG crowd will hate it for "dumbing down" one of the last remaining hardcore RPGs, while the console clan will love it for making a fantastic series more accessible. Everyone should cotton to the clever, twisty story and fully fledged characters.
  7. Mar 11, 2011
    60
    The claustrophobic setting is the game's most glaring weakness: you can't have an epic adventure in a single city any more than a child will be content to endlessly explore his own back garden. [Apr 2011, p.82]
  8. Aug 3, 2011
    85
    I'll give Bioware points for trying to do something different in their world, but they really did have it right the first time in terms of character building and the scope of the story.
  9. May 1, 2011
    75
    Faulty game mechanics and disappointing maps, combat scenarios and storyline direction aside, Dragon Age II still has a surprising amount of intrigue hidden beneath the blemishes. The depth of character relationships, as well as the complex nature of the world of the Dragon Age franchise are a savior to a game that would otherwise forever be remembered by its mistakes.
  10. Apr 22, 2011
    90
    Above all, it seems like Dragon Age II is an experiment. If you're a fan of the first game and expect a direct continuation, either in story or mechanics, you'll be disappointed. If you're not willing to put up with some rough edges and some mechanics that don't quite work as intended, you'll end up having a hard time. But if you're going for a game that has some of the best storytelling in RPGs in a while, or you're looking for a BioWare RPG to tide yourself over until Mass Effect 3, you won't do much better right now than Dragon Age II.
  11. Apr 1, 2011
    90
    Bloodier, muddier and cleverer than Origins, this is a story as much about Kirkwall as about Hawke, a stepping stone setting up what I can only imagine will be one hell of a conflict in the threequel. Perhaps above all, though, it's still the most fun you can have with dragons without being eaten alive.
  12. Mar 31, 2011
    95
    Dragon Age 2 takes everything that made the original so outstanding, and improves upon it effectively, offering another compelling, extensive, epic experience that will win you over with its rich character and tremendous attention to detail.
  13. Mar 31, 2011
    83
    I enjoyed the game for what it was but you have to go in expecting a new experience and something different from Origins and I don't want to knock it for what was I expecting, but rather rate it for what it is instead. This may be Dragon Age 2, but it is not Dragon Age: Origins 2.
  14. Mar 29, 2011
    70
    It continues to be a good RPG, with some flaws and it's very similar to the first, but if you are thinking of starting up in the Dragon Age saga, buy Origins.
  15. Mar 28, 2011
    60
    It's quick, painless and will leaving you wanting more. Perhaps it doesn't bear the weight other RPGs do, but it carries its own and smoothly enters players into its world. Overall, it may not challenge, but it does please.
  16. Mar 23, 2011
    88
    Dragon Age 2 is a perfect example of how a great sequel should be put together.
  17. Mar 23, 2011
    90
    BioWare set the bar quite high for themselves with the Dragon Age: Origins. With big-but-subtle changes, the developer tries to address a larger audience with the second game, but this doesn't mean that these changes aren't fit for the hardcore demographic. On the contrary, Dragon Age II keeps the deep RPG-elements and the gratifying story that turned the first part into such a well received game.
  18. Mar 22, 2011
    70
    It's a deeply flawed game, to be sure, wasting a wellspring of potential for no discernible reason, but one that should be played for being unafraid to show people at their weakest and most vicious. If the metric of a good game is that I keep coming back to it despite it's faults, Dragon Age II certainly qualifies.
  19. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    Dragon Age II felt unfinished. Bioware gave too many restrictions with the adventure in terms of where you can go and where the story might take you. They also unnecessarily changed things up in the inventory system which didn't help the overall experience at all. The game still feels fun, but it's a lot more tedious/frustrating than the original.
  20. Mar 21, 2011
    88
    Dragon Age II might stir up a little controversy for the radical changes BioWare implemented in the series, but many of them were done to make the game more accessible. It's still the Dragon Age many of us know and love, it's just growing up a bit. If you're looking for a fantastic adventure with incredible dialogue, vastly improved visuals and visceral combat, this game won't disappoint.
  21. Mar 21, 2011
    85
    Ultimately, I was left with two of the three things I expect from a BioWare game - fantastic story and brilliant characters.
