Fable II Xbox 360

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2428 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Teli
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed The Lost Chapters and everything that prevented TLC from being great has been improved here.
    The user interface needs to be sped up though and my dog doesn't fetch the ball, maybe he's got brain damage, not sure. Other than that I'm really enjoying the game. A lot to do apart from the quests.
  2. AshtonJ
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    This is one of those games I enjoyed so much it hurt to finish. It had a story I loved and gameplay which kept me entertained throughout. One of the best games I have played to date.
  3. NasosT.
    Oct 20, 2008
    10
    The only game in ages to rival Zelda OOT epicness and greatness, fun and addictive combat that takes many replays to experience fully, amazing varied vistas, things to do until the second coming, a whole world to buy, interact with, and that is just an appetizer :) The story is great too, the quests varied and unique as in no game before, and when you are done replaying it 6-10 times, The only game in ages to rival Zelda OOT epicness and greatness, fun and addictive combat that takes many replays to experience fully, amazing varied vistas, things to do until the second coming, a whole world to buy, interact with, and that is just an appetizer :) The story is great too, the quests varied and unique as in no game before, and when you are done replaying it 6-10 times, there is always co-op and more things to do to your unique world Simply put, EPIC !!!! Expand
  4. AnonymousMC
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    i have never laughed so hard while playing a video game. humorous on levels other games can never hope to reach. i ate 5 live chickens in front of someone, i starved my children, i made a thriving town a ghost town, i farted on wealthy lady, i ran through the steets naked with guards chasing after me, i married 5 people in one day.
    my only gripe is that its WAY TOO EASY!!! you get
    i have never laughed so hard while playing a video game. humorous on levels other games can never hope to reach. i ate 5 live chickens in front of someone, i starved my children, i made a thriving town a ghost town, i farted on wealthy lady, i ran through the steets naked with guards chasing after me, i married 5 people in one day.
    my only gripe is that its WAY TOO EASY!!! you get mountains of money all the time, and if you spend them on health packs you can basically be invincible
    Expand
  5. AGamer
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    This was an awesome game, honestly I had no problems with this game. Some people might not like a Game like this(it's not as serious as some), but I had no problems with that either, so A Must-Buy for any Un-Serious Gamer.
  6. RavenWolfx
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    Goods news first. This game is entertaining and worth the purchase if you are into Action RPGs. The graphics are good (not amazing), the companion is interesting, the Spells are pretty cool looking, and the interface is user friendly. The bad news. The story is fairly short. Even with side quests, you will probably beat it in about 10 hours, maybe 15. There is no armor in the game, so you Goods news first. This game is entertaining and worth the purchase if you are into Action RPGs. The graphics are good (not amazing), the companion is interesting, the Spells are pretty cool looking, and the interface is user friendly. The bad news. The story is fairly short. Even with side quests, you will probably beat it in about 10 hours, maybe 15. There is no armor in the game, so you can only get more health, which annoys the hell outta me. The co-op doesn't let both of you use your own characters or weapons, which is a definate let down. Framerate drops when you use a high-level spell (especially in co-op). The appearance for Good characters is rather plain. The Evil characters get a lot more thought put into them. The character looks needs more customization, too few hair/tattoo options. They have cut out the tattooes for arms and legs, you can only get tattooes on your face and chest. While I listed a lot more bad points, I'm a negative kind of person. This game is still fun and at least worth a rent (a buy if you liked the orginal Fable or action RPGs). Expand
  7. Gregg
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game!! I have recently purchased the game and probably played only 6 hours. This is a hugely entertaining game and I have spent the majority of this time working as a blacksmith and investing in property, Im actually rating myself as quite the property guru. Therein lies the beauty of this game; you can play it as you see fit. In fact my girlfriend is playing this Absolutely fantastic game!! I have recently purchased the game and probably played only 6 hours. This is a hugely entertaining game and I have spent the majority of this time working as a blacksmith and investing in property, Im actually rating myself as quite the property guru. Therein lies the beauty of this game; you can play it as you see fit. In fact my girlfriend is playing this game in a sims like manner, buying houses, decorating them, buying clothes, changing her apperance, getting married, having kids and accumalting a nice little fortune. All of the above mentioned is a small part in wonderfully diverse game. The overall atmosphere of the game is great, from the voice acting to the presentation of the cities and the landscape. Walking around bowerstone market is much like walking around a real-life market, you hear the cries of "sales", the gossiping between the ladies, the men and woman at their respective stores or stands pushing for sales; all of this is truly immersive and of course if you are well liked you will have followers or at least you will be greeted as walk from place to another. Obviously there are all the normal rpg elements such as levelling up, increasing the potency of weapons etc. Of course there is the main storyline to follow which I believe is quite an epic tale. There are so many variables in this game such as the way your apperance changes depending on your actions, either good or evil, corrupt or pure; you can also become fat which is defendant on the food you eat, there really is just so much to the game. All in all this a fantastic immeresive experience and as mentioned one in which you can play as you see fit.....bottom line; you cannot really ask more from an RPG. Well Done PM!! Expand
