User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 59
  2. Negative: 7 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamB.
    May 7, 2007
    10
    The most fun I've had on the 360 to date. Great music and graphics, laughable yet fitting voice acting and story, easy to pick up and play, lots of collectables and great 2-player co-op. It reminds me of Sega's Alien Front Online for Dreamcast; imagine Halo if it were a hack-and-slash b-movie arcade game. It starts out a bit generic and slow, but it quickly gets frantic and The most fun I've had on the 360 to date. Great music and graphics, laughable yet fitting voice acting and story, easy to pick up and play, lots of collectables and great 2-player co-op. It reminds me of Sega's Alien Front Online for Dreamcast; imagine Halo if it were a hack-and-slash b-movie arcade game. It starts out a bit generic and slow, but it quickly gets frantic and unique. This will surely end up being a cult classic. Put on a custom epic soundtrack like something from E.S. Posthumus or even the song O Fortuna for an even crazier feel. Expand
  2. EstherN.
    Apr 10, 2007
    7
    It's a 7.5. Intentionally stupid, and a blast. Never takes itself seriously, just provides easy, aimless shooter fun. I'm happier with this that I am with one or two more earnest games I've bought of late.
  3. Mystic1
    Mar 27, 2007
    8
    It's funny.. at first you look at the graphics and think oh just another cheesy title with crappy graphics.. Then you play it and you CAN NOT STOP! It's really addictive and co-op is SO MUCH FUN. Instant Classic I say!
  4. SeanC
    Mar 5, 2008
    8
    The first thing that needs to be said about this game is that it's not for gamers who like flashy graphics, amazing cinematics, strategic gameplay, and high production costs. This game is for those who love to sit back and senselessly murder ridiculous enemies with an arsenal of guns specially designed for pure enjoyment. There are over a hundred weapons to be gained, each of which The first thing that needs to be said about this game is that it's not for gamers who like flashy graphics, amazing cinematics, strategic gameplay, and high production costs. This game is for those who love to sit back and senselessly murder ridiculous enemies with an arsenal of guns specially designed for pure enjoyment. There are over a hundred weapons to be gained, each of which differing from the others drastically, in several different categories. You have missiles, grenades, rockets, assault rifles, shotguns, sniper rifles, and "special weapons". There are also several vehicles to pilot that are ridiculously fun to use after you get past their rather annoying controls. You never get stuck on one part for too long, and, with such a large amount of levels, playing through this game multiple times is very fun. Overall, for the gamers like me who just enjoy having a good laugh and some casual fun, this is a game well worth the cost (which isn't that much). Expand
  5. AdrianH
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    I originally bought this game out of a bargain bin for $20 because I wanted something with local Co-op to play with my brother. Now, more than 60 hours of playtime later, I'm still having an absolute blast. This game probably isn't for everyone - it's very much an old school game with new school graphics. Simplistic to a fault and low budget and campy in all aspects, I I originally bought this game out of a bargain bin for $20 because I wanted something with local Co-op to play with my brother. Now, more than 60 hours of playtime later, I'm still having an absolute blast. This game probably isn't for everyone - it's very much an old school game with new school graphics. Simplistic to a fault and low budget and campy in all aspects, I think many people will play 3 levels at Normal difficulty and think it's a second-rate shooter. But the more you play, the bigger the bug swarms and the more ridiculous upgrades to your weapons, things just get CRAZY. There is absolutely nothing better than taking out a dozen bugs with one rocket (along with an entire city block) and watch the explosion propel them a mile away. Expand
  6. Matt
    May 29, 2008
    8
    Ok, it doesn't have a story, or decent graphics, or high production values but what it does have is fun. This is one of the best local co-op games on the 360. It's simplicity is it's appeal. There are no complicated controls or concepts to master. You shoot anything that moves and even stuff that doesn't and you do it over and over again. It may sound repetitive and it Ok, it doesn't have a story, or decent graphics, or high production values but what it does have is fun. This is one of the best local co-op games on the 360. It's simplicity is it's appeal. There are no complicated controls or concepts to master. You shoot anything that moves and even stuff that doesn't and you do it over and over again. It may sound repetitive and it is; but you will have a smile on your face for every second you play it. Expand
  7. May 18, 2011
    9
    One of the best budget titles you're likely to find. This, together with its predecessor (Ps2) are some of the most fun co-op third-person shooting action you'll experience anywhere.

