User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 421 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    2
    I oft read other user reviews who say the game is good for nostalgia or fans of the old Duke Nukem and I really don't understand such comments. To put it in perspective, I grew up during the 3D gaming revolution: I remember buying and playing Wolfenstine 3D, Doom, Quake, Heretic, Duke Nukem, and Unreal when they were new. According to some reviewers, I should be THRILLED for Duke NukemI oft read other user reviews who say the game is good for nostalgia or fans of the old Duke Nukem and I really don't understand such comments. To put it in perspective, I grew up during the 3D gaming revolution: I remember buying and playing Wolfenstine 3D, Doom, Quake, Heretic, Duke Nukem, and Unreal when they were new. According to some reviewers, I should be THRILLED for Duke Nukem Forever.. But after 6 hours of playing it, I was completely disgusted by it and simply could NOT play anymore. Yes, the game looks, feels and plays dated. Yes, the voice overs are atrocious. Yes, Duke still references crappy movies of the 80s and 90s (with some more modern ones, like a line or two from "300"). But the gameplay is just boring, linear and horrendous. It feels like Gearbox took a turd - a running joke of game production gone awry - and polished it, trying to incorporate modern game designs into it, before pushing it out to say they actually brought out the game. The end result is a game that has the worst of old shooter design and the worst of new shooter design. All in all, this game was better left as a running joke and should have never seen the light of day. As for nostalgia, $60 is a steep price for a game that everyone admits still looks, feels and plays like a 1999 title. This title will be in the bargain bin soon, and thankfully so. Then, hopefully, Duke Nukem can be put to rest, as he should have been, officially, 12 years ago. Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2011
    0
    Bad graphics, bad jokes, horrible game-play, long load times=a complete disaster. I have no idea why people are defending this game. It represents everything bad about the games industry. Gearbox should be ashamed. This has tarnished their rep.
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    0
    I didn't know there were games that could be this bad. Awful graphics are fine, as long as gameplay and story hold up. Both gameplay and story are even worse than the graphics. The gameplay is like any other shooter, however the bosses and level design are atrocious. None of the guns are any fun to shoot and the levels are so bland, so generic you will literally feel like vomiting in theI didn't know there were games that could be this bad. Awful graphics are fine, as long as gameplay and story hold up. Both gameplay and story are even worse than the graphics. The gameplay is like any other shooter, however the bosses and level design are atrocious. None of the guns are any fun to shoot and the levels are so bland, so generic you will literally feel like vomiting in the toilet because of the mixture of ugly levels and horrible graphics. The story is obviously nonsensical, but not in the charming or forgivable way. It's told in the most boring manner possible with no hilarious moments even though it seems like they really want to make it hilarious. There's a part in the game where you slap a wall with three boobs and it sounds funny but it's just kind of there and you slap it and duke says some one liner which isn't really funny. If you wanted Duke Nukem Forever to be like Duke Nukem 3D, prepare to be disappointed because it's nothing like it. Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2011
    1
    Utter rubbish and revels in being offensive. Gearbox and 2k appears to have hoped this game would sell on brand recognition alone, forgetting that consumers actually expect value for their money.
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    I tried to give this game a chance but it was uninspiring and tried to be funny and failed. I wish it were better and I could learn to like it butit has frustrated me to the point that I will be trying to sell this game asap. I may trade it in and get back some of my money.
  6. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    I wanted this game to be fun. I wasn't expecting a miracle, but this is actually painful to play. The load times are terrible. Given the shoddy and simplistic graphics, clunky and inaccurate animations, as well as the smallness of the levels, such long loading times can only be blamed on poor programming, which is evident throughout the game. Gameplay is straight out of a 90's shooter,I wanted this game to be fun. I wasn't expecting a miracle, but this is actually painful to play. The load times are terrible. Given the shoddy and simplistic graphics, clunky and inaccurate animations, as well as the smallness of the levels, such long loading times can only be blamed on poor programming, which is evident throughout the game. Gameplay is straight out of a 90's shooter, which doesn't cut it whatsoever in 2011. Platforming/puzzle segments are terribly implemented, and make an already bad game even worse. I loved Duke Nukem 3D, in its day, but this is barely an improvement. Its decade and a half of development have obviously not been well-spent. Nostalgia evoked by this game wears off after about 10 minutes, and is replaced by the sinking realization that this experience - alternating between boredom and frustration - is a miserable way to spend time and money. It should never have been released, and definitely should not cost almost $50. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    All this time waiting and this is what they come up with? Most dissapointing game I ever played in my life. This is just pure lazyness I mean why do I have to drive around doing frustrating puzzles that just waste my time for a few missions when I can play much better SHOOTERS than this garbage. I loved the first few duke nukem games and they just had to ruin it
  8. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    There hasn't been a good duke nukem since the 3d one wayyy back... What a waste of hype on this title in hopes to make some easy money off of it... Gearbox's biggest let down! Don't buy this game or it's DLC it'll only encourage them to keep pulling crap like this...
  9. Sep 13, 2012
    2
    The game is garbage. Played the demo and found that it was just another mediocore shooter. Graphics are terrible, and the humor is bad. Burrowed it from a friend and found out that it was exactly like the demo suggested it would be. Bargin Bin material. Emphasis on the bin.
  10. Jun 14, 2011
    2
    "This'll be interesting." was my first thought when putting the disc into the drive of my Xbox. This proved to be very true, although not in the way I had expected it to be. Duke Nukem Forever is a game that captures very much the essence of Duke Nukem 3D, it is indeed the same Duke we're about to meet. You really don't need more than a few minutes into the intro to realize this. Paying"This'll be interesting." was my first thought when putting the disc into the drive of my Xbox. This proved to be very true, although not in the way I had expected it to be. Duke Nukem Forever is a game that captures very much the essence of Duke Nukem 3D, it is indeed the same Duke we're about to meet. You really don't need more than a few minutes into the intro to realize this. Paying homage to the original is however nothing you can build an entire game on, and being true to the earlier games is the only thing that is done properly within Duke Nukem Forever. Everything else pretty much sucks. Animations are poorly made and implemented with characters displaying snapping and odd movement patterns. You play in first person view yet there is a ton of bugs related to this. Notice especially how the player seems to hover about a feet above the floor and how it's possible to trigger strafing movement without triggering the strafing animation. Facial animations are so poorly implemented that they seem to have no correlation at all with the content of their audio files. The sound is poor as well, with no considerable variations implemented at all. This makes the game sound repetitive and uninteresting. Just try to jump a few times in a row and listen to the grunting Duke lets out as he lands and you'll understand what I mean. The whole game sounds pretty much like this, apart from the few areas that have for some reason been left totally without any ambience tracks making them feel even more out of place and breaking immersion totally. Considering the competing titles Duke Nukem Forever has nothing to show when it comes to visuals either, it simply looks worse than the titles it's supposed to outrun. I've always thought that the most important thing to pull off when doing a game is the gameplay and since this game doesn't even manage that it's not worth anyones time really. There are huge sections with non-existing gameplay and nothing for the player to do while waiting for some pointless movie (with sucky facials and poor sound) to finish. If you want something that feels like the old Duke Nukem 3D but is a bit new and has boobs that you haven't seen before just replay the old game with some downloaded porno in the background, it's pretty much the same thing. And whatever you do, don't buy this game first hand, there's bound to be a huge second hand market for it within short. Expand
  11. Jun 16, 2011
    0
    Not worth 60 dollars. Absolute worse game this generation. I really hated this game demo, but people who got the game early in Europe said the game was decent. Then the reviews dropped saying this game was garbage, but still I wanted to try it out for myself. Don't listen to anyone who gives this game above a 4. They are in denial that they just wasted 60 dollars on this game. It's notNot worth 60 dollars. Absolute worse game this generation. I really hated this game demo, but people who got the game early in Europe said the game was decent. Then the reviews dropped saying this game was garbage, but still I wanted to try it out for myself. Don't listen to anyone who gives this game above a 4. They are in denial that they just wasted 60 dollars on this game. It's not funny. It's got horrible graphical problems. Extremely long loading times throughout the levels. Archaic gameplay designs. It's so boring. Horrible physics puzzles ripped from the year 2001. Horrible frame rate stutters. Online lag is unacceptable and unplayable. I'm just glad I rented this game off gamefly. Gearbox what the **** where you thinking releasing this game? Expand
  12. Jun 14, 2011
    1
    Yikes, yikes, yikes. You missed this one Pritchard. What a bad game with horrible graphics and 15 year old game play. It's so bad you almost feel guilty just playing the game for a bit. Then you remember it's Duke and how awesome it once was... and you realize how you've grown up and the entire world has moved on. This game should have never materialized.
  13. Jun 21, 2011
    3
    Duke Nukem Forever should be a great return for Duke. Let`s just say that this game was not make for a console of this generation.The graphics are very old and Duke moves like a robot. I feel like i`m back in 2005.
  14. Jun 17, 2011
    1
    This has to be one of the worse games I have played in a LONG time. The jokes in the games are not even funny. You start off the game Pissing... RT to piss.... wow.... very clever. The first gun you get has 69 bullets and after that there is 69 floors in the elevator. It feels like a 13 year old wrote this game with the stupid humor. You can actually get an achievement for picking up poopThis has to be one of the worse games I have played in a LONG time. The jokes in the games are not even funny. You start off the game Pissing... RT to piss.... wow.... very clever. The first gun you get has 69 bullets and after that there is 69 floors in the elevator. It feels like a 13 year old wrote this game with the stupid humor. You can actually get an achievement for picking up poop in the toilet "Turd burglar" yeah... this game is crap. The multilayer is garbage, maps are small as hell, targeting system is bad, spawning points are sh*te. Expand
  15. Jul 6, 2011
    0
    DNF left me feeling depressed and hardly surprised about the games short comings. I certainly hope this doesn't green light remakes of games of the era like Blood, Shadow Warrior and Red Neck Rampage, although due to this abominable failure such things will never surface.
  16. Jun 7, 2012
    4
    I am late at reviewing this game but I did happen to buy this near the launch date. I was looking in my inventory of games ( I'm an extreme gamer) I have every single console except the turbo grafix 16. Anyway I saw this game and decided to review it. Now a lot of people that are saying " you shouldn't review a game bad for it's graphics" I agree with this, but in Duke Nukems case itI am late at reviewing this game but I did happen to buy this near the launch date. I was looking in my inventory of games ( I'm an extreme gamer) I have every single console except the turbo grafix 16. Anyway I saw this game and decided to review it. Now a lot of people that are saying " you shouldn't review a game bad for it's graphics" I agree with this, but in Duke Nukems case it really kind of does. I mean I try to ignore bad graphics but this game doesn't even have good game play, then you get to elements like the load times.Why is there horrible load times for a game that looks like dog **** I have Nukem 3D and the gun play felt way better too. Nukem Forever's shot gun still feel alright. I have this on PS3 but also borrowed the 360 version from a friend because I thought the 360's controller was good for FPS, but that wasn't the case with the 360 version either, I had to fiddle with the sensitivity and even then it still wasn't quite right. The funny thing is that most multiplatformers are actually better on the 360, but in Duke Nukems case it is almost unplayable. I do not hate this game, but I still think it's a bad game. Randy Pitford hyped this game up so bad and he knew it was a pile of crap. Some of the boss fights are good but there are also some very bad boss fights. Load times are actually a tad better on the 360, but only by a couple seconds. I timed the PS3 and 360 version of the game. If you die in the PS3 version, you'll have to wait between 42-45 seconds. The 360 version was almost the same but my times were 40-42 seconds. Not to mention that this game is cut up into segments, and you play for like 15 mins and then after you have to wait 45 seconds every 15 mins and that is not counting the deaths. Another thing that I noticed on the 360 version is that every time you turn the camera there are uncapped frame rates and it's tearing like a mother. The game felt small compared to Duke Nukem 3D, granted that in Duke Nukem 3D it was all about finding key cards but the gun play kicked ass. Randy Pitchford, in all his interviews about this game he was mentioning the full fledged pinball machine, who cares about a pinball machine, how about you make a decent game instead of putting a pinball machine in it. By the way the pinball machine sucked anyway. And like I said graphics don't mean a lot to me, but in Duke Nukems case it is hampered from not having good graphics. Bad Loading times,Bad Graphics,Sound mediocre,controls are horrible. There are bits of fun to be found in this game though, like I said I don't hate this game, but it's not a good game at all. There IS fun but the bad things about this game out do the good, and people giving this game 9 or 10's are saying that This game is on par with the current FPS.. Yeah I don't think so. Pretty much every first person shooter in the last 6 years has been better than this game. If you rate this a 10 then you are saying that this game is perfect in every way, but in reality if you break it down there are hardly anything good to say about it other than a bit of fun CAN be had, but the experience gets boring after a short while. Duke Nukem is the same old Duke, but the game presents itself. This game is a game straight out of the 90's with the game play no doubt about it. But that is what we were all expecting anyway, if you were expecting anything else then you are a retard. Still the game is horrible and I would of liked to have an old fashioned Duke Nukem, but in this case this game is not good at all. If you haven't played it yet, I suggest you rent it, although it's not a good game, you may want to put to rest Duke Nukem Forever. Because if you are a true gamer you would rent this game regardless of how bad it is. I new this game was going to be a pile of crap before I bought it but I like to think that it wasn't a total waste because one good thing about this game is the extras and remembering how the old Duke Nukem was. Nostalgia doesn't even help this game out any. If you liked this game, then it's ok, but to say this is a good game, you would be lieing even if you say it was your opinion. I don't care if the game took 1 year or 14 years to make, the game is still garbage. But still worth to experience it. Expand
  17. Jul 24, 2011
    2
    Duke Nukem Forever was never going to live up to the immeasurable hype after waiting through the lifespan of the average cat duke gives us a game that will sell but only because of its past but ont to the game.Duke starts off at the fair pace take a leak says a few one liners and fights a massive alien.
    so far so promising.Then its time for the real game and things go downhill fast so
    Duke Nukem Forever was never going to live up to the immeasurable hype after waiting through the lifespan of the average cat duke gives us a game that will sell but only because of its past but ont to the game.Duke starts off at the fair pace take a leak says a few one liners and fights a massive alien.
    so far so promising.Then its time for the real game and things go downhill fast so fast you will get motion sicknes.when you look at this game it should be measured by what it is offering/a ton of crap not its history the graphics tell the tale of its development perfectly i found these more offensive than the woman next door would find the too be honest quite crap humour.Yes its not even funny its immature but not funny immature also this will amaze you its a better expierience on pc apparently yh and i hear you can run it on the lowest of settings well how come my xbox struggles to hold this **** in.the load times are too long the random difficulty spikes the GAME ITSELF is utter bollocks it has wonky aiming and you know what ther is a wall of **** yh i mean it but back to the difficulty spikes i found myself vomiting vulgar rainbows at many points through this game i was suprised my flatmates did nott think i was getting killed or attacked by a killer sheep(it happened once)if this franchise can weather this horrific ****storm i will be suprised and if you are one of those fanboys i have this to say unlike you i can read and write hold down a paying job and tend not to foam at the mouth now please write your strongly worded 2000 letter long message with that bad gramma of yours and live your miserable life.
    bye sincerly fanbanta1
    Expand
  18. Sep 26, 2012
    0
    A huge disappointment. I made the vital mistake of investing in the Balls of Steel Edition. The single largest purchase mistake I've ever made. I still regret this purchase to this date. The game's lauded interactivity drops off after about 20 minutes in. The developers even have a jab at Halo, and while perhaps not meanspirited, it's completely out of place when the game fails so hard toA huge disappointment. I made the vital mistake of investing in the Balls of Steel Edition. The single largest purchase mistake I've ever made. I still regret this purchase to this date. The game's lauded interactivity drops off after about 20 minutes in. The developers even have a jab at Halo, and while perhaps not meanspirited, it's completely out of place when the game fails so hard to be taking jabs at far more successful (and well, in my opinion) fun games. The combat is O.K. but quickly becomes boring as **** There's little to no story in this game. It's rushed trash that never should have been released. Expand
  19. Jun 15, 2011
    3
    Jumping into DNF, I was hoping for a 10 out of 10 experience, but after playing the First Access Demo, I knew I was going to have to settle for a 7 out of 10 game. However, only halfway through the game, I had to lower the difficulty, otherwise I would never give this game the fair review it deserved, because I was stuck and with the crappy controls, and useless, un-dismountable MGJumping into DNF, I was hoping for a 10 out of 10 experience, but after playing the First Access Demo, I knew I was going to have to settle for a 7 out of 10 game. However, only halfway through the game, I had to lower the difficulty, otherwise I would never give this game the fair review it deserved, because I was stuck and with the crappy controls, and useless, un-dismountable MG turret, I was screwed. So after lowering the difficulty, I realized how impossible the game was and unnecessarily difficult it was so early in the game and decided to give it a 5. However, another problem arose, I died a lot, thus, I had to start over a lot, which meant settling through 1 minute load times, and has made me struggle to understand whether this game is actually a good length, or just a 'quicky' (see Duke, I can be sexual and funny too). Then finally I encountered yet another problem, I was constantly being lost. I understand First Person shooters have a higher chance of confusing, or having players lose track of where their supposed to be going, especially with games that have a highly interactive environment like DNF. However, even in Half-Life 2, where the whole environment was practically interactive, the longest I had been confused, or stuck on a puzzle was 4 minutes TOPS. And this game, may I add, takes a lot of notes/example, from Half-Life. This is just a poorly made, Half-Life wanna be. Then I encountered a boss later in the game, that I had to battle under water, and as if underwater moments in games weren't out of style about 4 years ago, DNF has successfully ruined it. They ditched the scuba gear, and made Duke somehow inhale air bubbles. And what's even more depressing was actually making it to the boss, which would be the prime example of my point as to why this game is confusing, and how easily a player can get lost. It took me approximately 5 tries, to realize I had to place a bomb, which had a glowing icon to indicate where the bomb went, but it blended in so well with the environment, that I didn't realize it till around my 10th try... which means about 10 minutes were pissed away for me trying to solve the puzzle. Another, yes, ANOTHER fatal flaw of the game is it's repitition. With all honesty, if you just barrow this game somehow, and play it up to the Alien Queen with the 3 **** (which is only 3/8 of the way through the game), you've experienced the whole game. After that, everything the game has to offer (driving, puzzles, combat, you name it) has been experienced... except for swimming, which could gladly be avoided. At this point, I knew me, trolling this game, was inevitable. There's even a frame rate issue (meaning the game can't even keep up with itself... or at least the system). It seems to be a usual thing now in the community though, because DNF has it, BRINK has it... hell the only game that's trying to not have a FR issue is COD... more games should follow THAT example (not COD). The multiplayer is very bland, nothing exciting, yes even the "Capture the Babe" mode is just capture the flag at heart, nothing new, nothing special. The Digs is pretty neat and gives you something to work for.
    However, all in all, I can't stress enough, how bad this game is. It was NOT an enjoyable experience, as much as I tried to make it...
    Expand
  20. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    I can't believe this is what became of my beloved Duke Nukem Francise. This isn't even Duke anymore and as far as I'm concerned everyone at gearbox should be fired! utter utter garbage!!
  21. Jul 2, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What is this piece of software? Just railroading stupid levels, no secret areas, no secret levels, nothing really to explore, just killing babes or watching dying babes instead of rescuing them. WTF? That's everything, but not Duke Nukem. Expand
  22. Jun 14, 2011
    3
    Sorry but in a cut-throat recession hit community, to release slop like this is a crying shame. I appreciate after 13 years, it's a huge achievement to get a game published, but what exactly were the developers thinking? This is people's hard earned money and poor games means store seller's such as myself take a lot of heat when people find excuses to return under-par games. Then there areSorry but in a cut-throat recession hit community, to release slop like this is a crying shame. I appreciate after 13 years, it's a huge achievement to get a game published, but what exactly were the developers thinking? This is people's hard earned money and poor games means store seller's such as myself take a lot of heat when people find excuses to return under-par games. Then there are the graphics which could have been from a Commodore. Hey C4Eva, you seen better right? I hate to slate a highly anticipated game, and I didn't for other's but if I let this slide, I wouldn't be a true critic. I am sure the game will bear well with the die hard 40 somethings but I am not there yet and neither is this game. You should have focused on a new userbase as well as the old school fans and it is in this area and the fact it's 2011 that I cast doubt on your abilities, whether it be think - tanking the game or the programming abilities. I don't wish to discuss the game in general as I would hate to offend further. Thanks for the news hits but thats as good as it ever got to be honest. Rated 4 on PS3 and 3 on Xbox 360.

