User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 91
  2. Negative: 21 out of 91

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2011
    1
    While playing this I encountered a game breaking glitch so I'm not giving this a one because I'm some super negative gamer who hates everything, I'm giving it a one because it broke, which is sad because I was actually having a lot of fun with this before it broke, sure it had it's frustrating moments, random load times, and bad facial animations, but it was still a lot of fun and one I would have highly recommended, and I checked it out so I'm not the only one this has happened to, the only reason I'm not giving it a zero is because I am only one of the few that this has happened to, and I did have fun before it broke, it's just way to sad that it had to break. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    6
    A decent Diablo wannabe that has all the innovation, style and presentation of Diablo, but, lacks depth and range.

    For the most part it looks absolutely stunning visuals are nice and gameplay is more or less what you expect from a dungeon hack-n-slasher. Where this game fails is that it feels empty. Like a big beautiful mansion with almost no furniture in it. There is some character
    development with the main characters, but the utter lack of a real plot leaves them hanging.

    Overall:
    Dungeon Siege 3 feels like a "bare-bones" Diablo clone. To many design styles and a poorly developed world that can't keep up. You can clearly see that this was an ambitious undertaking, just somewhere along the way they seemed to give up and rushed it out. Dungeon Siege 3 isn't bad, it is actually quite fun for the most part, if anything the best way to describe this game is that it was disappointing. Disappointing in the sense that it could have been much, much more than it is. A real shame. It had the potential to be the next Diablo.
    Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    Maybe other reviews so far have given you the impression that this game is not worth your time and money, and that's just not the case here. It's a good dungeon crawler with good gameplay and excellent but limited customization. The dungeons are fun to explore and the boss fights are great (except for the last boss fight), the only bad thing about the dungeons is that they are way too linear especially for a dungeon crawler. The story is also good though there was a point where I wanted to know more about it and I felt it didn't evolve enough. Overall I enjoyed this game despite some problems however, this is not a game for everyone and I recommend waiting until the price lowers to 30$ or less. Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2014
    5
    Smack bang in the middle of what you can expect from a dungeon crawl loot game. Characters feel limited with what they can do and combat is very simple and repetitive. Story is ok as are the graphics, the soundtrack is lovely and the loot is cool. I felt that my characters image did not particularly change either which meant there was no sense of them becoming more badass as they leveled up. Levels very linear and companion AI is at times quite frustrating. In saying this it was fun relatively short and pretty easy so if you do like this style of game and are looking something to play consider it. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2012
    4
    Dungeon siege 3 is a poor game. The voice acting was appalling and the baddie JAYNE KASINDER, are you having a **** laugh it sounds like a character out of neighbours. I tryed but didnt have the willpower to actually finish this game. Poor game all round and I would not recommend anyone go and buy this game.
  6. Jun 11, 2012
    5
    ah i really really want to like this game but somehow i know that its not good at all...
    i was enjoying the combat but the skills sucks ...i am a warrior and i have a skill to heal my self and i can block almost every attack and reflect the damage so i can kill a lot of ppl when i am blocking and without ever take 1 damage .. but when u get bored with that and u want to fight and not just
    stand there and watch them die while you block them u are just gonna lose almost all ur health from bosses very very easy... (3-4attacks) and u cant stop and block or evade attacks when u are attacking ...u must finish ur move and then do whatever u want to do ... sometimes this is very annoyig because u will find ur self to just avoid the battle and just block till the boss battle is over .... and this is making the game sucks!
    but the game is more good when u are playing with ur friend the graphics in most of the game is awful for a game 2011( its like i am playing in ps2)!!! only in some areas i like them... in (in legions path and in the road for stonebrige and when u are talking with someone...)
    the skills was awful magicians wasnt having anything special warriors was doing stupid attacks there was nothing special ...
    the combat was likeable the story was good
    and there was a lot of loot so that was good too
    but after all i was forcing my self to play it to like it ... this was an average game !
    i am not saying that this was bad game i am sorry if i sound like that but i was waiting for something more ...
    Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2012
    0
    If you like linear dungeons, button mashing fights and a lack of imagination in a game, then Dungeon Siege III is just what you need to brighten up your day! Everything about this game is just too basic and belongs in the year 2000. Forget about variety, depending on the character you pick, you're stuck with the same type of weapon throughout the entire game. No switching from sword to magic, no experimenting with the skill tree and no exciting boss fights - just the same thing over and over again, until you grow so bored of this headache of a game that you take your rental copy back early because any more time spent on it will feel wasted. For your own sanity, do not play this game! Expand
  8. May 13, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Initially when I played Dungeon Siege 3 I thought it was awful. The story, combat and characters were on the cusp of being comically boring. I did however proceed to play the game and a few hours in I noticed some unique ideas (like the First People) and story passages to warm my interest. As I played more and got to Stonebridge and the plot introduced Goblins and Mechanical beings I felt pulled back out of the world I was beginning to like. The rest of the world seemed serious and war like and this little town was just a slap in the face to the atmosphere which had slowly been reeling me in. I did proceed to finish the game however, and although it takes a while to win you over and has a few weird bits that seem out of place, overall the experience for me was positive, especially once my character got some good gear and levelled up sufficiently to get some good passive combat traits.
    If you are an RPG whore like myself this reminded me most of maybe Arcana 4 on the 360 mixed with Torchlight's loot mechanics. I would recommend trying the demo, but as the early passages are a little slow you don't get a good picture of the game as it does get a lot better as it goes along.
    Expand
  9. Mar 18, 2014
    2
    Not to dog anyone who liked the game, but it was absolutely terrible. The high camera that you can't see any character detail almost made the game unplayable for me. Compared to other titles in the series and of the same genre it was very limited and wasn't a very good story. I would not recommend this game for anything but a coaster for drinks or a microwave to watch the sparks.
  10. Jun 23, 2011
    2
    Dungeon Siege 3 is exactly what happens when marketing gets to much control. This game in no way resembles its predecessors.

