Dragon Age: Origins Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 689 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 689

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Alright, let's start with the good. The story is great and very interesting in all of the choices and different characters you can meet along the way. I liked how much detail they put into all of the lore of the entire world of Dragon Age. The graphics were alright, I mean they didn't look amazing, but still good. The music, to be honest I can't really think of any particular track thatAlright, let's start with the good. The story is great and very interesting in all of the choices and different characters you can meet along the way. I liked how much detail they put into all of the lore of the entire world of Dragon Age. The graphics were alright, I mean they didn't look amazing, but still good. The music, to be honest I can't really think of any particular track that stood out to me. Now for the bad. Combat which takes up a lot of the game is horrible, I mean on PC it looks totally different and actually good! The console version got the short end of the stick when it comes to it. My character at times will just stop what he's doing and sprint in a random directions, this got very annoying. The quest markers on the mini map were pretty bad. They would be on the map... some of the time, but most of the time it's just looking for yourself and that kind of felt like I was just wasting my time. In the end I do recommend this game it can be enjoyable and look for about 20-30 hours of game play, since this game is pretty old you could probably get it for about 15-20 dollars, which is well worth the price. Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2013
    7
    A very story-driven game where it succeeded in delivering a good one. Although you could definitely tell it was made for the PC, the combat wasn't too bad. A little buggy. I was getting sick of my character running in random directions when I chose to attack something. When it came to looting, eventually your equipment just didn't get better. Also, the quest tracking in the game was simplyA very story-driven game where it succeeded in delivering a good one. Although you could definitely tell it was made for the PC, the combat wasn't too bad. A little buggy. I was getting sick of my character running in random directions when I chose to attack something. When it came to looting, eventually your equipment just didn't get better. Also, the quest tracking in the game was simply awful. The constant waves of enemies got very repetitive soon. The game delivers when it comes to giving the player an abundance of choices that significantly impact the game and story. Expand
  3. BenjiH
    Nov 19, 2009
    6
    I have no desire to pick up the controller and continue with thousands of pointless and too-long conversations with NPCs that contain all the excitement of a touch-tone menu. The graphics are quite bland, but not as bad as Mass Effect's random planets. Most outdoor areas are devoid of details, just an ugly sloping ground plane with too-few plants dropped in. Sweeping views from high I have no desire to pick up the controller and continue with thousands of pointless and too-long conversations with NPCs that contain all the excitement of a touch-tone menu. The graphics are quite bland, but not as bad as Mass Effect's random planets. Most outdoor areas are devoid of details, just an ugly sloping ground plane with too-few plants dropped in. Sweeping views from high vantage points render comically. They could have taken some hints from Assassin's Creed or Fallout for how to make terrain beautiful. I LOVED BG and NWN. But with me, ME, JE, and KotR fell totally flat. Maybe these things just don't grab me on console... I'm about 12 hours into the game and it still hasn't really grabbed me. I'm waiting to be floored like most reviews say I should be, and after this long it still hasn't happened. Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    I'm really not sure what to say for the first time , Dragon Age is more like a mixed bland boring combat game. But in the same way, the compelling story-line drags my attention completely and push me to play it. The game has lacking bad animations , they don't seem to show an emotion, they just talk and everything start progressing. While It is a very deep game in terms of story andI'm really not sure what to say for the first time , Dragon Age is more like a mixed bland boring combat game. But in the same way, the compelling story-line drags my attention completely and push me to play it. The game has lacking bad animations , they don't seem to show an emotion, they just talk and everything start progressing. While It is a very deep game in terms of story and decisions that by far that's how Bio Ware rule the RPG ( they are flawless in creating story ) I see more Dragon Age as a lacking Mass Effect ,is more like the other side of Mass Effect . But don't get me wrong Dragon Age is an interesting story teller with no problem. Expand
  5. Vanimal
    Feb 5, 2010
    5
    Where to start... BORING! Let's start with the good, though. The world created is well done and the choices they force on you are great. The bad now...The combat is the worst ever thought of. Same f'in' thing over and over. And over. Setting up your guys to do stuff is cool, but that is where it ends. The story is boring and the graphics are terrible. Look at a tree in that Where to start... BORING! Let's start with the good, though. The world created is well done and the choices they force on you are great. The bad now...The combat is the worst ever thought of. Same f'in' thing over and over. And over. Setting up your guys to do stuff is cool, but that is where it ends. The story is boring and the graphics are terrible. Look at a tree in that game and you will understand. The conversation choices could be brought down to 2 choices, because you will only need to answer yes or no, basically. The rest they tell you whether you want to hear it or not. It is essentially KOTOR 7 years later with zero improvements and way worse combat. Bioware is way overrated. Mass Effect sucked, too. Expand