    Do not be fooled by the game's [seemingly] low production values; it has it where it counts -- massive, ten story high monsters, screen so packed with enemies the 360 chungs, scores of weapons to mix and
    One of the best budget titles you're likely to find. This, together with its predecessor (Ps2) are some of the most fun co-op third-person shooting action you'll experience anywhere.

    Do not be fooled by the game's [seemingly] low production values; it has it where it counts -- massive, ten story high monsters, screen so packed with enemies the 360 chungs, scores of weapons to mix and match, lol-worthy dialogue and set pieces, almost limitless replay value due to the the 'farming' mechanic the game engenders and the ridiculous difficulty the game can be set to... This game arguably yields more bang for your buck than any other game relative to price out there.

    Unless you're outright not into third-person shooters or Japanese style Godzilla battles / Mars Attacks type alien invasion themes or immeasurably fun couch co-op play (*split screen only; no online mutiplayer), then EDF for the 360 is a must have.

    E.D.F. 2017 is one of the few games of this generation that will be worth coming back for in years to come... and that's saying something given how throw-away most of the titles are in this era of 'junk food gaming'.

    (NB: The game would get a perfect score from me other than the fact the 'Pale Wing' class from the Ps2 predecessor was strangely omitted for this iteration. So 9 it is).
    Expand
  8. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    An early 360 game, it looks more like a dreamcast game and some of the control choices make me wonder if it was originally intended for that platform. The voice acting is catastrophically bad and the story makes little sense. The controls are a baffling when it comes to the vehicles and the weapons and unlocks are just on this side of random.

    And the amount of belief you need to
    An early 360 game, it looks more like a dreamcast game and some of the control choices make me wonder if it was originally intended for that platform. The voice acting is catastrophically bad and the story makes little sense. The controls are a baffling when it comes to the vehicles and the weapons and unlocks are just on this side of random.

    And the amount of belief you need to suspend? Let's just say that there are points where your single guy in body armor is being hit by a hail of shots from a dozen 50 foot robots with plasma cannons while you are shooting at them with a shotgun.

    The maps are bland and reused repeatedly, the creatures and enemies have an AI that belongs in Galaga...