  8. JoeD.
    Oct 20, 2008
    2
    Very disappointed with this game again lionhead studios have lied about just what features this game has pick up fallout or farcry2 before you bother with this title will only leave you with buyers regret raced out to pick this up at midnight launch here in Australia wish id stayed in bed AVOID.
  9. SarahS
    Oct 27, 2008
    7
    Like the first Fable, this is a decent title. It has a few bugs, it suffers from long load times, and you can't really enjoy exploring because of the poor graphics on a standard television... the menu is a bit clunky and slow, and that makes eating multiple items a chore. Combat is somewhat entertaining later on (it gets better as you 'level') but it's never Like the first Fable, this is a decent title. It has a few bugs, it suffers from long load times, and you can't really enjoy exploring because of the poor graphics on a standard television... the menu is a bit clunky and slow, and that makes eating multiple items a chore. Combat is somewhat entertaining later on (it gets better as you 'level') but it's never challenging. It has some cute features, such as marriage and getting your wife pregnant, and buying and selling property, but they aren't enough to sustain it. Also, the game is really rather short... I feel those features would be better utilized in a longer game. Also, the load times are annoying when you're traveling back and forth via fast travel to make a buck. Would be better on a PC (or if you could install.) Expand
  10. IronE
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    Engaging, open and fun. Main quest advances quickly, but if you take a bit of time exploring it becomes a lot more enjoyable. New magic system take some getting used to, but i like it. In an age of the MMOs creating a playstyleof find the '!' and complete the task, it is nice that they allow some freedom to have some imagination with the game. It is not quite as open as an Engaging, open and fun. Main quest advances quickly, but if you take a bit of time exploring it becomes a lot more enjoyable. New magic system take some getting used to, but i like it. In an age of the MMOs creating a playstyleof find the '!' and complete the task, it is nice that they allow some freedom to have some imagination with the game. It is not quite as open as an Oblivion, but you can have more impact on the game. I am sure that DLC will be coming soon and will expand the game even further. Expand
  11. DaveH
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Great game - I have put in over 30 hours already doing all the various activities around the world and am not halfway through the MQ. There are a few ways to play, either rush through the MQ, or explore and enjoy the world around you and sink tons of hours into the game by doing other things that are substantial to the world. There's no reason to complain that this game is too short Great game - I have put in over 30 hours already doing all the various activities around the world and am not halfway through the MQ. There are a few ways to play, either rush through the MQ, or explore and enjoy the world around you and sink tons of hours into the game by doing other things that are substantial to the world. There's no reason to complain that this game is too short if you have just rushed through it. Also of note is that the world and regions change after certain events (and depending on what your do makes them either prosperous or in ruin). Fable II is heaps better than the first installment. In my experience, spellcasting is EASY to use and as you add points into your spells, your lower tier spells charge faster and are more powerful. Combat is satisfying and often can encourage the use of many techniques (from melee, range, spellcasting) and is rewarded by boosting XP bonuses. Expand
  12. BrettH
