Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 90
    Codemasters Racing's typical attention to detail and presentation values continue. This is a good evolution of the F1 series and the most enjoyable F1 game I have played since 1997's F1:CE.
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    90
    Overall F1 2012 is a great step forward for the F1 series. It's extremely fun and highly addictive and with the amount of game modes available, it even caters for the recreational gamer. Although the AI could do with some beefing up, this is a racing game that should definitely be on your 'to get list'. I'm off to set some lap records in Monte Carlo.
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    90
    There's no doubt F1 2012 is the best game in the series, in both content and execution, but it still feels to me like this franchise needs a year off.
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    90
    F1 2012 is racing at its finest and it successfully manages to be a serious simulation and available for new players at the same time. Those who take the time to understand the games mechanics will be rewarded with one of the best racing games of this generation.
  5. Sep 20, 2012
    88
    This installment of F1 series is another great hit from Codemasters. Few new features enhance the global formula, while the gameplay remains adaptive and funny.
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    89
    Codemasters once again proves their worth in the racing genre with undoubtedly the best of their F1 series to date.
  7. Oct 9, 2012
    92
    F1 2012 isn't without a small amount of bugs and areas to improve on (which Codemasters may have already addressed by the time this hits the site) but whether you're a current owner of an F1 title or are looking to jump in, this year's release is an easy sell.
  8. Sep 17, 2012
    88
    Breathless, edge-of-the-seat racing from the five red lights to the chequered flag. [Nov 2012, p.78]
  9. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    It's hard to see how core F1 gameplay can be done better on current-gen and there's a wealth of gameplay challenges to explore. If you passed up F1 2011 because it was too similar to F1 2010, you'll find F1 2012 a massive leap forward.
  10. Sep 27, 2012
    90
    All the polish, options and new modes are all well and good, but without a precise handling model and intelligent AI, then F1 2012 wouldn't be worth the upgrade, so the fact Codemasters have managed to spend the year getting that aspect right, plus improve all the bells and whistles is just so refreshing to see.
  11. Sep 18, 2012
    88
    F1 2012 provides licenses, tracks, new modes and the usual high demands to players. The racing simulation consolidates its claim to be the best F1 game on the market.
  12. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    It's a title that demands skill and tactics over thoughtless speeding, and as such will likely lose the interest of less committed players.
  13. Oct 13, 2012
    90
    Additions like local weather and longer races seem simple changes, but make F1 2012 even more realistic. Racing is so intense that it isn't hard to lose yourself in F1 2012. Not every mode is as elaborate and there are some minor faults, but F1 2012 is simply too complete to worry about that.
  14. Oct 1, 2012
    89
    An evolutionary step in Codemasters' series, with great improvements in almost every area. Unmissable by every Formula One lover.
  15. Sep 24, 2012
    95
    F1 2012 is by far the most satisfying, all-encompassing F1 experience yet. From the immersive graphics to the full-on career mode and the brilliant Season Challenge, it's as though Codemasters have thought of everything. Highly recommended.
  16. 90
    Codemasters has tweaked the driving physics to work surprisingly well with a stock Xbox 360 controller.
  17. Sep 17, 2012
    88
    The most authentic F1-Game to date - with improved gameplay and graphics. The AI might not be perfect and sometimes you can take a shortcut without being punished, but all in all F1 2012 is a great game with tons of content and options.
  18. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Another podium-worthy effort from Codemasters that deserves to be doused in expensive champagne once more. F1 2012 is the best Formula One game Codies has made to date, welcoming newcomers with open arms, while refusing to dial down the realism for the established fans. A tough balancing act that F1 2012 pulls off with aplomb.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    This game has great tutorials and a load of options for new and experienced F1 players/fans. Career mode has many options that can be changed between each race (including how long each race is). My only issue is that the controls are so sensitive that you can only play with a new controller. Loads of great racing hours ahead for F1 fans. Full Review »
  2. Sep 30, 2012
    3
    Being a lifelong F1 fan as well as gamer I was very excited by release of F1 2010 by Codemasters. Although the game wasn't as much of a simulation as some wished for, and filled with game glitches upon release I still enjoyed the game to a large degree. Codemasters have a great history of 'sami-simulation' driving games and F1 2010 had little competition since they took over the motorsport license.

