User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    Very Fun (even more if you're a fan of the saga)
    [+] 2 weapons system affinity
    [+] new combos
    [+] Better quality
    [-] Very Slow, in many moments it seems slow motion (it's almost always 20-40fps, even more with special moves) but it seems a patch it's on the work
    [-] It gets repetitive very fast if you don't like the saga
  2. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Dynasty Warriors 8 is in my opinion, the best in its series. To be honest, DW8 is basically DW7 but with many tweaks that make to game play much more addicting, fast-paced and fluid than its predecessors. The controls this time around are much smoother and one change witch at first seems trivial, but ends up being your best friend, is the ability to call and mount your horse by holding down RT on the controller. The graphics aren't very improved especially for this version on the Xbox 360. Textures range from generally good to downright laughable in some parts. Of course the PS3 version looks way better though. After the recent patch, the game suffers from very little slowdown and mostly plays smoothly except in some places. Even though it's inferior to the PS3 version, it's still an excellent action game and my favourite DW yet. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    3
    I'm reviewing this game with such a low score mainly because of how bad the 360 port is. Containing massive slowdowns every corner which I did not find any mentions of until I played the game. No journalist cares to mention it, even Koei themselves didnt let it be known how bad of a port it is.

    If you can get through the lag battles it just might be a great game, but it's best to wait
    for a patch. Hopefully Koei will make it happen. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    As a long time fan of the DW franchise i thoroughly enjoyed DW8. Could be a fanboy thing but this game does alot of things right and alot of things wrong. Lag (on the 360 port at least) is absolutely terrible, slows down the game far too much. They also took out the great gamemode in DW7. I forget what it was called (conquest mode maybe?) And replaced it with a crappy new gamemode that pretty much revolves around you building a castle and recruiting officers all while gaining fame (trust me it isnt as fun as it sounds) Now, as always, the gameplay is fun and fluid as long as theres no lag haha. The storyline revolves around the 3 kingdoms like always with the exception of the new Jin storyline introduced in Dw7. Still a great, fun storyline with loads of drama and action. All around its a great game for long time fans, maybe not a great pickup for newbies but a solid game. Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2013
    7
    Dynasty Warriors has never really been a series for quality, instead focusing on quantity nine times out of ten, as I am sure you can tell with multiple sequels and spin offs across the recent years. Ironically enough, Dynasty Warriors itself started as a spinoff, but enough with the history lesson. DW8 is a step up above its previous two predecessors, but a step below 5 in my honest opinion. DW8 focuses more on cinematic gameplay and dramatic action sequences than ever before, and it is pulled off sometimes, and falls through other times. The core mechanics are the same they have always been, and most likely will remain so forever. The graphics are decent as they have mostly been, but there aren't any major changes to speak of in that area, nor are there in the gameplay department either. The character roster is as robust as usual, and the entertainment value is solid enough. All in all, DW8 is a decent title to start with if you are new to the series, although the story is as hard to follow as it has always been. An enjoyable experience nevertheless. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    This game is amazing. It might have some graphic flaws here and there but otherwise it's outstanding. The story line is perfect, characters and audio match perfectly. I would highly recommend this game to any gamers. I have played every single Dynasty Warriors game out there and they have improved.
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    60
    Dynasty Warriors 8 is kind of like eating the same cake over and over. The taste is good with nice consistency, but eventually you will get tired of it. Little has changed since the last part in the series and new ideas is desperately needed. Recommended only for those who never can get enough of the one monotonous thing Dynasty Warriors continues to provide.
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    60
    It's time to stop treading water and take some freaking chances already. [Oct 2013, p.72]
  3. Sep 2, 2013
    80
    With some small adjustments Koei presents the most polished and complete game of the Warriors-series. New elements like the Ambition-mode will make both hard core fans and newcomers to the saga have a blast with this addition to the popular hack and slash feast.