Dungeon Siege III Xbox 360

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
Buy On
  1. Jul 4, 2011
    73
    Dungeon Siege III doesn't reinvent the wheel by any stretch of the imagination, but if you're into these sorts of D&D style, loot collecting, hack and slashers, then it's definitely worth a look. For me though, I ended up disappointed. While the game can be fun, the surprising linearity, terrible camera (both online and off), uninteresting (and seemingly uninterested) characters, and the lack of a New Game + mode made this dungeon crawler feel like a lost opportunity.
  2. Jun 17, 2011
    73
    While Dungeon Siege III doesn't quite measure up to its predecessors, its streamlined approach is a solid and enjoyable Action-RPG.
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    72
    Putting the number three behind the title should mean progression. Unfortunately, this feels more like a transgression.
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    72
    It's an average action RPG, filled with cliches and some actually funny combat. The real shame goes on the coop mode, which could've been a great appealing factor, but goes totally wasted. Consider it only if you're looking for some single player, light RPG action.
  5. Sep 14, 2011
    70
    It doesn't push the envelope aside from experimenting with gameplay but if you like this type of game you'll probably enjoy yourself as long as you speed through the story.
  6. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jul 25, 2011
    70
    An enjoyable, if unremarkable, throwback. [Issue#74, p.80]
  7. Jul 14, 2011
    70
    In the end, Dungeon Siege III is an interesting game and works on most of its basic levels. It may not change the genre dramatically but it still provides a sturdy gaming engine with a relatively interesting story. It's a shame that the multiplayer aspect of the game is severely hampered by its limitations but as a single-player, Dungeon Siege III thankfully works.
  8. Jul 7, 2011
    70
    Dungeon Siege III isn't a bad game but you have to like the genre. If you like to explore a world and love to see your character grow, you will like this game. If you're looking for an RPG, there are better games available.
  9. Jun 30, 2011
    70
    Dungeon Siege 3 doesn't stand out in anything, except in its four-player cooperative mode, which will please those looking for some hack and slash fun with their friends.
  10. Jun 27, 2011
    70
    Dungeon Siege 3 doesn't do anything special and the controls can get quite annoying. But with The Witcher 2 fresh on the market and Skyrim and Diablo III still on the horizon, Dungeon Siege 3 can be a descent way to get through the quit summer months. If your cooperative partner is willing to join you without getting anything in return, that is.
  11. Jun 25, 2011
    70
    Constructed off the standard model for dungeon crawling, Dungeon Siege III doesn't reinvent the crawl, it only provides a pleasant ride within its confined genre.
  12. Jun 24, 2011
    70
    I love playing Dungeon Siege III despite its many flaws, and if you don't mind that the overall experience is pretty shallow and meant for single player, you probably will, too.
  13. Jun 24, 2011
    70
    As a single-player game, Dungeon Siege III succeeds as a fun action-RPG. It doesn't offer anything particularly new, but gamers that enjoy hacking and looting by themselves should have fun. As a multiplayer game, Dungeon Siege III is disappointing.
  14. Jun 21, 2011
    70
    It's just a shame the co-op isn't better implemented -- without a compelling multiplayer component, Dungeon Siege 3 lags behind its role-playing competitors.
  15. 70
    Obsidian does try new things out and the Onyx engine looks great, despite a slightly claustrophobic camera. But the actual game is... well, it's either dated or classique, depending on your willingness to use words like classique. Dungeon Siege III comes with a moderate recommendation - but you'll have a lot more fun discussing strategies with a friend.
  16. Jul 5, 2011
    69
    A mediocre title that fulfils the basic requirements of a console role playing game. At times, it shows promise and it does have enough going for it to keep casual gamers entertained.
  17. Jun 29, 2011
    69
    A few too many problems to recommend to anyone but hardcore hack-and-slash fans, but even they're going to find the game's loot underwhelming.
