Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
  1. May 31, 2012
    75
    It deserves to be complemented by an absorbing fantasy world and an array of well-written quests and characters, but instead the quests get repetitive and the fiction is soporific.
  2. May 30, 2012
    80
    Dragon's Dogma takes chances, and it's that riskiness that makes this role-playing game so unique among its peers.
  3. May 4, 2012
    85
    Combat feels like a necessary part of the game's design, rather than something that was begrudgingly added to provide interaction between cutscenes. I left the game feeling that I made my mark on Gransys the way I chose to, instead of being escorted from plot point to plot point. When you're talking about an open-world game, I can't think of higher praise. [June 2012, p.90]
  4. May 21, 2012
    70
    Ambitious, grand, at once derivative and pioneering, Dragon's Dogma may not be a classic but it's an important title nonetheless - the first example of a blockbuster Japanese RPG attempting to marry its own heritage with contemporary Western expressions. Expectedly, coming as it does from an action game developer, its jewels are to be found in the dynamic combat, stat-tweaking party-building and defining boss battles.
  5. May 26, 2012
    75
    Dragon's Dogma is a fantastic combat system wrapped in a boring package. When it is on, it is one of the most intense, exciting and engrossing games I've ever played. When it is off, it can put you to sleep before you see a sign of a chimera or Cyclops.
  6. May 21, 2012
    90
    The level design and unforgettable bosses surpass even that of Skyrim. In that light, its noticeable hiccups become merely growing pains in the face of a powerful, new idea, one that's sorely needed in an industry saturated with sequels and spin-offs. Inspired by both Dark Souls and Skyrim in almost all the best ways possible, it presents an open world that's wrought with danger, yet begging for adventure, and shows that Capcom is ready to take a leap of faith. And so should you.
  7. May 24, 2012
    85
    Massive action-RPG settled on an huge open world. Combat system is great but somewhat chaotic, and there's some technical problems. However, a good effort from Capcom.
  8. May 27, 2012
    84
    Close to brilliant, DD's excellent online play and questing is only let down by clunky combat. [July 2012, p.68]
  9. May 21, 2012
    70
    It's a game destined to find an audience among that rare action junkie with extensive patience, or Elder Scrolls fans who are tired of swinging swords in the first-person. If you're someone who falls in that category, jump in.
  10. May 21, 2012
    85
    A difficult genre in which most companies fail, but Capcom has made a very good open-world RPG, which can turn in a series, thanks to its good ideas and execution. It has a lot of flaws, but gamers will love the game, as it becomes addictive while offering something different and with personality.
  11. Jun 17, 2012
    77
    In the end, Dragon's Dogma is an average hack-n'-slash RPG with a great gimmick that falls short in execution.
  12. May 22, 2012
    80
    Both the pawn system and the tactile nature of the boss fights are the exemplary features that ensures this game defies the categorization of being derivative. This is one of those promising rough-around-the-edges experiences where you can't help but want a sequel even before your first playthrough is complete.
  13. May 31, 2012
    78
    The hardcore RPG players that will take their time with the game, and play it how the developers intended, will have a fantastic time with Dragon's Dogma. Impatient players and casual fans will, more than likely, need to steer clear of this hardcore game
  14. May 15, 2012
    70
    Capcom might not have crafted the kind of world in which players will invest, but it understands the powerful draw of party building and gear tweaking, the immediate thrills of slashing and spellcasting, and the spirit of adventure in sallying forth on a dragon hunt. [June 2012, p.106]
  15. May 17, 2012
    80
    Its world isn't as evocatively rich as Skyrim, it's action-oriented combat doesn't have the killer appeal of Dark Souls, and it's single-player focus is completely at odds with the co-op-centric Monster Hunter. However, as Capcom's first foray into the open-world RPG this is a worthy achievement, and further proof that the East-West divide should be breached more often. And not just by dragons. [Issue#122, p.94]
  16. 60
    Much like the main character's chest cavity, this RPG ultimately feels hollow, with no real heart. [July 2012, p.76]
  17. May 21, 2012
    77
    Dragon's Dogma can be considered an innovative RPG game in its concepts, but not everything came together in the end. However, it's an interesting RPG.