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    It has been one of the finest gaming experiences I've had, and is among the best examples of the art form. That is subjective, of course. As with anything else in life, your enjoyment will depend on how you approach it. For example, if you went into the Sistine Chapel looking for "a kick-ass place to play paintball", and found that it "sucks because there is no Coke machine", It has been one of the finest gaming experiences I've had, and is among the best examples of the art form. That is subjective, of course. As with anything else in life, your enjoyment will depend on how you approach it. For example, if you went into the Sistine Chapel looking for "a kick-ass place to play paintball", and found that it "sucks because there is no Coke machine", you're probably not going to get much out of an RPG like Fable 2. Expand
  13. MattP
    Oct 30, 2008
    6
    In a word, meh. Fable was a really interesting game when it came out for the Xbox, and followed in the same vein as Jade Empire in the action-RPG realm, but Fable 2 doesn't really build on that idea any more, rather it expands on the general idea of Fable and just makes it MORE. There aren't enough items to keep me really interested (it reminded me of the the item recycling in In a word, meh. Fable was a really interesting game when it came out for the Xbox, and followed in the same vein as Jade Empire in the action-RPG realm, but Fable 2 doesn't really build on that idea any more, rather it expands on the general idea of Fable and just makes it MORE. There aren't enough items to keep me really interested (it reminded me of the the item recycling in WoW) and there is not immediacy to the game: nothing seems like it HAS to be done, which, in an RPG where you really don't have to do anything besides the main story, isn't good. In KotOR, you were really interested to see was happened when you solved the murder on Maanan, or in Oblivion you wanted to see the new and inventive way you could murder people in the Dark Brotherhood. But in Fable, meh. Expand
  14. Jack
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    I loved the original, and from digging into the unreleased content of the first game, I have found out what Peter meant when he said he was unsatisfied with the game. The second Fable promises to include everything from before as well as much more and also refining everything to perfection. I have no doubt that this will be the best 360 game of all time. Yeah rock on.
  15. WillWright
    Mar 10, 2008
    0
    Amazing how people are voting on an unreleased game! However, I guarantee you that it will not meet the hype. We all know which game will be the best.
  16. JozefK
    Oct 10, 2009
    5
    I really wanted to like it, but it was frankly a waste of time. The story was shallow, and with the ability to complete pretty much every aspect of the game with little to no-effort... there was little incentive to play. In the original I enjoyed going through the demon doors getting the legendary items, but what's the point when many of the weapons I can get from the stores are I really wanted to like it, but it was frankly a waste of time. The story was shallow, and with the ability to complete pretty much every aspect of the game with little to no-effort... there was little incentive to play. In the original I enjoyed going through the demon doors getting the legendary items, but what's the point when many of the weapons I can get from the stores are better. The main story was completed within some 8 hours with little incentive to play further aside for some slightly 'alternative' endings. Which make no real impact aside from unless you choose to have your dog resurrected (one of the endings) you won't be able to do many of the side quests. It just all feels redundant, especially for those who've played the original fable (which I have to say had significantly more depth). In the original fable it was genuinly fun upgrading my character, and progressing each abilities skill tree. But when you have a definitive 'best' ability, and no challenge within the gameplay itself it has a very 'what's the point in all this' feel, to everything. 800 gamerscore within 1 day of play, at which point it was returned to store. Very disappointing. Expand
  17. NickM
    Feb 1, 2009
    10
    A fantastically immersive game with a ridiculously broad scope. Aside minor control issues and a few minor bugs, I found my main criticism was that the game wasn't even bigger, unfair but illustrative of the huge potential this well crafted universe has. Fable 3 is definitely one to watch.