    Obsidian already had a game they wanted to make, Square, in their seemingly infinite distaste for the desire of their consumer, said use this IP we bought even though your game isn't anything like the previous incarnations of this game. Now some might say that
    could be a good thing, well it *could*, but it isn't They took pretty much everything that made Dungeon Siege fun tossed it out the window and replaced it with boring crap. Customizable non class restricted characters? Gone. Replaced with staid premade toons. Large group dynamic including a pack mule to help you cart all your phat lootz? Gone. You run with one other npc. Great multiplayer that gives the game years of replayability? Gone. Replaced with what they have decided to call "couch coop", but I refer to as **** ie: ALL multiplayer data is kept with the host. In other words there is no reason to ever play this game with someone else online. You can't even bring your own character to the fight if you aren't the host. Think fable's notorious henchmen multiplayer and you have it in a nut shell. These things might be over looked if the game was fun, interesting, and/or offered some replayability, but with a dull been there done that story, no new game plus, and butchered multiplayer Obsidian asks far too much @ 60 dollars. Rental. At best. Expand
  11. Aug 24, 2011
    5
    First, this is not a role-playing game. Its A Diablo clone loot collection game with few role playing elements. Second the game is SHORT. I completed it in 11 hours; in which time I completed EVERY quest. The only redeeming quality comes from the multiplayer option. You can play with up to four friends at once. I felt like the few choices I made had very little impact on the game during gameplay. My actions only influenced the short story book ending. Rent this game befor you purchase!!! Expand
  12. Jun 28, 2011
    5
    Mediocre. The gameplay is little more than button-mashing, removing any semblance of the tactics that were integral to previous games of the series. This isn't terrible (except in situations where a party member dies due to an AI glitch), but it makes for an extremely repetitive game. Overall, the plot was a letdown, only occasionally taking a break from being nonsensical or boring. Only a few scenes are particularly memorable. Character development is almost nonexistent, as is verbal interaction between party members. Graphics are decent, but not exceptional. Enemy variety is somewhat lacking (painfully obvious when assaulted by a group of bandit quintuplets with identical weapons and clothing). A locked isometric perspective may have been acceptable in older games, but here, it induces claustrophobia and hampers any sense of depth or scale. Looking upwards, or even level to the ground, is impossible. Sky is visible exactly twice during the entire game, and only during in-game cutscenes. Voice acting is very hit-and-miss, and extremely poor for a couple of key characters (one of whom talks quite a bit). This can be an enjoyable game, at times, but it's definitely not worth its current asking price. Expand
  13. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    I have really enjoyed this unexpected title. There wasn't a whole lot of hype about it, and at the same time there haven't been a whole lot of exciting releases for me lately. I started watching this game close to release, and got excited at the fact that I might be able to go on a good dungeon crawl.