  18. 68
    A fun game in places, but after one run through of the game you will not really have the urge to go back for more. This will certainly help you pass a few hours but beyond that it is hard to see it as little more than filler for bigger and better things.
  19. Jul 19, 2011
    67
    If the online actually 'worked' and wasn't completely useless I know I would have enjoyed Dungeon Siege III much more and for a much longer period of time like I did the original two games, sadly now I have a game I finished in a few days and is already on the shelf to collect dust.
  20. Jul 1, 2011
    67
    Obsidian's attempt at adding story elements fails to impress this time -- which stands out even more due to how plenty of other RPGs (especially Obsidian's) pull off a much better narrative.
  21. Jul 8, 2011
    65
    Dungeon Siege III is a decent game; it just let itself down by not living up to what it could have been and by making some sloppy mistakes and over generalization that took away from any individuality or change in experience from one play through to another.
  22. Jun 20, 2011
    65
    Dungeon Siege III is a dungeon crawler with a boring loot table, poorly implemented multiplayer, and little lasting incentive to continue running around the world once the tedious story ends.
  23. Jun 20, 2011
    65
    Dungeon Siege III is a fun but unambitious dungeon crawler that fails to live up to the games that came before it.
  24. Jun 22, 2011
    63
    Dungeon Siege III should best be considered a distant cousin to its predecessors that's ultimately half as well-wrought as those older games, and a third as ambitious.
  25. Jun 27, 2011
    60
    Dungeon Siege III falls victim to its lack of ambition. With a little extra guts, the developers could have installed an engaging narrative, memorable characters and an online component that would prolong the title's life. Instead, what we have is an emotionless, unrewarding journey that shies away from doing anything special.
  26. Jun 24, 2011
    60
    Dungeon Siege III is a perfect example of an average game. Not quite pretty, but not ugly either, with a dull plot but one that is not as insipid as some others from poor JRPGs, and a wimpish gameplay that remains ok for the gamers that don't really want to be asked for too much effort. Multiplayer and liking of the global atmosphere will be the two decisive criteria in deciding whether you'll see a half-empty or half-full cup when contemplating DS3.
  27. Jun 24, 2011
    60
    It's difficult to wrap my head around just who Dungeon Siege 3 is aimed at. It doesn't offer the depth that fans of dungeon crawlers have come to expect and, on the other hand, it refuses to incorporate enough modern elements to appeal to the new generation of RPG fans. The result is a game that generally functions as intended but largely falls flat and struggles to impose a sense of personality.
  28. Jun 22, 2011
    60
    No real highlights and some terrible voice acting in this one. But at least some decent fights.
  29. Jun 21, 2011
    60
    DS3 is an ambitious game, to be sure, and it brings a lot of nifty innovations to the action-RPG genre. In fact, it brings too darn many -- that is, it bites off more than its control system, or the average player, can chew.
  30. Jun 21, 2011
    60
    By the end of the campaign we were satisfied with the admittedly-average story, but the stale combat and chaotic multiplayer that are supposed to sell this game just aren't built well enough. On the cheap, you could probably do worse than this, but we can say for a fact that you can do a hell of a lot better.
  31. Jun 17, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  32. Jun 26, 2011
    55
    Dungeon Siege III in the end is a weak title that will drown in the sea of top quality western RPGs that are already out there and soon to come.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 35
  2. Negative: 11 out of 35
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    I've enjoyed this little game. If you like old school hack and slash and plenty-a-loot then you will like this game. The leveling and talentI've enjoyed this little game. If you like old school hack and slash and plenty-a-loot then you will like this game. The leveling and talent tree systems work well and make you feel like you are definitely becoming more powerful. The graphics are decent with only a few minor camera hicups - mainly zooming in too far in some situations. I like the flashy spell effects as well. If you are playing single player your AI partner is capable of handling his/her own and will even pick up any loot you may have missed along the way. All in all the game works well and is pleasing to your eyes. I would recommend it to others. Full Review »
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    4
    It is not worth purchasing. It would have been decent had they managed to create a decent talent/skill system. The talent system is one of theIt is not worth purchasing. It would have been decent had they managed to create a decent talent/skill system. The talent system is one of the worst I have seen in a RPG. You spend points on a set of 9 talent points and you aren't given any indication that those skills stack. Furthermore you can't really determine exactly how many points you allocated to a certain system because what is displayed is a bar. Full Review »
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    0
    This game's suxx! How could they screw up oh-so simple loot-game formula oh-so bad in so many ways?! Lets count how many screw ups are there,This game's suxx! How could they screw up oh-so simple loot-game formula oh-so bad in so many ways?! Lets count how many screw ups are there, shall we?