    Shame but never stop being better than before.
    Expand
  23. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    Total piece of crap! buy Bulletstorm instead its like the modern day Duke Nukem. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
  24. Jun 16, 2011
    1
    If this wasn't called Duke Nukem it would just be another mediocre first person shooter that would be put in the bargain bin a week after release, its really that poor.
  25. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    Played the original and loved it. Hoped this one would be worthwhile. It isn't. It's dated, clunky and it just isn't fun. The graphics and the humor are 10 years outdated, the game play is uninspired and it just plain sucks. There are a million games out there that are better than this. It will be in the bargain bin in no time, save yourself some money and wait if you really want to play it.
  26. Jun 14, 2011
    1
    OK...I want my money back. This piece of t*rd is not worth a free download on Xbox live for cripes sake! Why do publishers fell the need to rip of consumer just for a few extra release day sales.
  27. Jun 14, 2011
    4
    Your either going to love or hate this game. Unfortunatly I'm of the hate side of the arena. Meh Graphics, jokes so bad they'll make you want to bang you head agiesnt the wall and poor enemy ai that is worse than Alpha Protocal's. This game simply does not do the Nukem Series justice. Nothing is pushed to the limit as with the previous games, not the humor, not the gameplay, nothing. It'sYour either going to love or hate this game. Unfortunatly I'm of the hate side of the arena. Meh Graphics, jokes so bad they'll make you want to bang you head agiesnt the wall and poor enemy ai that is worse than Alpha Protocal's. This game simply does not do the Nukem Series justice. Nothing is pushed to the limit as with the previous games, not the humor, not the gameplay, nothing. It's been there done that and been outdone by other games gameplay. The characters suck, specially the Bimbo twins who's every line of dialog is sure to give you a headache. It is sad to see one of my favorite game series fail so badly