  18. MatthewM
    Mar 30, 2009
    6
    While not terrible, there simply isn't enough to do, most the side quests are completed as the main story progresses and if you miss any early ones out, it appears to become irreversible. While the bugs are less noticable than other titles, there are still several parts of this game that ruin its "open world" feel. As much as you can go back to places you've visited the roads While not terrible, there simply isn't enough to do, most the side quests are completed as the main story progresses and if you miss any early ones out, it appears to become irreversible. While the bugs are less noticable than other titles, there are still several parts of this game that ruin its "open world" feel. As much as you can go back to places you've visited the roads there are all too linear. As much as decision making was hyped up there can be parts of Fable 2 where players aiming for pure good/evil characters are forced to go down an unfavourable route to keep thier traits. i shall admit that the graphics work well with the setting.not really worth playing for those new to the series or genre. fable fans can expect some fun from it but dont get your hopes up on it besting the first game. Fable 2, an average game more light on content than light hearted. 63/100. Expand
  19. CoryD
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    I never played the first Fable so it took me a little while to settle into the second installment, but it's a blast once you start upgrading and getting into the meat of the game. Honestly, it took me little while to warm up to it, cuz it's quite a bit different than my fave rpg of all time, Oblivion, but it's a very solid game.. recommended buy!
  20. SeanL
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    addictive, deep and very fun. ignore all negative reviews, any fan of a solid rpg adventure will be in love with this game. there all small flaws, but the undeniable charm and beautiful graphics more than make up for it. combat is simple to pick up, but you can spend a long time truly mastering it. the plot is weak, but all the spoken dialouge is amazing. a must buy. anyone who gave this addictive, deep and very fun. ignore all negative reviews, any fan of a solid rpg adventure will be in love with this game. there all small flaws, but the undeniable charm and beautiful graphics more than make up for it. combat is simple to pick up, but you can spend a long time truly mastering it. the plot is weak, but all the spoken dialouge is amazing. a must buy. anyone who gave this game a negative review was obviously not playing the game a true gamer should. Expand
  21. JamesK
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    Fable 2 is a very cool game and I enjoy it very much. the only reson why I gave it an 8 instead of a 10 is because the loading scenes are too frequent and too long.
  22. RobH
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    love it, best RPG ever made. The play is amazing, loving the dog as a companion and the fighting is so simple but very addictive and can be used in many different styles from mashing the button to skilfully slaying enemys with well timed hits and combos. I also love buying everything in the game and the ability for towns to grow and change due to what you do is good as you feal as though love it, best RPG ever made. The play is amazing, loving the dog as a companion and the fighting is so simple but very addictive and can be used in many different styles from mashing the button to skilfully slaying enemys with well timed hits and combos. I also love buying everything in the game and the ability for towns to grow and change due to what you do is good as you feal as though what you do is better than if nothing happened ie. you destroy a town and days later its back to its old ways. Expand
  23. CarloF
    Nov 7, 2008
    5
    A big disappointment.... Not a gg at all. Very short and i can't immagine how to excuse the lack of deph that a RPG that has this metacritic score should have.
  24. ErikP.
    Oct 21, 2008
    6
    I have only played a little bit of the game, but I can already tell it's only going to be a marginal release. The graphics are beautiful on an HD quite stunning. That's the only good thing I can say at the moment. The controls are sluggish, the weapon design is weak, talking to people could be better. I mean if you're going to make a live action rpg take a note from I have only played a little bit of the game, but I can already tell it's only going to be a marginal release. The graphics are beautiful on an HD quite stunning. That's the only good thing I can say at the moment. The controls are sluggish, the weapon design is weak, talking to people could be better. I mean if you're going to make a live action rpg take a note from Bethesda with Oblivion. Make something dope and interesting that continues to have a lasting affect for days to come. There will be kids that like Fable and some that will not enjoy it. Those who don't enjoy it know what a real RPG is and can be. I would say look out for Fallout 3. That game is going to be crazy good. Expand
  25. ShawnK
    Dec 23, 2008
    7
    The first fable was way better but I think it still should be a must have for all xbox 360 owners. The graphics are awesome it is fun to play and I like how the people in the game react to your character. It could have had more regions like fable 1 and the map system could have been a lot better. They also should have never released it with all the glitches but it still is a great game The first fable was way better but I think it still should be a must have for all xbox 360 owners. The graphics are awesome it is fun to play and I like how the people in the game react to your character. It could have had more regions like fable 1 and the map system could have been a lot better. They also should have never released it with all the glitches but it still is a great game anyway. I really hope that lionhead makes a fable 3 but if they in fact do they should really concentrate on it a lot more and go back to more of the concepts from fable 1. Expand
  26. Daithi
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    This is a great game. Of course, Lionhead promised more than they could possibly deliver, but the depth is there for those who realize what they are looking at, with MANY hidden features. and this game is FUNNY. the comedy in this game is top notch, from the commentary down to the little descriptions of every little item or object. any game that sells "Flaccid Celery" is awesome in my book.
