Fable II Xbox 360

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2436 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 9, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game. In my mind the user score is more accurate than the metacritic score. Fable is decent, has a good story line and is fun. Also graphics are exceptional. Problem is this game gets boring towards the end. Worth playing.
  2. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    I very much enjoyed Fable II. Character interactions, combat controls, and the expression system are unique among RPGs which makes for a refreshing feel. I like toying with the locals as much as I enjoy toying with my own morality. The only major issue was feeling like the game was over too quickly (which was unfortunately the same problem with the original Fable). There were lots of oddI very much enjoyed Fable II. Character interactions, combat controls, and the expression system are unique among RPGs which makes for a refreshing feel. I like toying with the locals as much as I enjoy toying with my own morality. The only major issue was feeling like the game was over too quickly (which was unfortunately the same problem with the original Fable). There were lots of odd little achievments along the way that were also fun. :) Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    FANTASIC GAME!! I loved the first fable i still play it to this day. I have rarely come by a Lion head studio game which i didn't like, the story wasn't my favorite if they would have stayed with the heros guild it would have made this game perfect. The dog is perfect, they did a great job with it. graphics were awesome. the game play was so much better then the first one. you can get moreFANTASIC GAME!! I loved the first fable i still play it to this day. I have rarely come by a Lion head studio game which i didn't like, the story wasn't my favorite if they would have stayed with the heros guild it would have made this game perfect. The dog is perfect, they did a great job with it. graphics were awesome. the game play was so much better then the first one. you can get more involded in your world and the world changes with you. fun game :) Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2011
    7
    A decent RPG, but not deserving of GOTY 2008 (Gamespot). The game-play was fun while it lasted, but the sense of achievement or adventure in the game was limited by how easy everything is, and how little there is to do.
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 7
    Characters: 10
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 10
    Multiplayer: 5
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 7
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 8.3/10 = A-
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    I enjoyed playing this game particularly with all the little options available, but it never really clicked for me. I never found the draw to come back and finish this one. Didn't stop me from playing the 3rd one on sale but it really didn't shine as much as I'd hoped it would.
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    4
    This is a really really stupid and pathetic game. Nearly all the quests and methods for making money are really boring and stupid. Literally, the best way to make money in this game involves filling beer mugs all day. RPGs like this are a complete waste of time: why would I want to do a bunch of things in a game more boring than real life? The combat can be fun, but it gets reallyThis is a really really stupid and pathetic game. Nearly all the quests and methods for making money are really boring and stupid. Literally, the best way to make money in this game involves filling beer mugs all day. RPGs like this are a complete waste of time: why would I want to do a bunch of things in a game more boring than real life? The combat can be fun, but it gets really repetitive after awhile, and the main story fails to keep the player engaged. This game can be addicting, but that is a bad thing, as it will suck hours of an idiot's life doing completely stupid things in a video game, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. Expand
  8. Nov 29, 2011
    5
    Its pretty average if you ask me and not as good as the first game. While Fable 2 is a ton more realistic and life like then the previous game, There are a ton and I mean a ton of bugs and glitches as well as a poorly designed world and simple combat. Its pretty disapointing.
  9. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    this is my review:
    pros
    -the story is the best in the series - combat is way better than the first one in a landslide -the world in the game is huge and there are a ton of a fun and exited side missions -lots of
    this is my review:
    pros
    -the story is the best in the series
    - combat is way better than the first one in a landslide
    -the world in the game is huge and there are a ton of a fun and exited side missions -lots of cusomization -can do almost anything (like buy and rent houses get married and have children)
    -the dog is an awesome addition to the series
    -beautiful graphics
    cons
    -co-op is horrible
    -this game crashed on me a few times (it may of been just of my game)
    Expand
  10. May 27, 2012
    4
    Can't believe this gets 89 on metacritic. This is a 7 out of 10 at best. Not that different from fable 1. Best thing about it is the humour. Really silly when a far better game like dragons dogma only gets 75. Some of these reviewers really do boost the so called AAA titles. Sad times.
  11. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Fable 2 is an incredible, enjoyable experience start to finish. An excellent re-tool of the magic, melee, and shooting system make combat much faster and more fluid, comparing the Fable 1. The music and ambient sound are very well done, as is the stylized architecture and populace.
    All of that aside, the main reasons to play this game are the incredible storyline and your dog. Your dog
    Fable 2 is an incredible, enjoyable experience start to finish. An excellent re-tool of the magic, melee, and shooting system make combat much faster and more fluid, comparing the Fable 1. The music and ambient sound are very well done, as is the stylized architecture and populace.
