User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 57
  2. Negative: 8 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2010
    3
    Total disaster of a launch. Was so looking forward to this game. Game is good but is so full of bugs, don't they have Beta Testers? Worst of all is the corrupt save bug. I played it for 2 days then started it up again and got the corrupt auto save error. Which, because there is only one save slot, causes u to lose all championship progress and forces you to start at the very beginning. Basically unplayable, do u really want to go through 18 races only to find you lose everything and have to start again. Unforgivable. So what I have here is a game in which I can race single Grand Prix's, do time trials and multiplayer. Think I'll go back to Forza 2. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2010
    2
    In short words, this game is a BETA. The damage system is worse than psx games, your car is practically a tank even with full damage enabled and you can only break the fornt wing. The IA is stupid, CPU controlled cars runs in the same way in non-timed laps or even with damages, the IA is inconstat between tracks, some are really hard and other really easy, and additionally his qualify are fakes, you can find more info about that in lot of websites. The penalty system is also stupid and ignores a lot of F1 rules and also there is no safety car. The car physics are unrealistic even with full simulation enabled, if your car is spining simply push the brake and it magically aims to the right direction again in milisecons, you can also full brake for long without skid, and if you full throttle there is some kind or awful auto-clutch.

    The pad controls are bad calibrated, with both xbox and ps3 controllers, the direction respond in abrupt way and the throttle only respond in the last half range.

    There is no telemetry to know how good are yours car adjusts so isn't possibe to fine tune your car. Online play works leaky or simply doesn't work.

    You want more? waste your money in this game and you'll find thousands of bugs making this game unplayable and a lot of unfinished stuff.
    Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2010
    1
    I'm sorry but for any good things I would talk about in this game they are FAR outweighed by the many many bugs. It's completely unacceptable they Codemasters would release a game with this many bugs. My advice for anyone thinking about buying this game is to wait and see if the much awaited 'patch' that Codemasters are meant to be releasing actually fixes many of the problems. I've never played a game with this many blatant errors and it's a joke they Codemasters can release a game like this so poorly tested. Should the patch fix the many issues, I will of course return with a more balanced review on the game because as I've already said, you can't make excuses for the game just because it 'looks' good or some other aspect plays ok when such glarin Major errors are in place...avoid it like the plague for the moment!â Collapse
  4. Feb 17, 2012
    3
    First thing, if you have the money to buy F1 2011, buy F1 2011 rather than 2010. If not, 2010 is still an alright buy. For a huge F1 fan I got this game and expected it go be good. I thought it was fun for the first couple of races until you realise how stupid the cars are to handle. No, F1 cars do not spin at every corner if you have traction control on, and do not even attempt to prove me wrong. The cars feel so much different in 2011 and they are about as far apart in handling wise as Miami is from Hong Kong. The same cannot be said between F1 2010 and F1 2011 in real life as they are much more similar. Overall this game's multiplayer is awful and the career doesn't really have anything to keep you hooked. The Virgin car feels near enough exactly the same as a McLaren which isn't good. I could set a time just half a second slower in a Virgin than a McLaren which is nowhere near what the actual 3-6 seconds it was in the real season. If you are looking for a cheap racing game try Forza 3 or Midnight Club: LA, this game just isn't good enough in my opinion, however 2011 is so much better and is probably the best racing game I have ever played. Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2010
    0
    I'm sorry but for any good things I would talk about in this game they are FAR outweighed by the many many bugs. It's completely unacceptable they Codemasters would release a game with this many bugs. My advice for anyone thinking about buying this game is to wait and see if the much awaited 'patch' that Codemasters are meant to be releasing actually fixes many of the problems. I've never played a game with this many blatant errors and it's a joke they Codemasters can release a game like this so poorly tested. Should the patch fix the many issues, I will of course return with a more balanced review on the game because as I've already said, you can't make excuses for the game just because it 'looks' good or some other aspect plays ok when such glarin Major errors are in place...avoid it like the plague for the moment!â Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Jan 24, 2011
    90
    Whilst admittedly rough around the edges in parts, the bulk of the virtual racing experience is entirely refreshing.
  2. Jan 12, 2011
    80
    F1 2010 isn't for everyone, but if you like it, you'll like it a lot for quite a while.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    82
    THE F1 Game. A Must Buy for racing sims and F1 fans.