    Once i started getting into the game, I found the whole experience to be very
    positive. Graphically the game was nice, and the structure to the game was that of a typical dungeon crawler. The backstory was interesting, and I got involved with the character to the extent where I really cared about making a difference to the Legion and trying to restore us to glory.

    On top of that, the amount of loot was amazing- any true fan of an RPG with lots of loot will be at home with this one. The character development was satisfying enough, with the ability of earn EXP and level up your character down the path that you see fit. In terms of your abilities and their specialisations, you wont be able to unlock everything- so choices will have to be made. To me, that is a big part of a good RPG- choices which mean you totally forgo other choices.

    The combat was great, it was smooth, intuitive and satisfying. Once you get a hang for the 2 stances and your characters abilities, then you will be able to seriously kick some enemy ass. The combat still had a good level of strategy to it, whilst feeling action packed at the same time.

    One semi-downside is the short time, even if you go through and complete all side quests and explore/re-explore sections of the world, it will probably take between 15-20 hours for most people. For an RPG this is relatively short, however it sort of felt right for this game- it definitely achieves what it needed to. A saving grace to this fact is that there are 4 totally different characters, each of which play very differently, so you can play through with each of them once- this will add to re-playability greatly.

    I have played through twice so far- once on normal setting, and the next on the hardcore/nightmare setting. This is thoroughly recommended for all true RPG fans who are up for the challenge.

    Highly recommended!
    Expand
  14. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    I've enjoyed this little game. If you like old school hack and slash and plenty-a-loot then you will like this game. The leveling and talent tree systems work well and make you feel like you are definitely becoming more powerful. The graphics are decent with only a few minor camera hicups - mainly zooming in too far in some situations. I like the flashy spell effects as well. If you are playing single player your AI partner is capable of handling his/her own and will even pick up any loot you may have missed along the way. All in all the game works well and is pleasing to your eyes. I would recommend it to others. Expand
  15. Jun 21, 2011
    7
    If you are out of co-op games to play then Dungeon Siege 3 is worth your cash. This game is not bad. But it does not do anything very well either. It is a solid game with no major flaws, but there are no "oh **** this rocks" moments. If you are looking for a new Dark alliance 2 it's not quite as good, but it's not too far away either.
  16. Jul 19, 2011
    7
    Melhor visualizado em: http://www.criticalplayer.com.br/2011/07/review-dungeon-siege-3.html