  6. TAS
    Nov 11, 2009
    6
    A difficult to navigate interface, bugs, sub-par graphics engine that just looks bad, bugs, difficulty level that jumps around like a bipolar flea at a dog show, and more bugs make this game a rental at best. I simply do NOT believe that Bioware actually developed this, more like the Bioware farm league. There are too many actual game bugs, inconsistencies, and just general bad design A difficult to navigate interface, bugs, sub-par graphics engine that just looks bad, bugs, difficulty level that jumps around like a bipolar flea at a dog show, and more bugs make this game a rental at best. I simply do NOT believe that Bioware actually developed this, more like the Bioware farm league. There are too many actual game bugs, inconsistencies, and just general bad design decisions to really call it a Bioware release. Don't be fooled for a second to think that this is the 3D version of Baldur's Gate. It isn't. The story is actually very good and the branches that you are FORCED to take are, for the most part, interesting, but the piss-poor interface and just bad gameplay, combined with the crushing difficulty level (even on Normal level, expect to restart. A LOT) applied to situations that you are forced into or cannot play around bring it down. And it doesn't really look like a 3rd generation graphics engine either. There are too many small, pixellated textures stretched over very large objects and a very washed out look to everything. Highly disappointing. Expand
  7. TerryG
    Feb 6, 2010
    7
    Bioware definitely disappointed me here. Don't get me wrong the game is solid, but when held up to the past achievements I was definitely disappointed. The graphics were on par with ME1 and the story felt tedious at times. With a blockbuster like ME2 right on the heels of Dragon Age you'd think that Bioware would have polished the graphics a little more. Definitely don't Bioware definitely disappointed me here. Don't get me wrong the game is solid, but when held up to the past achievements I was definitely disappointed. The graphics were on par with ME1 and the story felt tedious at times. With a blockbuster like ME2 right on the heels of Dragon Age you'd think that Bioware would have polished the graphics a little more. Definitely don't miss this game because it is enjoyable, just don't set your standards to high. Expand
  8. pimpdown
    Jan 18, 2010
    5
    BORING! TEDIOUS! MIND NUMBING! The fighting is the fun but it is so hard to get to. 1. First the world map sucks. There are 7 or 8 major areas and each major area has multiple subareas. You cannot acces the sub areas from the world map. You have to go to the main area and then walkthrough that entire level to get to the sublevel you need to get to. A sheer waste of time. You have to do BORING! TEDIOUS! MIND NUMBING! The fighting is the fun but it is so hard to get to. 1. First the world map sucks. There are 7 or 8 major areas and each major area has multiple subareas. You cannot acces the sub areas from the world map. You have to go to the main area and then walkthrough that entire level to get to the sublevel you need to get to. A sheer waste of time. You have to do this a lot because of the limited inventory. You will be in the middle of a dungeon and have to walk all the way out and then, walk out of the sublevel(s) to get to one of the main areas where the stores are. So much walking, walking is not gameplay but you will spend more time walking then anything else. Fast travel was invented so people who wanted to actually play the game could do that. 2. Looting is made boring as hell because of this. You have to buy extra backpack slots but to do that you need money so you have to sell everything to afford the overpriced crap. Why is a damn backpack so expensive? Nothing you do will make you money. The economy is hell bent on destroying you. Crafting loses you money. You cannot get ahead financially. 3. Interface on console is a jumbled mess, this game is so cluttered with unmanageable crap that it easy to tell the console version(s) were an afterthought. There is a lot of info and very little space to manage it in. 4. The color palette is bland as hell and the textures are trash. Lots of clipping to, should be called clipfest 09. 5. Talking=suck! So you have to have long drawn out conversations. You get various conversation options but you have no idea where these will lead. You will undoubtedly be mean to someone when you were trying to be nice or cut off a conversation tree when you are trying to get extra information for making a pertinent decision. You will loses quests because you picked the wrong phrase. That is trash! 6. Beatdowns! You will get beatdown by random creatures that are not bosses. Anything from the fade will own you until you acquire certain items. Random fights where your party faces one creature will suck because you will get pounded out. The combat and story are great but they are blocked by some much extemporaneous dreck that you will undoubtedly be made miserable trying to get to it. Expand
  9. Dec 29, 2012
    5
    Decent story, gameplay, and characters. Some major problems on consoles include many glitches, extremely weak graphics, and a slow battle system. Would receive a much higher score if it weren't for technical issues.
