Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 135 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Create a hero based on your actions: age and evolve a hero or villain through the actions you select and the path you follow - be it for good, evil, or somewhere on the continuum. Fabricate your living legend: Through deeds and actions, build a name for yourself across the land. RecruitCreate a hero based on your actions: age and evolve a hero or villain through the actions you select and the path you follow - be it for good, evil, or somewhere on the continuum. Fabricate your living legend: Through deeds and actions, build a name for yourself across the land. Recruit allies and followers. Gain glory or notoriety. Who will you be? With an entirely new lighting system, slick new interface, all new textures, models and gameplay, Fable Anniversary is the full HD, definitive Fable experience. Fable Anniversary includes all-new Xbox 360 exclusive content, including Achievements, The Lost Chapters and Xbox SmartGlass integration. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Some 10 year old problems are still here proving that Lionhead didn't do its best during the port, but Fable -even after all those years- remains one unique fairytale of a game.
  2. Feb 11, 2014
    80
    Despite frame rate issues and some bugs, Fable Anniversary is still a fresh and entertaining experience that deserves old (and new) fans attention.
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    75
    Fable Anniversary is a game with all the good and less attractive parts of Fable: The Lost Chapters. It concerns a big visual overhaul that doesn’t work as well as it should in every part of the game and should’ve gotten a bit more attention. The strength of this adventure game remains intact though.
  4. Feb 3, 2014
    70
    This is a great example of how a HD remake is supposed to be. If you're aware of the limitations you will find in a ten-year-old game, it's a good choice.
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    65
    With all of its upgrades and love, Fable Anniversary really is the original Fable in a brand new suit, warts and all.
  6. Feb 11, 2014
    60
    It's same old Fable, and this is a good chance to try it if you've missed the original (and the expansion). Sadly, this remaster shows a lot of graphical hiccups, and a less than good frame rate, despite its high pricing.
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    40
    The story has some minor twists and turns, but most of them can be seen from miles away, and its best characters and moments come and go in the cutscenes, not as part of gameplay.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    Whats there to say? One of the best games of all time updated with fantastic modern graphics.

    If you liked the original you will enjoy it
    Whats there to say? One of the best games of all time updated with fantastic modern graphics.

    If you liked the original you will enjoy it again. If you havent played the original you're in for a treat.
    Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Classic Fable. If you loved Lost Chapters, then this is for you. It's the remake that the series deserves, and it's hours of enjoyment fromClassic Fable. If you loved Lost Chapters, then this is for you. It's the remake that the series deserves, and it's hours of enjoyment from beginning to end. if you're coming into the series for the first time, then this is a great place to start. Expand
  3. Feb 20, 2015
    9
    I remember getting all hyped for the game's release in February and I finally got it.

    For one I love it. The graphics have been
    I remember getting all hyped for the game's release in February and I finally got it.

    For one I love it.

    The graphics have been remastered to HD and they look beautiful. However, I do dislike the large eyes that the characters have. I feel that they could've been given a more realistic appearance since their head looks like it contains a chimp's skull.

    The music is how it always should be; passive, fitting but also at times quite unnerving. They haven't touched it, which is excellent.

    The game play is what I remember from 10 years ago. The combat is a lot easier than I remember but the enemies are less forgiving. Some enemies can knock you back, which is tedious when it comes to playing.

    Overall I give this game a 9 since it is a brilliant example of the Fable franchise at its prime. It works very well, only with the odd bug, and it is nostalgic in every way. I simply love it.
    Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    With updated graphics, achievements, the bonus "Lost Chapters" content, and improvements to the controls and save system, this is arguably theWith updated graphics, achievements, the bonus "Lost Chapters" content, and improvements to the controls and save system, this is arguably the new best way to experience the first Fable game. Things like fishing and combat haven't aged the best, and a few irritating glitches are still around, but they don't change the fact that this is one RPG that still holds up well after all these years. I have to give special praise to the updated graphics, because they make the game look on par with most modern games. If you have not experienced Fable yet, or are just looking for an excuse to revisit it, this "Anniversary" edition is a great way to do so. I give it an 8.8/10-Great. Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2014
    7
    One thing I really enjoyed about Fable was the humour. Some of the comments from the people, and living things, that you meet along the wayOne thing I really enjoyed about Fable was the humour. Some of the comments from the people, and living things, that you meet along the way will have you laughing. That, coupled with the open world, relatively free roaming feel of the game are two reasons why it merits a 7. The relatively high number of crashes is a problem, and the game is not very challenging to progress through. But still an enjoyable game! Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2014
    7
    This is the first, and probably best, of the Fable series. Unfortunately there are also lots of bugs and a few poor design issues. It is notThis is the first, and probably best, of the Fable series. Unfortunately there are also lots of bugs and a few poor design issues. It is not simply a matter of recompiling code to bring it up to X360. The system is different than the original Xbox and some adjustments are needed but it doesn't appear that the devs bothered to change anything other than update the graphics. The most obvious place this occurs is with the pub games. Most are timed and the X360 controls aren't quick enough to handle the tight timing requirements. You basically have to resort to cheating to win them. The card pair games is pretty much random as to whether you can win or not because the devs didn't seem to bother play testing it first. The coin golf games use physics that is inconsistent even within strokes of a single game. Overall the pub games didn't transition well and the game suffers because of it.

