Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    EA Sports MMA isn't perfect, the lack of UFC fighters is a huge gaping hole that is impossible to ignore and the number of special moves available are fairly slim. Those problems are overshadowed by smooth animations, intuitive controls, and incredibly dynamic online features.
  2. Dec 15, 2010
    90
    While it might not have the UFC stars that bring some fans to the table, any dedicated fan of mixed martial arts should take a look at EA SPORTS MMA to see the face of the future.
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    It's great to see some real competition for THQ in this genre and MMA fans shouldn't hesitate to pick this one up.
  4. Jan 20, 2011
    90
    A veritable knock-out. [Issue#102, p.100]
  5. 90
    EA Sports MMA's universal accessibility - especially its fast-paced career progression and one-button-based grappling - is an impressive improvement over UFC Undisputed's dense amount of complexity. Both games are great, but EA Sports MMA is, indisputably, the best brawler of its kind.
  6. Dec 15, 2010
    90
    There is a layer of depth in MMA for those who are looking for more. [Issue#65, p.86]
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    90
    It takes a special game to make you appreciate losing just as much as winning. EA MMA does it every time you step into the ring. Now that's a knockout.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. BEFORE I get into EA MMA I would like to lead in with a little insight as to where MY review comes from! I also have been an MMA Participant/Fan since the Beginning! I have Played everything from UFC on Dreamcast, Tapout 1 & 2 on XBOX, UFC Sudden Impact & PRIDE FC on PS2, Throwdown on Nintendo GameCube, UFC Undisputed 2009/2010 & NOW EA MMA on 360! That was Not meant to be a BragFest but rather a recap of Where My Opinions/Comparisons come from! The Original DreamCast UFC was, of course, the GroundBreaker that Started it all! UFC 2009, to me, was The BEST MMA game to Date! 2010 Seemed like a Rushed (to beat EA to release!) Cash grab and NOT Much More than a Roster Update with Few Real Notable changes. The Event Mode being the Most memorable & my personal Favorite. Now for EA MMA!: First off if they would have named it something like "EA Sports Presents MMA Featuring StrikeForce!" there Might be LESS complaints about "where are the UFC guys?"! Maybe! From the beginning I Too did Not give much chance for EA's MMA title. Like a Lot of Fellow gamers I fell into the "If it doesn't have the More Well Known UFC Fighters It will Probably Not be as Good!" category! I am GLAD to say I was Wrong there! There are So Many Exclusive fighters that are as good or Better than their UFC counterparts In there own respective weight classes! There are also Very Extensive Fighter Creation/Share tools (They are Far Superior to THQ UFC's current version!) that Offer NEAR Perfect UFC Clones! For those Longing for Dream matches like Brock Lesnar vs Fedor Emelianenko Here is the Place to get it! Well this is as Close as we can get for now at least! There are also other Various COOL Options to keep fights from getting stale. Venue Locations, Ring Types (Round, Boxing & Of Course Octagonal) Plus being able to set Rule types are a Nice and Refreshing change of pace! I haven't jumped into the Career mode so I can't comment on that Yet. I feel compelled to voice my concern and comment that ONLY EA can Tank (No. Not Paul Abbot!) its MMA Game at this point by Pulling the Online support like it has done with a Lot of its other Franchises! For MMA and just Fighting Game Fans alike EA Sports MMA is the BEST way to put a Digital BeatDown on/with your friends! I feel the Competition here Is a Good thing! Look at how Tekken, Soul Calibur & Street Fighter and Forza & Gran Turismo Push each other to improve! THQ and EA can continue to Pour quality features into their Games! In the end we win! Like Arcade Style Fighting, Racing Games etc... I have NO problem owning 2 MMA games. IF they are Both well made & are each worth having! My reviews tend to be scatterbrained! For that I apologize. My Main goal is to Help Fellow gamers that are fans of the Same genre be able to enjoy quality games! This Also put a BullsEye on me for tweens & Other ADHD FOOLS to Jab at MY Review Instead of My Online Fighter! Keep in mind witty review Blasters: My review does NOT Hit Back. I DO! Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Ok, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career modeOk, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career mode with different gyms and leagues around the world (really puts the world wide emphasis of the sport into it, and gives me some flashbacks into the martial arts lore of it all...ex. remember Bloodsport?). The submission system is different and a bit simplified compared to UFC, but I'm getting use to not frantically mashing, etc. on the controller. Love the potential of the live broadcast feature too! I really hope EA gets the UFC license in the future...DANA, FORGET THE PAST, EA KNOWS SPORTS GAMES AND WILL GIVE THE UFC IT'S PROPER VIRTUAL EXPERIENCE! Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Great game all around and I believe this game is a great base for EA to keep pumping out future MMA games from here on out. The Career,Great game all around and I believe this game is a great base for EA to keep pumping out future MMA games from here on out. The Career, Online, Presentation, and flow of the game blow UFC Undisputed of of the water giving it great replay value, something Undisputed 2010 clearly lacked. Great job EA! Full Review »