  10. Dec 13, 2011
    6
    I enjoyed the characters and the setting but I disliked the combat and the graphics. The combat was boring and I felt like you didn't have to you all the skills you got,
  11. Dec 11, 2012
    6
    The story is good and it has good rpg elements, but the fighting mechanics just make me wants to stop the game and play Dragon Age II, even though it's worse in every aspect, since the fighting mechanics are actually good. If they updated the fighting mechanics. then this game could have been so much better.
  12. JoshK
    Nov 7, 2009
    7
    After spending a little bit of time with this massive RPG, I must say that I am enjoying my experience. It's graphically inferior to the other 2 versions of the game and well below what should be expected from the game market of today however, the story will suck you in. Bioware always knows how to write great stories and create massive games that give you your money's worth. After spending a little bit of time with this massive RPG, I must say that I am enjoying my experience. It's graphically inferior to the other 2 versions of the game and well below what should be expected from the game market of today however, the story will suck you in. Bioware always knows how to write great stories and create massive games that give you your money's worth. All in all this is a very well polished and time consuming game and well worth the purchase if you are a Baldur's Gate fan. If you are looking for an experience more akin to Oblivion, I do not recommend this game. Expand
  13. MatteoK
    Nov 13, 2009
    7
    Definitly a good RPG and a good game, but i think it misses something. I yet don't know what since i've played it only 4 or 5 hours, but something is missing... that's why I give it "only" 7 instead of 8. Anyway, graphics look pretty good considering that this kind of games keep many and many hours of gameplay on a single disc. RPG have never been famous for graphics due to Definitly a good RPG and a good game, but i think it misses something. I yet don't know what since i've played it only 4 or 5 hours, but something is missing... that's why I give it "only" 7 instead of 8. Anyway, graphics look pretty good considering that this kind of games keep many and many hours of gameplay on a single disc. RPG have never been famous for graphics due to this. Compared to oblivion has some good points but also some lacks. Good: BIG enemies! Oblivion (apart from gamepacks) missed big monsters, here you find them. this is good. Party-based action, this is also good (for me). Lacks: fighting sometimes is a little bit chaotic. Less freedom of movement, you can't go everywhere, i.e. when the character reaches an edge i just stops, you can't fall... not that good...at least not that realistic, that's for sure. After all a good game, there aren't many RPG on modern consoles, so this one can cut itself a little piece of space to be played along with the others. Expand