  18. May 21, 2012
    70
    In many ways, Dragon's Dogma is comparable to that other recent Japanese take on the Western RPG, Dark Souls. Both are defiantly obstinate, both offer physical, tangible combat, and both try out clever ways of interacting online. And both, of course, are definitely a matter of taste. Where Dark Souls divides people through design choices, though, Dragon's Dogma's will likely divide through design flaws.
  19. May 21, 2012
    80
    Dragon's Dogma is a good game, a successful mix of action and role-playing with great creatures and a nice setting. Unfortunately it also has some technical issues.
  20. Jun 27, 2012
    67
    Dragon's Dogma may not be the best game of 2012, but it is certainly one of the most surprising. Intense and refined combat help an otherwise average RPG become something special. This game redefines the concept of boss battles with confrontations of epic proportions. The future is bright for this new IP.
  21. May 21, 2012
    75
    Just be aware that, for all the absorbing and exciting things to be found in Gransys, there are almost as many disappointing and infuriating things to let you down. Just grit your teeth, fight through the pain, and the rewards are there.
  22. May 20, 2012
    80
    Dragon's Dogma is a great fantasy game, where the lack of a multiplayer experience is compensated from an impressive single player. The Pawn's IA works great and if you're looking for an epic experience, this Capcom game is your best option right now. Pity for the long loading times and some frame rate drops that prevent the game from reaching higher scores.
  23. May 21, 2012
    70
    Despite borrowing so much from so many different games Capcom's new Western style role-player is very much its own game - with plenty of interesting ideas of its own.
  24. Jun 21, 2012
    60
    Dragon's Dogma is a game of missteps. It tries to be open world, but doesn't fill it with much to do. It tries to be a co-op style adventure game, but doesn't actually have co-op. It tries to tell an epic tale, but fills it with boring tasks. It has a lot going for it thanks to its intense combat and amazing ending.
  25. May 21, 2012
    87
    If you're the kind of player that can get completely lost in these sorts of open world RPGs, you're going to eat Dragon's Dogma alive. However much its reach exceeds its grasp in certain respects, this ambitious game succeeds in taking the form in an altogether welcome direction--one that does not sacrifice minute-to-minute gameplay on the altar of expansiveness.
  26. May 21, 2012
    77
    Dragon's Dogma is an interesting Action RPG. Hours and hours of monsters, tough challenges and big map full of treasures. Some technical problems and limited online functions stop this ambicious project.
  27. May 23, 2012
    87
    It's a game that asks for a bit of effort at the beginning. But, that's the kind of game it's meant to be. It's a big world to explore, and with plenty of downloads planned, it's only going to get bigger.
  28. Jun 6, 2012
    75
    However, when not scratching my head over the wheezy story or gritting my teeth as I retraced my steps from the central castle to the local encampment for the thousandth time, Dragon's Dogma came alive with grand-scale role-playing that I won't soon forget. In between the missteps and oddness, there is an awful lot of awesome on display, and that's a hard sandwich to resist, condiments or not.
  29. 80
    Missteps will infuriate those obsessed with consistency, but underneath the messy bits there's something deep, fascinating and exciting. Dull bug-bashers won't abide the rough edges, but they'll be missing out on one of this year's best RPGs. Put up with the shortcomings, and the rest is superb.
  30. 60
    Has plenty of good ideas: it just fails to make any of them work properly. [Issue#85, p.86]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 306 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 107
  2. Negative: 11 out of 107
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece you have to admit the rare feature's in this game.Personaly I like it way better then skyrim the whole game wasThis game is a masterpiece you have to admit the rare feature's in this game.Personaly I like it way better then skyrim the whole game was Amazing you must try it.They currently made a new Dragon dogma dark arisen I hated they new one its the same thing until you beat it all over again then at end theres Expansion,but I though the original was way better.

    [This is a must buy Massive Open world]

    M9ki.
