Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    82
    But no matter what the future holds, EA Sports MMA is a title that MMA fans should appreciate, and is a refreshing take on the MMA genre.
  2. 83
    A rich, substantial fight engine that will suit some players and make others pine for the UFC.
  3. Dec 15, 2010
    71
    EA Sports have achieved moderate success with their first step into the MMA space providing a game that plays well and contains some promising features that give incentive to dedicated play, however it unfortunately falls short by failing to introduce the player to the game's complexities and missing core issues such as player disconnects cutting stat tracking short.
  4. Dec 15, 2010
    70
    Considering this is EA Sports first crack at an MMA game, the overall results are good.
  5. Dec 19, 2010
    70
    EA seems like it wants to make this work and if this first shot is any indication of the future of the series, they have come to fight hardcore.
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    Although it gets a lot right with a well-structured fighting system – which has a solid mix of subsystems to master – it doesn't have the same level of hardcore appeal as the current champion.
  7. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Finally EA MMA walks on the ring to fight against it's rival, UFC Undisputed. The game is really good but the lack of the UFC license is a huge limitation for the most hardcore fighting fans. Anyway, the game is smooth and based on a simple but deep command system.
  8. Oct 28, 2010
    70
    Some good ideas are spoiled by the complete absence of realism during the fight. Ground fights are well reproduced, but punches and kicks have no strength and no physical adherence to reality.
  9. Dec 15, 2010
    82
    EA Sport's sophomoric effort into the gaming world of MMA is a stand up showing. While its in-ring action isn't exactly up to the level of their main rival, it's international diversity and live broadcast feature puts into the title hunt.
  10. Dec 15, 2010
    90
    While it might not have the UFC stars that bring some fans to the table, any dedicated fan of mixed martial arts should take a look at EA SPORTS MMA to see the face of the future.
  11. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Despite these issues, EA Sports MMA is still a powerful brawler, and another year or two in the gym should turn it into a true monster.
  12. Dec 15, 2010
    85
    In the end, EA Sports MMA is a fantastic foundation for the series, and delivers a very fun experience overall. However, it suffers from some robotic animations that cripple the intensity of the fights.
  13. Dec 19, 2010
    83
    If you want to be your favorite fighter and have a fight night at home with some buddies, you're probably better off looking to UFC. If you want a game that controls better, presents the sport in a more favorable light, and really handles the intricacies and spirit of MMA, EA Sports has you covered.
  14. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Compared to the king of the genre, UFC Undisputed, I must confess I have a personal preference for EA Sports MMA, thanks to its accessibility and "easy to pick-up" philosophy. UFC remains the deepest of the two, and benefits greatly from its official license, but this first foray of EA on that front really establishes it as a serious competitor. It's especially true if you're looking for online play, where EA's experience is really shining in comparison to UFC. So if you're not already a hardcore fan playing UFC, but just someone who's interested in starting up with something more noob-friendly, EA Sports MMA is just for you.
  15. Jan 3, 2011
    84
    There's plenty of room for growth and improvement, but EA has a solid, well varied and quite fun first title. If you are not loyal to the UFC brand, or maybe just sick of how saturated the market is with the premiere mixed-martial arts league, EA Sports MMA is a viable alternative to THQ's dominate franchise.
  16. Oct 21, 2010
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  17. Dec 15, 2010
    70
    In spite of speculation that EA MMA would be dead on arrival there's a very satisfactory entry here, one worthy of any fighting gamer's consideration and one EA would be remiss to abandon next year.
  18. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    EA Sports MMA isn't perfect, the lack of UFC fighters is a huge gaping hole that is impossible to ignore and the number of special moves available are fairly slim. Those problems are overshadowed by smooth animations, intuitive controls, and incredibly dynamic online features.
  19. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    By all accounts, EA Sports MMA is a good game. It has great graphics combined with a solid presentation and good controls.
  20. Jan 5, 2011
    70
    MMA has enough moments that are worthwhile. It's just too bad that EA hasn't learned from the strong and weak points of the competition. The controls aren't always working properly and the number of modes are a little on the thin side. However, true MMA-fans will be able to ignore these faults.
  21. Oct 22, 2010
    70
    This game does most things right on the first attempt, and there's no significant quality difference between it and main rival UFC: Undisputed. This is a great choice if you want an MMA game that is accessible and rewarding.
  22. Oct 25, 2010
    60
    Can't really escape the headlock of its rival but a decent MMA game, all in all.
  23. Dec 19, 2010
    85
    It's not perfect though, and a myriad of small issues prevent EA Sports MMA from being the best mixed-martial arts title this year.