  14. EdwardM.
    Nov 5, 2009
    7
    Uninspired. Combat is Neverwinter Nights with less options (like no action queuing) and the gambit system from Final Fantasy 12 (except with much shoddier AI). The world is well fleshed out, but there's so much useless fluff it actually detracts from the game experience: I don't need 5 minutes of dialogue trees from every pointless NPC just to know I'm in a "living world". Uninspired. Combat is Neverwinter Nights with less options (like no action queuing) and the gambit system from Final Fantasy 12 (except with much shoddier AI). The world is well fleshed out, but there's so much useless fluff it actually detracts from the game experience: I don't need 5 minutes of dialogue trees from every pointless NPC just to know I'm in a "living world". Like all Bioware games, you are set on a completely linear path with the illusion of choice, but only when it doesn't really matter, as the game just puts you back on path regardless. An extremely massive and well polished game, but ultimately, it's not actually very fun once the novelty of the world building and well developed generic story wears off. Expand
  15. JasonG
    Dec 15, 2009
    7
    I finished playing Assassin's Creed 2 right before starting Dragon Age on 360. Dear god this game is ugly in comparison. I could barely force myself keep playing it, but now that I'm a few hours into it its getting pretty fun. I still don't understand how the same people who released a pretty RPG like ME could release something that looks like this, but the gameplay is I finished playing Assassin's Creed 2 right before starting Dragon Age on 360. Dear god this game is ugly in comparison. I could barely force myself keep playing it, but now that I'm a few hours into it its getting pretty fun. I still don't understand how the same people who released a pretty RPG like ME could release something that looks like this, but the gameplay is pretty intriguing. Expand
  16. Aug 24, 2010
    7
    I really should have liked this game more than I did. Here's how it lost points: game play and storyline was very derivative (this is D&D Neverwinter Nights re-packaged, folks), the game is so restricted to such a small part of this fantasy world, I felt claustrophobic and finally parts (not too much) of the game was tedious and boring, boring, boring. With a little work, this could haveI really should have liked this game more than I did. Here's how it lost points: game play and storyline was very derivative (this is D&D Neverwinter Nights re-packaged, folks), the game is so restricted to such a small part of this fantasy world, I felt claustrophobic and finally parts (not too much) of the game was tedious and boring, boring, boring. With a little work, this could have been a legendary RPG. Expand
  17. Aug 1, 2011
    7
    Dragon Age: Origins is a good game with a few major flaws. While the characters, voice-acting, and dialogue are all excellent, the main problem is the length of time it takes to get things done in this game. The excessive micro-management of the inventory is an absolute nightmare (collecting billions of items is most definitely NOT role-playing, for those who may think otherwise), and youDragon Age: Origins is a good game with a few major flaws. While the characters, voice-acting, and dialogue are all excellent, the main problem is the length of time it takes to get things done in this game. The excessive micro-management of the inventory is an absolute nightmare (collecting billions of items is most definitely NOT role-playing, for those who may think otherwise), and you start to get bored with cavern-after-cavern-after-cavern of the same basic combat. Given the excessive length of this game, these kinds of things really hurt the replay value. Still, it's a great story, and this game is a decent start to what could have been a worthwhile franchise for years to come. Unfortunately, the sequel was an absolute disaster. Expand
  18. Feb 9, 2011
    7
    I was so looking forward to get my hand on this game, only to be face with dissapointed. The story line is pretty good, and the voice acting are top notch, but how the developer tried to make this game not to be is what made this game not so appealing to me. After almost 16 hours of playing time (I did't do any of the side quest), I'm almost about to give up on this game. It take tooI was so looking forward to get my hand on this game, only to be face with dissapointed. The story line is pretty good, and the voice acting are top notch, but how the developer tried to make this game not to be is what made this game not so appealing to me. After almost 16 hours of playing time (I did't do any of the side quest), I'm almost about to give up on this game. It take too long and very long conversation just to get the mission and it takes longer to get it start. They are just too many long dialoque with options (which what you choose will effect the story) which make this game so slow and long. I want more fights, treasure lots, boss fights, which this game doesn;t give it to you. But when you do get to fight, this is where the game shine. Combat sequences are fast, great animations and plenty of powers to play with, which you'll get new one each time you level up. This could have been a game that I would spend hundreds of ours playing it, but it fell short. I might give it another try someday. Expand
  19. May 26, 2011
    7
    The storyline is absolutely brilliant and deserves a 10. Wish it was like Mass effect though as your character never speaks. You only choose your answer and people reply. Graphics are OK at best, but no game should depend solely on graphics, the mechanics aren't that great either. The story is the thing that makes this game good and compelling!