    Repost since it bugged out and gave it a 10 rather than the 4 I had given it.
    Expand
  28. Jun 14, 2011
    1
    Now, I used to play all of these types of games on floppy disks. Duke Nuke, Hexen, Wolfenstein, Doom, Heretic and others, but this piece of garbage does nothng to honor these games. The game play is horrible, the load times are close to a minute and the mini movies are way too long. I was hopng for so much more. If I bought this back in the 90's, this would have been cutting edge, butNow, I used to play all of these types of games on floppy disks. Duke Nuke, Hexen, Wolfenstein, Doom, Heretic and others, but this piece of garbage does nothng to honor these games. The game play is horrible, the load times are close to a minute and the mini movies are way too long. I was hopng for so much more. If I bought this back in the 90's, this would have been cutting edge, but come on man, this is horrible. I can't think of anything (except for throwing feces) that has even been remotely fun about this. It is almost painful trying to play this. The original Duke is so much better than this junk. I just wish I could get my time and money back. THE KING IS DEAD, BABY!!!! Expand
  29. Jun 15, 2011
    0
    Digital Foundry Quote: The Xbox 360 version of Duke Nukem Forever is nothing short of unmitigated disaster in this area, and easily one of the ugliest and most poorly performing shooting games weâ
  30. Jun 15, 2011
    1
    this game have humor and.......i cant of think anything else. This game is TOP 1 candidate on biggest disapointment of 2011. DONT BUY THIS, ITS WASTE OF MONEY better get drunk or buy your girlfriend something nice...
  31. Jun 15, 2011
    1
    90s superhero has arrived . His addicted to crack , full of nonsense and in general they should have let him die . Biggest disappointment ever . 800 ms points would be a waste . Avoid at any cost .
  32. Jun 15, 2011
    0
    Basically, the phrase "Call of Duke" comes to mind. Except much, much, worse than this Cawadooty franchise. Good try, chaps. Just didn't live up to the hype.
  33. Jun 16, 2011
    0
    Just an unmitigated disaster of bad taste layered on poor game design. The jokes likely play best for gamers too young for it's M rating. I played the previous games and they we're fun for their time but that was an era when there was a lot less choice and game ratings were in their infancy. Simply putting boobs in a game to nab a user base seems sad. Like Dad showing up at a frat party.
  34. Jun 18, 2011
    0
    Worst game i bought in years, the day i purchased this was the same day i brought it back. You can have the same effect with this game if you simply take $60 out of your wallet and flush it down the toilet.
  35. Jun 20, 2011
    4
    I'll be honest with you, I wanted SO bad to like this game. I tried to overlook all of the Duke's flaws and see it for what I wanted it to be: a classic 90's shooter. Unfortunately this was something I couldn't do. The jokes are funny at times, and there are plenty of call backs to older movies, games, and even internet memes, but for the most part it just comes out as completeI'll be honest with you, I wanted SO bad to like this game. I tried to overlook all of the Duke's flaws and see it for what I wanted it to be: a classic 90's shooter. Unfortunately this was something I couldn't do. The jokes are funny at times, and there are plenty of call backs to older movies, games, and even internet memes, but for the most part it just comes out as complete unadulterated toilet humor (and trust me that gets old fast). I could forgive the graphics and game engine given how much time this game has been in development, but the fact that they've spent twelve years making what is only the most basic of shooters makes me want to cry. The king may be back, but he's brought balls of fail with him this time. If you're a fan of Duke Nukem like me and have to play this game despite how bad it is, my advice is to either wait until the price drops or rent it. Expand
  36. Jun 20, 2011
    2
    I really wanted this game to be good. After playing it for awhile, I realized it wasn't good so I just wanted this game to be something other than the garbage it was turning out to be. I knew about the graphics and animation and dated game mechanics, but none of that bothers me unless it is fun. I figured it would be good for a few laughs... it wasn't. I didn't laugh once. Jr. High SchoolI really wanted this game to be good. After playing it for awhile, I realized it wasn't good so I just wanted this game to be something other than the garbage it was turning out to be. I knew about the graphics and animation and dated game mechanics, but none of that bothers me unless it is fun. I figured it would be good for a few laughs... it wasn't. I didn't laugh once. Jr. High School bathroom humor riddles this trash with the frequency that was really quite insulting. Did the developers really think I would find this type of humor funny? After the second tasteless abortion joke I turned this junk off and traded it in.

