Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dungeon Fighter Online is a side-scrolling action fighting game featuring role-playing elements, five unique character classes, and player versus player.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. 70
    Dungeon Fighter Live is one of those games that you will have to fight in order to find the core of entertainment it contains. If you and your friends are willing to put in the effort, though, there's plenty of ARPG action to be had here.
  2. Jul 16, 2012
    70
    The loot-based hack-'n'-slasher does enough right to see it through to the end and beyond, with King's Road difficulty which will test your evasion and force you to join other players despite the camera issues. If Nexon brings some free content into the fold and a few patches, it could be among the best downloadable titles in the marketplace today.
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    60
    For $10 it isn't a bad game by any stretch of the imagination. It just comes with a large hang-up considering there is a bigger, better version available for free.
  4. Jul 25, 2012
    50
    Dungeon Fighter LIVE: Fall Of Hendon Myre doesn't work as well as the free-2-play edition. The poor animations, the lack of variety and clumsy controls are enough to ignore the Xbox LIVE version of the game. Just play the original one on PC.
  5. Jul 26, 2012
    50
    Monotonous gameplay, awkward movements and uninspired missions quickly kill the mood that your hopes for the game had set.
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    45
    If you want to mix your beat 'em up with the joy of seeing numbers pop up, play something like Final Fight, Castle Crashers or Guardian Heroes and punch a calculator. It'll be roughly the same experience and will probably hurt less.
  7. Aug 15, 2012
    40
    Call me disappointed in the end for Dungeon Fighter Live. I was hoping to have a nice smoothie of fun, beat-em-up gameplay, RPG elements and loot blended into one, but I came away saddened and frustrated.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    I've only scratched the surface, but I feel this is a decent recreation of the real deal DFO, which I am a super fan of. The graphics are kicked up a notch, and the multiplayer is a little easier to get into. I don't think this will replace DFO for me, but it does give the game a chance to shine on my HDTV. I could see myself putting in a decent amount of time into this game, but I wish it had the Male Mage that poppa DFO just got. Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    This games is fun as hell me and my best friend spent 9 hours playing this till we relized we got addicted to the game. You will not regret buying dungeon fighter live and you never know they might bring out DLC.this is a nice game if you like to dungeon ass with friends. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    This game is spectacular!
    How old do I not see a game of this type, it's all very magical and nostalgic. For those who like the series Final
    Fight, Street of Rage and Cadillac Dinosaur, will love this game and still has that touch of RPG that lets the game perfect and enjoyable to play. Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Dungeon Fighter LIVE has descent on-line system and it's one of the most exciting game in XBOX LIVE ever. When you get into other gamer's dungeon, and slash all the monsters with other gamers, you cannot help loving this title. Playing only solo mode is not fun. If you hate to play with people, please do not play this title. You'd better to play other solo-playing game. But if you don't mind to play with other people, this is the title what you are looking for. No XBLA title supports on-line / off-line multiplay well like this game. Somebody complaints it's better to play F2P PC online game, but I bet you can't play PC on-line game with keyboard and mouse and small screen of 640 * 480 resolution. Somebody mentioned interface / button, but I can say tons of games so successful and fun with in-convenient interface. Game is game, not application. We have to judge game only it's fun or not based on its rule. Only for convenience, why we can't handle ball in the soccer game? Why we can't move King like Queen in the Chess? We have to focus on what is game's purpose and it's fun or not, up to the purpose. My opinion is simple. If you like to play with others, or if you'd like to feel of co-op playing, I am sure that this is the best. In the co-op game mode, this is better than Gears of War. If you hate to play with others or you are not XBOX LIVE GOLD user, you'd better to buy other games. This is not game for Solo. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    I never played the PC version of this game, but I'm a great fan of River City Ransom, Streets of Rage series Guardian Heroes and more recently, Scott Pilgrim and Castle Crashers. My score reflects my actual enjoyment of a video game more than any bias or shortcomings. You can tell I enjoyed this experience so these negatives do not detract from the overall enjoyment. It's been pointed out already by other reviewers, but mapping the loot pick up with the main attack button (X) was a mistake. It does ruin your combos, especially when the screen is littered with pickups. The other major annoyance for me was their lack of cleaning up your inventory. You pick up a lot of junk and unfortunately, the way it handles selling your useless items is terrible. It's not about getting used to it either. The good news is that there are plenty of moves and their decision to not only map them to buttons (useful for beginners) but also to include motions to pull them off adds to the fun once you become experienced in the game. I found it a lot of fun to play on my own because I love to grind and collect all the loot for myself. This isn't for everyone, but this makes it a great pick up a play game for me. This isn't the "dream beat em up" that you've been waiting for, but it doesn't disappoint. I know I'll be playing this alone and with friends for a long time and for $10, that is a deal that can't be beat! One word of WARNING: I started the game through the trial and ended up buying the game. I played for an hour and came back later only to realize nothing got SAVED! I suggest buying the game, restarting and playing for a short while to make sure the autosave feature is working properly before you start a long gaming section. I've discovered no other glitches outside of that. Enjoy! Collapse
  6. Jul 15, 2012
    4
    Dungeon Fighter Live represents much of what is wrong with console ports today. Nexon took thier fairly popular MMO and stripped it down to bare bones put an HD coat of paint on it and what would appear to be just for kicks added some truly terrible design elements. This of course is deemed worthy of 10 bucks where as the PC ver is free to play.

    I can get past having only 3 of the 12 classes, no sub classes and the MMO being removed for an awkward 4 player coop. What I find absolutely unforgivable is the game breaking design elements ADDED to the 360 ver. First of all as OXM mentions they made your main attack the loot button so good luck trying to do the single most important thing in a mission, keep your combo going, as you will be constantly interrupted by loot pick ups. Secondly and even more astoundingly both online and off line multiplayer are lock all players to the same screen. Yes in 2012 a game has been released in this condition. It boggles the mind as this serves no purpose other than to frustrate players trying to play with friends or just with other people.
    There are a myriad of other smaller issues, yet still annoying, that I won't go into that will ultimately leave most gamers wondering why Nexon even bothered with this port since they clearly weren't interested in it succeeding.

    Suffice it to say only the hardcore dungeon crawler/beat em up fan should bother with DFL, at least until they update it (if they ever do).
    Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    This is definitively the worst beat'em up I've ever played. I don't believe that such mediocre game can be made in 2012. There are a lot of reasons not to play Dungeon Fighter Live:
    - The playability is nefarius, the game engine is really bad.
    - This is not a beat'em up, you fight against a few opponents in a very limited scenario. When yo finish them, you play another "room".
    - If you played the demo, yo played the game. The full game doesn't offer anything new, it's really repetitive and you will play the same stages a lot of times.
    - The online mode is ridiculous. You don't play the story mode, you play individual quests.
    - ... and a lot of reasons ...
    I only can suggest to avoid this game.
    Expand