Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Oct 25, 2010
    89
    Enslaved feels very much like the odyssey it professes in its subtitle. The ten hour epic takes you through some wonderful landscapes as well as the emotional journey of the characters, pushed forwards by a terrific script and great voice acting. It is most definitely flawed but it's not a game you're going to forget easily.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    One of the very best experiences released on a console in a long, long time. The game's eight- to ten-hour quest truly does feel like a journey, one that is compelling, exciting, and incredibly memorable.
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    92
    Enslaved is on my short list for game of the year. I had a great time with it and I think anyone that enjoys third person games, especially those in the vein of Uncharted, will love this one.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Enslaved is a masterpiece. Style, rythm and a solid narration blend into a unique structure, that focus on a varied gameplay and a sublime art style. The game is a truly revelation of this generation.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    92
    Enslaved is an amazing ride that no action gamer should consider missing.
  6. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    If you're looking for a game that offers all the amazing things I've spent the last handful of paragraphs gushing over as well as one of the most interesting and original stories in a game this year, Enslaved won't disappoint.
  7. Oct 20, 2010
    94
    The 10-12 hours journey will enthrall you from beginning to end and easily make it worth the price of admission.
  8. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Ninja Theory's take on the "Journey to the West" story is one that I'd gladly revisit, and novelist Alex Garland deserves a ton of credit for helping produce this adaptation.
  9. 90
    With its extravagant enviroments, stylish character design and technical brilliance, Enslaved gets a warm recommendation, despite a handful small flaws. If you're disillusioned by the many sequels releasing this fall, spare yourself any futher agony, pick up Enslaved and get a truly original and entertaining experience.
  10. Oct 27, 2010
    100
    It's easy to overlook the technical problems of Enslaved, simply because everything else is so damn compelling. This is not a checklist of what makes a game great, but taken as a whole, it IS a great game.
  11. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    It might be too simple to call Enslaved: Odyssey to the West a melee-centric Uncharted, but it is not that far off and it is certainly not a bad thing.
  12. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    I almost literally played through the entire game in one sitting, which isn't something I do often, and I didn't feel my attention waver throughout the eight or so hours it took to finish.
  13. Dec 19, 2010
    95
    Enslaved: Journey to the West is definitely a contender for game of the year.
  14. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    This is a beacon, a fine reminder that if you have talented people and a little respect for your audience, great storytelling in games can be not only possible but profound.
  15. Oct 20, 2010
    88
    Enslaved: Odyssey to the West shines thanks to a very variegated and balanced gameplay and a very compelling and moving story.
  16. Oct 20, 2010
    89
    Enslaved is a worthy adventure title that overcomes its own minor shortcomings with an excellent narrative and glorious visuals.
  17. Enslaved is a rare game: a title with shades of Beyond Good & Evil great-ness set in a decimated world that's genuinely striking to explore. You'll have played better adventures before, but you'll be hard pressed to name a more captivating one.
  18. Dec 19, 2010
    93
    I honestly can't say enough great things about Enslaved; it's fun, it's interesting, and I loved everything about it.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 273 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 79
  2. Negative: 5 out of 79
  1. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    Wow...this game is amazing! I have played a ton of games this year, but I must say I have been blown away by how fantastic this game is. ThisWow...this game is amazing! I have played a ton of games this year, but I must say I have been blown away by how fantastic this game is. This game is extremely underrated. I'm really not sure why this game isn't more popular. Here is my small attempt to get the word out.

    The game is set in a post-apocalyptic United States that has been overrun by vicious mechs. You play as a character named Monkey with awesome climbing and fighting abilities. With the "help" of female companion Trip, you escape a slave ship together. The gameplay involves solving puzzles and fighting mechs with your female companion throughout the game. Trip reminds me a lot of Elika from 2008's Prince of Persia. She is very helpful throughout the game, and although the game is one long escort mission she never gets in the way. The gameplay reminds me most of 2008's Prince of Persia, except the weapons are very different. The climbing in the game reminds me of both Prince of Persia and Uncharted 2.

    The graphics are awesome! The scenery and character models are both very well done. The game world is extremely colorful and beautiful. The sound is also incredible. I really love the epic soundtrack. The voice acting is extremely well done and made me really care about the characters. Perhaps one of the best aspects of the game is the story. For me it's a tossup between Mass Effect 2, Alan Wake, and Enslaved: Odyssey to the West for best video game story of the year.

    Don't take this game for granted. You need to play Enslaved: Odyssey to the West, especially if you enjoyed Uncharted 2 or Prince of Persia 2008. Really can't express enough how enjoyable this game is. On "Normal" settings the game took me about 10.5 hours to complete. I'm looking forward to another play through on "Hard" settings.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    It's just one of those games that they don't make enough of anymore for all the right reasons. Gameplay, characters, music, graphics, it's all there.
  3. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    Graphics: 10
    Gameplay: 9
    Story/characters: 10 (after thinking :P ) Music: 9 Overall: 9.5 VISUALS/WORLD: Not since Beyond Good and Evil
    Graphics: 10
    Gameplay: 9
    Story/characters: 10 (after thinking :P )
    Music: 9
    Overall: 9.5 VISUALS/WORLD: Not since Beyond Good and Evil have I been simply flabbergasted at the quality of the world I found myself in. The vistas are comparable in awe inspiring quality to Red Dead Redemption. I've read a significant deal about pop up in this game, but for me, I didn't notice it once. GAMEPLAY: is my only gripe and what keeps this from a 10. Whilst the fighting is fun, the combos are extremely limited with respect to the animations. Also, when fighting multiple enemies you have to know where they are so that the spastic camera doesn't hide them. This isn't so much of a problem once you get past the first few hours. The climbing mechanic is fluid and the un-lockables for fighting and movement later on are simply awesome. STORY/CHARACTERS: Is to an acquired taste. For me the monkey/trip relationship was executed brilliantly as was the ending... though please, please, don't dismiss it at face value like so many on the forums I've read... and that's all i'm saying without spoiling anything :P The voice acting is sublime. Nothing more needs to be said about this really. The set piece action is also something that has the be experienced as it doesn't overcompensate ala Call of Duty but finds the sweet spot between repetition and pure unadulterated fun.
    MUSIC: Perfectly orchestrated. Fits the mood of a post apocalyptic world, but playful at the same time.
    Overall: Small, and may I emphasise: *small* gameplay gripes are what hamper this otherwise masterful example of game design. I don't give it a 10 because a 10 is reserved for games I believe don't break the immersion and are, for lack of a better word, perfect. This game, if metacritic allowed for it, would easily be a 9.5.
    Full Review »