    With all of the anticipation, all the wait, all of the expectation, it really is mind boggling on where this whole thing went wrong. I think what upset me most is that they took a character that was funny with his macho bravado and quick one liners, and turned him into an unappealing jerk. I am not even interested in a Duke Nukem game if this is how they want to keep him.

    Hopefully Gearbox and 2K will realize their error in not fixing this game before releasing it and try to reboot it with favorable results. I will still not pre-buy it like I did this one. This is the last game I ever put on reserve for early purchase. The second time this year I have been burnt by paying full price for a horrible game.

    Certainly not worth $60. Not even worth $20. I would say wait a month or so when all the used game stores are trying to get rid of the surplus they have and mark it down to $3. Even then that is pushing it.
    Expand
  37. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    1. Graphics: The graphics engine used for the game is nowhere near other AAA titles on the market at the $60 price point. No excuses about how the game has been in development for 14 years, etc. It is what it is and either the company lowers the price to reflect outdated tech or deal with the criticism. Even if you're only it for the **** and toilet humor, don't you want the best HD1. Graphics: The graphics engine used for the game is nowhere near other AAA titles on the market at the $60 price point. No excuses about how the game has been in development for 14 years, etc. It is what it is and either the company lowers the price to reflect outdated tech or deal with the criticism. Even if you're only it for the **** and toilet humor, don't you want the best HD graphics available?