    All of that aside, the main reasons to play this game are the incredible storyline and your dog. Your dog is easily the greatest executed companion since Navi.
    Excellent game to replay time and time again.
    Expand
  12. May 17, 2012
    8
    This game is better then fable 3. The story while still am easy ride, is better then Fable 3's. It's also shorter. The combat isn't as easy and you will probably be knocked out at least once in your first play-through. However the real fun comes in with playing with your morality bars, and controlling real estate. I recommend this cheaper title over it's successor.
  13. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    I played this game rather late without any real knowledge of its failed promises or anything of that sort. I just gave it a try one day, and found it extremely endearing. While combat is simplistic and apparently magic is overpowered, I played through focusing primarily on melee and secondarily on ranged with minimal attention to magic. I found combat satisfying that way, although it wasI played this game rather late without any real knowledge of its failed promises or anything of that sort. I just gave it a try one day, and found it extremely endearing. While combat is simplistic and apparently magic is overpowered, I played through focusing primarily on melee and secondarily on ranged with minimal attention to magic. I found combat satisfying that way, although it was still rarely a real challenge with the few times I had to use the resurrection phials. The marriage and dating aspects could've been a lot better, as they were bland as others have rightly pointed out. That said, I loved the world itself, the silly characters in the quests, and even the main (if short) quest. It isn't top-tier by any means, but it is surprisingly enjoyable nonetheless. Expand
  14. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    The overall feeling I had with this game is that it took most of what the original did wrong and made it right but also inexplicably left out most of what the first game did right. The magic in this game just didn't feel as fun as it did in Fable, you didn't feel like an unstoppable powerhouse and that's probably because they didn't want you to be one. However that's what I liked about theThe overall feeling I had with this game is that it took most of what the original did wrong and made it right but also inexplicably left out most of what the first game did right. The magic in this game just didn't feel as fun as it did in Fable, you didn't feel like an unstoppable powerhouse and that's probably because they didn't want you to be one. However that's what I liked about the original game, running around in Union Jack boxers beating up guards with a stick, it was funny. I feel that a lot of the humour was lost in this game. Unfortunately it doesn't replace the humour with a more solid storyline, that is, unless you're playing as the good guy. I always feel that Fable would have benefitted if instead of calling you Evil when you were getting up to mischief, they called you a "bit of an a**hole who still gets the job done" because there was a point in the game when I was standing head and shoulders above Theresa wearing a dark trench coat and a pirate hat and I felt like I was being told off by my mother. In Fable this would have been funny but the sequel just didn't quite pull it off. Still a very fun game, pity they never bothered releasing it for PC. Expand
  15. Jan 14, 2013
    6
    If you're after a decent economy, a great selection of weapons and a fully fleshed out sandbox RPG, Fable 2 might just be the game for you.
    Graphically superior to Fable 1 and Superior in every field to Fable 3, I always come back to it every year to play through again.
    You can also train up your dog, build statues of yourself, buy potions which give you experience points, buy shops,
    If you're after a decent economy, a great selection of weapons and a fully fleshed out sandbox RPG, Fable 2 might just be the game for you.
    Graphically superior to Fable 1 and Superior in every field to Fable 3, I always come back to it every year to play through again.
    You can also train up your dog, build statues of yourself, buy potions which give you experience points, buy shops, rent out properties without having to maintain them.

    Additionally, the player can make money even when the game isn't switched on. Every hour, the money the player makes through a rented property gets added on regardless of whether the game is on or not.
    Also, One of the demon doors in the game provides the best jump scare in a game ever.