  27. BarryP
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Firstly, Robert H is a bit ignorant to think the only good game on the 360 is gears of war, JUST because it's a shooting game. In my opinion we need less of these types of whiny shooter players and more of these RPG games. Too many shooters and not enough variety of different genres. Fable II looks amazing, the story is captivating and it's so smooth to play.
  28. SteveM.
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Notice every low score for this game is written by an idiot? That said, I am no fanboy, and although I love me some good RPG's, this is it's own thing. This game, graded against it's own merits, is wonderful. Really, color me impressed. To not like this game, well, you must not have an appreciation for innovation. Or dogs.
  29. CrazyGameR
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Wow! If you haven't played the first Fable game (like me), I think you're in for an even bigger treat. This game is just simply pure fun. I find it so easy to get caught up in the world; so many things to do, so little time. The combat is very different from other games I've played (especially RPGs) but it is satisfying and deep nonetheless. The art direction is charming Wow! If you haven't played the first Fable game (like me), I think you're in for an even bigger treat. This game is just simply pure fun. I find it so easy to get caught up in the world; so many things to do, so little time. The combat is very different from other games I've played (especially RPGs) but it is satisfying and deep nonetheless. The art direction is charming and very fitting for the story. However, there are a lot of bugs that need patching (come on, Lionhead Studios) but, when you look at the game as a whole, they really won't bother you all that much. I promise. If you don't go out and buy this game, it will be your loss. Expand
  30. PatrickD
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Very deep, funny game with a lot of replay value. It;s an action RPG that skews a bit more adult in terms of humor (that's a good thing) and an interesting although not engrossing plot. It's not a perfect game as it is a bit buggy and co-op is a bit of a downer. The campaign is a great time though and if you want a good RPG experience, pick this game up.
  31. DanM
    Oct 25, 2008
    4
    I was excited for this game to come out and had it preordered. I've played maybe 13 hours in total and just feel that this has not been the experience I was looking for. The graphics are great but I'm just running into so many bugs and other problems. Plus my console has crashed too many times during those 13 or so hours because of this - I stopped counting at 6 crashes. I will I was excited for this game to come out and had it preordered. I've played maybe 13 hours in total and just feel that this has not been the experience I was looking for. The graphics are great but I'm just running into so many bugs and other problems. Plus my console has crashed too many times during those 13 or so hours because of this - I stopped counting at 6 crashes. I will be trading it in since the exchange value is still good. Expand
  32. [Anonymous]
    Oct 25, 2008
    0
    It's slow, and boring. It's too easy, so I have nothing to buy. I can make the game in just my first gear. And the coop is boring. I changed my mind for buying this not-so-long-lasting game. I hope they will fix this.
  33. MattF.
    Oct 26, 2008
    3
    Why does this game keep getting good reviews? The combat is awkward, navigation is anything but easy...I've lost so much respect for reviewers with all the 100's and high scores this gets. Just another over hyped game that people are too ignorant to realise is shit.
  34. JasonD
    Oct 26, 2008
    9
    Wonderfully designed game. Gameplay is engaging, the world is very large, and the game's sense of humor is spot on (I especially enjoyed the Evil Dead and Anchorman references). I find it very hard to put the game down. Highly recommended.
