Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 43
  2. Negative: 27 out of 43
  1. May 30, 2011
    70
    In the end, Dungeons & Dragons Daggerdale doesn't offer the gamer anything new in terms of gameplay but gives players a classic sword and sorcery experience plus 10 or so hours of gameplay. It may not be the most exciting game of the year but considering the cost, it's actually not that bad either. If you are a fan of the classic Dungeons & Dragons rules and game settings than you really should check out this game, provided you like button smashing.
  2. May 27, 2011
    70
    Perhaps the main selling point is the presence of four-player co-op - especially given its online and local credentials. A bit of Gauntlet-style adventuring isn't something to sniff at, and far more enjoyable than button-mashing solo forays, where death results in having to replay entire missions from scratch. Nein, danke.
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    60
    In the end, Daggerdale is a passable hack and slash that seems like it needed another few months in the oven before release.
  4. Jun 22, 2011
    60
    Unfortunately, the gameplay experience in Dungeon & Dragons: Daggerdale suffers from a lot of gameplay problems including poor music, shoddy voice work, and a whole lot of repetitious combat. All of these issues ultimately take a lot away from this title, which had whole lot of potential when first announced. Although you have the opportunity to save Daggerdale in the game, there is unfortunately not a whole lot to go on to save this title from mediocrity
  5. Jun 1, 2011
    60
    Daggerdale is a lengthy adventure, but most of the monsters and quests start to feel reiterative after the first couple of hours. Nonetheless, there are few other places to go right now for a downloadable fantasy game with co-op included. Someone should really get on that problem, because Daggerdale isn't the solution.
  6. May 31, 2011
    60
    At one point I put the game down and was planning on going to bed, but I soon realized I wasn't as tired as I thought and opted to tackle another quest or two.
  7. Games Master UK
    Jul 25, 2011
    54
    Rather lacklustre. [Sept 2011, p.87]
  8. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Aug 23, 2011
    50
    A grind in more ways than one. [Sept 2011, p.101]
  9. Jul 4, 2011
    50
    An action RPG based on a classic brand. But this production for digital delivery is not worth it, because of the too many bugs and graphics issues that hamper the experience.
  10. Jun 21, 2011
    50
    A simplistic hack-n-slash game, with various co-op options for local and online gameplay. The basic action/ RPG part works, but overall the game feels unfinished and with many serious bugs.
  11. Jun 16, 2011
    50
    A missed opportunity. The source material is strong, but in this example is executed poorly.
  12. Jun 8, 2011
    50
    By the time you reach the end boss, complete with compulsory quick-time events, you'll be glad it's over. Daggerdale doesn't do anything out of the ordinary – it's a typical plod through the world of D&D, and a stale one at that.
  13. Jun 2, 2011
    50
    A dismal failure. Tedious, slow and repetitious: here is the best way to describe the latest Atari's work.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 27
  2. Negative: 12 out of 27
  1. May 26, 2011
    3
    What a dissapointment that had so much possibility. From terrible fixed camera, god who doesnt allow you to change the height/elevation of youWhat a dissapointment that had so much possibility. From terrible fixed camera, god who doesnt allow you to change the height/elevation of you camera so as to get a persective your happy with, geesh. To glitches that at times just allows all the Monsters to freeze as you walk around the entire level hacking them down.

    Or the below par dialogue and endless repetive boring smash barrel, 1 gold bla bla bla. But that dwindles to the poor character selection, customisation and wasted potential. D and D is so much about the character and seeing what unique development and power can be created. Daggerdale just brings itself back to the Golden Axe era, that was good in the 80's but is well and truly behind the times.
    Full Review »
  2. May 26, 2011
    4
    Horrible, buggy game. Screen tearing abounds at 1080p, the game is riddled with bugs from the get go with NPCs getting stuck in textures orHorrible, buggy game. Screen tearing abounds at 1080p, the game is riddled with bugs from the get go with NPCs getting stuck in textures or the camera getting stuck in the quest giver/NPC zoom view. Coop is an absolute mess and after several attempts where either myself or my coop partner were booted from the game because it lagged out, we just threw in the towel and gave up trying. The playable characters are absolutely cookie cutter - for a license where customizable characters is a draw, it's terribly disappointing that you can only play predetermined races/classes. Loot was ok, but nothing to write home about. All in all, the game has been, thus far, a buggy, uninspired, grindfest that lost its appeal after only 2-3 hours. Don't lose your money like I did; Save your $15, this game isn't worth it. Full Review »
  3. May 26, 2011
    4
    I was very excited about this release I'm with Game Spy on this one. I should have tried the demo before purchasing the game. I played aI was very excited about this release I'm with Game Spy on this one. I should have tried the demo before purchasing the game. I played a session of local co-op for 5 hours last night and it's a very dry and uninspired game. I expected a bit more complexity to the game play and character leveling since it's based on the 4th edition rules and some of the abilities/feats are pointless to have (example: increased range on ranged attacks when the range is already extends to the edge of the screen from the start.) The camera controls are also horrible and the dungeon ceiling constantly blocked our view of the action.

    This game might be worth 400 points but certainly not 1500 points. Don't waste your money. Single player Torchlight (which is a much older game) is far more entertaining than Daggerdale. Huge disappointment.
    Full Review »