Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get ready to enter the Dragon Ball Z universe in an entirely new way. Featuring iconic characters, famous attacks and epic battles authentically created from the original manga series, Dragon Ball Z for Kinect lets you unleash your inner Super Saiyan - with no controller in the way! FansGet ready to enter the Dragon Ball Z universe in an entirely new way. Featuring iconic characters, famous attacks and epic battles authentically created from the original manga series, Dragon Ball Z for Kinect lets you unleash your inner Super Saiyan - with no controller in the way! Fans will also be treated to new anime footage debuting in US and Europe for the first time, over 50 playable characters and an entirely new character. Leveraging the Kinect sensor, Dragon Ball Z for Kinect supports QR code functionality, allowing you to hold up special QR codes to unlock content in the game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 32
  2. Negative: 15 out of 32
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    70
    Dragon Ball Z for Kinect proved to be surprisingly impressive. Graphically it really pulls off the anime to video game jump, and the gameplay matches well by allowing you to play through the original storyline.
  2. 60
    There's no doubt hat the intentions behind Dragon Ball Z for Kinect were good, but once again it feels as if the Kinect camera's lack of precision has been an obstacle for the developers.
  3. 55
    This Kinect offering works well enough, but Teen rating aside, it's best suited for younger fans looking to live out their anime daydreams.
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    50
    Spike ChunSoft's effort to create an hardcore, Kinect based Dragon Ball experience is not that good. The basic gameplay mechanics are ok, but they have failed in being entertaining due to the lack of variety. The reaction time of the hardware is quite a problem too, slowing down the pace of the fights. Younger Dragon Ball fans will be ok with the game anyway, just cause it's too cool to throw a Kamehameha in real-life.
  5. Oct 9, 2012
    45
    Fans will no doubt appreciate the exclusive episode of the Dragon Ball anime included with the game, which is nicely presented in HD. But that's hardly enough to make up for the sheer mind-numbing repetitiveness of the game.
  6. Oct 23, 2012
    40
    The graphics look good, and the anime structure is loyal, but the gameplay just fails to keep up on any end. Drunken anime lunatics and kids are sure to love this, but everyone else should proceed with caution. You'll be going "Kamehame-HUH?!" in no time, assured.
  7. Oct 26, 2012
    31
    Whether it's a good Kinect game, a good fighting game or a scratch for your Dragonball Z itch that you are looking for, none can be found here. Unfortunately a combination of unrealistic ideas and lazy game design have made Dragonball Z for Kinect a must miss title for both fans and newcomers alike.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 12 out of 16
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I actually love this game, even though a lot of people don't like it. I gotta excited when i played a Super Saiyan Bardock. IT WASI actually love this game, even though a lot of people don't like it. I gotta excited when i played a Super Saiyan Bardock. IT WAS AWESOME!!"IMO, this is a really fun game to play. Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    5
    1) BAD Kinect gesturing. It's ridiculously hard to get your moves right and you just end up doing the same thing over and over again. There1) BAD Kinect gesturing. It's ridiculously hard to get your moves right and you just end up doing the same thing over and over again. There are great Kinect games but this is just not one of them. The main menu isn't the easiest to make work either. 2) However just like Dragonball Z it is HILARIOUSLY bad. I laugh hilariously when watching other people play it in my house. This is going to be a GREAT drunk night game. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2014
    3
    im sad that namco bandai come up with this idea to make this game on the **** microsoft's kinect.
    game have good things. like graphics and
    im sad that namco bandai come up with this idea to make this game on the **** microsoft's kinect.
    game have good things. like graphics and voice acting. BUUUUUT the gameplay feels horrible. controls are not good. storyline is fine but also bad due to the awfulness of the lip syncing. the game is short like hell and it comes with a SINGLE MINI GAME !

    3/10. awful, thanks microsoft you ****
    Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    1
    If you weren't a fan of dragon ball z transitioning from 2d fighting style to 3d fighting style (which a large amount of fans dislikedIf you weren't a fan of dragon ball z transitioning from 2d fighting style to 3d fighting style (which a large amount of fans disliked including myself) then you will HATE this game. The fact that the gameplay got worse to where it puts me to sleep doesn't help its case. The kinect ruins yet another franchise that was originally good. Not worth the retail price. The only thing that saves this game from getting a 0/10 is the slight improvement of graphics. DON'T BUY THIS GAME!!!! I cannot stress that enough. Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2012
    1
    How to successfully destroy a game? One word.... Kinect! Let's be serious Kinect doesn't have many good or even games so I smell a disaster inHow to successfully destroy a game? One word.... Kinect! Let's be serious Kinect doesn't have many good or even games so I smell a disaster in gaming world when any games created for Kinect comes out. Also design is bad, gameplay is dull and it makes Microsoft kicks another franchise into nuts and totally destroy it with a crappy game. 1/10 Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    0
    This game is **** it should be burend and **** onThis game is **** it should be burend and **** on 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 times because of how **** and pointless this game is, it destroyers everything people love about dragon ball z Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    0
    wow, i've never seen a game like this before like what the i heard that it only takes 3 hours to beat the game and nothing else. like whatwow, i've never seen a game like this before like what the i heard that it only takes 3 hours to beat the game and nothing else. like what the dragon ball z is such a horrible game that i sent this ****ing game to a slaughter house to destroy this Expand

See all 16 User Reviews