    Full Review »
  2. May 22, 2012
    9
    Destined to be one of the most underrated games of all time (it seems). Honestly, this game truly breaks new ground and I'm not beingDestined to be one of the most underrated games of all time (it seems). Honestly, this game truly breaks new ground and I'm not being facetious. Yes, it is an gorgeous game in terms of scenery and landscape, and it has a massive open world, but what sets it apart from other RPGs of its incredible ability to make everything you do feel like an absolutely organic (in-game) experience. What I mean by that, is that there are these incredible water cooler-like moments like climbing on a Hydras neck and cutting it open to free your companion that it just swallowed. But unlike most games, this is not a canned experience or QTE. This is just the natural style of combat in the game. When in your traversing the world at night, it actually feels like wandering in the wilderness at night. It's pitch black and your lantern only lets you see about 10 feet in front of you. You constantly hear roars, screams, and growls in the distance and you know that there are monsters just waiting to pounce on you. This is the way the game is all the time. There is a robust item system, where you can combine almost anything you pick up with some other item and create something else, and every single weapon or piece of armor can be upgrade with the right materials and coin. There is no fast travel in this game (though there is the equivalent of a town portal spell), but that is in line with the theory that this game is going for: a completely organic experience, that very much makes you believe that you are living in the world of Gransys and that every journey you take requires careful planning and preparation. All in all, its a fantastic experience all around. Yes the story is rather weak, and another shortcoming is that many of the characters you speak to don't exactly glimmer with personality, but the game world is so vibrant otherwise you might not even notice it. For those of you tired of the status quo and looking to try something truly unique, I couldn't recommend a better game out there today. Full Review »
  3. May 22, 2012
    9
    When you take into account some of the obvious technical flaws, most of the 80-85 reviews are about right. If you can mostly ignore thoseWhen you take into account some of the obvious technical flaws, most of the 80-85 reviews are about right. If you can mostly ignore those issues, as I can, Dragon's Dogma is a 95+. All future action RPGs need to take notes from Dragon's Dogma when it comes to combat. The smallest battles are epic at times and the big battles, well...just WOW. I have never seen such a wide variety of available fighting skills and combat is very fluid. The RPG elements are pretty deep with a ton of items and plenty of character customization options. I can't say exactly how big the world is as I'm only about 20 hours in, but it sure seems like it's going to be huge. Dragon's Dogma is an open-world RPG but you reveal the map as you explore and unlike many other open-world RPGs, you cannot immediately travel from one end of the map to the other early on without getting slaughtered. Dragon's Dogma is very accessible but far from easy. Much of what players able to accomplish will depend on their ability in combat. There are many areas that some will be able to battle their way through with a party that is several levels lower than other, less-skilled, players. I took on a mission yesterday that ultimately took me around three-and-a-half hours to complete. About half of that time was spent traveling and fighting my way to the destination. The other half was spent fighting goblins, hobgoblins, and multiple cyclops all while dodging flaming ballista bolts inside a massive fort. I died several times, occasionally in spectacular fashion. Once, I was jumping across a broken bridge at one end of the fort and was hit in mid-air by a ballista bolt that came flying from the other end. Another time, while running across a balcony near the final goal, a cyclops clubbed me and sent me flying several stories down to the ground. After finally completing the quest, we were ready to head home and collect our reward. It wasn't until then that I realized that I had no ferrystones in my inventory so we would actually have to travel the entire way back on foot. I love it. Fast travel is limited to ferrystones, which you can use only for fast travel back to the main city of Gran Soren, and port crystals, which can be used to set up other fast travel locations. There are a finite amount of port crystals in the game, though, and I have yet to encounter one.

    Dragon's Dogma for me, personally, is a 10/10. I believe that by the time I am ultimately finished with this game, this will be the RPG into which I have poured the most hours. Like any game, though, it isn't perfect. There's some pretty bad pop-in, some screen tearing, clipping, etc. I've seen some complaints about the menu system which I don't agree with. The story is so-so. For these reasons, I have to give it a review score of 9/10. If you are like me and can overlook these flaws for the most part, though, you will find yourself having the most fun you have had in an RPG in a very long time.
    Full Review »