User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 55
  2. Negative: 6 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 25, 2015
    8
    Often regarded more for it's controversial themes and sense of humor rather than for it's actual gameplay, this old-school FPS holds up very well after all these years. It's one of the fathers of the genre and is still worth a look. There might not be anyone online in this version anymore, but that's not a problem because it's the single-player that has the real appeal here.

    Navigating
    Often regarded more for it's controversial themes and sense of humor rather than for it's actual gameplay, this old-school FPS holds up very well after all these years. It's one of the fathers of the genre and is still worth a look. There might not be anyone online in this version anymore, but that's not a problem because it's the single-player that has the real appeal here.

    Navigating the smut-filled levels is still a blast. Especially with so many great references, parodies, and one-liners. Levels often take on some goofy theme. There's always something to laugh at here. There are also some things that might offend people and I'm not talking about violence.

    Things like the game having half-naked women in it and having player go through areas like a porn shop caused a lot of controversy when the game first released. This is definitely not one for the kids. However if you can handle a little mature content then don't worry about it.

    Combat, while obviously a touch dated, still feels really good. The weapons are awesome and it's got that retro punch in the difficulty department to give it some teeth. Even playing through it with up to 8 friends (online co-op only) it can still provide a challenge on the harder difficulties. There's enough enemy variety to lead to many diverse encounters.

    There isn't much in the way of new content in this re-release. You get the 11 level (12 if you count the secret level) 4th episode from the "Atomic Edition" of the game, but the real bonus comes in the form of a system that lets you rewind upon death to any previous part of the level. It's a real life-saver. Being able to rewind just before dying at a challenging part means that there's no fear of losing progress and you can quickly test out a new strategy. It's a modern touch that makes the game all the better.

    Duke Nukem is one of the fathers to the FPS genre and his most successful adventure can still provide plenty of thrills even after all these years. The graphics might not have aged well, but the majority of the gameplay has. There are still plenty of reasons to "Hail to the King, Baby!"
    Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    cool one liners, fun weapons and some of the best level design in FPS history, that's all a game needs to be good to me, also with the new multiplayer game modes, its a lot of fun with friends, and its cheap.
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    Take note that I am a fan of 'modern shooters' This game is great. It is really creative, with lots of hidden areas, much effort was made to put Duke in recognisable environments and crammed full of cultural references. The gameplay is fun run and gun style, what I like most about the gameplay is the varied weapon types and the flippin' jetpack!!!!! A very funny game with lots of charm,Take note that I am a fan of 'modern shooters' This game is great. It is really creative, with lots of hidden areas, much effort was made to put Duke in recognisable environments and crammed full of cultural references. The gameplay is fun run and gun style, what I like most about the gameplay is the varied weapon types and the flippin' jetpack!!!!! A very funny game with lots of charm, although some of the puzzles are solid and most people must have been unable to complete the game when it was first released. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    I used to play this on 64 with a friend and thought this game was a piece of cuz I never knew how to complete a level and the graphics were pretty ****ty. Now playing this game 10 years later, I realize how awesome this game is. I never knew the game was satire and supposed to be cheesy on purpose. Now I know why this game is a classic. I'm having more fun with this game than mostI used to play this on 64 with a friend and thought this game was a piece of cuz I never knew how to complete a level and the graphics were pretty ****ty. Now playing this game 10 years later, I realize how awesome this game is. I never knew the game was satire and supposed to be cheesy on purpose. Now I know why this game is a classic. I'm having more fun with this game than most games I do nowadays. Figuring out where to go and finding secrets is both very challenging and rewarding. I like how the levels are relatively short compared to modern games. It keeps the game fun and the feeling of progression. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    this is a fun game compared to Duke Nukem forever which was rubbish it has quite good jokes and the campaign action packed. alot of fun indeed so i give an 8
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A 15 year old game that exceeds the fun that modern games provide? YES! 3D Realms shooter is absolutely fantastic in both single player and multiplayer. The single player campaign features 4 episodes with over 24 levels of intense action.
  7. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    This is everything that low brow humor stands for. Everything I could want in a first person humor as dated as it is, it's still worth every dang penny you pay for it!
  8. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    It's been so long since I've played this on my PC, and it's such a breath of fresh air. I originally purchased this game back in 2009 and never reviewed it, until I realized how devastatingly bad DNF is. For starters, this game, is a classic. Along with DOOM, Duke Nukem 3D was a game I grew up with, and seeing it make it's way onto the XBox so well, and have great controls and someIt's been so long since I've played this on my PC, and it's such a breath of fresh air. I originally purchased this game back in 2009 and never reviewed it, until I realized how devastatingly bad DNF is. For starters, this game, is a classic. Along with DOOM, Duke Nukem 3D was a game I grew up with, and seeing it make it's way onto the XBox so well, and have great controls and some replay value despite being a hardcore SP game at the core of it, DN3D does have some replayability with the Multiplayer (even though some people are down right God like at the game). The game also features modes that let you record and watch multiplayer, and singleplayer runs, and I actually, for once, found myself competing on the leaderboards, which usually I ignore on the 360 due to cheaters but aren't present on these leaderboards, reason being, you can watch their speed runs over to make sure they AREN'T cheating. Now, despite all that, how's the overall game? It's phonemenal, exactly how I remember it. This game, unlike most others has aged severely well, and next time Gearbox makes a Duke Nukem game, rather than picking up where 3D Realms or Triptych left off, they should just make the next installment a little less like DNF, and more like DN3D. If you want a fun, classic, that'll last you a good few weeks+ from a $10 arcade game, I wouldn't look any further, than Duke Nukem 3D. Expand
  9. Jan 8, 2012
    0
    this is a fun game compared to Duke Nukem forever which was rubbish it has quite good jokes and the campaign action packed. alot of fun indeed so i give an 8
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Greatness. The one-liners and parodies are still funny, the level design is outstanding. [Nov 2008, p.64]
  2. 85
    Yet another classic release that makes a wonderful conversion onto Xbox Live Arcade. Some might be put off by its convoluted, old school level design and predictably unattractive appearance but there’s no doubt that it’s one of the fathers of the most popular genre in our industry.
  3. Duke Nukem 3D demonstrates that shooters haven´t changed so much from the 90s. Its graphics have aged as badly as its age indicates, but its gameplay is so crazy and funny that it´s still a great title. After all, this is a classic videogame, and the classics should have a place in the collection of every good player.