    Expand
  16. Feb 8, 2013
    7
    Fable 2 is a good game. The story is fine but could have been better, the combat is a bit sluggish but okay once you get used to it. The dog feature was nice as it follows your alignment and changes like you and the towns are lively as villagers and guards spawn back if they die. I was disappointed in the ending though as it wasn't a good ending. But overall I had fun playing this game andFable 2 is a good game. The story is fine but could have been better, the combat is a bit sluggish but okay once you get used to it. The dog feature was nice as it follows your alignment and changes like you and the towns are lively as villagers and guards spawn back if they die. I was disappointed in the ending though as it wasn't a good ending. But overall I had fun playing this game and maybe you can too. Expand
  17. Mar 17, 2013
    6
    Fable II by Lionhead Studio's is a solid action adventure game but it just lacks in a lot of area's, The game is way too easy which takes away any challenge the game could of had, the world is sometimes very graphically appealing and has a magical feel, but other times it's bland and uninteresting, It's a very mixed bag with some silly design choices. The fact that you have to sit thereFable II by Lionhead Studio's is a solid action adventure game but it just lacks in a lot of area's, The game is way too easy which takes away any challenge the game could of had, the world is sometimes very graphically appealing and has a magical feel, but other times it's bland and uninteresting, It's a very mixed bag with some silly design choices. The fact that you have to sit there doing boring work mini-games to get money is the most uninteresting game design I have seen in recent times, Your companion dog is a nice addition with some good AI to him with helping find you treasure and dig spots, But in the end Fable II is a technically solid title, but bad design choices bring it down dramatically. If you own an Xbox 360 and want a fantasy action adventure title, Fable II is a decent ride despite some issues but if you are looking for deep game design then you should look elsewhere as you will not find it here. Expand
  18. May 30, 2013
    8
    Colorful graphics, unique story, and appealing game play. Fable 2 is a gem that I'd recommend. It gets a fuzz bit repetitive and it has poor boss fights, but I enjoyed this game and highly recommend it.
  19. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely an amazing game, Picked it up cheap used with my friend and beat the whole thing pretty quickly. Fairly short, but makes up for it with extra side quests and things. My only issue with it *SPOILER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!* Is the ending. It just wasn't very satisfying. You kill the bad guy in a cutscene for gods sake! Not even a bossfight. But I think I can forgive that because I had so much fun playing the game Expand
  20. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    this is definatelly my favorite rpg game. Wonderful, colorful, living fantasy world, interesting plot, a lot of british humor and ofcourse chickens. A must have!
  21. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    Let me tell you straight away, I don't fully understand why I enjoyed this game, it's far from perfect. The combat isn't that good, your characters face is weird looking, the story could be drastically improved, but I have still spent an unimaginably high amount of time playing this game, and I don't regret a damn thing (maybe I regret getting the DLC). I recommend this game, even if ILet me tell you straight away, I don't fully understand why I enjoyed this game, it's far from perfect. The combat isn't that good, your characters face is weird looking, the story could be drastically improved, but I have still spent an unimaginably high amount of time playing this game, and I don't regret a damn thing (maybe I regret getting the DLC). I recommend this game, even if I don't really know why. Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2014
    7
    The main downfall with Fable 2 is, in my opinion, the fact that it is a victim of it's own success. Fable: The Lost Chapters was stunning, but Fable 2 was far less impressive. However, it was, by any stretch of the mind, a worthwhile game for the franchise.

    The story, I personally found, was slightly deeper and more innovative than the original, with three heroes who must come together
    The main downfall with Fable 2 is, in my opinion, the fact that it is a victim of it's own success. Fable: The Lost Chapters was stunning, but Fable 2 was far less impressive. However, it was, by any stretch of the mind, a worthwhile game for the franchise.

    The story, I personally found, was slightly deeper and more innovative than the original, with three heroes who must come together to defeat the current ruler of Albion. The game takes place in what appears to be around the 1700's. The regions are far more expansive than it's predecessor, and there is a lot more to collect and do, but the combat is not so great. Every time you get knocked down, you simply get up again like it was nothing, and lose any experience you dropped. This removes any specific challenge within the game, and makes it almost insulting to fans of the previous game. There are still legendary weapons, lots of property to buy, lots of dig spots, gambling, and a new feature to the series; jobs. You will earn money by activating the job at one of the work points, and then playing a minigame, which can get slightly repetitive after a while, but is good to make a little extra on the top. Property can still be purchased, and on occasion, is mandatory for specific quests and items.

    There isn't much more to say about this game. Just think Fable with less challenge, more collectibles, bigger regions, new characters, new story, new experience system, and you have Fable 2. Not perfect, but not terrible.
    Expand
  23. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    Fable II misses out on the top end of the scores for two reasons, the first being that it didn't deliver what it promised in the build up to it's release, a lot of the features qualities where exaggerated I mean the world responds to your actions but in a very poor way and the moral choice system is straight up garbage. The second reason it misses out is because it fails as an RPG, it'sFable II misses out on the top end of the scores for two reasons, the first being that it didn't deliver what it promised in the build up to it's release, a lot of the features qualities where exaggerated I mean the world responds to your actions but in a very poor way and the moral choice system is straight up garbage. The second reason it misses out is because it fails as an RPG, it's like the game can't decide weather its a hack and slash or a role player. I admit the world (well most of it) is built to RPG standards, there are a few linear bits, but the towns are great places to spend time but it's all for no reason. The game looks good with a Disneyesque presentation which gives the game real character and the characters themselves are fun and colourful with lots of well crafted quests, the combat is solid however a little repetitive but overall this game is well worth playing despite it not quite delivering on expectations. Expand
  24. May 22, 2014
    9
    I was thoroughly impressed with this video game. While it wasn't perfect I found the experience to be very enjoyable. There were lots of customizations, challenges, and various tasks to do. The sense of humor also helped the game immensely. I thought that was a large part of its appeal.