    2. Weapons: Can only carry 2 weapons at a time...an attempt at realism, you say? Yes, they were going for realism in Duke Nukem...I'm sure that's it.
    Shrink gun was decent, but the rest of the selection was nothing impressive. No weapon sights- zooming just pushed the entire screen in a little bit.

    3.Level design: Linear. Serious Sam had some sandbox levels, but managed to make the outdoor areas in those games feel fun...DNF felt more like a conveyor belt.

    4.Gameplay: It's a shooter. Nothing too complex or innovative about it, but there are certainly better FPS shooter games out there if that's all your interested in. The humor of Duke is what sets this game apart, or rather, what used to set it apart in past versions. Like everything else, the jokes are really up to you to judge. Personally though, I only laughed once the entire game at was at the start when I was stil excited to play.. before the disillusionment set in. It just felt like the game was trying too hard to be funny and it came off like that guy you know that retells jokes from a stand up comedian, but his delivery is all **** up and it just ends up being stupid and sad to watch, but you halfway crack a smile because you don't wanna be rude. 5. Fanboy ValueTilt: Pretty high on this title. If you were a fan of the previous Duke games you will probably like this game no matter what anyone says, and frankly no matter how many problems the game actually has. 6. Bottom Line: Even if you are a fan I would recommend a pass. Save your money and replay Duke 3D again or at least wait until you can find this in the bargain bin.
    Expand
  38. Jun 21, 2011
    0
    This game tries too hard, and ends up stuck in the late 90s, without a leg to stand on or a brain to think with. I didn't like it. I don't think anyone who focuses on today's norm of gaming will like it.
  39. Jun 23, 2011
    0
    What a complete waste of space this game is. When DN3d was out I played it for ages, I turned this cr*p game of before finishing the 1st level it is so bad. Graphics are terrible, game play terrible. I guess if they had released this in the 90's it would have been an OK game. Shame on gearbox.
  40. Jul 22, 2011
    0
    One of the worst video games I have ever played. "EPIC piece of **** w gameould be a compliment next to what I could really say about this game. Honestly, the 4.1 rating it recieved is just someone being nice. This game FAILS.
  41. Jun 30, 2011
    0
    Duke Nukem Forever is an absolutely horrible experience. Let's just get that out of the way. Let me just say that I played Duke Nukem 3D and I loved it, one of my favorite shooters of all time. Back then the game was revolutionary and fun, the humor was risqué but remaining funny and non offensive.
    Now before I go on I know that many Duke fans, that you have to be a Duke fan
    Duke Nukem Forever is an absolutely horrible experience. Let's just get that out of the way. Let me just say that I played Duke Nukem 3D and I loved it, one of my favorite shooters of all time. Back then the game was revolutionary and fun, the humor was risqué but remaining funny and non offensive.
    Now before I go on I know that many Duke fans, that you have to be a Duke fan or you have to be able to understand Forevr to understand it. See, I could understand this but Duke Nukem Forever is such an atrocity, such an abominatio , so far away from what made the original so grand, and so unbelievably immature, immoral, and sexist, finding no mercy for the poor women surrounded in the evil circumstances.
    Top that with incredibly tired and dated shooting, visuals, sound design, driving sections, and puzzles all who poke fun at games that Forever has no right to make foul of such as, Half-Life and Halo. In the end Forever comes across as a worthless, tired, and offensive documentation of a game that spent too long in development hell and was truly overshadowed in techinal terms and fun terms by everything else on the market. It is an utterly horrible "game" that will be "forever" remembered as an lackluster and disaster of a game that no chance of success.
    Expand
  42. Jul 4, 2011
    2
    I knew this game was going to be very outdated when I played it, after all waiting a decade. But I had NO idea it was going to be this bad. The overuse of being shrunk, combined with LOOOOONNNGGG load times made this game pretty much unplayable. Sorry Duke, but your forever ended with this game.
  43. Jul 13, 2011
    3
    I've been playing this game for about an hour or so, and I've been pretty much bored throughout the entire ride. Sure, Duke's comments got a few chuckles out of me, but other than that, this game is not very fun. My biggest issues with it are the clunky controls, the shallow combat system, and the LONG ass load times. Because of the lack of precision in the game's controls, combat isI've been playing this game for about an hour or so, and I've been pretty much bored throughout the entire ride. Sure, Duke's comments got a few chuckles out of me, but other than that, this game is not very fun. My biggest issues with it are the clunky controls, the shallow combat system, and the LONG ass load times. Because of the lack of precision in the game's controls, combat is simply not fun. It becomes limited to "point your gun and pull the trigger".

    I see a lot of people talking about how "old-school" this game is, and they seem to believe that just because it is a flashback to the old-school, it's fun simply for that reason. Well...I'm 24 years old, and I've been gaming since before I could walk. I've played games from the NES, the SNES, Sega Genesis, the PS1, N64, PS2, PC games, as well as the Xbox 360 and PS3. I played the ORIGINAL Duke Nukem when I was very young - and no, I do not speak of Duke Nukem 3D, though I have played that as well. I bet most of you don't even know what I'm talking about...and if you do, well...you're probably old school like me. I also went before even my time and dabbled in the Atari 2600. I know old school.

    And, let me tell you - even by old-school standards, this game falls short. I did not come to this game with high expectations, like some of you might accuse. I rented this game expecting a good time - nothing more. And I was still disappointed, because I am not having a good time. The very fact that I would rather spend time writing this review than playing the game that I just got an hour ago (and bored all the way through that hour) is testament to this fact. Combat is slow and boring, and Duke's one-liners - while mildly entertaining - are not enough to redeem its shallow combat system. Duke Nukem 3D's combat was much more fast-paced and its weapons/gadgets were much more fun to use.