  20. Mar 9, 2011
    7
    A fun and engaging game that tends to be clunky and surprisingly one-dimensional at times. DA:O tells a great story, with rich characters, a riveting plot and superb writing/voice acting. However, this game gives off the appearance of variety and freedom when, in fact, it lends itself very strongly to only certain strategies. Combat is fun, but can be repetitive. Additionally, unlike inA fun and engaging game that tends to be clunky and surprisingly one-dimensional at times. DA:O tells a great story, with rich characters, a riveting plot and superb writing/voice acting. However, this game gives off the appearance of variety and freedom when, in fact, it lends itself very strongly to only certain strategies. Combat is fun, but can be repetitive. Additionally, unlike in better-designed RPGs, not every build can be good at combat. The rogue build is useless in the later portions of the game when enemies become quite strong, and the tank is...well, the tank is never fun to play. The DD can be fun to play, but mages are just so powerful that it doesn't make sense to control another character. This problem could be avoided if the system to control the actions of your party members were more exhaustive, as in FFXII, but it isn't. Even the story plays to a specific role. Want to be the bad guy? You'll lose several of your characters permanently, because they disagree with your choices. The most powerful healer in the game has TWO opportunities to leave your party, if you make decisions she doesn't like, and it's pretty hard to trudge through the end of the game without her.

    The level system feels limited, as well. You level a lot early on, and rarely later in the game. Additionally, certain skill trees are really just not that useful. Again, there appears to be many choices, but few are of those choices are meaningful or appealing.

    Finally, the game does not have high replay value. You quickly notice that much of DA:O's appeal came from its story, plot and characters. Once you've gone through it once, a second playthrough feels like yeoman's work. You'll find yourself skipping almost all the dialogue, wishing some of the long, drawn-out linear portions of the game (specifically, the Fade) were shorter or non-existent, and probably building the same character you built in your last play through...because there are really few viable builds.

    But all that said, DA:O tells a great story and is an entertaining and rewarding experience.
    Expand
  21. Oct 12, 2011
    7
    I liked this game it had a very good story in my opinion,the combat was lacking something still can't put my finger on what that is. The companions were fun and I liked most of them, (hated Zevran) I was admittedly looking for another Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion( if someone mixed the 2 games it could be the best game ever-just my opinion) After playing DA2 I am angry I feel robed of a greatI liked this game it had a very good story in my opinion,the combat was lacking something still can't put my finger on what that is. The companions were fun and I liked most of them, (hated Zevran) I was admittedly looking for another Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion( if someone mixed the 2 games it could be the best game ever-just my opinion) After playing DA2 I am angry I feel robed of a great followup to a good game no story, combat sucks worse it just sucks fast, I hate just about everything about DA2. Expand
  22. Apr 30, 2012
    6
    I like Role Playing games but somehow i did not like Dragon Age, I really did not like this game. The quests were cool and awesome but the skills, the map and everything else was just confusing, no clear signs of where to go lead me to a long time of frustration, I did not finish the game and for that i have to give it - 6/10
  23. Dec 19, 2011
    0
    Upon getting this game and putting it in my Xbox, I didn't know what to think.
    This was like no other RPG I've ever played, at first I had doubts but I just said "What the hell, why not enjoy something different from Final Fantasy", even to this day, I'm glad I trusted my gut because this was one of the best RPGs I've ever play.
    With 100s of different character creation combinations,
    Upon getting this game and putting it in my Xbox, I didn't know what to think.
    This was like no other RPG I've ever played, at first I had doubts but I just said "What the hell, why not enjoy something different from Final Fantasy", even to this day, I'm glad I trusted my gut because this was one of the best RPGs I've ever play.

    With 100s of different character creation combinations, races, classes, and origin stories, add to such interactive gameplay, with a cast a great characters I could relate.

    For me, a game that allows me to have my personality in the game will always be a 10/10
    Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 84
    It's a delight to give into a fantasy setting with such a dense back story, even if the gameplay still rarely breaks away from conventions established a decade ago.
  2. Despite its lack of innovation Dragon Age: Origins is the best RPG in 2009. Its great value and addictive gameplay are among its main highlights.
  3. Incredible storytelling, great characters, and exciting battles are just a few of the things that make this fantasy role-playing game so great.