    ....And the game is entirely more fun than it deserves to be. There is a reason why this game can be found used for $60 in some areas. It is seriously fun, in every way. Some of the best moments are having to sprint backwards while you are throwing nuclear hand grenades that will kill you if you weren't sprinting backwards.
    Expand
  9. DarrenD.
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    A good game for a while and then the difficulty makes the game drag on longer than it should. A bit like bullet witch in the fact you have to play through all difficulties to get all the achievements and becomes boring.
  10. ImperialHsu
    Apr 12, 2007
    8
    Viewing the screenshots of this game, or even watching the common lo-res trailers will not do EDF: 2017 justice. Others have likened the sense of scale to R.A.D. (Robot Alchemic Drive) on the PlayStation 2 and they are correct in doing so. Sure, games like MechWarrior have destructible environments but you never feel like the 'little man' at odds with the entire world. Yes, the Viewing the screenshots of this game, or even watching the common lo-res trailers will not do EDF: 2017 justice. Others have likened the sense of scale to R.A.D. (Robot Alchemic Drive) on the PlayStation 2 and they are correct in doing so. Sure, games like MechWarrior have destructible environments but you never feel like the 'little man' at odds with the entire world. Yes, the gameplay is repetitive and not all that much unlike Dynasty Warriors with Guns and Giant Bugs, but the first time your screen fills with shimmering Gunships, or the first time you have to hold the beach from massive Bipedal robots, you get your first taste of real EPIC scale. Will a simply Bazooka level a 40-story skyscraper with a single hit in the realworld? Not likely, but by golly I want my bazooka to do that in a video game! And you have 150 different 'blow the living crap out of everything' weapons to collect and try out throughout the game. Want the best of the best? You will HAVE to play the harder difficulty levels, and the strategy of choosing the right weapons for the job can quickly be discovered. EDF: 2017: Not game of the year. But most fun I've had on the 360 yet. Expand
  11. JamesF.
    May 15, 2007
    8
    Earth Defence Force 2017, its as cheesy as it sounds, with huge UFOs spewing out giant spiders and ants, 200ft tall robots of doom firing out plasma of death at everything that moves, couple that with fully destructive scenery and 200 (ridiculous) weapons with infinite ammo and you have a real blast! Ok so the graphics are poor for a next gen console, but they aren
  12. JeremyB
    Jul 26, 2009
    8
    This game is horrible. The graphics are bad, the gameplay is meh...the music is crap and the level design is simplistic. And if I have friends over to my house, there is no other game I'd rather be playing. It may be a bad game, but it is a fun game. I'd never recommend it for the single-player crowd or for people who check to see if a game is in 1080p before they buy it, but if This game is horrible. The graphics are bad, the gameplay is meh...the music is crap and the level design is simplistic. And if I have friends over to my house, there is no other game I'd rather be playing. It may be a bad game, but it is a fun game. I'd never recommend it for the single-player crowd or for people who check to see if a game is in 1080p before they buy it, but if you just want to get a few friends over and have a stupid fun time - there is none higher. Expand
  13. LucasinD.
    Mar 25, 2007
    8
    This is a fun title! Playing EDF:2017 is very much like playing an old favorite of mine titled "Robot Alchemic Drive" (PS2) where the sense of scale is evident and the battles are an absolute blast. The gameplay eventually becomes a bit repetitive however, and for a shooter with this much action the lack of online multiplayer is like shooting yourself in the foot! But hey! It's still This is a fun title! Playing EDF:2017 is very much like playing an old favorite of mine titled "Robot Alchemic Drive" (PS2) where the sense of scale is evident and the battles are an absolute blast. The gameplay eventually becomes a bit repetitive however, and for a shooter with this much action the lack of online multiplayer is like shooting yourself in the foot! But hey! It's still fun blasting giant web-spinning jumping spiders! Expand
  14. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    this game is one of thoose kind of games thats not very great in graphics , controls , or any depth what so ever but it is actaully really fun. i dont know what it is but there is just some thing really fun about running through a fully destructable city and blowing the living hell out of a bunch of bugs . with enough explosions and flashing on the screen if you even have a hint ofthis game is one of thoose kind of games thats not very great in graphics , controls , or any depth what so ever but it is actaully really fun. i dont know what it is but there is just some thing really fun about running through a fully destructable city and blowing the living hell out of a bunch of bugs . with enough explosions and flashing on the screen if you even have a hint of epelepsy you are gauranteed to have about 100 seizuresbefore this game is over . there are alot of guns some where around 200+ i believe . you can also play it on co op but only split screen would have been really nice if it was online co op. its simple but its fun . Expand
  15. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    Cheese meets death meets explosions meets aliens meets big ants meets ka-pow-boom-whack - what is there not to like? Bad points? Not the most polished game by any means, crap vehicles, it may be too cheesy for some, a tad samey and nowhere near as much replay value as some games - Good points? If you like blowing **** up you'll have lots of fun. The sheer swarms of enemies to destroy isCheese meets death meets explosions meets aliens meets big ants meets ka-pow-boom-whack - what is there not to like? Bad points? Not the most polished game by any means, crap vehicles, it may be too cheesy for some, a tad samey and nowhere near as much replay value as some games - Good points? If you like blowing **** up you'll have lots of fun. The sheer swarms of enemies to destroy is massive, pretty much everything else in the game can be blown up as well (Telecom tower style building? No probs for your bazooka). The enemies themselves are really groovy, the variety in weapons is also impressive, and the cheesy theme that runs throughout the game suits it to a tea (screams of "EDF!" and "Yeah!" make you feel like a true military meat head). As said it won't last forever, and those who prefer their games more boring but less rough around the edges may dislike it, but anyone with a full set of working bollocks and a desire to blow things up in style should look no further than this as itâ Expand
  16. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    Ok, ok, ok, Earth Force Defense can be repetitive, but is funny and entertaining, is an amazing game, with the sequel (Insect Armageddon) can be better. But this game is good.
  17. Aug 4, 2013
    7
    I'll admit, I wasn't expecting much from this game. But after playing it, it's mindless, but in a good way. Shooting dozens of giant ants, spiders, robots, etc. with all manner of machineguns and rocket launchers has been pretty fun, with added replayability in the form of unlockable weapons and health upgrades. Of course, the budget-look shows in repetitive environments and characterI'll admit, I wasn't expecting much from this game. But after playing it, it's mindless, but in a good way. Shooting dozens of giant ants, spiders, robots, etc. with all manner of machineguns and rocket launchers has been pretty fun, with added replayability in the form of unlockable weapons and health upgrades. Of course, the budget-look shows in repetitive environments and character models and bland visuals. Vehicles aren't much useful either, not providing much in protection or firepower. You might as well fight on foot. At the end of the day, it's just mindless shooting fun... and that alone is good enough for me. Expand
  18. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    This is not beautiful-looking, this is not clever, but it's one of the most action-packed stuff I've ever played. If you like old invasion movies, you'll love this game. Plus, there's some good deal of challenge if you want to collect all weapons and upgrade your character's lifebar... Put your brain aside and fight it out !!! Great game.
  19. Mar 17, 2011
    8
    I picked this up for 15 bucks on the premise that it had co-op, and the wife and I couldn't put it down. Two years later we still have EDF night once a month, and we are chomping at the bit to get our hands on EDF IA.

    If you want cheesy retro arcade fun in split screen, get this. You won't regret it. Add Alcohol (if you are of legal age) to increase comical value.
  20. WyattG.
    Oct 17, 2007
    6
    Only a small number of retailers carried this game in Australia, but I thought it looked fun and the co-op play appealed as I have 2 sons and it is a lot more fun playing with someone else. I have played the game through in full and on the whole I enjoed it. The best part of the game is the huge range of weapons you have to choose from (and there must be hundreds of them, although you Only a small number of retailers carried this game in Australia, but I thought it looked fun and the co-op play appealed as I have 2 sons and it is a lot more fun playing with someone else. I have played the game through in full and on the whole I enjoed it. The best part of the game is the huge range of weapons you have to choose from (and there must be hundreds of them, although you will end up only using a fraction to get through the missions) and the huge number of bugs and robots you get to eliminate. Also the ability to blow up complete buildings with 1 rocket never gets boring ! There are 53 missions in total, some are short (less than a minute) whilst other will take longer. The missions are fairly varied in their locations although the aim is the same...blow the crap out of anything that moves (including your team mates if you want to !). There are 5 difficulty settings, with the harder ones being really challenging. The only reason to play the game more than once is to unlock new weapons that are available only on the harder levels and new achievements. Having said this, the pick-up and play factor of this game is fun and if you have some friends around it is a good game to play in co-op and swap the controllers around after each mission. The graphics are last-gen and the voice acting is so woeful that you will laugh. Apart from the story you can also play 1 on 1 multiplayer which is good for a bit, but you can't help but wonder why their is no online multiplayer as the game appears to be tailormade for it, and without it the lasting appeal of this game is not what it could have been. Expand
  21. BryanM.
    Sep 18, 2007
    3
    This game is good for about 10 minnuts then just gets borring. all there is is giant ants attacking it is even more boring then Resident evil. i don't know what is so cool about it it is not even like real zombies. they just go very slow and are dumb. in Resident Evil they are smart. just avoid this game.
  22. AllistairP.
    Jul 8, 2007
    3
    Ok so I had it on for half an hour and now I am crying. Actually I had it on for an hour and a half doing co-op, and it was just painful. It was fun at first but then it just gave way for naseau. The enemies keep coming with no sign of what progress you have made, there is nothing AT ALL to do other than shoot obvious insects, and it just sucks. EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS GAME SUCKS. I really Ok so I had it on for half an hour and now I am crying. Actually I had it on for an hour and a half doing co-op, and it was just painful. It was fun at first but then it just gave way for naseau. The enemies keep coming with no sign of what progress you have made, there is nothing AT ALL to do other than shoot obvious insects, and it just sucks. EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS GAME SUCKS. I really regret renting it. Thats' only 8 bucks and I've been dwelling on it. Because I would have paid 8 bucks just not to have played this game. Piece of caca. Expand
  23. max
    Oct 11, 2009
    6
    There is something about this game that is just so much fun, even though you realize it is very repitive and boring. If you were to hear the story behind this game, you would just laugh, because there is none. However, this is a action- packed game with over 100 awesome weapons that are sure to make a huge explosion. You will fight giant ants, spider, and robots.(don't ask) Almost There is something about this game that is just so much fun, even though you realize it is very repitive and boring. If you were to hear the story behind this game, you would just laugh, because there is none. However, this is a action- packed game with over 100 awesome weapons that are sure to make a huge explosion. You will fight giant ants, spider, and robots.(don't ask) Almost all of the enemys are very dumb, and are no threat to you unless you are playing on a higher difficulty level. The enviorments you play in are fully destructable, buildings including and you can easily spend 10 minutes just wiping out buildings. There are 53 levels in the game, but most of them are extremly short. Throughout some of the levels, you can use veichles to fight the hordes of ants. However, these viechles have horrible controls and deliver no satisfaction. I would only buy this game it were 10 dollars and I would recommend it for a rental, since the game has no replay value. Expand
  24. Jul 24, 2012
    0
    One of the worse games I've ever played. I downloaded this on XBL because I'd heard favourable things about it but I must be missing something because the graphics are awful, the gameplay is dull & repetitive, and there's not really any story to speak of.

    Pros - It's pretty cheap to buy at this stage Cons - Bad graphics - Bad controls (bad gameplay mechanics in general really) -
    One of the worse games I've ever played. I downloaded this on XBL because I'd heard favourable things about it but I must be missing something because the graphics are awful, the gameplay is dull & repetitive, and there's not really any story to speak of.

    Pros
    - It's pretty cheap to buy at this stage

    Cons
    - Bad graphics
    - Bad controls (bad gameplay mechanics in general really)
    - No story
    - Very repetitive
    Collapse
  25. Jul 2, 2013
    4
    I did not care for this game at all. It's graphics and gameplay reminded me of some crappy Sega Genesis era game. Some people say that's the point. But for me, if I wanted to play a crappy game with bad graphics, all I would have to do is play the Sega Genesis or Super Nintendo. Co-op is where this game shines, that is if you can shine a turd. Playing by yourself isn't that fun andI did not care for this game at all. It's graphics and gameplay reminded me of some crappy Sega Genesis era game. Some people say that's the point. But for me, if I wanted to play a crappy game with bad graphics, all I would have to do is play the Sega Genesis or Super Nintendo. Co-op is where this game shines, that is if you can shine a turd. Playing by yourself isn't that fun and there is no online multiplayer. I would say this game may be good for a 1 day rent but save your money and buy something else. Expand
  26. Aug 25, 2014
    6
    Don't expect high production values. Graphics, sounds, physics, voice acting, all terrible.

    This game proves that despite having a low budget, a game can be really, really fun. This game just hands you a ridiculous assortment of weapons and some enemies and a destructible environment and tells you to have fun. And by assortment, I don't mean a Call of Duty "there's a 100 guns but the
    Don't expect high production values. Graphics, sounds, physics, voice acting, all terrible.

    This game proves that despite having a low budget, a game can be really, really fun. This game just hands you a ridiculous assortment of weapons and some enemies and a destructible environment and tells you to have fun.

    And by assortment, I don't mean a Call of Duty "there's a 100 guns but the only difference is their rate of fire and damage" assortment. Some guns have bullets that bounce off the walls, some shoot through targets, some a bunch of bullets at once. Some rocket launchers shoot a one projectile that splits into a million others and bombard an area. Others just shoot one, slow ass missile that packs a ridiculous punch.

    The most important part is that this game is SPLITSCREEN. There are not enough of these types of games. If you're looking for some casual couch action this game is a lot of fun.
    Expand
  27. Jul 24, 2012
    0
    One of the worse games I've ever played. I downloaded this on XBL because I'd heard favourable things about it but I must be missing something because the graphics are awful, the gameplay is dull & repetitive, and there's not really any story to speak of.

    Pros - It's pretty cheap to buy at this stage Cons - Bad graphics - Bad controls (bad gameplay mechanics in general really) -
    One of the worse games I've ever played. I downloaded this on XBL because I'd heard favourable things about it but I must be missing something because the graphics are awful, the gameplay is dull & repetitive, and there's not really any story to speak of.

    Pros
    - It's pretty cheap to buy at this stage

    Cons
    - Bad graphics
    - Bad controls (bad gameplay mechanics in general really)
    - No story
    - Very repetitive
    Collapse
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 55
  2. Negative: 2 out of 55
  1. 80
    It's a unique, well-realized action game that's like nothing else on the 360. If "EDF2" didn't exist, we'd like it even more.
  2. A corny, geeky dream come true that's destined to be an underground classic.
  3. 69
    It doesn't hold a candle to some of the more technically savvy games on Xbox 360 and that may be more than ample reason to give this one a pass depending upon your tastes. For good mindless shooting, this game delivers.