    Although there was a worry of 2011 having very worth the buy by games, the new rules changes in F1 sport gave the game hope of second success. Features like KERS and DRS made this instalment of the game feel like a new experience, and even though the game was again released with few bugs and glitches, it received positive reviews from the license games around. Now onto 2012, due to no gameplay effected changes in the real sport, little new was expected in the game itself. Upon release the main drastic difference were visuals of the game. Many reviewers and gamers around jumped to premature positive reviews. Don't be fooled. Yes, visually the game is gorgeous, and few extra game modes. To break it down; the Young Driver Test is totally pointless. Not only it does very little regarding teaching you how to drove and controle a F1 car, but it's not even representative of the real F1 Young Driver Tests each year. The Champions mode is an interesting addition, with player racing against some of the best drivers on the grid this year, but the scenarios become repetitive after a while and very little creativity is put into it by the developers. The Career mode is the bigerst disappointment. Not only it's very similar in many was of the borring career mode in previos edition, but its parts like media interviews and post-race press conference have been removed. The immersion is very disappointing and could do with a more creative approach like we had in TOCA Test driver back in the day. Another thing that has been tweaked to a large degree are the car physics. If it's better or worst can probably be a individual opinion of people who play it, personality I like it, but what I hate about the game, and by hate I should say despise, are the car physics in the rain, especially since in this new edition of the game many of the races have been designed to pit for a tire change multiple times due to the changing weather conditions, now that's great and at first I was excited by this news, but after driving it multiple times now in wet and intermediate tires the driving feels so unpredictable and with no indication (or mention in the Young Drivers Test 'tutorial'), you will often find yourself frustrated with rage, swearing at your TV, as your F1 car slides on the rode as if someone made a prank by dipping your intermediates in oil before you drove out of the pits. I used to love the rain races in 2011 version, actually I liked them so much I would be very excited every time rain was announced for the next race. In the 2012 version it's not even a challenge, its a lottery ticket every corner you turn into you just don't know what will happen. If you change your tires for wet in heavy intermediate conditions the vehicle is simply uncontrollable, for you only, as AI passes you by in (often in same tires as you have) twice the speed you manage to achieve.

    When it comes to AI, I found them very unpredictable, which again should be a good thing to have. Unfortunately that is not the case here, as the AI drivers decide randomly to slow down half the speed in certain corners, then next lap speed though it as if spirit of Ayrton Senna himself controlled them. Also, on straights sometimes I wonder if AI drivers have an invincible DRS open as they catch up to you at immense speeds just to slam on breaks right on your tail (instead of overtake you on the side).

    There are many other issues with this game I could list, but I think I covered the most notable points which I found frustrating with this release. I know many games our there, as well as reviewers, claim to really like this game and consider it the best release by Codemasters of this license so far. Personally, I think it's a good game, but I won't rate it high just because it looks nice but plays poorly like many people do these days. I consider F1 2011 to be the best version of the game so far, and I would gladly continue playing my 2011 version if I haven't already sold it.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    If you're new to the franchise and you like Formula 1, go buy this game, you'll love it. If like me you're a dedicated F1 player since the release of F1 2010 and you're wondering how it compares to last year's F1 2011, well as usual, it's greatly improved but there's a few bugs here and there. The new modes and features (driver test, champion mode, localized weather..etc) are nice but they're only relevant for a short period of time. Nothing much is new also in online multiplayer. Where F1 2012 truly shines is on the improvements Codemasters made to the core part of the game: Handling is much much better (F1 2010 was too strict, F1 2011 too lenient, this year we have the best of both world.. you need to nurse your car, mistakes can cost you big time and the car doesn't feel like it's on rails), engine sounds are fantastic, the game is now using more realistic lighting and the tracks are better detailed than before... you can see that in the demo, for instance at Monza. The AI is much smarter than in the previous games, much more competitive and doesn't back off as easily. It's also more respectful and careful not to make contact. For the first time in this franchise I'm enjoying some real wheel to wheel battles with AI drivers. On the downside, the penalty system is still very unfair and inaccurate, and you can't turn it off. Illegal overtakes give you a couple of seconds to give the position back and the "legal" borders of the tracks are better cut than last year... so it's still an improvement. Tyre wear doesn't scale anymore and engines blow up when you downshift too rapidly... some people consider these to be cons, but I think they improve the realism of the game. Overall, it's still the best F1 game out there and arguably one of the best racing games on consoles. I'm delighted with the improvements made by Codemasters and I'm not going back to F1 2011 :) Full Review »