Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Ubisoft Reflections under the direction of the creators of the original title, DRIVER San Francisco marks the return of the established video game series that has sold 14 million copies worldwide. Gamers will play as Detective John Tanner on a relentless manhunt for crime lord Charles Jericho through the hills of the City by the Bay. Thanks to a groundbreaking gameplay feature, players can now seamlessly "shift" between well over a hundred licensed vehicles, keeping them constantly in the heart of the action. With its timeless setting, unique car handling and renewed playability, DRIVER San Francisco will revitalize the classic free-roaming, cinematic car chase experience for the current generation of gaming platforms. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Sep 28, 2011
    95
    Until then, Driver: San Francisco is without a doubt, one of the most entertaining, innovative, and challenging racing games you can play on your console or PC.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    88
    Action-paced racing in an intense thriller setting – highly recommended.
  3. Sep 12, 2011
    85
    All in All, Driver: San Francisco is a successful rebirth for the series.
  4. Aug 26, 2011
    80
    Undoubtedly the most complete, polished offering in the series to date. Tearing through the streets of San Francisco, forcing your car into manoeuvres that it probably shouldn't be able to do with the knowledge that you can hit X and take control of another car at any time is just as fun as it sounds.
  5. Sep 14, 2011
    80
    Simply put, it's consistently fun, never taking itself too seriously, and instead focusing on how enjoyable the act of driving can be when you throw in a supernatural curveball.
  6. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    When we first heard of the Shifting mechanic we thought this would be a total disaster. We couldn't be more mistaken: the new Driver is not only innovative, but also one of the greatest arcade racing games we've seen in some time.
  7. Aug 26, 2011
    60
    Driver: San Francisco would be an easy game to recommend if the mission design of the single player campaign were on a par with the quality of its technical elements. As things stands though, it seems that some good gameplay ideas have been wasted on level designers that simply didn't know how to make best use of them.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Great game, played through the story and still enjoying it now. The driving is tight and looks great, love there being licensed cars. Definet 10 for me! Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    Driver: Amazingly revolutionary, 10./10
    Driver 2:Not as good as the first 7/10
    Driv3r: A complete flop 5/10
    Driver Parallel Lines: A huge
    improvement over Driv3r and certainly a good contender to GTA: 8/10
    Driver 76: A nice stripped down portable version of parallel lines: 8/10
    Driver San Francisco: The perfect reboot of the series, takes the mechanics of the first game and everything that makes it great and mixes it up with the idea of taking control of multiple vehicles at your will, The best in the series so far without a doubt. 10/10

    Driver has had a fractured life, started great, then went down, then went up, then disappeared for about 4 years and then came screetching back in with an excellent reboot, let's hope "The Crew" will be as good as Driver SF was!
    Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Amazing and a sleeper hit it is.2011 is the best year ever for gaming so a game like this is going to be overlooked by most people.I actually got this game for $20 brand new because of black Friday.I would of paid the $40 for it if I would of known how awesome this game really is.The shift feature is a totally new idea and it work's flawless in this game.Some,of course,will knock it.I love it and the game is finally screaming with quality from head to toe.All those hours we wasted on Driv3r trying to find the part were it sucks you in but never did.Well people go out and get this game cause it renders all other Driver games obsolete.Game play,graphics,fun factor,replay value,sound,story it is all spot on and great in every way. Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Driver: San Francisco, is the most interesting and intense driving game ever. It is a driving game which is not only about racing and coming first. You need to use your driving skills and plan ahead to play this game. The intensity of this game is so high that you forget everything else while playing it. The storyline is fantastic as it gives you a shocking surprise when you come to know that what you were doing all this time was all in John Tanner's coma. The whole idea of switching into any car you like is what makes the game so good. Personally, I think it is one of the best driving game in gaming history. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    Driver: San Francisco really surprised me - upon hearing about the revival of the seemingly dead series I was somewhat uninterested, especially after finding out about the gimmicky-sounding SHIFT mechanic. When I actually got around to playing it, however, I was pleasantly surprised. Though the plot is pretty ridiculous and near-impossible to take seriously, it's still great to see a racing game that so strongly incorporates a narrative. The voice acting is great but the dialogue is pretty cringeworthy at times. The SHIFT mechanic turned out to be an excellent innovation, and it was a real joy to fly around the city from car to car. It works well in the missions too, often giving you multiple choices on how to complete them - for example, in a police chase you can knock out the fleeing suspect yourself or shift into oncoming traffic to take them down. The damage modelling looks nice, but it was really disappointing that cars only take damage by hitting other cars - even hitting a car so hard it rolls multiple times will still only result in damage from the original impact, which could be really frustrating sometimes. I found the difficulty of the game just right, and though the AI is pretty inconsitant, everything ultimately felt dependent on your own driving. There's a huge selection of cars to experiment with, and I particularly like the inclusion of busses and tankers. All the cars handle beautifully, and though a lot of them felt to be near-identical, gradually unlocking more powerful cars and upgrades was rewarding.
    I enjoyed the many varied activites and dares, and they gave me extra incentive to keep playing when I got bored of the storyline. Eventually though, even those became tiring and repetitive, and I found myself unable to play for more than an hour or so at a time without getting bored. Driver: San Francisco was a surprisingly decent and original revival of the series, and definitely worth checking out.
    Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2012
    8
    Driver San Francisco is an unexpected delight. Not much was clear after playing the demo. The game had good ideas, but I feared it would regurgetate said ideas out to making the game feel one note and repetitive. But what we ended up getting, is a game that has cemented the great ideas and created an ethos that shows its appreciation for the infamous chase movies. The SHIFT mechanic is the clear winner here, as it turns what would otherwise be a typical romp, into a multi faceted affair, where strategy and patience are just as important as finesse and driving. All the mini stories you encounter also build the aforementioned ethos, from trying to escape raged pursuing cop cars, to using the SHIFT mechanic to track down mobsters and eliminate them. Though more could've been done to build on the main narrative, there are some really OMG and WTF moments to be had throughout the campaign. Expand
  7. May 11, 2012
    1
    This game sucks. Period. It sucks it sucks it sucks. It's a childish game with retarded gameplay. That said, I would rather play the first game than this POS ! Expand

See all 28 User Reviews