Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A mysterious island known as Bitterblack Isle appears off the coast of Gransys. Its depths have claimed the lives of many Arisen; their voices still haunt the labyrinth that lies deep beneath its surface--a labyrinth ripe with secrets waiting to be discovered. The time to take up arms has come once again. Delve into the isle's depths and uncover its dark secret. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. May 3, 2013
    93
    Still, original owners clearly weren’t the primary target of Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen, hence it being released as a stand-alone title. The real target, for better or for worse, are brand new players who haven’t been introduced to Capcom’s newest fantasy property.
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    88
    It will take a capable character about a dozen hours to make it to the bottom of this mega-dungeon, and once you do, the dungeon locks up its doors once more and fortifies its defenses with even more fearsome guardians to match your inflated level and newly-acquired loot.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    85
    If you’ve beaten the game and moved on, there’s enough new stuff to explore that it warrants another playthrough. And for those who are looking for a quirky RPG with epic moments (and pig-throwing hijinks), here it is in one neat bundle.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    One of the best gdr of the last year became even better. New weapons, new enemies and more than 10 hours of pure fights await you on the Bitterblack Island.
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    77
    Capcom adds new hours of interesting gameplay to one of their best new IPs of this generation.
  6. Jul 14, 2013
    70
    Bitterblack Island is a truly solid challenge bringing fun and atmosphere that is, however, suffering from the game's monotonous setting, limited space manoeuvring, and the game's linearity. Still, if you've never played Dragon's Dogma, you'll get the original heavy title along with this expansion pack.
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    50
    Poor balance and careless design limit its appeal to a tiny group of the most hardcore. The original Dragon's Dogma didn't completely succeed in its attempt to emulate Western, open-world RPGs. Dark Arisen makes a much greater mistake: It fails to recognize or capitalize on its own strengths.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    Been playing this game a few weeks and it's a great RPG.The whole concept of making a highly customized AI pawn traveling companion that learns(instincts on how to battle enemies from you and other peoples pawns )you rent out is fantastic!!I wish other RPG games would try this too. Even though the pawn renting community isn't as active now as last year, there are still people playing and some who will offer help and advice and sometimes the use of there higher level pawns for training and quest help.
    What can I say if if Xbox 1 had an AI like this for built in for certain games it would have been a bigger success than forcing kinect on people. Anyway the graphics of the game could be better but they are still good. I really like the music and atmosphere the game has and am enjoying the story.Definitely a lot to learn.The gameplay stays challenging as you switch different vocations for perks and building the best version of your final class.It offers many hours of gameplay with new game+ which is a better time to attempt the Bitterblack Isle content as you level up.The battles are "mostly" fun and engaging.It is an adult story that is interesting and intelligent.It's just too bad you can't romance your favorite pawn lol..
    Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This is a great game, I never played the first DD. (shame on me), now I am so glad I picked this up and I ended up with a Magnificent game that as much as I try to find a reason I can’t figure it out how can this be so under-rated by “our western gaming news companies” I will be straight up, I prefer this game to Skyrim and trust me guys I logged over 300 Hrs. lurking around the frozen lands of Skyrim. First things first, the combat mechanics in this game are exquisite and way superior to Skyrim (for comparison purposes only im picking on skyrim). The large scale bosses are epic and the ambience that surrounds them was well driven. The tech part it is not the best but is above average easily. The pawn system Capcom came up with its another example that developers should take note from something this innovative that can actually be introduced into an RPG, this is an perfect example of freshness just as the dark souls invasion/assistance was. This particular release it is for me so far into 2013 the most cost-effective gaming expense to day, 39.99 for a full game all the DLCs HD pack, all fixed so I’d say this is the real final product With no doubt this IP got here to stay and I am looking forward to a new installment of DD onto the next gen….. Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    If you have not chained your controller to your arms yet please do so before playing. A game deserves a 10 if it meets three of my categories.

    1. Does it keep you entertained? YES
    2. Are there moments to learn? YES
    3. Does the game have nostalgic qualities? YES

    Let me first start of by saying that I am level 75 and I am at NG++ (New Game Plus Plus) Average players may reach level 50 before completing the main story line. Skilled players will seem to be at this current time 150+ This likely able to be said since the original Dragons Dogma was released in 2012 giving players the opportunity to reach level 200 casually though you can reach that level in a month. However not the case for me since I like to spend my time exploring and figuring out what secrets I need to uncover. Sure enough there are so many that every new game I play I find something intriguing and have my "aha." moments.

    The addition of adding Black Bitter Isle will give you the creeps, just as night fall in the original dragon dogma did. I find myself sending out my pawns in first as some of the corridors are just plain eerie. The zombies when they talk will make your skin crawl especially when they rush towards you and you are screaming at your main character to hurry up and cast that spell before you become a snack.

    "Dark Arisen is not a DLC it is rather an overhaul of a game that rewards veteran players and tries to allure new gamers by adding several additions such as smoother options, Japanese VO and updated textures."

