Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    42
    Though the character customization may be enough for fans to spend hours in Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi without complaint, the limited combat system doesn't encourage much thought. Preventing projectile spamming by employing quick-time events and coin flips merely replaces one problem with another. A cleaner, skillful, more polished fighting system would, ultimately, have been better.
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    40
    Ultimate Tenkaichi suffers due to a very limited combat system. This is all luck and no skill. The story with the clips from the cartoon make things bearable, but there isn't any other motivation to keep playing this game.
  3. Nov 3, 2011
    40
    A game that slashes gameplay in favor of dynamic visuals, very true to the anime. But the illusion of pretty graphics quickly disappears, revealing dull combats, repetitive gameplay, and other shortcomings. Even the most hardcore fans will not find this fun for a long time.
  4. Oct 28, 2011
    40
    The battles in Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi look intense and exciting, but dull mechanics prevent the gameplay from channeling any of that excitement.
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    33
    There is not, however, any real drive or immediacy to the gameplay that you'll actually want to take Ultimate Tenkaichi up on its generous offer of playtime.
  6. "it's for fans" isn't a good enough excuse. [Christmas 2011, p.105]
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    25
    Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi is an incredible looking game that is marred by one of the worst fighting engines I've ever seen.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    6
    Not as good as i thought. I bought it the first day it had a 7.5 from game informer which is the score budokai 3 got so i thought it was going to be as good. I liked budokai 3 but not this game. It was a 75 out of 100 hundred on the first day. Decent graphics for dbz alright sound. Awful fighting! Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Just what i always wanted for a dragon ball game. It may not be the best fighting game there is but sure is the best dragon ball game. Amazing graphics, brutal ultimate attacks, engaging combat with beautifully animated cutscenes and of course custom characters. Full Review »
  3. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    The battles are annoying, when you are about to win and the characters have less than 15k HP, they use their specials and kill you, which is not a good idea because your character has less than 30k HP in the beginning of the hero mod. That's not the only problem, another problem is that this game doesn't have replay value. Full Review »