    Dungeon Siege 3 foi lanÃ
  17. Jan 26, 2014
    2
    At the core of every Hack and Slash game, one thing in particular needs to work well for the game to be fun- The actual hacking and slashing.
    This, unfortunately, is something this game fails to deliver on. Both the combat and animations are so rigid and stilted that I felt like I was trying to control a wooden puppet instead of a human, and it made for an entirely frustrating and un-fun
    experience.
    When you screw up that badly on the core mechanic of the game, how bad do you think the rest of it is? Spoiler: It's bad.
    From the exceedingly boring story to the (extremely limited) 4 characters that all had, honestly, pretty poor class archetypes, to the terribly limited equipment system, this game just gets everything wrong. Even the dialogue sections don't work well, as it tries for a Mass Effect- style system and ends up being shallow, and the close-ups on the characters reveal just how "off" the face models look.
    If you're thinking about buying this game, even just for some couch co-op; don't. Do yourself a favor and go out and find a copy of Champions of Norrath for the PS2. It's hard to believe that a PS2 game can both look and play miles better than A mid-gen 360/ PS3 title, but it does. So don't waste your time on this sorry excuse for a hack'n'slash, if you really want a console hack'n'slash, there's multiple superior options. Champions of Norrath and its sequel, Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance and its sequel, Diablo 3... Even Dungeons and Dragons: Heroes is better than this game. Don't waste your money.
    Expand
  18. Jun 26, 2011
    7
    This game is in no way a "bad" game. It might be watered down compared to the older Dungeon Siege games but compared to them it is still a blast to play. Also if I may add, why is it that the people hating on games on metacritic (most of the time) spell with no effort in correcting their errors? "it's guns and riffles all da way. That's suxx" as said by DrunkenSamurai. But that aside the game is not perfect but is an excellent game with a mediocre storyline that takes place several years after the events of the second game. The game starts off kind of abruptly pitting you against enemies a few minutes into the game. What IS lacking is the customization, for example I would not be able to use a gun unless I play as the character with the guns. I would highly recommend this game to the "new" Dungeon Siege fans but the hardcore may find that the game is too simple for their likings. I would also recommend Sacred 2 for anyone who likes a good loot hunter/dungeon crawler. Expand
  19. Jul 24, 2011
    7
    This game is good for filling up a really boring summer afternoon but that is about it. The game isn't bad its just uninspired. It is bland in pretty much every way a game can be bland. The story is predictable with no plot twists or late game revelations. There are tons of loot and most of it you will never use. The talent tree look fairly deep till you start playing and then realize you are going to be spamming two or three buttons for pretty much the entire game. Monster skins are repetitive. Boss fights are pretty much the same from low level to high. They just give you less room to maneuver and a few more of the same types of mobs to wade through. Boss fights are the traditional three phase bored fights from every low budget RPG or button masher you have every played. This game is a rental or buy used. Collapse
  20. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I bought this game by 17 th -Friday, so I had quite time to play through the weekend. I like it quite much. This game have beautiful graphics, good challenging fighting system (more action), ok plot, interesting exploring of new locations, quite well done creatures and for me re-playability â Expand
  21. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    Such a let down after playing, and loving, the first two dungeon siege titles. Knew that it wasn't going to be anything close going in, but was still just shaking my head seeing the same enemy models over and over and no feeling of reward by leveling because the skill system isn't all that great, nor is the story. The game is playable, even if repetitive. But there are better games of the same genre out there. Expand
  22. Jun 21, 2011
    0
    This game's suxx! How could they screw up oh-so simple loot-game formula oh-so bad in so many ways?! Lets count how many screw ups are there, shall we?
    1 For a loot game there is no customization of your equipment, i mean if you pick Katarina is rifles and guns to the game's end. You can't pick up knife, sword or some kick ass hummer... NOOOO! it's guns and riffles all da way. That's
    suxx.
