Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    100
    A surprise entry for one of my personal favorite games of 2011. Dungeon Defenders is a standout title that anyone who calls themselves a 'gamer' should own.
  2. Oct 28, 2011
    96
    Dungeon Defenders is deep. I don't use that word lightly. RPG fans will be in heaven with this game.
  3. Oct 17, 2011
    95
    It strikes a balance between action, RPG, and tower defense in a way that turns it into the Castle Crashers of tower defense. It will keep you occupied for weeks and months to come, provided you have the local or online friends to play with.
  4. Nov 2, 2011
    91
    Dungeon Defenders merges RPG elements with tower defense and action aspects, and that's a good recipe. You'll rarely get so many hours of gaming fun fur such a low price.
  5. Nov 3, 2011
    90
    Dungeon Defenders is easily AAA material at a quarter of the cost, which we don't see with Arcade titles that often. If you're in the mood for a great strategy RPG then look no further than Dungeon Defenders.
  6. Oct 17, 2011
    90
    Dungeon Defenders is an easy one to recommend and slides in to the 'can't miss' category, right next to some of the AAA titles we have hitting store shelves in the coming weeks. Except this one you don't have to get up off your couch to get.
  7. 90
    As long as you're not dead-set on playing by yourself, don't miss one of the most exciting and habit-forming co-op experiences on Live Arcade. [June 2011, p.81]
  8. Nov 6, 2011
    88
    While you can play in single player, the game just screams for multiplayer co-op. So do yourselves a favor grab some of your Dungeon delving friends and have a go at Dungeon Defenders, you will smile and you will have some fun.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    I'm a huge fan of Trendy Entertainment's criminally underrated Tower Defence/RPG mash-up, Dungeon Defenders. It is pretty good on iOS devices, but it truly shines on 360 (and PS3). Gorgeous Unreal Engine 3 powered graphics, absurdly addictive levelling, and some properly entertaining co-op hack'n slashing all add up to one of my favourite new IP's of the year. But with it not *really* clicking with the iPad's buttonless interface, I was almost foaming at the mouth at the prospect of finally being able to play Dungeon Defenders on the go with the planned Playstation Vita port. However, that has now been canned, and I'm absolutely gutted. Seriously, I'm devastated. That's how much this fabulous little game has me hooked. It isn't perfect, far from it in fact, but I for one utterly adore it. If Trendy are listening, and if it is viable in any possible way, please, PLEASE bring this wonderful game to Vita. In fact, with it's dual screens, it'd work equally well - if not better - on Nintendo's 3DS. Either way, I need the definitive version of Dungeon Defenders in handheld form. Please, someone, anyone, make it so! Full Review »
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Uno de los mejores juegos que eh jugado, realmente vale la pena. This is a good game guys!
    Tower Defense and nice Rpg, 10 for this game ;)
    In
    this game you will be play like 100 hours! 100% or more ofc Full Review »
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Dungeon Defenders may spell the continued revival of a long stagnant Tower Defense genre. Like the beloved Plants vs Zombies, Dungeon Defenders gives us a unique take on Tower Defense. You pick your unique class, level up your characters, upgrade weapons and armor, and distribute points to specialize your character. You can either rely on your characters ability to fight, or your characters ability to build and maintain "towers", or you can go somewhere in between. The story is light and humorous, but falls into place well. Having beaten the game already, I walk away remembering several intense moments, heartache, and triumph. While the game is slightly lacking in content, it is important to remember this is a $15 download release. Furthermore, there have been balancing patches and also plans to add a full campaign expansion to the game sometime in November. This game is a must have for any avid Tower Defense player looking for another pleasant surprise in the genre. Full Review »