Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dynasty Warriors 8 is a tactical action game that follows the stories of the kingdoms of Wei, Wu, Shu and Jin through the actions of historical military and political figures of the time as they fight to wrest control over the Three Kingdoms of China.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    87
    Wider changes may come in future instalments, but if this is the last we see of Dynasty Warriors in its current form, then it’s a hell of a way to bow out.
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    Another good game in Tecmo-Koei series, that won't disappoint its fans but won't even do anything to please the series' detractors. Enjoyable and rewarding; if you like this kind of game it will please you.
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    75
    One of the longest videogaming saga is out with one of the best installment of his long history: welcome back Dynasty Warriors!
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    Dynasty Warriors remains a series that contains greatness, then, but that's not quite enough for higher marks - although, inevitably, it will still be just about enough to bring along Dynasty Warriors 9.
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    70
    I safely believe that Dynasty Warriors 8 is the best entry in the mainline series to have ever been conceived. All the upgrades to the combat and the new features are what were needed to keep the series going forward. It manages to smartly add new things without disrupting the core concept of the game, which is surely what people who like these games are after.
  6. Aug 9, 2013
    65
    Fans will notice the mostly subtle changes that make this one of the best games in the series. But if you never were into Koei's “Warriors”, this iteration will not make you change your mind.
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    30
    Extremely boring. [Issue#101, p.80]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Dynasty Warriors 8 is in my opinion, the best in its series. To be honest, DW8 is basically DW7 but with many tweaks that make to game play much more addicting, fast-paced and fluid than its predecessors. The controls this time around are much smoother and one change witch at first seems trivial, but ends up being your best friend, is the ability to call and mount your horse by holding down RT on the controller. The graphics aren't very improved especially for this version on the Xbox 360. Textures range from generally good to downright laughable in some parts. Of course the PS3 version looks way better though. After the recent patch, the game suffers from very little slowdown and mostly plays smoothly except in some places. Even though it's inferior to the PS3 version, it's still an excellent action game and my favourite DW yet. Collapse
  2. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    As a long time fan of the DW franchise i thoroughly enjoyed DW8. Could be a fanboy thing but this game does alot of things right and alot of things wrong. Lag (on the 360 port at least) is absolutely terrible, slows down the game far too much. They also took out the great gamemode in DW7. I forget what it was called (conquest mode maybe?) And replaced it with a crappy new gamemode that pretty much revolves around you building a castle and recruiting officers all while gaining fame (trust me it isnt as fun as it sounds) Now, as always, the gameplay is fun and fluid as long as theres no lag haha. The storyline revolves around the 3 kingdoms like always with the exception of the new Jin storyline introduced in Dw7. Still a great, fun storyline with loads of drama and action. All around its a great game for long time fans, maybe not a great pickup for newbies but a solid game. Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2013
    7
    Dynasty Warriors has never really been a series for quality, instead focusing on quantity nine times out of ten, as I am sure you can tell with multiple sequels and spin offs across the recent years. Ironically enough, Dynasty Warriors itself started as a spinoff, but enough with the history lesson. DW8 is a step up above its previous two predecessors, but a step below 5 in my honest opinion. DW8 focuses more on cinematic gameplay and dramatic action sequences than ever before, and it is pulled off sometimes, and falls through other times. The core mechanics are the same they have always been, and most likely will remain so forever. The graphics are decent as they have mostly been, but there aren't any major changes to speak of in that area, nor are there in the gameplay department either. The character roster is as robust as usual, and the entertainment value is solid enough. All in all, DW8 is a decent title to start with if you are new to the series, although the story is as hard to follow as it has always been. An enjoyable experience nevertheless. Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    Very Fun (even more if you're a fan of the saga)
    [+] 2 weapons system affinity
    [+] new combos
    [+] Better quality
    [-] Very Slow, in many
    moments it seems slow motion (it's almost always 20-40fps, even more with special moves) but it seems a patch it's on the work
    [-] It gets repetitive very fast if you don't like the saga
    Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    This game is amazing. It might have some graphic flaws here and there but otherwise it's outstanding. The story line is perfect, characters and audio match perfectly. I would highly recommend this game to any gamers. I have played every single Dynasty Warriors game out there and they have improved. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    3
    I'm reviewing this game with such a low score mainly because of how bad the 360 port is. Containing massive slowdowns every corner which I did not find any mentions of until I played the game. No journalist cares to mention it, even Koei themselves didnt let it be known how bad of a port it is.

    If you can get through the lag battles it just might be a great game, but it's best to wait for a patch. Hopefully Koei will make it happen.
    Expand