Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 426 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The king is back, baby! Duke Nukem Forever will meld 3D Realms' memorable hero with the latest 3D graphics technology.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 76
  2. Negative: 34 out of 76
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    78
    Duke Nukem fans, this game is for you. The campaign features nice balance and many of the same elements that have since come to define the DN experience. The presentation could be better, and the "loading checkpoints" is a chore to deal with and definitely interrupts the flow. Online, while simple, offers an incredibly fun experience that can be hard to put down.
  2. Jun 10, 2011
    70
    After 12 years, the one and only badass videogame hero is back. Its gameplay and visuals aren't exactly groundbreaking, but in any case Duke Nukem Forever proves to be an outrageously fun rollercoaster of fast paced action and intense emotions!
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    65
    If you can get passed the muddy graphics, dated character design, difficult first person platforming and throwaway multiplayer there is an enjoyable single player campaign to be had.
  4. Jun 14, 2011
    50
    And that, as insane as it sounds, is the crux of the matter: Duke Nukem Forever feels like it was rushed out the door. So many of the design decisions are poor, so much of the maps are unbalanced (going from uneventful to extremely difficult in a flash), and the graphics are so shoddy, that an experienced gamer can come to no other conclusion.
  5. Jun 25, 2011
    40
    Today's gamers have become used to enjoying a much more balanced FPS experience when playing online and many of us find it frustrating if our game of choice doesn't maintain a fair playing field. The Duke Nukem Forever multiplayer seems so outdated in comparison which is a real shame, as both gamers and (in fairness) the developers, were really hoping that it would just be good chaotic fun.
  6. Jun 13, 2011
    40
    Duke Nukem Forever is a disappointment to say the least. 14 years of development seem like a waste of time when you see what has become of the most famous FPS franchise. Sad.
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    It's not obvious they knew just how monumentally moronic the game they created is. That's the key difference between the two titles: Bulletstorm is the funny guy at the party who has a bit too much to drink. DNF is the guy who gets plastered, runs around naked with a lampshade on his head and doesn't understand that everyone is laughing at him, not with him.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 168
  2. Negative: 74 out of 168
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    I'm not even considering purchasing this game. I don't think it is worth it. I mean the game was supposed to be released in 1998. Look it upI'm not even considering purchasing this game. I don't think it is worth it. I mean the game was supposed to be released in 1998. Look it up if you don't believe me. Why would someone of this gaming generation buy a game that has been delayed from being released for 13 years. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    All the haters are retards. Case closed.
  3. May 17, 2012
    8
    I really don't understand the reviews for this game. I'm a big Duke Nukem fan and have been waiting on this for a while now and was not letI really don't understand the reviews for this game. I'm a big Duke Nukem fan and have been waiting on this for a while now and was not let down one bit. Sure it has some problems including glitches and graphics that could be better but it has a ton of personality and fits in well in the DN series. You can't compare it to other recent shooters like Halo or COD and to due so is not fare to the game or creators. This game was in development for a long time and that needs to be taken into consideration. If you like games that are fun and have personality and can over look some problems here and there then you will enjoy it. The online though is awful so I say skip that. Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2011
    6
    Not going to lie I haven't made it all the way thru... I was pretty entertained for the first half hour to hour but now this game feels likeNot going to lie I haven't made it all the way thru... I was pretty entertained for the first half hour to hour but now this game feels like work and the only reason I have interest in finishing it is b/c of how bad the reviews are... There are some cool gameplay mechanics here... BUT, majority of the enemy encounters feel too arena based and the gunplay is just not fun... The best part of the game is interacting with the objects in the environments and that eventually gets old too... This game is not a 4/10, but it's understandable considering the long awaited hype... Also Why no iron sights? Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2012
    3
    The game is not even comparable to Duke Nukem 3D. The game doesn't have action, or it has it in very little portions, because it's based onThe game is not even comparable to Duke Nukem 3D. The game doesn't have action, or it has it in very little portions, because it's based on **** around. Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    1
    This has to be one of the worse games I have played in a LONG time. The jokes in the games are not even funny. You start off the gameThis has to be one of the worse games I have played in a LONG time. The jokes in the games are not even funny. You start off the game Pissing... RT to piss.... wow.... very clever. The first gun you get has 69 bullets and after that there is 69 floors in the elevator. It feels like a 13 year old wrote this game with the stupid humor. You can actually get an achievement for picking up poop in the toilet "Turd burglar" yeah... this game is crap. The multilayer is garbage, maps are small as hell, targeting system is bad, spawning points are sh*te. Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    0
    As someone who spent literally hundreds of hours playing Duke Nukem 3D, various third party add-ons and mods for DN3D, and even authored myAs someone who spent literally hundreds of hours playing Duke Nukem 3D, various third party add-ons and mods for DN3D, and even authored my own content for DN3D, I have been a huge fan of the franchise for a very long time. After 13 years of waiting, I never even realized when DN4 hit the shelves and wish I hadn't ever found out. Take 2 absolutely killed the franchise by releasing it "before it's done" like 3D Realms had intended and trying to play this abortion of a game brought tears to my eyes (they weren't tears of joy, either)...

    The super-bubbly rah rah go Duke! NPC dialogue makes this game unbearable from the first cutscene. The gameplay is some of the most linear I've ever been forced to endure and is not rewarding or worthwhile. If you ever liked Duke, do yourself a favor, stay in denial, and pretend that this crap heap never saw the light of day.
    Expand

See all 168 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.