    You guys want a good time? You want to know what good old-school shooters are? Is your computer newer than 1995? Then I recommend you find a copy of the original Doom...or even Doom II. Download yourself a DOS emulator (DosBOX is good), and enjoy. You'll find a game that is both simple, yet massively fun...DNF manages to get the former right, but unfortunately not the latter.
    Expand
  44. Jul 16, 2011
    1
    I think this game is really bad because in my opinion this game makes you do what a monkey does, like throwing s**t .About the gameplay, well its just another awful fps like call of duty, homefront and terminator salvation. The graphics are awful for a game being developed for 12 years and the worst thing in my opinion was the insult to Halo. This game doesn't have the right to insult aI think this game is really bad because in my opinion this game makes you do what a monkey does, like throwing s**t .About the gameplay, well its just another awful fps like call of duty, homefront and terminator salvation. The graphics are awful for a game being developed for 12 years and the worst thing in my opinion was the insult to Halo. This game doesn't have the right to insult a masterpiece like Halo. I think the waiting was not worth it and if you want to play this game rent it because it's not worth 60 euros Expand
  45. Aug 1, 2011
    1
    I'm old enough to remember when Duke was supposed to be cool. Well, he never was but today he's completely incomprehensible. This game could never meet the expectations but it could have been serviceable. Instead it's a complete technical mess, ugly like an alien pig's face. There are underrated shooters out there but DNF is not one of them. Avoid.
  46. Aug 10, 2011
    3
    Utter trash, a horrid mess of a game in all aspects. Dated graphics, gameplay and quite frankly the shortest single player campaign in the universe. Avoid at all costs.
  47. Aug 27, 2011
    4
    At least these guys had some good smoke and picked up a lot of girls telling them they were going to be stars during the development of this game. I hope they scored good because this game didn't. Not a stinker but close. We can all laugh, not with, AT. I want my money back. 60$ Sheesh!
  48. Sep 9, 2011
    4
    I was hoping to be wrong, but finally i am very disappointed (as expected). The atmosphere is the same, there are fun parts (DN is funny) but gameplay is very very dissappointing. gameplay is very imbalanced, enemies are dumb but sometimes overpowered compared to the situation. didnt wirth to try...
  49. Sep 27, 2011
    2
    --[THE GOOD]-- The unlockable extras are pretty cool

    - Some exciting firefights -- [THE BAD] -- - ...but utterly awful boss battles - Ugly visuals plagued with slow loading textures and frame rate drops - Poor voice acting and immature, high school jock-like dialogue - Loading screen after loading screen after **** loading screen! - 'Mini Duke' sections are plain **** completely
    --[THE GOOD]-- The unlockable extras are pretty cool

    - Some exciting firefights


    -- [THE BAD] --

    - ...but utterly awful boss battles

    - Ugly visuals plagued with slow loading textures and frame rate drops

    - Poor voice acting and immature, high school jock-like dialogue

    - Loading screen after loading screen after **** loading screen!

    - 'Mini Duke' sections are plain **** completely dull and infuriating

    - The multiplayer is everything that the word 'crap' stands for

    (GRAPHICS) - [3] - The graphics are a messy affair. They absolutely scream the fact that they went through three different console generations before finally settling on the current seventh generation, though they most definitely don't live up to it and there are some pretty blinding signs of older generation graphical remnants. The visuals are ugly enough, but just when you thought it could only get better it gets worse; unforgivable slow-loading textures and frequent frame rate drops plague each and every level and there are many instances where an object catches your eye and all that comes to mind is 'seriously...?'. One of the worst levels for technical fudge-ups is "The Mighty Foot", which sees Duke rollin' in a monster truck ('cos he's mega tough, of course) amidst a flurry of enemies falling through the ground, seconds-long frame rate drops and objects randomly flinging themselves around the place. You have to admire the developers' confidence that the graphics could actually be passed off as acceptable. HA!...

    For the full review, y'all can find it on my blog at www.garygamesouparchive.blogspot.com/2011/07/duke-nukem-forever-xbox-360.html
    Collapse
  50. Mar 21, 2012
    4
    Before I begin, I'd just like to thank Randy Pitchford and Gearbox for finally releasing this game after 14 years! Now heres the part that made me made. Everything but the combat reeks in crap, it just looks like they've taken the look of Duke Nukem 3D and tried to make it look like This Generations graphics. The acting and script is awful. I've seen better acting in porn ffs! Even thoughBefore I begin, I'd just like to thank Randy Pitchford and Gearbox for finally releasing this game after 14 years! Now heres the part that made me made. Everything but the combat reeks in crap, it just looks like they've taken the look of Duke Nukem 3D and tried to make it look like This Generations graphics. The acting and script is awful. I've seen better acting in porn ffs! Even though the controls are slightly clunky the combat is typical first person shooter combat.I can't believe I wasted 110 dollars on this garbage! ugh dissapointing Expand
  51. Feb 5, 2012
    3
    In my eyes, I never thought that this game would see the light of day. But it finally came out and boy should it have stayed in the bowels of development hell. The graphics are way below par. I was like "Wow I know PS2 games with better graphics". The gameplay is very Halo. Regenerating health, two weapons all that jazz. The story... Let's be honest I doubt very many people played this forIn my eyes, I never thought that this game would see the light of day. But it finally came out and boy should it have stayed in the bowels of development hell. The graphics are way below par. I was like "Wow I know PS2 games with better graphics". The gameplay is very Halo. Regenerating health, two weapons all that jazz. The story... Let's be honest I doubt very many people played this for that. What really bugs me is that I know this would have been better if it came out, lets say 12-13 years ago. I think that this would have been more applicable in that time period. In DNF, I was disgusted to see jokes that were seriously outdated and a true lack of effort. This game is just bad. It's bad as a game and bad as an idea. Expand
  52. Nov 13, 2011
    2
    Out of all the Games I've watched and played. Duke Nukem Forever has to be the WORSE one I've Played for 2011! Bad Graphics, Unfair bosses, Lame Turret moments, the game practically telling you what weapons to use, a Story line no one will care about, Easy Puzzles,Horrible character animations (Seriously, if you play this watch the characters cause it is horrible to look at!),mostly lameOut of all the Games I've watched and played. Duke Nukem Forever has to be the WORSE one I've Played for 2011! Bad Graphics, Unfair bosses, Lame Turret moments, the game practically telling you what weapons to use, a Story line no one will care about, Easy Puzzles,Horrible character animations (Seriously, if you play this watch the characters cause it is horrible to look at!),mostly lame Jokes (think the ones about the flying spaghetti monsters (Octopus) were the only ones I laughed at) And Finally, the ruining of the Duke. So I think Either a Different company should have brought Duke Nukem back, or it should have stayed dead. So to all who haven't played this Game yet, Please don't!.. Expand
  53. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    I put the disk in and watch the intro. 'this looks promising' I thought to myself. I find myself in a bathroom and urinate in the toilet. In one cubicle I find a turd I can pick up and throw. I painted the bathroom brown. Then I draw a phallic object on the whiteboard for the military plans. The first part of the game is full of amusing things like this, and when I was playing I thought toI put the disk in and watch the intro. 'this looks promising' I thought to myself. I find myself in a bathroom and urinate in the toilet. In one cubicle I find a turd I can pick up and throw. I painted the bathroom brown. Then I draw a phallic object on the whiteboard for the military plans. The first part of the game is full of amusing things like this, and when I was playing I thought to myself 'this is the best game ever!'... And then I had to kill aliens. It all went downhill from there. The controls were clunky and it was to be quite honest, a boring experience. I would rather chuck poo in game for 8 hours than actually do what it was this game asked of me. Shocking how the game turned from great to garbage in the space of 20 minutes. Seriously, nothing fun after the intro and a complete waste of time. I'll be honest I did not finish it, but it's just like my grandfather used to say 'you don't need to finish eating a lump of faeces to know you don't like it.' Expand
  54. Jan 8, 2012
    1
    duke Nukem was very disappointing with bad graphics the campaign levels were bad (although the stripper club was nice) and multi player is rubbish overall its a horrible game
  55. Mar 21, 2012
    0
    As someone who spent literally hundreds of hours playing Duke Nukem 3D, various third party add-ons and mods for DN3D, and even authored my own content for DN3D, I have been a huge fan of the franchise for a very long time. After 13 years of waiting, I never even realized when DN4 hit the shelves and wish I hadn't ever found out. Take 2 absolutely killed the franchise by releasing itAs someone who spent literally hundreds of hours playing Duke Nukem 3D, various third party add-ons and mods for DN3D, and even authored my own content for DN3D, I have been a huge fan of the franchise for a very long time. After 13 years of waiting, I never even realized when DN4 hit the shelves and wish I hadn't ever found out. Take 2 absolutely killed the franchise by releasing it "before it's done" like 3D Realms had intended and trying to play this abortion of a game brought tears to my eyes (they weren't tears of joy, either)...