  22. Mar 21, 2011
    83
    Dragon Age II is a bit of a contradiction. It is both open and linear, limiting and filled with choice but these all combine together to produce another very compelling adventure. Some of the battles may be drawn out but there is always ample reward for perseverance. Dragon Age II is yet more proof of Bioware's dominance in RPG development and long may it continue.
  23. Mar 21, 2011
    89
    If you like your RPGs old-school with plenty of Tolkien and Dungeon Master mixed in with sword wielding warrior women and moody elves, then Dragon Age is for you.
  24. Mar 19, 2011
    85
    I just think by making the game simpler, they have created a fun playing game, but not a very deep one.
  25. Mar 18, 2011
    75
    Unfortunately, Dragon Age II feels like a filler title to get from Dragon Age: Origins to Dragon Age III and to somewhat satisfy fans in the meantime.
  26. Mar 16, 2011
    87
    Combat may take some time to get used to, but overall a spectacular game from Bioware.
  27. Mar 16, 2011
    75
    While I don't feel DA2 has changed my expectations of RPGs, I had a blast playing it, which doesn't often happen with sequels released within the same hardware generation.
  28. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    Slightly dissapointing. It's not a bad game but a much worse one than the first chapter of the saga, and we're sure that BioWare can do far better than this.
  29. Mar 15, 2011
    75
    Τhere was no time nor passion for Dragon Age II. But still, the gameplay mechanics are great and the battle system is so furious and rabid that could challenge even the most hardcore RPG players. And at the same time, it can be a great introduction into the Dragon Age Universe for the less experienced ones.
  30. Mar 14, 2011
    80
    It features slick combat, interesting characters and an intriguing narrative that - for those who can ignore the presentational shortcomings - combine to make an incredibly immersive role-playing experience. However, the game's uninspired, repetitive environments and limited sense of adventure fail to provide a suitable platform for what could have been the defining RPG of this generation.
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2295 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    0
    I have been following Bioware through their first ever steps. I own all their RPG titles until this day. Sadly this will be the last BiowareI have been following Bioware through their first ever steps. I own all their RPG titles until this day. Sadly this will be the last Bioware title I will own. As such an old fan I came to appreciate the effort put into game making. Titles such as Baldur's Gate, KOTOR will always be memorable. What can someone say about Dragon Age II though? The gameplay is dumbed down to the point of hack/slash. Thanks but no thanks, Diablo III will do a better job than this. Storytelling is linear and non thrilling. Tactics are next to non existent and inventory, customization are a shadow of what is expected for an RPG game of this caliber. That said I think 60 bucks for a game rushed to please the mass fan base it too much. 30 would be good for this quality.. Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    4
    Sadly DA2 is no roleplay Game in my Oppinion anymore. The only thing this game has is fighting (with much blood and exploding hordes ofSadly DA2 is no roleplay Game in my Oppinion anymore. The only thing this game has is fighting (with much blood and exploding hordes of enemies - like the Marketing said.. for every button something flashy happens) also there are no Skills anymore, beside the fighting skills... The other thing is the story presentation, which Bioware still is good at.
    But things like the restricted inventory and kodex entries (50% percent of the things you find are nondescript junk?? really?), the MMO Interface.. this all makes it to an Action Adventure at best. As a roleplay game it sadly fails in nearly every way :(
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    2
    Soulless, disappointing, misstep (if not outright misshapen). Bioware has long been a gem of rich storytelling and having the ability toSoulless, disappointing, misstep (if not outright misshapen). Bioware has long been a gem of rich storytelling and having the ability to define gestalt. However, glamor doesn't make a game. The graphics & sounds effects are clean, dark, & too simple to bring reference to the genre (they're more suited to modern, the future, or a tech setting). The quality of voice & story leaves one wondering that budget cuts were in the wrong areas--quite frankly, the game feels low rent, a sellout, & hoping to be a cash cow--or else promising to deliver to an immature crowd. The deviation from the genre just doesn't work. Given critic reviews of the game vs. user reviews, I wonder that critics are now as out-of-touch as Tom Cruise. As much as I feel that Overlord was an underrated game by critics, I call this game far too overrated. It's a huge let down. Let RPG fans mourn the loss of Bauldur's Gate, the downfall of it's "successor", & pray Skyrim is better, not bastardized, nor as dumbed down. Full Review »