    1 For a loot game there is no customization of your equipment, i mean if you pick Katarina is rifles and guns to the game's end. You can't pick up knife, sword or some kick ass hummer... NOOOO! it's guns and riffles all da way. That's suxx.
    2 There's no option in developin' your character - you can't play the game with the same character choice and end up with two different chars in the end - you'll take all skills available eventually and they power ups is hardly notecable. it's the same with Passive skills. Level up is boring and that's suxx.
    3 Fight's are boring! With Katarina i'ts pretty much just button mashing. THere were times, where i dont even see where tha hell i am shooting, and i didn't care either cause enemies were dyin'. There were times when i was thinking that game is just playin' with itself and doesen't need me and that's suxx.
    4 There was no boss fight until the very end. There was bosses, but they hardly challengin' even on hardest settings available and they are just bigger versions of normal enemy or same as normal enemy with aura-like circles arround them. That's just lazy and unimaginative and that's suxx.
    5 For a loot game you have no clue WTF the item does. There are lot of characteristics that i dont get. whats Doom, whats Momentum, whats Block, whats Warding? there's no help with this, there's no characterization.I still don't get it and i finished this POS. Having Characteristics unknown in a loot-game is suxx
    6 Skills are pathetic and unconvenient. You'll have skills for each weapon. 3. Why not all 6 with all weapons? that's just buffles me. F.e. Katarina has skill - summon wolf, that she could do, only when she equips 2 guns. hmmm...whyyyyy? skill's themselves are pathetic. i finished the game with the same skill i have in the beginning and that's just sad... and suxx.
    7 plot. It's stupid, i'ts unimaginative, it's flat, it's predictable... in a loot-game, whatever right? Right. F.e. who cared about plot in Torchlight, Diablo 2, Titan quest? No one. At least not me. Why is it an issue here? Because it's All. Over. The. PLACE. It's annoying! You can take two steps without someone startin' talkin' to you. It's EVERYWHERE and even if you skip it it's still ANNOYING! and suxx.
    8 THey tryin' to rip off better games like ME and DAO. I'am huge bioware fan and for me thoose elements looked cheap, half-done, and bad executed. THey are tryin' to convince you, that choices you make will form a sequel's world. I don't buy it! There's going to be no sequel to THIS game. Pathetic ripoffs of better games is usually BAD idea and it's suxx!
    9 Cut-scenes... 99 cents worth moving pictures. It's like a slap in the face! You can't get more cheaper than those! Remember how cool it's been with cut-scenes in Diablo2? There was even extra disc with only those! That was AWESOME. But not here. Not in this game. This game is suxx!
    10 Voice acting suxx and make no mistake about it, which makes plot issues even more insufferable!
    11 there is no world map in this one! WHY? Why would you do such a thing, obsidian? It's just suxx
    12 Game length is only 6 hours! 6!!! I was readin' comments, where people say it was 12.. Are you retarded or something? I've completed ALL the quests, waste about an hour in ice dungeon, cause got i've got lost in the damned thing. Still it was 6 hours. Short-length games are suxx.
    All in all it's just hard to recommend this game to anyone. At this price you can get torchlight, both Deathspanks and Titan quest and EACH OF THEM is far more enjoyable than this flick. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!
    Full Review »