  35. JamalJ
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    Honestly, it's a fun game. Graphically and musically, a masterpiece in my opinion. If you've played fable 1, you'll notice a lot of the plot themes are recycled (one bad guy, tragic childhood, magical savior, bandit camp, an arena, a swampy area, and so on). I thought it was hilarious that, through the load screen captions, Lionhead made fun of themselves.."my village Honestly, it's a fun game. Graphically and musically, a masterpiece in my opinion. If you've played fable 1, you'll notice a lot of the plot themes are recycled (one bad guy, tragic childhood, magical savior, bandit camp, an arena, a swampy area, and so on). I thought it was hilarious that, through the load screen captions, Lionhead made fun of themselves.."my village burned down and parents are dead..cliche.." Going on..the story really isn't about the main quest, so i kept it till the end. Real estate had been greatly expanded- would have loved to see a general menu to control everything for that though--families are nice, and so on. Menu glitches get annoying..but be patient. This game will honestly make you feel like a little kid again from beginning to end, it is without a doubt worth playing through, but if you haven't already, do yourself a favor and play Fable I first. Expand
  36. NickP.
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    Extremely addicting. The more effort put into the game, the more fun and surprises encountered. Play with patience, and you will be rewarded with one of the most fun experiences with a video game ever.
  37. MikeR.
    Oct 27, 2008
    6
    Filled with glitches and the online Co-op is a waste of time. A few more months of development and polish could have made this game live up to its hype.
  38. PcF
    Oct 29, 2008
    8
    This game is pretty good and can be alot of fun. One thing that I really miss is that there is no mini map in the corner of your screen so it makes it diffcult to really explore. The little yellow sparkly line that guides you to quests will sometimes disappear for a few minutes, and once it lead me away from the quest that I had selected. The only other flaw I can say is that why does This game is pretty good and can be alot of fun. One thing that I really miss is that there is no mini map in the corner of your screen so it makes it diffcult to really explore. The little yellow sparkly line that guides you to quests will sometimes disappear for a few minutes, and once it lead me away from the quest that I had selected. The only other flaw I can say is that why does moving feel so weird. It feels like your feet aren't really moving you. Just your feet move when you move but it just feels disjointed. And turning makes you slow down like your running through molasses. Some minor flaws but nothing to bad, and overall a wonderful, addictive gaming experiance. Expand
  39. JustinC
    Oct 29, 2008
    4
    Awesome game play, very nostalgic. However, there aren't enough weapons/outfits. The spells didn't seem as fun, nor were they as useful (no multi-arrow, etc). The Game was incredibly short... it actually felt SHORTER than Fable: The Lost Chapters. After 4 years of waiting I was pretty let down. That being said I still say its worth a play through and I hope when they release the Awesome game play, very nostalgic. However, there aren't enough weapons/outfits. The spells didn't seem as fun, nor were they as useful (no multi-arrow, etc). The Game was incredibly short... it actually felt SHORTER than Fable: The Lost Chapters. After 4 years of waiting I was pretty let down. That being said I still say its worth a play through and I hope when they release the Coop patch they include more content. It still has the potential to grow. Expand
  40. StevenH
    Oct 31, 2008
    7
    This is a very enjoyable game but very familiar to the original Fable game. Not necessarily a bad thing to be honest but they could have at least made an effort to make the way the events came in different. for example...you're young, grow up, quest for a bit (this isn't what i mean i'm just using it to get to my point) there is a tournament with a different name, there is This is a very enjoyable game but very familiar to the original Fable game. Not necessarily a bad thing to be honest but they could have at least made an effort to make the way the events came in different. for example...you're young, grow up, quest for a bit (this isn't what i mean i'm just using it to get to my point) there is a tournament with a different name, there is a prison-esque place where you spend many years staying in without your equipment...it goes on. I enjoyed the first Fable but was a little annoyed at playing it over again with next gen gloss and a different name for things (the crucible instead of the arena). Apart from this there is an awesome game inside. There is the odd glitch and load times are a bit long sometimes and costumes do no difference defence wise which is a shame because it was an integral part of the original. Nice things this time round include property development, jobs, your dog and the combat system is easy to get into but complex enough to master. All in all a good game if not really being Fable 1.5 Expand
  41. EricW
