Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Aug 12, 2013
    90
    Issues with game length and difficulty aside, this is a brilliant and respectful update of one of the best platformers ever made, and one that gamers of all ages will enjoy, whether you’ve played the original or not.
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    88
    Without a doubt, the best thing about this remake is its presentation, which has been carefully crafted. We feel completely satisfied about the way the developer managed the difficulty of the game: the last level of the remake was more demanding than any of the original levels.
  3. Aug 12, 2013
    90
    If you’re looking for a fun, maddening, and nostalgic romp through your 1980s childhood, DuckTales: Remastered fits that bill.
  4. Aug 22, 2013
    89
    I sat down and played this game from start to finish in one evening and didn’t skip a single cutscene (I didn’t even notice I wasn’t skipping them until near the end). The entire time I was engrossed in the game and having genuine fun and it went by quite quickly, a duck blur, if you will.
  5. Aug 12, 2013
    90
    This is a retro re-release at its finest. The game feels like its classic counterpart, but it has a number of improvements to make it more palatable to a modern gaming audience.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 13, 2013
    7
    The problem of this remaster is that, while the level design is still top notch, some of the other game play design were not updated. The whole concept of lives and if you lose all lives you lose everything is literally outdated! I've always been against the concept of losing all progress and this game just does that, unfortunately! What was once the "standard" in platforming games back then was never a good one to begin with! Way Forward should have made the game more forgiving and allow some sort of check points and keep the diamonds you've accumulated until you lose all your lives.

    The game encourages you to meticulously search the stages for treasures, but punishes you with cheap one hit kills that can ruin your harvest! Any developers should reward you for playing their games, not frustrate you by making the time you've played obsolete!

    Initially, I was going to give this game an 8.5, but the ending sequence ruined the game for me. Aside from the fiasco that is the final stage and the points mentioned above, the game has been remastered to perfection! Too bad Way Forward took some weird liberties with the final stage. Their efforts should have been spent elsewhere!
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    This game does exactly what it aimed to do: Recreate a classic game with a more modern look and make it feel a bit like an episode of the TV show. It does that well, with great remixes of the original music, most of the original voice actors from the show making the cutscenes worth watching, and an odd but effective art style combining visuals like the TV show with 3Dish elements.

    To those complaining about haivng lives or losing progress: All old games were like this. This is a remake of an old game. Having no lives etc. takes away the sense of accomplisment in my opinion. If having lives bothers you, then you can play on Easy mode which has unlimited lives. Only Extreme mode, which you have to beat the game on Hard to access, has limited lives with no saving progress. That's why it's called "Extreme." You know what you're getting into when you pick that. You are warned ahead of time that this will be the case.

    The lower and negative reviews on this game are mostly excessive nitpicking. I enjoyed the game the whole way through, and the gallery with animation cells from the TV show and all the original music was a nice reward for the effort.. To those who gave this a 5/50 or below: do you have any fun playing any video games? People are expecting a remake of a classic to be more than what it's being billed as, I guess that's what set them up for disappointment. The problem is, it wasn't trying to be anything other than it said it was going to be.

    If you like classic, side-scrolling action, than this is definitely a game worth playing. Not real long, but a decent challenge level and simply fun to play. Having lives and risk of failiure just makes it more satisfying when you win.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    5
    The updated graphics and dedicated button for pogo cane aren't enough to cover up the fact that this game is boring. Ducktales should have either stuck to its retro roots like mega 9 or conjured up something fresh and innovative the cutscenes suck! They hinder gameplay even though they can be skipped. I'm a huge ducktales fan and this is a generous pity 5. Full Review »