    2 There's no option in developin' your character - you can't play the game with the same character choice and end up with two different chars in the end - you'll take all skills available eventually and they power ups is hardly notecable. it's the same with Passive skills. Level up is boring and that's suxx.
    3 Fight's are boring! With Katarina i'ts pretty much just button mashing. THere were times, where i dont even see where tha hell i am shooting, and i didn't care either cause enemies were dyin'. There were times when i was thinking that game is just playin' with itself and doesen't need me and that's suxx.
    4 There was no boss fight until the very end. There was bosses, but they hardly challengin' even on hardest settings available and they are just bigger versions of normal enemy or same as normal enemy with aura-like circles arround them. That's just lazy and unimaginative and that's suxx.
    5 For a loot game you have no clue WTF the item does. There are lot of characteristics that i dont get. whats Doom, whats Momentum, whats Block, whats Warding? there's no help with this, there's no characterization.I still don't get it and i finished this POS. Having Characteristics unknown in a loot-game is suxx
    6 Skills are pathetic and unconvenient. You'll have skills for each weapon. 3. Why not all 6 with all weapons? that's just buffles me. F.e. Katarina has skill - summon wolf, that she could do, only when she equips 2 guns. hmmm...whyyyyy? skill's themselves are pathetic. i finished the game with the same skill i have in the beginning and that's just sad... and suxx.
    7 plot. It's stupid, i'ts unimaginative, it's flat, it's predictable... in a loot-game, whatever right? Right. F.e. who cared about plot in Torchlight, Diablo 2, Titan quest? No one. At least not me. Why is it an issue here? Because it's All. Over. The. PLACE. It's annoying! You can take two steps without someone startin' talkin' to you. It's EVERYWHERE and even if you skip it it's still ANNOYING! and suxx.
    8 THey tryin' to rip off better games like ME and DAO. I'am huge bioware fan and for me thoose elements looked cheap, half-done, and bad executed. THey are tryin' to convince you, that choices you make will form a sequel's world. I don't buy it! There's going to be no sequel to THIS game. Pathetic ripoffs of better games is usually BAD idea and it's suxx!
    9 Cut-scenes... 99 cents worth moving pictures. It's like a slap in the face! You can't get more cheaper than those! Remember how cool it's been with cut-scenes in Diablo2? There was even extra disc with only those! That was AWESOME. But not here. Not in this game. This game is suxx!
    10 Voice acting suxx and make no mistake about it, which makes plot issues even more insufferable!
    11 there is no world map in this one! WHY? Why would you do such a thing, obsidian? It's just suxx
    12 Game length is only 6 hours! 6!!! I was readin' comments, where people say it was 12.. Are you retarded or something? I've completed ALL the quests, waste about an hour in ice dungeon, cause got i've got lost in the damned thing. Still it was 6 hours. Short-length games are suxx.
    All in all it's just hard to recommend this game to anyone. At this price you can get torchlight, both Deathspanks and Titan quest and EACH OF THEM is far more enjoyable than this flick. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!
    Expand
  23. Jul 6, 2011
    4
    It is not worth purchasing. It would have been decent had they managed to create a decent talent/skill system. The talent system is one of the worst I have seen in a RPG. You spend points on a set of 9 talent points and you aren't given any indication that those skills stack. Furthermore you can't really determine exactly how many points you allocated to a certain system because what is displayed is a bar. Expand
  24. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    An exceptionally solid dungeon crawler, and certainly the best of its ilk on the 360. Solid in every aspect; has been nothing but addictive fun in 2-player co-op.
  25. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    Pros: Fun gameplay, good single-player mode, LOOT!, easy inventory/equipment system, copious save-points, non-irritating soundtrack, easy to pick up/put down, mild replayability with 4 character classes.
    - Cons: Needlessly complex skill tree, aggravating camera, linear story line, bad voice acting, insufficient side quests.
    - Bottom Line: Fun, light RPGish dungeoncrawler for
    mid-skill players. I enjoyed it. Expand
  26. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    I do very simple reviews for metacritic since almost no one reads "WALL OF TEXT" affairs. Graphics: Pretty until you zoom in on the lifeless character models Story: Predictable, but well told Sound: Voice acting is hit and miss Design: Very engaging when using a controller, nothing but frustration when using a mouse and keyboard. RPG elements are streamlined but definitely offers customization options.

