Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    Spike says goodbye to the series Dragon Ball Z with a flawed but interesting episode, which clearly surpasses the insipid performance Raging Blast 2. The gameplay is irregular and its fighting system will appeal to some players but will be a disaster for others. Matter of taste.
  2. CD-Action
    Jan 19, 2012
    60
    The story in the new Dragon Ball game is chopped up and very chaotic so you will get lost if you don't know the TV series very well. Fights get boring after a while and the load times are annoying. It was fun to play but as a fan of the original anime I was lenient to some degree. [February 2012, p.58]
  3. Oct 27, 2011
    70
    Fun but flawed. While the anime cutscenes are awesome, the story is more often told through extremely slow moving walls of text. While the characters all have their original voice actors (or very similar voice actors in the case of some of the villains), the music is very generic. While the battles have lots of satisfying quick time events and cutscenes, the load times in the game are absolutely criminal.
  4. Nov 30, 2011
    50
    The yearly releases of Namcos franchise are having their toll. This year Spike delivers the worst game in the series that suffers from far too many QTEs, a bland fighting system and poor script.
  5. Oct 26, 2011
    60
    Essentially, Spike could've developed a better game if they used some kind of fusion to merge the original Raging Blast's gameplay with Ultimate Tenkaichi's stellar graphics. But the end result here just falls short of being a memorable experience.
  6. 50
    Comes closer to perfecting the style of the Dragon Ball Z universe than any previous game, but the combat system is too simplistic to offer any real depth, and so we can only recommend Ultimate Tenkaichi to the most hardcore fans of the franchise.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    50
    Ultimate Tenkaichi may be the best looking DBZ game to hit our shores, it doesn't have the gameplay to back it up.
  8. Nov 13, 2011
    72
    At the end of the day, Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi is an interesting addition to the franchise but when it comes to originality, the game is a little lacking.
  9. Nov 10, 2011
    55
    Spike's new game feels like a missed occasion: due a repetitive and limited gameplay and a bad storytelling, even fans of the series will feel uncomfortable with it.
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    65
    The battle presentation is spot on, and the system is half way there, but Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi is still only half way to being the Ultimate Dragon Ball Z experience.
  11. Jan 3, 2012
    51
    Anime fans will devour it alive, but everyone else probably won't get just what the hell Cell is.
  12. Oct 25, 2011
    60
    It doesn't become the ultimate Dragon Ball game we have been expecting for years, although it brings something new and different which adds freshness to the series. Unfortunately, its great graphics cannot hide a system too simple and repetitive.
  13. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 8, 2011
    60
    The presentation is stellar but the gameplay is shallow. [Issue#79, p.83]
  14. Nov 3, 2011
    50
    Unfortunately, Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi looks and plays more like a spectacular movie, than a fun game. The characters operate far too repetitive and technically there are just too much irritations, like constant loading times. Moreover the Boss Battles and the Chasing Battles are disappointing and the Hero-modus has in fact no reason to be.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    6
    Not as good as i thought. I bought it the first day it had a 7.5 from game informer which is the score budokai 3 got so i thought it was goingNot as good as i thought. I bought it the first day it had a 7.5 from game informer which is the score budokai 3 got so i thought it was going to be as good. I liked budokai 3 but not this game. It was a 75 out of 100 hundred on the first day. Decent graphics for dbz alright sound. Awful fighting! Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Just what i always wanted for a dragon ball game. It may not be the best fighting game there is but sure is the best dragon ball game. AmazingJust what i always wanted for a dragon ball game. It may not be the best fighting game there is but sure is the best dragon ball game. Amazing graphics, brutal ultimate attacks, engaging combat with beautifully animated cutscenes and of course custom characters. Full Review »
  3. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    The battles are annoying, when you are about to win and the characters have less than 15k HP, they use their specials and kill you, which isThe battles are annoying, when you are about to win and the characters have less than 15k HP, they use their specials and kill you, which is not a good idea because your character has less than 30k HP in the beginning of the hero mod. That's not the only problem, another problem is that this game doesn't have replay value. Full Review »