    There are larger bugs as well. Later in the game it would start to freeze when multiple spell effect sounds occurred at the same time. This could happen within minutes of starting the game or after an hour. A hard reset of the system was required.

    Yet another issue was with the graphics. In the coin golf games you had to alter your view angle otherwise you'd be looking at the surface of a glass. But this extended beyond the pub games into the world as well. On several occasions people were walking sideways through the world.

    If you've never played Fable on Xbox or PC then this is a pretty good game but accept the fact that the devs put minimal effort into it to port it to X360 while they work on the next game in the series.
    Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    0
    What a disappointment, but what should I expect from Lionhead nowadays anyways?

    I loved the original Fable Lost Chapters. It's one of the
    What a disappointment, but what should I expect from Lionhead nowadays anyways?

    I loved the original Fable Lost Chapters. It's one of the best games ever made.

    However this is a lazy attempt at a Remake. You think they would put more time into remaking the best thing they ever created.

    Reasons why its good.

    Background Art Style - The background art is higher resolution and looks better. They managed to keep the unique style of the background.

    DLC - It seems the main reason to buy this is hoping theyll come out with new anything. We only get some new clothes to roleplay with or whatever, but it costs around $15 extra. Maybe theyll add new places or something, probably not though.

    Music and sound effects werent touched - thank god they didnt mess up the sound like they did the art

    The reasons why its bad.

    Art Style for everything but the Background- They just added more polygons and texture space, which dont equal better graphics. They completely flew over the original designs and the characters no longer have the unique touch the original had. They blew over the ui as well. It was much more bold and engaging, now its thin and weak looking. I just dont understand how the artists could just blow right over the unique style and have the scary face children and poor looking hair styles pass. Another example of a specific art scew up, the Normal hair style specifically shows on the card that it has small strands of hair in the front, but they made him have fat strands of hair over his face, so you cant even see his face and he looks like an emo.

    Lighting - The original had bright lighting that went with the fantasy world. This game is dark and gray looking. Its like im wandering around in horribly lit clay world.

    They Fixed Nothing! - All of the glitches and abuses are still in the game. They had 10 years to figure out what was wrong with the last game and fix it. All they did was create new art and do nothing else. The animation and controls are still choppy if not worse then the xbox version. They couldnt even allow us to choose which books to give the librarian, he still chooses random books and you have to go through hoops to get him to choose the ones you want.

    They could have done so much more - They should have spent more time on this and just charge the full $60. They could have added features from the last games, like coop (play as a mercenary or your hero perhaps) or leaderboards for quests scores, maybe more branches for certain quests, a 5th level for spells... anything! They could have fixed the glitches that were there 10 years ago. It's not like they needed to add a whole new town, just some new side quests or any small addons. A lot of people playing fable now, hadnt played this on the xbox so they could have just released this like a new game and recreate the experience. If their target market was the old players, did they really think this lazy job would pass? They act like achievements matter... no one cares about your all new achievements... achievements are a basic thing in every game now.

    So basically, just buy the old Fable The Lost Chapters for the xbox. It has better looking art even though its lower resolution. All you gain from this game is the dlc costumes which basically make this a $60 game anyways... and you can talk to your friends in a party since this is an xbox 360 game (has nothing to do with the actual game). This is just a small summary of what I could remember while playing this and its late so I cant go over everything they did wrong.
    Collapse

See all 33 User Reviews