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    An improvement over the original in every way. Lionhead has finally "almost" lived up to Fable's potential. They may have dropped the ball with the co-op, but the single player game is a solid casual RPG. It's not meant to be as deep as a Fallout, or Mass Effect, and that's part of why it's great. You can just jump in, and enjoy it for what it is. There's plenty An improvement over the original in every way. Lionhead has finally "almost" lived up to Fable's potential. They may have dropped the ball with the co-op, but the single player game is a solid casual RPG. It's not meant to be as deep as a Fallout, or Mass Effect, and that's part of why it's great. You can just jump in, and enjoy it for what it is. There's plenty to do even after the main story line is over; and in fact a large part of the game doesn't even open up UNTIL the main story is done. It's not perfect, but it's a great compliment to a deeper Mass Effect or Fallout. Expand
  42. PaxW
    Oct 30, 2008
    1
    Fable 2 wins the achievement of buggiest Xbox 360 title so far! I found that using Blade level 3 area effect almost always guaranteed a crash. I have 5 crashes 3 of which were the Blade spell. No longer using that magic. One was opening a chest while doing the first part of the TOBY quest after betting the game and the other was a random going to pause the game and it crashed. I also have Fable 2 wins the achievement of buggiest Xbox 360 title so far! I found that using Blade level 3 area effect almost always guaranteed a crash. I have 5 crashes 3 of which were the Blade spell. No longer using that magic. One was opening a chest while doing the first part of the TOBY quest after betting the game and the other was a random going to pause the game and it crashed. I also have the problem with the Archon's Knot Dungeon Glitch. Bit of a pain! I wanted the best weapon in the game. Really disappointed over this, talked 2 of my friends out of buying the game and have lent it to one of them and the other has dibs after. Console coders are getting sloppy! Other then the bugs its a great game... but there's bugs, shouldn't have been released, so 1 point! Expand
  43. JohnS.
    Oct 30, 2008
    5
    I enjoyed this game very much, despite all the bugs, shallow gameplay and lack of content. The gameplay feels just right, but there is very little depth in it and most of the time its just button mashing. The spell system is alright, however it's overshadowed by you melee weapon. Once your spells reach its maximum level of potency, they become VERY powerful, however, it takes to long I enjoyed this game very much, despite all the bugs, shallow gameplay and lack of content. The gameplay feels just right, but there is very little depth in it and most of the time its just button mashing. The spell system is alright, however it's overshadowed by you melee weapon. Once your spells reach its maximum level of potency, they become VERY powerful, however, it takes to long to charge, therefore you are better of using your melee weapon. Another problem with spells is that there are no supportive spells (like Heal, Protective shield thing, ect.) like there were in Fable 1, therefore, investing all your points in just Will Power is just a waste of time unless you plan on getting swords stuck up your ass while you're waiting for your spells to charge. Guns are also nice, but again they are overshadowed by your melee weapon once enemies get in close range. Another problem with guns is that most of the time you don't know where enemies are, thus making sniping via the zoom function useless. I find the lack of minimap very frustrating. I truly hate the little glowing thing which you follow, It shouldn't of replace the minimap. Let me explain why: when your following the glowing trail, you follow the glowing trail, and most of the time you don't pay attention to anything else but the glowing trail because you generally don't have an idea of where you are going due to the fact that unfamiliar with the surrounding area. With the minimap, it tells you in the "general" direction where to go, so you can start going in that direction and not stare at the ground constantly. There are very few things to buy, and there are few armor sets which are all very poor looking. The UI is atrocious; slow, unresponsive and glitchy. I haven't try the coop yet TBH so I won't talk about it. The storyline is WEAK. Particularly the ending; probably the must disappointing ending in any game i've ever play. I expect an EPIC boss fight, but NO, it just had to END. I pretty much agree with everything that Danny H said, so I won't say anymore. This game feels unpolished, shallow and its very buggy. Expand
  44. Pieter
    Oct 30, 2008
    0
    I bought the game mainly to play online coop with a friend. The online coop is really unplayable: no more control over the camera, the second player can't play with his "hero" but has to use a sidekick, the players _have_ to stay within a range of about 20 meters from eachother, ... In my opinion, the coop exists online to be able to put "online coop" on the box. A pure marketing stunt.
  45. CeeJ
    Jan 17, 2009
    6
    This game is really not all it is cracked up to be. Don't get me wrong, its a pretty good game. Its just not great. The game is short, the controls are at times awkward, the menu and map system also very clumsy and awkward. It is ridiculously easy and unsatisfying. This game does not contain the "open world" that it claims. For a very good RPG see Oblivion or Fallout 3.
