Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Dec 15, 2010
    80
    If you are an MMA fan be sure to give this title a shot. If you aren't an MMA fan then you should still give this game a chance because it can be a good fighting game too.
  2. Oct 22, 2010
    80
    With a disappointing career mode and less-than-stellar presentation, it's a less complete package than Undisputed. I should probably drop in a fighting metaphor here, I suppose: with MMA, it seems like EA is finding its range with the jab in the first round, before swinging for the fences in the second.
  3. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    EA Sports MMA is a very good sports simulation with beginner-friendly gameplay mechanics but still enough gameplay depth to be true to the sport of Mixed Martial Arts. The career mode is more fun than the one in its rival UFC Undisputed. However the game is lacking in different game modes. And applying as well as defending arm or leg submissions gets boring too soon.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    EA Sports MMA is its first installment in the Mixed Martial Arts genre, and it becomes a worthy rival to THQ's UFC franchise.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    If you're willing to put in the time to learn how to actually play it properly, EA Sports MMA becomes a very rewarding experience. When you lose a fight online, you usually know exactly what you need to work on, either in the career mode to get your fighter's stats up or just, you know, as an actual player.
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    EA Sports MMA is a deep, well-rounded, well-structured sim, chewy enough to keep a veteran of the genre occupied but not so chewy that laymen will bounce off.
  7. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Finally EA MMA walks on the ring to fight against it's rival, UFC Undisputed. The game is really good but the lack of the UFC license is a huge limitation for the most hardcore fighting fans. Anyway, the game is smooth and based on a simple but deep command system.
  8. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    While MMA might be the better game compared to UFC Undisputed 2010, it would be folly to ignore the void left by the lack of the UFC license. The Strikeforce league might be increasing in popularity, much like the sport in general, but it barely commands the weight of the Ultimate Fighting Championship. Its branding is sorely missed, alongside Joe Rogan's and Mike Goldberg's industry-leading commentaries.
  9. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    EA Sports MMA wrestles away the belt from the reigning champ with its stellar combat that feels much closer to the genuine article than what we've seen elsewhere.
  10. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    MMA is a fuller game that celebrates the broadest scope of the sport with a loving precision, while UFC brings out a roster of more recognizable fighters for a more casual, beer-and-buddies experience.
  11. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Compared to the king of the genre, UFC Undisputed, I must confess I have a personal preference for EA Sports MMA, thanks to its accessibility and "easy to pick-up" philosophy. UFC remains the deepest of the two, and benefits greatly from its official license, but this first foray of EA on that front really establishes it as a serious competitor. It's especially true if you're looking for online play, where EA's experience is really shining in comparison to UFC. So if you're not already a hardcore fan playing UFC, but just someone who's interested in starting up with something more noob-friendly, EA Sports MMA is just for you.
  12. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    A great package overall and especially for long time MMA fans. There are some minor sticking points in the controls and some will miss their favorite UFC fighters, but if you want a fuller experience of what mixed martial arts is coupled with superior online modes, you can't do better than EA MMA.
  13. Dec 15, 2010
    79
    Excellent on the ground, easy to learn and the online features are extensive. [Issue#232, p.70]
  14. Oct 22, 2010
    79
    EA Sports MMA is well-made, impeccably presented and could in time threaten UFC's title, just not yet. Fight fans would do well to give EA Sports MMA a whirl though. You won't be disappointed.
  15. Jan 7, 2011
    78
    A really good start for a new franchise, which is only flawed by the lack of many UFC fighters and a few hic ups.
  16. Dec 15, 2010
    75
    The career mode is excellent, and the overall presentation is well done. The fighting engine is solid, though there are a few odd mechanical choices in play, and the career mode is very deep and time-consuming in a good way.
  17. Oct 22, 2010
    75
    EA Sports MMA certainly is based on a good foundation but Electronic Arts will need some more time to optimize the formula. Add another year of practice and UFC Undisputed will need to watch its championship belt.
  18. Oct 20, 2010
    75
    Intuitive controls, a lengthy career mode, and impressive online options make this mixed martial arts game a serious contender.
  19. Dec 15, 2010
    71
    EA Sports have achieved moderate success with their first step into the MMA space providing a game that plays well and contains some promising features that give incentive to dedicated play, however it unfortunately falls short by failing to introduce the player to the game's complexities and missing core issues such as player disconnects cutting stat tracking short.
  20. Jan 26, 2011
    70
    This is a very well realised first attempt by EA and one that won't require much tweaking should there be any subsequent additions to the series.
  21. Jan 5, 2011
    70
    MMA has enough moments that are worthwhile. It's just too bad that EA hasn't learned from the strong and weak points of the competition. The controls aren't always working properly and the number of modes are a little on the thin side. However, true MMA-fans will be able to ignore these faults.
  22. Dec 19, 2010
    70
    EA seems like it wants to make this work and if this first shot is any indication of the future of the series, they have come to fight hardcore.
