Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Jul 13, 2011
    87
    For fans of the series, it's a no-brainer. There's so much Gundam here I'm surprised it doesn't leave little Manga stains when you put it down.
  2. Jul 18, 2011
    85
    If you're a fan of Gundam and some good old fashioned Dynasty Warriors action I definitely recommend buying Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3.
  3. Jul 8, 2011
    83
    It's probably the best experience I've had in any Dynasty Warriors title to date.
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    82
    It gets its hooks into you prompting you to return in drips and drabs. Fans will love it as ever, but if you've never experienced the world of Gundam or Dynasty Warriors, this is the perfect game to bring you into the series.
  5. Jul 5, 2011
    80
    It deilghts in the moment-by-moment empowerment of piloting a 1970s vintage mecha in battle, the medium-term enjoyment of turning the tide of a battle through strategic thinking, and the long-view 'gotta catch 'em all' collecting loops. If you have never tried a Musou game before, this is where you should start.
  6. 78
    But for fans, seeing Domon Kasshu beat the ever loving piss out of those pansies from Gundam Seed is just plain awesome.
  7. Jul 19, 2011
    76
    But in the end it's just another Dynasty Warriors game at heart with a Gundanium exterior.
  8. Jul 6, 2011
    76
    We do think some critics (including one that rhymes with Spy Flee Hen) were a little too harsh to dismiss this one as a forgettable hack and slasher. There's some substance here, particularly if you're a fan of the old Mobile Suit Gundam series. And it is fun, especially when you get friends involved as a team.
  9. Jul 27, 2011
    75
    The best title in the series yet, thanks to the great anime style visuals and the addition of a bit of strategic gameplay. Koei needs to work on the confusing story and the dull and repetitive environments, though.
  10. Jul 7, 2011
    75
    If you enjoyed the previous games and are looking for more, Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3 is the way to go.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Sep 22, 2013
    4
    I was really excited for this game, I really was. This 3rd outing for the series should have been their best, but sadly though it wasn't.I was really excited for this game, I really was. This 3rd outing for the series should have been their best, but sadly though it wasn't. Right from the get-go problems arose, from the cluttered HUD, levels that seemed really small when compared to other Dynasty games and Allied AI so stupid some missions were just difficult cause your ally would die quick thus ending your game. While some have praised the vast amount of mobile suit in the game they're all nearly useless as the have very little power, their guns do little to no damage and their combos are short. Only the Gundams and Ace machines are actually worth playing. The general story they're following this time also makes very little sense, with all the different characters and the ways they could have interacted how come the story is so lacking? The music is fair for the most part, although I found the game will usually only play 3 or 4 different tracks, which is weird when it has more than 20 to choose from. The character models in this game at least look great, but against the static and dull backgrounds it's not much a graphical leap forward. This game should have been the best of the series, sadly it falls short of even Dynasty Warriors Gundam 2. Maybe the next generation of consoles will have better offerings for stateside Gundam fans. Full Review »
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    isn´t a AAA game..its just fun, i like gundam, its for fans...repetitive? yes, no history? yes...but its fun...and whit a friendsisn´t a AAA game..its just fun, i like gundam, its for fans...repetitive? yes, no history? yes...but its fun...and whit a friends better................... Full Review »