    The super-bubbly rah rah go Duke! NPC dialogue makes this game unbearable from the first cutscene. The gameplay is some of the most linear I've ever been forced to endure and is not rewarding or worthwhile. If you ever liked Duke, do yourself a favor, stay in denial, and pretend that this crap heap never saw the light of day.
    Expand
  56. Sep 9, 2012
    1
    Gra ssie pocałości. Dawno nie grałem w takiego gniota na obecnej generacji konsol. Pomijając lata, które gracze spędzili na czekaniu. Duke Nukem Forever cierpi na tyle bolączek, że śladowy humor i kilka "wtyk" na inne tytuły znikają w gąszczu niedoróbek. Zaczynając od loadingów, które trwają jakbyGra ssie pocałości. Dawno nie grałem w takiego gniota na obecnej generacji konsol. Pomijając lata, które gracze spędzili na czekaniu. Duke Nukem Forever cierpi na tyle bolączek, że śladowy humor i kilka "wtyk" na inne tytuły znikają w gąszczu niedoróbek. Zaczynając od loadingów, które trwają jakby ładowana była najlepsza gra wszech czasów. Drugie z czym się zderzamy to sztywna mechanika, która daje o sobie znać zwłaszcza w partiach platformowych. Partie platformowe razem z "puzzlami" tworzą mieszankę nie do przełknięcia. Etapy "samochodowe" to nieporozumienie. Przeciwnicy są kretyńscy, modele etapów są bardzo mało intuicyjne. Generalnie jest to tytuł niegodny Duke'a. Jest to żart twórców i wielki lep dla rzeszy fanów. Nie warto inwestować w ten tytuł nawet jeżeli chcecie kupić "używkę". Expand
  57. Apr 13, 2012
    0
    I score this game 0 because it is simply not a Duke Nukem game. I like so many other people have waited 12+ years for the return of the king, what we got was another Call of Duty clone. Take away everything that makes Duke Nukem special, and you get this. Being a varitable waling armory of special gun? Nope. Fight hoards of enemies around every corner? Nope, 3 at tops on screen. The onlyI score this game 0 because it is simply not a Duke Nukem game. I like so many other people have waited 12+ years for the return of the king, what we got was another Call of Duty clone. Take away everything that makes Duke Nukem special, and you get this. Being a varitable waling armory of special gun? Nope. Fight hoards of enemies around every corner? Nope, 3 at tops on screen. The only surviving element of the King is his personality. Duke spouts one liners like the King he is, but they ruined him. Duke drunk on one beer? Duke letting some kid push him around? Duke making fun of brown and bloom shooters while being in one himself? All of it adds up to a generic game, and a insult to the King. We waited a long time.... it wasn't worth it. Expand
  58. Jan 17, 2013
    1
    Terrible poorly made game. Impossibly long loading times, unimaginative tiny and liner levels. Graphic have never been a issue for me but this game looks poorly made over a weekend. I would recommend avoiding this at all costs.
  59. May 8, 2012
    0
    Immature, stupid, and above all LAME. This game is terrible. It is a **** stain on video games in general and should not be played by anyone besides delusional "Duke" fanboys' who will insist that "you don't understand cause' you're not a Duke fan". If being a Duke fan means forcing myself to believe this garbage is enjoyable ahhh you know what, just don't go near it. That is all. The ****Immature, stupid, and above all LAME. This game is terrible. It is a **** stain on video games in general and should not be played by anyone besides delusional "Duke" fanboys' who will insist that "you don't understand cause' you're not a Duke fan". If being a Duke fan means forcing myself to believe this garbage is enjoyable ahhh you know what, just don't go near it. That is all. The **** icing on top of this **** cake is that the devs have the ignorance to think mocking games that have more gameplay in one pixel like halflife and halo, than Duke Nukem Forever is witty/ comical/ tough or something. Anything over a 0 is EXTREMELY forgiving for this tasteless, broken excuse for a game game. Rant Over. Expand
  60. Apr 14, 2014
    4
    this game is very good for what it's been thought 13 years in development hell it turn out good I like the story the music and we got to see a few bit of **** but I want to see more and graphics are not that good but there ok the Multiplayer ok it's not the best some of the min games are fun(:
  61. Aug 5, 2012
    0
    OK i never played this game but i saw reviews on youtube and all of them were 5 and down i saw trailer and gameplay . Game is boring there are a lots of use less mini games and to much pornography i mean fricking wall boobs WTF !!!! so my score is total ZERO
  62. Sep 11, 2012
    3
    Im going to tell you guys a story,once upon a time,14 years ago a company called Gearbox announced a game called Duke Nukem Forever.After 14 **** years the company realised the game and began selling it to the world.But something really bad happened.The game was a crappy piece of **** The fans of the game hated and hated,but Gearbox didn´t listen.They should do the same as BiowareIm going to tell you guys a story,once upon a time,14 years ago a company called Gearbox announced a game called Duke Nukem Forever.After 14 **** years the company realised the game and began selling it to the world.But something really bad happened.The game was a crappy piece of **** The fans of the game hated and hated,but Gearbox didn´t listen.They should do the same as Bioware did! The ending of their great game was terrible! So they realised a DLC of an alternative ending!
    Now,turning serious.Gearbox had 14 years to make a good game (With that time it should reach perfection) but it was a whole disaster.The combat ia horrible,it´s graphics are too.
    I have a long list about how bad this game is,but I have to go.
    Expand
  63. Nov 3, 2012
    1
    even the demo for this thing is bad. it feels like they made it a decade ago, let it on a shelf, worked on other stuff, then remembered it, took it off the shelf as is, then put it on sale. the game has no character to it, the gameplay is just sad, the mechanics are numb. it feels like it was tailor made to suck
  64. Feb 13, 2013
    0
    Randy Pitchford AND gearbox, you should be ashamed of yourselves for squatting down and pushing this horrid, unfunny, unpleasant, dated, clunky, and all around ugly game out of your bum.
  65. Dec 19, 2012
    3
    The game is not even comparable to Duke Nukem 3D. The game doesn't have action, or it has it in very little portions, because it's based on **** around.
  66. Dec 11, 2012
    4
    Well, considering its development history. I think Gearbox did the best it could with what it was given to them. At least it finally got released rather than being remade from scratch AGAIN for a another 5 years.Happy to see that the Duke is still Duke and it at least GB tried to stay true to the source material. Just a shame that there is far more wrong with this game, than there isWell, considering its development history. I think Gearbox did the best it could with what it was given to them. At least it finally got released rather than being remade from scratch AGAIN for a another 5 years.Happy to see that the Duke is still Duke and it at least GB tried to stay true to the source material. Just a shame that there is far more wrong with this game, than there is right.. What I hated the most about this game if I had to mention just one thing: The loading times between sections: Holy F*****g S***! WHY WHERE THEY SO DAMN LONG!!! Expand
  67. Jul 14, 2013
    0
    The graphics are horrible the gameplay isnt Duke Nukem there are so many puzzles the multiplayer is just WTF you can only carry 2 weapons it isn't Halo horrible FPS platforming just
  68. Oct 20, 2013
    0
    duke nukem forever is truly one of the worst games I've ever played in my entire life, I could not even play this game until the end of what was being so horrible.
  69. Oct 22, 2013
    3
    Wasted 60 bucks on this A terrible game. A game that was in development for over 10 years and it failed utterly. The story line is just stupid. So stupid that It isn't even funny. The graphics are okay at best. The physics of that are just The game is too linear and terribly glitchy. Sometimes you can't even run but yet just move like pac man at a slow rate. Combat is pretty ****ty too.Wasted 60 bucks on this A terrible game. A game that was in development for over 10 years and it failed utterly. The story line is just stupid. So stupid that It isn't even funny. The graphics are okay at best. The physics of that are just The game is too linear and terribly glitchy. Sometimes you can't even run but yet just move like pac man at a slow rate. Combat is pretty ****ty too. I just don't want to even talk about this anymore so I will review some good stuff. The game does have its moments. Slappable wall boobs in the Hive which I found funny and a few easter eggs too. If the game didn't have humor, I may have not even rated it a 1 much less a 3.
    I do feel bad for those who got it for 60 bucks. Now if you're lucky, you could just get it for free at Gamestop.
    Never buy this game. Please. Don't. Buy something good.
    Expand
  70. Nov 7, 2013
    3
    This game is as much of an over the top ass kicking action adventure that man can create. That being said it is so campy that I could only enjoy it in short doses. I would play for about an hour and a half before the fun started to wear off. Then I would repeat the next day. Sex is a part of Duke Nukem, but in this game it needed to be toned down about 8 to 10 notches. Overall thisThis game is as much of an over the top ass kicking action adventure that man can create. That being said it is so campy that I could only enjoy it in short doses. I would play for about an hour and a half before the fun started to wear off. Then I would repeat the next day. Sex is a part of Duke Nukem, but in this game it needed to be toned down about 8 to 10 notches. Overall this game is fun but can' be enjoyed in one go. Expand
  71. Apr 25, 2014
    0
    Possibly the biggest flop in gaming history, 12 years in the making and you can tell as the graphics fluctuate between the different console generations, I swear there are Playstation standard textures scattered everywhere. The physics are poor, the gameplay is poor and the humour is poor, there is nothing on offer at all beyond the games introduction. As a big fan of Duke Nukem 3D IPossibly the biggest flop in gaming history, 12 years in the making and you can tell as the graphics fluctuate between the different console generations, I swear there are Playstation standard textures scattered everywhere. The physics are poor, the gameplay is poor and the humour is poor, there is nothing on offer at all beyond the games introduction. As a big fan of Duke Nukem 3D I bought this game on release and tried to defend it, and my purchase, but in the end I just felt a fool for buying this game, at least the majority were not suckered in by the crap. Pure garbage. Expand
  72. Aug 18, 2014
    2
    This game is infamous for being delayed for 13 YEARS (from 1997-2011). This was originally gonna be a PS1/N64 title but due to some stupid **** this game got delayed again & again & again. It kinda shows. This game feels like it wants to be a new shooter but can't be. It's pretty bad. If you want a new, good shooter, get Battlefield Bad Company, CoD 4-BO1 or damn near anything else (justThis game is infamous for being delayed for 13 YEARS (from 1997-2011). This was originally gonna be a PS1/N64 title but due to some stupid **** this game got delayed again & again & again. It kinda shows. This game feels like it wants to be a new shooter but can't be. It's pretty bad. If you want a new, good shooter, get Battlefield Bad Company, CoD 4-BO1 or damn near anything else (just don't get Aliens: Colonial Marines or Rogue Warrior) This game sucks balls. Expand
  73. Oct 13, 2014
    2
    Damn this game was bad. After Years of waiting, we got this piece of crap. I have to say this - duke nukem games always was overrated, that being said this game is also overrated compared to meta score (4.4? for what?).
  74. Sep 27, 2011
    0
    --[THE GOOD]-- The unlockable extras are pretty cool