    Multiplayer: Ephemeral, player 2 gets nothing out of the experience in terms of loot or character advancement. That being said, itâ
    Expand
  27. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    Nice enjoyable game, not too complicated, easy to get into control-wise. Could leave you wanting a deeper skill system and more sidequests etc but alot of games in this genre does. The conversation system typical to earlier Obsidian and Bioware games seems a little forced and unnessecary, but otherwise the story is quite engaging and not so bland and black and white.

    I still haven't tried
    playing the co-op but thats definitly one of the reasons I got this one, but even the AI is doing a great job of holding their own and playing their parts. Expand
  28. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    Love getting tons of loot? And wish there was a next gen successor to Dungeon Siege II? If you answered yes to either of those questions Dungeon Siege III is something you should look at. Dungeon Siege III was developed by Obsidian Entertainment and by god have they have done a good job. I had been looking for a next gen version of my favorite hack and slash games, Champions of Norrath back on the PlayStation 2. Will Dungeon Siege III stand up to my scrutiny?



    Co-op. Whether youâ
    Expand
  29. Jun 22, 2011
    0
    This is only a dungeon siege game by name. Repetitive combat, boring story and rigid game overall. Ds1 and 2 were great games. Ds3 is not fantastic, not great or good. Its plain boring, not worth your money! Its a shame the DS name is getting dragged through the mud. I will go and play dungeon siege 2 now and dream of DS4 hoping it will be great..
  30. Jul 4, 2011
    2
    At the very base of this type of game, co-op is essential, in Dungeon Siege 3, there is no incentive or point to Co-Op, none at all, none of the players playing, including the game host, will benefit from hosting a co-op session, no experience or gold is carried over into the actual game, when its earned in co-op.

    This game was sold to me through the power of marketing which hooked me on
    the idea that I could play though the entire story mode in co-op.

    With no persistent character saves, a locked camera angle and a useless multi-player feature, the only thing left for me to do with this game was to take it back and trade it in, while it still held its value.
    Expand
  31. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    On it's own, this is a very good game. The only gripe I agree with is that it's much different from the first two Dungeon Siege games. That's not enough to dislike it, however. I haven't enjoyed a game like this on the Xbox in a very long time. Very fun, engaging storyline. It was hard to put down
  32. Jun 29, 2011
    9
    I´ve fun with this game, you get 20 to 40 hours of arpg, leveling up is great and mission are deep and great fun to play. Co-op is a great add and i hope there will be some dlc. in a near future. Give it a chance, and you´ll see. Do not listen to the bad reviews.
  33. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    So far the game is pretty good. the loot system could be a little better (different looks for helmets, armor, etc). The skills tree seems simplified but works well for he console. Fighting is fun but sometimes frustrating, but not so much that it becomes un-fun. Co-op is a bit clunky, online and local. This game is best played single player.

    This game doesn't really break new ground,
    but it's a great dungeon crawler. If you were into Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance or Champions of Norath, you'll dig this game. If you are not a fan of this type of game you will hate it for sure.

    The particle effects in the game are great, and the engine is pretty nice looking. The camera can be a real pain in the butt at points but for the most part I find that if you click the right stick and make the camera come in close you can see more of the beautiful world.

    This game is no Elder Scrolls, but it's well worth a playthrough.
    Expand
  34. Jul 23, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed my time with the game. I love most RPGâ
  35. Jul 24, 2011
    0
    This game is good for filling up a really boring summer afternoon but that is about it. The game isn't bad its just uninspired. It is bland in pretty much every way a game can be bland. The story is predictable with no plot twists or late game revelations. There are tons of loot and most of it you will never use. The talent tree look fairly deep till you start playing and then realize you are going to be spamming two or three buttons for pretty much the entire game. Monster skins are repetitive. Boss fights are pretty much the same from low level to high. They just give you less room to maneuver and a few more of the same types of mobs to wade through. Boss fights are the traditional three phase bored fights from every low budget RPG or button masher you have every played. This game is a rental or buy used. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Sep 14, 2011
    70
    It doesn't push the envelope aside from experimenting with gameplay but if you like this type of game you'll probably enjoy yourself as long as you speed through the story.
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    88
    The story may not be the greatest, but the gameplay is solid and for that alone you should check it out.
  3. 68
    A fun game in places, but after one run through of the game you will not really have the urge to go back for more. This will certainly help you pass a few hours but beyond that it is hard to see it as little more than filler for bigger and better things.