  23. Dec 15, 2010
    70
    In spite of speculation that EA MMA would be dead on arrival there's a very satisfactory entry here, one worthy of any fighting gamer's consideration and one EA would be remiss to abandon next year.
  24. Dec 15, 2010
    70
    Considering this is EA Sports first crack at an MMA game, the overall results are good.
  25. Oct 28, 2010
    70
    Some good ideas are spoiled by the complete absence of realism during the fight. Ground fights are well reproduced, but punches and kicks have no strength and no physical adherence to reality.
  26. 70
    Great in places, horribly sparse in others.
  27. Oct 22, 2010
    70
    This game does most things right on the first attempt, and there's no significant quality difference between it and main rival UFC: Undisputed. This is a great choice if you want an MMA game that is accessible and rewarding.
  28. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    A great start to a promising new sports series. It does feel a little lightweight in some of the options but the central combat is handled very well.
  29. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    Although it gets a lot right with a well-structured fighting system – which has a solid mix of subsystems to master – it doesn't have the same level of hardcore appeal as the current champion.
  30. Oct 22, 2010
    68
    EA Sports MMA is a good first step to build a new series, but it is nowhere near its competition.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. BEFORE I get into EA MMA I would like to lead in with a little insight as to where MY review comes from! I also have been an MMA Participant/Fan since the Beginning! I have Played everything from UFC on Dreamcast, Tapout 1 & 2 on XBOX, UFC Sudden Impact & PRIDE FC on PS2, Throwdown on Nintendo GameCube, UFC Undisputed 2009/2010 & NOW EA MMA on 360! That was Not meant to be a BragFest but rather a recap of Where My Opinions/Comparisons come from! The Original DreamCast UFC was, of course, the GroundBreaker that Started it all! UFC 2009, to me, was The BEST MMA game to Date! 2010 Seemed like a Rushed (to beat EA to release!) Cash grab and NOT Much More than a Roster Update with Few Real Notable changes. The Event Mode being the Most memorable & my personal Favorite. Now for EA MMA!: First off if they would have named it something like "EA Sports Presents MMA Featuring StrikeForce!" there Might be LESS complaints about "where are the UFC guys?"! Maybe! From the beginning I Too did Not give much chance for EA's MMA title. Like a Lot of Fellow gamers I fell into the "If it doesn't have the More Well Known UFC Fighters It will Probably Not be as Good!" category! I am GLAD to say I was Wrong there! There are So Many Exclusive fighters that are as good or Better than their UFC counterparts In there own respective weight classes! There are also Very Extensive Fighter Creation/Share tools (They are Far Superior to THQ UFC's current version!) that Offer NEAR Perfect UFC Clones! For those Longing for Dream matches like Brock Lesnar vs Fedor Emelianenko Here is the Place to get it! Well this is as Close as we can get for now at least! There are also other Various COOL Options to keep fights from getting stale. Venue Locations, Ring Types (Round, Boxing & Of Course Octagonal) Plus being able to set Rule types are a Nice and Refreshing change of pace! I haven't jumped into the Career mode so I can't comment on that Yet. I feel compelled to voice my concern and comment that ONLY EA can Tank (No. Not Paul Abbot!) its MMA Game at this point by Pulling the Online support like it has done with a Lot of its other Franchises! For MMA and just Fighting Game Fans alike EA Sports MMA is the BEST way to put a Digital BeatDown on/with your friends! I feel the Competition here Is a Good thing! Look at how Tekken, Soul Calibur & Street Fighter and Forza & Gran Turismo Push each other to improve! THQ and EA can continue to Pour quality features into their Games! In the end we win! Like Arcade Style Fighting, Racing Games etc... I have NO problem owning 2 MMA games. IF they are Both well made & are each worth having! My reviews tend to be scatterbrained! For that I apologize. My Main goal is to Help Fellow gamers that are fans of the Same genre be able to enjoy quality games! This Also put a BullsEye on me for tweens & Other ADHD FOOLS to Jab at MY Review Instead of My Online Fighter! Keep in mind witty review Blasters: My review does NOT Hit Back. I DO! Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Ok, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career modeOk, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career mode with different gyms and leagues around the world (really puts the world wide emphasis of the sport into it, and gives me some flashbacks into the martial arts lore of it all...ex. remember Bloodsport?). The submission system is different and a bit simplified compared to UFC, but I'm getting use to not frantically mashing, etc. on the controller. Love the potential of the live broadcast feature too! I really hope EA gets the UFC license in the future...DANA, FORGET THE PAST, EA KNOWS SPORTS GAMES AND WILL GIVE THE UFC IT'S PROPER VIRTUAL EXPERIENCE! Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Great game all around and I believe this game is a great base for EA to keep pumping out future MMA games from here on out. The Career,Great game all around and I believe this game is a great base for EA to keep pumping out future MMA games from here on out. The Career, Online, Presentation, and flow of the game blow UFC Undisputed of of the water giving it great replay value, something Undisputed 2010 clearly lacked. Great job EA! Full Review »