    - Some exciting firefights -- [THE BAD] -- - ...but utterly awful boss battles - Ugly visuals plagued with slow loading textures and frame rate drops - Poor voice acting and immature, high school jock-like dialogue - Loading screen after loading screen after **** loading screen! - 'Mini Duke' sections are plain **** completely
    --[THE GOOD]-- The unlockable extras are pretty cool

    - Some exciting firefights


    -- [THE BAD] --

    - ...but utterly awful boss battles

    - Ugly visuals plagued with slow loading textures and frame rate drops

    - Poor voice acting and immature, high school jock-like dialogue

    - Loading screen after loading screen after **** loading screen!

    - 'Mini Duke' sections are plain **** completely dull and infuriating

    - The multiplayer is everything that the word 'crap' stands for

    (GRAPHICS) - [3] - The graphics are a messy affair. They absolutely scream the fact that they went through three different console generations before finally settling on the current seventh generation, though they most definitely don't live up to it and there are some pretty blinding signs of older generation graphical remnants. The visuals are ugly enough, but just when you thought it could only get better it gets worse; unforgivable slow-loading textures and frequent frame rate drops plague each and every level and there are many instances where an object catches your eye and all that comes to mind is 'seriously...?'. One of the worst levels for technical fudge-ups is "The Mighty Foot", which sees Duke rollin' in a monster truck ('cos he's mega tough, of course) amidst a flurry of enemies falling through the ground, seconds-long frame rate drops and objects randomly flinging themselves around the place. You have to admire the developers' confidence that the graphics could actually be passed off as acceptable. HA!...

    For the full review, y'all can find it on my blog at www.garygamesouparchive.blogspot.com/2011/07/duke-nukem-forever-xbox-360.html
    Collapse
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 76
  2. Negative: 34 out of 76
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    50
    Duke Nukem Forever aspires to take gamers back to a different period in the gaming continuum. What it will really do is inspire you to take it back to the store for a full and complete refund.
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    59
    The potential for a fun but simple shooter is here, but even with Gearbox at the helm Duke Nukem Forever is clearly a hastily-cobbled sum of unfinished parts. It could have been epic if it was released 3 to 4 years ago, but nowadays there are new rivals for the throne.
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    69
    How can Duke be such a dick, have such an inconsistently crappy game and we still enjoy it? [Sept 2011, p.84]