Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two, gamers play as Mickey Mouse & Oswald the Lucky Rabbit, Disney's first cartoon celebrity, in an all-new co-op adventure to save the magical world of Wasteland and alter it forever. Interact with these characters like never before in this heroic adventure.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    Epic Mickey 2 once again pays heartfelt tribute to animation history, and does it with style and sincerity. As with the original game, anyone who loves Disney, Mickey Mouse, or just animation history in general will find something to enjoy here, and the fact that the game is a superb platformer and co-op title is icing on the cake.
  2. Nov 17, 2012
    80
    Except for a still-finicky camera (and Oswald being an adorable pain in the ass), I really enjoyed Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two. The Rainbow Caverns stage is one of the prettiest I've ever seen, the animation style for the cut-scenes is simply beautiful FMV, and the puzzles-while not terribly difficult-are fun to solve.
  3. 70
    It's one of those perfectly imperfect games you'll grow to love, even with its annoyances.
  4. Nov 17, 2012
    60
    Seeing the Warren Spector name on such a mediocre title breaks the heart. Epic Mickey 2 has a solid nucleus, one with potential, but everything crashes to the ground in the end, due to the bad A.I. and the not-so-great gameplay mechanics.
  5. 60
    Sequel blazes with colors but any significant advancements since the previous game are hardly noticeable. [Christmas 2012]
  6. 50
    Epic Mickey 2 is like a wonderful celebratory book of Disney lore where 80% of the pages have been torn, ripped, doodled over or spilled coffee on. On a base level there are numerous things to love, but the actual playing of the game turns that joy into hard, bitter anger.
  7. Nov 17, 2012
    20
    It's a gormless, chafing, unquestionably horrid little waste of time. Only the hardcore Disney obsessive need look into this one, and I don't advice they look too deeply.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Despite some flaws, this game exudes pure love for the Disney universe and fantastic art direction. For those who love the medium and seek entertainment beyond the established formula, this a worthy experience. I'm having a lot of fun exploring every nook and corner and often finding unexpected surprises, steeped in the Mickey Mouse lore. Collapse
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    Having played the Wii version first time round, I couldn't wait to have a go at this. AND i wasn't disappointed. The good stuff - Oswald! Co-op....fantastic artwork....if you are a Disney fan, you'll love the detail of characters past and present

    The disappointing stuff - the camera angle is the biggest issue for me! having played the first game on the wii, I loved it but the camera made the game feel awkward! Some tricky moments which took some patience

    The game requires some skill at times as there are tricky bits. Its great for kids and adults alike and you will no doubt capture some of that long last childhood fun.

    If you love Disney, you'll love this! If not, you'll still have some fun.
    Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    4
    PROS: Revisit the characters you love; beautiful design; good voice work; game designed for Co-Op.
    CONS: Game designed for Co-Op;
    irritating AI; irritating camera; too many collectibles, BOTTOM LINE: I wanted to love this game I really enjoyed EM1 but combining Oswald's horrible AI with the doom of an uncooperative camera meant I couldn't finish single-player. Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    3
    Not much to say other than I played for about 30 minutes before quitting because I was so mind numbingly bored with it. Just nothing interesting or engaging to get me to keep playing. Save your time and money on this one. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    1
    This game was a great waste of money. My advice to you is just not to get it. The graphics were terrible, the game play left me wanting much more, and it gives a bad name to anything affiliated with Micky Mouse.At times dull game mechanics made the game almost to easy and there were more bugs than enemy's. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2012
    1
    Wow....where to start...I was really looking forward to playing this game. I'm a Disney fan and I love playing in games that capture the essence of those worlds like Kingdom Hearts did. This game looked promising from Warren Specture's love for Disney and the trailers, but wow...I'm extremely disappointed to say that this game is beyond broken. FIrst of all the when I started off the game, and played the game for about 3 mins I realized that the game was broken because of the camera being ridiculously low and way too zoomed out which makes platforming near impossible and creates this detached feeling when playing the game...the camera is so zoomed out that you don't even feel like you are playing the game and more like your watching someone else play the game...yeah its a very wierd feeling. So I was like alright this game is already 6, but maybe its still playable, from there I attempted to do some platforming which yeah...didn't go too well. I realized then that the game would be a 5 at best since the camera made the game broken....Well being a Disney fan, I pressed on...only to be surprised that the game could get horrificly worse. The next thing the game threw at me was a couple puzzles. There was no clear instruction of what to do and when it does give you a hint, you are so caught up in trying to adjust your camera in a decent angle you weren't paying attention to what it was saying...but don't worry, your ai companion talks in an endless loop, so you'll eventually hear him talking....except again his instructions aren't clear...so you'll still be clueless on what to do. Next, the combat is atrocious. The enemy and your partner, Oswalds AI is horrible and broken. The thing that makes this so disheartening is that the world actually looks awesome to explore and if it weren't for these simple but important design decisions, I could see this game being a blast to play. The voice acting is great too. Perhaps they'll release a patch to fix those issues...I really never thought I would play and rate a game 1 out of 10 this generation that had these high production values. This game was so incredibly frustrating I only could play about 45 minutes before I really couldn't take it anymore and I was really trying to push through it. Its just really a shock considering how much love was put into capturing the essence of Mickey Mouse and his world, but how these simple, important game elements could be so broken...its very mind boggling. Anyways, I wouldn't recommend anyone buying this game unless you want to be really pissed off ;) Expand