    NOTE* Xbox users you will see 2 discs and PS3 players one... The second disc is the texture back for Xbox players while the single disc for PS3 has it already implemented since bluray discs have a higher capacity than that of DVDs'.

    It is recommended for players to be level 60+ but I find myself using pawns that are level 30 that have the right inclinations and abyssinal gear. (http://dragonsdogma.wikia.com/wiki/Abyssinal_Armor_Set) I enjoy using personalities or rather inclinations such as Scather/Mediator for my pawns as well.

    The game has some extremely beautiful lighting effects, some that may even rival Skyrim... Actually I feel the fighting system outshines Skyrim in all aspectsn as well... but enough of that back to the game. You are introduced to a small story line and you meet an npc character that takes you to the island.

    After her introduction you are off to explore the under ground labyrinth... I have yet to find new armor but, such is a game with randomization that once you do find a piece it is a great feeling.

    There is only one problem I have with this game and it still plagues this one, the ability to find a snugg corner away from bosses while you safely pew pew them away as you pawns do the rest for you. However there are those occasional bosses that it is impossible to do so. This is rather more easily accomplished by range players than melee.

    The Boss AI are there to literally kill you, range characters that can not find a place to hide away to cast spells will literally be obliterated. The AI knows when you are about to cast a spell so be forewarned... The same can not be said for the pawn AI, since you have to really pay attention to what they are doing.

    "Trying to give the retreat comman is useless if your pawns are in the middle of casting a spell."

    Does this mean the Pawn AI is useless... no. In fact the Pawn AI will make you giggle, frustrate you and eventually want to make you grab them and throw them off a high cliff (which you can do) out of pure anger. The Pawn AI is smart, they know when to cast but it is your job to make sure you are distracting the boss and have a bit of faith in them as it took me a while to understand this. I wanted the easy way to win and depend on my pawns but in a sense lost what make dragon dogmas so great the ability to be able to grab on a monster for dear life and bash them away 300 feet in the air.

    The game is not with out it flaws but what game does not? The addition to this game was well worth the wait. Death stalks you, your pawns have calmed down their chit chat but still annoying sometimes...

    The game is addictive there is not way around it, and now that there are more armors to choose from you just want to get the best gear for you pawn.

    "A well geared and good looking pawn has a better chance of being hired by other players so you can get those delicious rift crystals."

    This game is a huge bargain for new players and somewhat of a mediocre addition to veterans but still keeps you coming for more. I still have to yet to achieve that golden idol and have yet to convince Madelene to open her shop to purchase the armor that I need.

    The game has unlimited replay value meaning when you beat the game REMEMBER to choose load game as you can go to New Game and start from the begining with all the gear you acqured from the previous play through.

    The year was well worth the wait...
    Expand
  4. May 29, 2014
    9
    This game is awesome. I love it. If you like RPGs this ones for you. Battlesystem is so good and the story may seems dull at first, but after you have seen all the endings, it's pretty good. Visuals are good and the difficulty is pretty high. The soundtrack got some nice songs, which are rememberal. Go on and buy it, there is a lot of content for you. Expand
  5. May 30, 2013
    8
    This game is great. The pawn system is one of the best ideas I've heard of. This game has been and will be overlooked by many.
    Decent-sized
    map, cool classes and skills, interesting armor, massive character customization. Not only do you get to create your own player character, you get to create your permanent companion too!

    The boss battles are epic. You have to defeat all heads on a Chimera (goat, lion and snake) and you can crawl on large beasts to stab them where you want to stab them. No more slashing dragons ankles until they die!

    The game isn't without flaws. The story is slightly dull, there's no efficient fast-travel, the pawns talk too much*.

    *In the beginning of the game, their chatter is helpful. Telling you your enemies weaknesses, etc., but at level 10 and beyond they shouldn't be doing that.
    Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game wasn't even on my radar when I picked it up. Really just got it to kill time between other releases. I was surprised at how drawn in I got after a few hours. The depth of combat between all of the character classes is very nice. The climbing on enemies thing was pretty clunky, but you're not forced to do it very often.
    The only downside came at the 'end' of the game, and it had to do with the affinity system. Apparently the game decided I was in love with the blacksmith and that he should be transported across the map once I beat the dragon. This made the remainder of the game a pain in the ass, as there is no fast travel system. All in all, a good game. I recommend it.
    Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    Well first of I really like skyrim and dark souls played those games combined like +300 hours, and then came dragons dogma dark FAIL I mean this game just blows, Like what year is it 2006 combat sucks and the game looks like all the detail was flushed down the toilet. And the character leveling system is way 2 confusing. I would not even recommend this game even if it was the last rpg on planet earth like worst rpg ever and someway remind me of the lord of the ring coop that came to xbox but even that was better Capcom next time I even consider buying anything again from you guys I always remember this epic fail. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews