Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    100
    It's easy to overlook the technical problems of Enslaved, simply because everything else is so damn compelling. This is not a checklist of what makes a game great, but taken as a whole, it IS a great game.
  2. Dec 19, 2010
    95
    Enslaved: Journey to the West is definitely a contender for game of the year.
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    94
    The 10-12 hours journey will enthrall you from beginning to end and easily make it worth the price of admission.
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    93
    I honestly can't say enough great things about Enslaved; it's fun, it's interesting, and I loved everything about it.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    92
    Enslaved is an amazing ride that no action gamer should consider missing.
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    92
    Enslaved is on my short list for game of the year. I had a great time with it and I think anyone that enjoys third person games, especially those in the vein of Uncharted, will love this one.
  7. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    I almost literally played through the entire game in one sitting, which isn't something I do often, and I didn't feel my attention waver throughout the eight or so hours it took to finish.
  8. 90
    With its extravagant enviroments, stylish character design and technical brilliance, Enslaved gets a warm recommendation, despite a handful small flaws. If you're disillusioned by the many sequels releasing this fall, spare yourself any futher agony, pick up Enslaved and get a truly original and entertaining experience.
  9. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    If you're looking for a game that offers all the amazing things I've spent the last handful of paragraphs gushing over as well as one of the most interesting and original stories in a game this year, Enslaved won't disappoint.
  10. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    It might be too simple to call Enslaved: Odyssey to the West a melee-centric Uncharted, but it is not that far off and it is certainly not a bad thing.
  11. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    One of the very best experiences released on a console in a long, long time. The game's eight- to ten-hour quest truly does feel like a journey, one that is compelling, exciting, and incredibly memorable.
  12. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Enslaved is a masterpiece. Style, rythm and a solid narration blend into a unique structure, that focus on a varied gameplay and a sublime art style. The game is a truly revelation of this generation.
  13. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    This is a beacon, a fine reminder that if you have talented people and a little respect for your audience, great storytelling in games can be not only possible but profound.
  14. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Ninja Theory's take on the "Journey to the West" story is one that I'd gladly revisit, and novelist Alex Garland deserves a ton of credit for helping produce this adaptation.
  15. Oct 25, 2010
    89
    Enslaved feels very much like the odyssey it professes in its subtitle. The ten hour epic takes you through some wonderful landscapes as well as the emotional journey of the characters, pushed forwards by a terrific script and great voice acting. It is most definitely flawed but it's not a game you're going to forget easily.
  16. Oct 20, 2010
    89
    Enslaved is a worthy adventure title that overcomes its own minor shortcomings with an excellent narrative and glorious visuals.
  17. Oct 20, 2010
    88
    Enslaved: Odyssey to the West shines thanks to a very variegated and balanced gameplay and a very compelling and moving story.
  18. Enslaved is a rare game: a title with shades of Beyond Good & Evil great-ness set in a decimated world that's genuinely striking to explore. You'll have played better adventures before, but you'll be hard pressed to name a more captivating one.
  19. Dec 19, 2010
    86
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  20. Dec 19, 2010
    85
    The game is not perfect but it's extremely well done overall.
  21. 85
    You'll probably crave a bit more challenge than you'll find, but by the time you arrive at your destination and its revelations, you'll clamor for the story to continue. [Nov 2010, p.78]
  22. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Not every aspect of the game is a masterpiece but Enslaved surprised me in a very good way and most important, made me care about what happened next.
  23. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Enslaved is an interesting adventure game that builds on the characters via cinematic direction to affiliate the player with their plight a little more readily. The gameplay is fluid but lacking in depth to really make it stand out.
  24. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Enslaved is a game that has managed to sneak past the hype radar, but that doesn't stop it from being one of the most enjoyable and entertaining action-adventure titles this year.
  25. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    If you are in the mood for a great action/adventure title with a truly engaging narrative, you owe it to yourself to check out Ninja Theory's latest title.
  26. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Just wait until you get to the end. It's a curious ending but well worth the Odyssey.
  27. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Though not perfect, Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is one hell of a ride.
  28. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is a beautiful journey, highly emotional and protagonized by two memorable characters. Despite some techinal flaws, if you enjoy well written story and you are not afraid to be moved by a videogame, you really shouldn't miss this one.
  29. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    The game has its flaws, but they didn't stop me from falling in love with the game. I just didn't fall quite as hard as I wanted to.
  30. Oct 20, 2010
    84
    So if you want a strong action game with some acrobatic platforming that is lead by an engaging story then Enslaved will carry you on it's back to the last mech falls.
  31. Oct 20, 2010
    84
    Enslaved is an engaging experience where, even if you don't feel astonished by the gameplay, you will enjoy an amazing experience. Its characters are among the most gripping ones we have seen in a videogame, and with its amazing cutscenes the game creates an incredibly cinematic experience.
  32. Oct 20, 2010
    84
    Enslaved shows off Ninja Theory's attention to detail, level design and characters' depth. If it wasn't so easy and if its combat system and platform mechanics were put to a deeper and more taxing test, it could have been one of the best action game in this hardware generation.
  33. Dec 19, 2010
    83
    A great story, fantastic characters, and fantastic production values are brought down some questionable game design decisions.
  34. Oct 20, 2010
    83
    If you love a good science fiction tale wrapped around a gorgeous, post-apocalyptic world with some decent gameplay thrown into the mix, you should give Enslaved a try.
  35. 82
    Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is a fantastic adventure title that's both beautiful to look at, compelling to play and enjoyable for the most part.
  36. Oct 20, 2010
    82
    Enslaved's length is about standard for this day and age, but it still feels like it's over all too quickly. It's one of those rare games in which the majority of the experience feels imperative and consequential.
  37. Oct 28, 2010
    81
    Enslaved is a decent start of a new game franchise and is an important step for the development team to see if they can reach new heights with a potential sequel (which I hear is already starting to shape).
  38. Jan 21, 2011
    80
    The gameplay may not be completely new, then, but this kind of chemistry certainly is. There's no denying it - Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is the best escort 'game' ever made; a spritely little cracker with a lot of heart.
  39. Jan 20, 2011
    80
    Enslaved's satisfying blend of narrative and gameplay is bang on the money. [Issue#102, p.111]
  40. Jan 16, 2011
    80
    Enslaved is scoring with its motivating story, the good graphics and the enjoyable, but not challenging climbing passages. Sadly, the fights are unvaried and there is no multiplayer.
  41. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Enslaved's greatest achievement is standing out in the crowded field of me- too, colour-sapped videogame apocalypses, serving as a vibrant oasis in the otherwise murky brown wastes.
  42. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Enslaved is a solid, well-built offering which is a pleasure to play. The excellent storytelling, great acting and fantastic pacing elevate it above the ranks of your average action adventure, and indeed your average videogame.
  43. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Enslaved is a bit scrappy in its presentation and would have benefitted from more polishing time, but its heart is in a place few games even try for. Its world is original, fascinating, beautiful, and daunting. Its characters are alive and full of real emotion and they're truly loveable. Its simple combat is spare but elegant, and its climbing sequences get the blood pumping.
  44. 80
    The combination of a compelling plot, plausible characters and a stunning world to explore means that, while rather brief, this is one of the more memorable experiences on the Xbox 360 this year.
  45. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    There are certainly better hack 'n' slash games on the market, built around deeper combat, but few games can match Enslaved's excellent fusion of gameplay and storytelling.
  46. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Foibles aside, Enslaved is an engaging fusion of genres with a flair for characterisation. [Issue#64, p.92]
  47. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    It's a rollicking adventure and a story well-told, held back by limited mechanics.
  48. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    An adventure game that will specially appeal to those who fancy a good story and a very detailed fantasy world.
  49. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Another dark post-apocalyptic action-adventure? Nope. Enslaved introduces gamers to a gorgeous and detailed world, full of mechanical quirkiness. If you can look past his flaws, you'll be rewarded with one of the best sci-fi games of the year. Give it a try, you wont regret it!
  50. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    A great example of how a good action/adventure games should be. Enslaved has a good balance between fighting, platforming and story-telling and is perhaps the surprise of the year.
  51. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    As a trip through an interesting, beautiful world covering ground that hasn't been effectively tread in games, with a strong narrative and engaging, believable characters, it provides something unique this Fall. If you can look past its flaws, Enslaved might surprise you as much as it did me.
  52. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    It seems a little harsh to accuse Enslaved of presenting style over substance but the feeling remains nonetheless: much like Heavenly Sword before it, Enslaved is an exceptionally well produced game from Ninja Theory where gameplay takes a passenger seat and cinematic presentation drives the experience.
  53. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Enslaved is an affecting adventure that makes strong use of its characters and story to create a believable world.
  54. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    An excellent example of storytelling, Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is a journey well worth taking.
  55. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    As an experience, it might go down as a near-cult classic, sometimes mentioned in the same breath as Shadow of the Colossus or Beyond Good and Evil, but I doubt many people would put Enslaved on the same level.
  56. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Its rich imagination, restrained narrative and charming cast of characters place it a significant step above its often clumsy story-obsessed brethren - and, while easy to find fault with, it's harder to knock Enslaved in terms of pure entertainment value.
  57. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Ninja Theory has created a quality game that brings us a strong story and some great visuals. The gameplay feels a bit simple but this isn't as big problem thanks to the well balanced pace.
  58. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Enslaved is an atmospheric apocalyptic adventure with a strong focus on graphics and story. The game offers by far the most colorful apocalyptic setting. The idea with the "chained" hero is fresh and works quite well, but the relationship between Monkey and Trip should be even more dramatic and emotional. Unfortunately the action is only on an average level. There is a lack of variety and options.
  59. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    It's a well-produced effort that makes itself easy to get invested in and is worth considering for anyone who enjoys a solid dozen-hour-long, story-driven action game. It doesn't do everything right all the time, but some grander and higher-profile games could stand to learn a lesson or two from this one.
  60. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Enslaved rises above its flaws to deliver a grand adventure. Neither the platforming nor the combat are particularly inspired, but it doesn't really matter - you'll keep playing because you care about its characters.
  61. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Enslaved provides a rollercoaster adventure wrapped up in a brilliantly told story, which sees you grow as attached to the characters as they do to each other.
  62. Oct 20, 2010
    78
    It's a great ten-hour campaign, but there's little replay value.
  63. Oct 20, 2010
    75
    Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is perhaps one of the best examples I've seen of a rental game. The platforming is simplistic, and most of the time, combat is a one-button affair.
  64. Oct 20, 2010
    75
    So, a few control and camea issues aside, and putting aside also the lack of replayability (this is a a game you'll probably play through twice at the most) Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is a solidly written, very entertaining, occasionally heart-racing adventure.
  65. Oct 20, 2010
    75
    Enslaved: Odyssey to the West has some flaws in its design; neither of its gameplay styles achieves to excel, and there are some obvious insatisfactory aspect. However, as a whole it works very good, and its is an enjoyable and gratifying title, with a good story told with unusual success. It has its flaws, but its achievements compensate for them.
  66. Oct 20, 2010
    75
    The simple, albeit underdeveloped, combination of gameplay styles is brisk enough to carry the inspiration behind its characters, setting, and story.
  67. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    With the gameplay being such an unwanted distraction, the story is the only attraction. The plot delivers a cool science fiction twist in its final moments, but ultimately serves as a slave to mediocre gameplay for eight to nine hours.
  68. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    It's a beautiful title with many nice moments, and I want to extend my congratulations to the team for such a noticeable step up. That said, neither the gameplay nor the plot and characters were strong enough to put it over the top.
  69. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    His work gives the game much of its charm, but even Gollum himself can't push this 12-hour puzzle-shooting-platformer adventure past 'above average' and into 'great'.
  70. Oct 20, 2010
    60
    Enslaved takes players 150 years into the future, in a world where both creation and destruction flourish. Its overwhelming beauty of nature entangled with machinery requires a moment to digest. Sadly, the game rarely allows for such sightseeing. Instead players are forcibly dragged through every scene of the game, which then comes to an abrupt close. Ultimately they are left with a very convincing movie, without the gameplay to back it up.
  71. Oct 20, 2010
    60
    It's the gameplay which is slave to the visuals and storytelling here, in this intriguing but shallow post-apocalyptic fable.
  72. Oct 20, 2010
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 76
  2. Negative: 5 out of 76
  1. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    Wow...this game is amazing! I have played a ton of games this year, but I must say I have been blown away by how fantastic this game is. This game is extremely underrated. I'm really not sure why this game isn't more popular. Here is my small attempt to get the word out.

    The game is set in a post-apocalyptic United States that has been overrun by vicious mechs. You play as a character named Monkey with awesome climbing and fighting abilities. With the "help" of female companion Trip, you escape a slave ship together. The gameplay involves solving puzzles and fighting mechs with your female companion throughout the game. Trip reminds me a lot of Elika from 2008's Prince of Persia. She is very helpful throughout the game, and although the game is one long escort mission she never gets in the way. The gameplay reminds me most of 2008's Prince of Persia, except the weapons are very different. The climbing in the game reminds me of both Prince of Persia and Uncharted 2.

    The graphics are awesome! The scenery and character models are both very well done. The game world is extremely colorful and beautiful. The sound is also incredible. I really love the epic soundtrack. The voice acting is extremely well done and made me really care about the characters. Perhaps one of the best aspects of the game is the story. For me it's a tossup between Mass Effect 2, Alan Wake, and Enslaved: Odyssey to the West for best video game story of the year.

    Don't take this game for granted. You need to play Enslaved: Odyssey to the West, especially if you enjoyed Uncharted 2 or Prince of Persia 2008. Really can't express enough how enjoyable this game is. On "Normal" settings the game took me about 10.5 hours to complete. I'm looking forward to another play through on "Hard" settings.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    It's just one of those games that they don't make enough of anymore for all the right reasons. Gameplay, characters, music, graphics, it's all there.
  3. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    Graphics: 10
    Gameplay: 9
    Story/characters: 10 (after thinking :P )
    Music: 9
    Overall: 9.5 VISUALS/WORLD: Not since Beyond Good and Evil
    have I been simply flabbergasted at the quality of the world I found myself in. The vistas are comparable in awe inspiring quality to Red Dead Redemption. I've read a significant deal about pop up in this game, but for me, I didn't notice it once. GAMEPLAY: is my only gripe and what keeps this from a 10. Whilst the fighting is fun, the combos are extremely limited with respect to the animations. Also, when fighting multiple enemies you have to know where they are so that the spastic camera doesn't hide them. This isn't so much of a problem once you get past the first few hours. The climbing mechanic is fluid and the un-lockables for fighting and movement later on are simply awesome. STORY/CHARACTERS: Is to an acquired taste. For me the monkey/trip relationship was executed brilliantly as was the ending... though please, please, don't dismiss it at face value like so many on the forums I've read... and that's all i'm saying without spoiling anything :P The voice acting is sublime. Nothing more needs to be said about this really. The set piece action is also something that has the be experienced as it doesn't overcompensate ala Call of Duty but finds the sweet spot between repetition and pure unadulterated fun.
    MUSIC: Perfectly orchestrated. Fits the mood of a post apocalyptic world, but playful at the same time.
    Overall: Small, and may I emphasise: *small* gameplay gripes are what hamper this otherwise masterful example of game design. I don't give it a 10 because a 10 is reserved for games I believe don't break the immersion and are, for lack of a better word, perfect. This game, if metacritic allowed for it, would easily be a 9.5.
    Full Review »