  24. Dec 15, 2010
    79
    Excellent on the ground, easy to learn and the online features are extensive. [Issue#232, p.70]
  25. Jan 20, 2011
    90
    A veritable knock-out. [Issue#102, p.100]
  26. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    It's great to see some real competition for THQ in this genre and MMA fans shouldn't hesitate to pick this one up.
  27. Oct 20, 2010
    75
    Intuitive controls, a lengthy career mode, and impressive online options make this mixed martial arts game a serious contender.
  28. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    A great package overall and especially for long time MMA fans. There are some minor sticking points in the controls and some will miss their favorite UFC fighters, but if you want a fuller experience of what mixed martial arts is coupled with superior online modes, you can't do better than EA MMA.
  29. Dec 15, 2010
    80
    The meat of the game comes in the form of the career mode.
  30. Oct 21, 2010
    82
    EA Sports MMA comes out swinging with a solid first entry, but only time will tell if its defining features will truly sustain the game over the long term, especially with regards to its bold decisions when it comes to online play.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. BEFORE I get into EA MMA I would like to lead in with a little insight as to where MY review comes from! I also have been an MMA Participant/Fan since the Beginning! I have Played everything from UFC on Dreamcast, Tapout 1 & 2 on XBOX, UFC Sudden Impact & PRIDE FC on PS2, Throwdown on Nintendo GameCube, UFC Undisputed 2009/2010 & NOW EA MMA on 360! That was Not meant to be a BragFest but rather a recap of Where My Opinions/Comparisons come from! The Original DreamCast UFC was, of course, the GroundBreaker that Started it all! UFC 2009, to me, was The BEST MMA game to Date! 2010 Seemed like a Rushed (to beat EA to release!) Cash grab and NOT Much More than a Roster Update with Few Real Notable changes. The Event Mode being the Most memorable & my personal Favorite. Now for EA MMA!: First off if they would have named it something like "EA Sports Presents MMA Featuring StrikeForce!" there Might be LESS complaints about "where are the UFC guys?"! Maybe! From the beginning I Too did Not give much chance for EA's MMA title. Like a Lot of Fellow gamers I fell into the "If it doesn't have the More Well Known UFC Fighters It will Probably Not be as Good!" category! I am GLAD to say I was Wrong there! There are So Many Exclusive fighters that are as good or Better than their UFC counterparts In there own respective weight classes! There are also Very Extensive Fighter Creation/Share tools (They are Far Superior to THQ UFC's current version!) that Offer NEAR Perfect UFC Clones! For those Longing for Dream matches like Brock Lesnar vs Fedor Emelianenko Here is the Place to get it! Well this is as Close as we can get for now at least! There are also other Various COOL Options to keep fights from getting stale. Venue Locations, Ring Types (Round, Boxing & Of Course Octagonal) Plus being able to set Rule types are a Nice and Refreshing change of pace! I haven't jumped into the Career mode so I can't comment on that Yet. I feel compelled to voice my concern and comment that ONLY EA can Tank (No. Not Paul Abbot!) its MMA Game at this point by Pulling the Online support like it has done with a Lot of its other Franchises! For MMA and just Fighting Game Fans alike EA Sports MMA is the BEST way to put a Digital BeatDown on/with your friends! I feel the Competition here Is a Good thing! Look at how Tekken, Soul Calibur & Street Fighter and Forza & Gran Turismo Push each other to improve! THQ and EA can continue to Pour quality features into their Games! In the end we win! Like Arcade Style Fighting, Racing Games etc... I have NO problem owning 2 MMA games. IF they are Both well made & are each worth having! My reviews tend to be scatterbrained! For that I apologize. My Main goal is to Help Fellow gamers that are fans of the Same genre be able to enjoy quality games! This Also put a BullsEye on me for tweens & Other ADHD FOOLS to Jab at MY Review Instead of My Online Fighter! Keep in mind witty review Blasters: My review does NOT Hit Back. I DO! Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Ok, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career modeOk, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career mode with different gyms and leagues around the world (really puts the world wide emphasis of the sport into it, and gives me some flashbacks into the martial arts lore of it all...ex. remember Bloodsport?). The submission system is different and a bit simplified compared to UFC, but I'm getting use to not frantically mashing, etc. on the controller. Love the potential of the live broadcast feature too! I really hope EA gets the UFC license in the future...DANA, FORGET THE PAST, EA KNOWS SPORTS GAMES AND WILL GIVE THE UFC IT'S PROPER VIRTUAL EXPERIENCE! Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Great game all around and I believe this game is a great base for EA to keep pumping out future MMA games from here on out. The Career,Great game all around and I believe this game is a great base for EA to keep pumping out future MMA games from here on out. The Career, Online, Presentation, and flow of the game blow UFC Undisputed of of the water giving it great replay value, something Undisputed 2010 clearly lacked. Great job EA! Full Review »