Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    90
    Aside from that though, the original Dragon's Dogma was one of the better role-playing games to come along in quite some time when it originally debuted last year. Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen is the very same game, only better, stuffed with even more content, and cheaper to boot. Now's a perfect time to dive in for new players, and those who've beaten it already will find a nice new challenge in Bitterblack Isle alongside some additional goodies for carrying over their save as a loyalty bonus. It's a game that keeps on giving, only with a bit less Dangan.
  2. May 3, 2013
    93
    Still, original owners clearly weren’t the primary target of Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen, hence it being released as a stand-alone title. The real target, for better or for worse, are brand new players who haven’t been introduced to Capcom’s newest fantasy property.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    91
    The original game was good, not great. Dark Arisen adds content, fixes existing problems and offers a massive world to play in for a bargain basement price.
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    90
    Dark Arisen adds devilish new content that will challenge you in new and lethal ways. Coupled with some welcome improvements to the main game, the game is even better than before.
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    88
    It will take a capable character about a dozen hours to make it to the bottom of this mega-dungeon, and once you do, the dungeon locks up its doors once more and fortifies its defenses with even more fearsome guardians to match your inflated level and newly-acquired loot.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    If you have not chained your controller to your arms yet please do so before playing. A game deserves a 10 if it meets three of my categories.If you have not chained your controller to your arms yet please do so before playing. A game deserves a 10 if it meets three of my categories.

    1. Does it keep you entertained? YES
    2. Are there moments to learn? YES
    3. Does the game have nostalgic qualities? YES

    Let me first start of by saying that I am level 75 and I am at NG++ (New Game Plus Plus) Average players may reach level 50 before completing the main story line. Skilled players will seem to be at this current time 150+ This likely able to be said since the original Dragons Dogma was released in 2012 giving players the opportunity to reach level 200 casually though you can reach that level in a month. However not the case for me since I like to spend my time exploring and figuring out what secrets I need to uncover. Sure enough there are so many that every new game I play I find something intriguing and have my "aha." moments.

    The addition of adding Black Bitter Isle will give you the creeps, just as night fall in the original dragon dogma did. I find myself sending out my pawns in first as some of the corridors are just plain eerie. The zombies when they talk will make your skin crawl especially when they rush towards you and you are screaming at your main character to hurry up and cast that spell before you become a snack.

    "Dark Arisen is not a DLC it is rather an overhaul of a game that rewards veteran players and tries to allure new gamers by adding several additions such as smoother options, Japanese VO and updated textures."

    NOTE* Xbox users you will see 2 discs and PS3 players one... The second disc is the texture back for Xbox players while the single disc for PS3 has it already implemented since bluray discs have a higher capacity than that of DVDs'.

    It is recommended for players to be level 60+ but I find myself using pawns that are level 30 that have the right inclinations and abyssinal gear. (http://dragonsdogma.wikia.com/wiki/Abyssinal_Armor_Set) I enjoy using personalities or rather inclinations such as Scather/Mediator for my pawns as well.

    The game has some extremely beautiful lighting effects, some that may even rival Skyrim... Actually I feel the fighting system outshines Skyrim in all aspectsn as well... but enough of that back to the game. You are introduced to a small story line and you meet an npc character that takes you to the island.

    After her introduction you are off to explore the under ground labyrinth... I have yet to find new armor but, such is a game with randomization that once you do find a piece it is a great feeling.

    There is only one problem I have with this game and it still plagues this one, the ability to find a snugg corner away from bosses while you safely pew pew them away as you pawns do the rest for you. However there are those occasional bosses that it is impossible to do so. This is rather more easily accomplished by range players than melee.

    The Boss AI are there to literally kill you, range characters that can not find a place to hide away to cast spells will literally be obliterated. The AI knows when you are about to cast a spell so be forewarned... The same can not be said for the pawn AI, since you have to really pay attention to what they are doing.

    "Trying to give the retreat comman is useless if your pawns are in the middle of casting a spell."

    Does this mean the Pawn AI is useless... no. In fact the Pawn AI will make you giggle, frustrate you and eventually want to make you grab them and throw them off a high cliff (which you can do) out of pure anger. The Pawn AI is smart, they know when to cast but it is your job to make sure you are distracting the boss and have a bit of faith in them as it took me a while to understand this. I wanted the easy way to win and depend on my pawns but in a sense lost what make dragon dogmas so great the ability to be able to grab on a monster for dear life and bash them away 300 feet in the air.

    The game is not with out it flaws but what game does not? The addition to this game was well worth the wait. Death stalks you, your pawns have calmed down their chit chat but still annoying sometimes...

    The game is addictive there is not way around it, and now that there are more armors to choose from you just want to get the best gear for you pawn.

    "A well geared and good looking pawn has a better chance of being hired by other players so you can get those delicious rift crystals."

    This game is a huge bargain for new players and somewhat of a mediocre addition to veterans but still keeps you coming for more. I still have to yet to achieve that golden idol and have yet to convince Madelene to open her shop to purchase the armor that I need.

    The game has unlimited replay value meaning when you beat the game REMEMBER to choose load game as you can go to New Game and start from the begining with all the gear you acqured from the previous play through.

    The year was well worth the wait...
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to sedoi, this game is absolutely nothing like Dark Souls other than being 1: a third person western style rpg, and 2: difficultDon't listen to sedoi, this game is absolutely nothing like Dark Souls other than being 1: a third person western style rpg, and 2: difficult for new players.

    For anyone who hasn't played dragon's dogma, this is a party based rpg with a strong and well fleshed out job class system; which allows you to switch your profession at will, where you can play whatever style you like without feeling like you are pushing yourself into a corner thanks to the well balanced difficulty. It is a /great/ rpg and if you've never played it for 40$ its a steal.

    For people who have played dragon's dogma, this expansion offers 10 hours of new content if you rush it and new random encounters from "corpse feeding" monsters on bitterblack isle. Without spoiling content, yesterday I was fighting one boss and another boss random spawned in and it turned into a boss vs boss vs my party mayhem battle. It was actually one of the most cool things i've had happen in the game and was totally unexpected, and just goes to show you the effort made by the developers to make the content a less linear and more fresh.

    I love this game and paying 40$ for me is not a problem, however I can understand most people's misgivings about paying that much for 10 hours of content. Well, i'll say this given that there are games out there which give you the same or less content for 60-70$, and given that dark arisen adds new audio, a lot of tweaks, better load times, lots of new content, and a full storyline, 40$ to me is worth it. I think 30$ wouldve been a far more attractive price for most people, but given that this includes the original full game a number of DLC packs, I feel i've been given my money's worth; especially since I traded in the original dragon's dogma for 10$ towards this iteration of it anyway :D
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    This game is great, only held back by little problems and bugs, but trust me the combat in this game is amazing and much improved on theThis game is great, only held back by little problems and bugs, but trust me the combat in this game is amazing and much improved on the already marvelous system from the first! Totally not worth a zero. Full Review »