  25. Aug 14, 2014
    9
    This truly is an amazing game. The graphics are very good, as is the superb melee combat, which is brilliant. This is, in my opinion, the best Fable in the franchise. There seems to be an unlimited amount of things to do. Plundering, saving lives, hunting monsters, thieving, and exploring the vast expanse of Albion; one of the best open world's ever. Sure, the interactions are still tooThis truly is an amazing game. The graphics are very good, as is the superb melee combat, which is brilliant. This is, in my opinion, the best Fable in the franchise. There seems to be an unlimited amount of things to do. Plundering, saving lives, hunting monsters, thieving, and exploring the vast expanse of Albion; one of the best open world's ever. Sure, the interactions are still too cheesy and stupid to take seriously, but when my boy ran into a cave on his own, I actually got scared. And obviously, the RPG elements work extremely well. And the entire game is extremely well done. Expand
  26. Jul 30, 2014
    8
    Fable II is a fun, enjoyable experience for any RPG lover. I think this game really shines with the combat. The melee combat is very good and the movements are very fluent, the ranged attack is quite simple, and the magic system is also simple and works quite well. I enjoy the setting, it seems more fantasy like than other RPGs but the story isn't the greatest. The story is to just findFable II is a fun, enjoyable experience for any RPG lover. I think this game really shines with the combat. The melee combat is very good and the movements are very fluent, the ranged attack is quite simple, and the magic system is also simple and works quite well. I enjoy the setting, it seems more fantasy like than other RPGs but the story isn't the greatest. The story is to just find the other three heroes and take revenge on the antagonist, Lucien; I also think the ending is kind of anti-climatic. To me the story and world seems a little linear and there's not a whole lot of free roam except traveling to towns to do various activities like buying property or working a job, which is fun. This is a great game that I find to be more for gameplay value rather than tuning into the story, so it's still a very fun game. Expand
  27. Nov 16, 2014
    10
    Played it as a kid, I loved it, didn't play the first one though so I can't really compare it to that, but I do have Fable 3 so compared to that is freaking amazing
  28. Nov 4, 2015
    10
    I think this is the best game ever after GTA V/RDR/Fallout.
    This game is so fantastic, i finished it over 20 times and take a different Hero. Genious conception of dynamic changing of a Hero! I hope we will take PC/Xone remastered port
  29. Sep 25, 2016
    9
    Um dos melhores RPGS Ocidentais da geração passada. O jogo é excelente, com uma história excelente, com jogabilidade excelente e mecânicas excelentes. É um RPG obrigatório para donos de Xbox 360 e One.
  30. May 27, 2016
    10
    Fable II is one of the best game and RPG's ever, like a first one!
    It's very original, awesome story, CHOICES EVERYWHERE!
    Titan of gaming industry!
    Still waiting for a PC port
  31. Aug 31, 2016
    8
    I really enjoyed The Lost Chapters and everything that prevented TLC from being great has been improved here.
    The user interface needs to be sped up though and my dog doesn't fetch the ball, maybe he's got brain damage, not sure. Other than that I'm really enjoying the game. A lot to do apart from the quests
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 95 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 95
  2. Negative: 0 out of 95
  1. Fable II is everything Molyneux promised the first time around. It's funny, deep, emotional, epic, and, yes, wildly charming. We are already eager for a second playthrough, and we're betting a lot of you will have exactly the same reaction. [Dec 2008, p.68]
  2. Edge Magazine
    90
    It’s a game that builds gradually and then becomes irresistible, a beautiful lump of an RPG that continues beyond the close of its main campaign, and will have you thinking about it when you’re not at your 360. [Dec 2008, p.79]
  3. The combat handles well, it’s visually stunning, the voice acting and musical score are brilliant, and the epic storyline doesn’t end before it begins (like the first game did). But the most appealing thing about it is that it delivers everything that Molyneux has promised, plus it is oozing with wit and charm - something sorely lacking from many games nowadays. At the end of the day, Fable II is a triumph and a must buy.