  46. StevenH
    Jan 2, 2009
    6
    Well, first of all.... The game started off pretty welcoming, I was expecting alot more from Fable 1, but... I kinda expected the short story line, so that did not bother me. What did dissapoint me, was lack in armor, and the 1 second lag whenever you try to perform an action. Also the D-pad menu bar doesn't stay up, like in Fable 1. The dog is pretty cool, but makes findingWell, first of all.... The game started off pretty welcoming, I was expecting alot more from Fable 1, but... I kinda expected the short story line, so that did not bother me. What did dissapoint me, was lack in armor, and the 1 second lag whenever you try to perform an action. Also the D-pad menu bar doesn't stay up, like in Fable 1. The dog is pretty cool, but makes finding treasures very very easy. The impossibility to truly die on the game makes it tooo easy of a game. Plus, you can kill like 209742974 enemies easy. I like how you can turn safe mode on and off, that keeps you from messing up too much in town. There isn't a very big spell list on the game, and You can only use 1 spell at a time, because it takes too long to switch spells. Easy to fall in love/marry. Too easy, I thought the adult content to it was kinda funny, condoms? lol... but there could of been alot of work added to it. Found some glitches, like little kids talking, about the same thing... over, and over, and over.... Not very new monsters... I do like how your decisions change everything in the future for you. It isn't fun going to the menu every second for something, (the hotkey function in Fable1 isn't on this one for the D-pad use) kinda a pain in the .... I wish the dog would like, attack things, instead of bark. The co-op should of let the other player play as a real character rather then a henchman. There were less melee weapons this time, and no great sword either. Money is too easy to get. The leveling in abilities was kinda rediculous tho, first you get 1 level of a spell for 600, then later 2300, then later 12000? kinda a big jump eh? You will beat the game before your max in power, but you don't really need all that power to beat the game tho. (cuse you never really die) I was expecting a 9/10 with this game, but was dissapointed in a way. People rating this 10/10 must be crazy, and these people rating under 4 must be children with no sense. As much as I want to give this game a 10, it just isn't a 10 rating game. Hoping for a Fable 3 though, with... improvements due to everyone's responses... Also one more thing, the territory isn't very vast, and you really can't travel everywhere too much. I love the ability to jump off some ledges, but can't we get the ability to jump when we want? lol... hard to find RPGs where you can simply... jump... even kids jump. More monsters, less lagg, more armor, more weapons, more spells, more landscape to travel, more difficulty, more story, better co-op. Thanks! Expand
  47. HayleyW
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    I think Fable II is much better than the first! You have the choice to be a woman which makes it so much more interesting, and you have different and new exciting places to explore. I really enjoy it because its so magical and addictive. The new Fable also has more humour, and its great you have new expressions and can access them more easily. I think it was a really good idea that theyI think Fable II is much better than the first! You have the choice to be a woman which makes it so much more interesting, and you have different and new exciting places to explore. I really enjoy it because its so magical and addictive. The new Fable also has more humour, and its great you have new expressions and can access them more easily. I think it was a really good idea that they added in long-term quests like the Gargoyles, it gives you a great experience and makes you really enjoy it. Expand
  48. GabrielB
    Apr 2, 2009
    4
    I don't understand how these critics could rate Fable 2 so well, considering it's many flaws. I played through it, expecting the same feeling of immersion I got from the first Fable game, only to get a shallow experience that left me asking myself "Is that it?". There were a total of literally five enemies to fight, NPCs were all boring and exactly the same and the treasures I don't understand how these critics could rate Fable 2 so well, considering it's many flaws. I played through it, expecting the same feeling of immersion I got from the first Fable game, only to get a shallow experience that left me asking myself "Is that it?". There were a total of literally five enemies to fight, NPCs were all boring and exactly the same and the treasures were so easy to find I felt no need to go back and look for them. Perhaps the greatest disappointment was the dog, that Peter Molyneaux raved about; it turned out to have a simple AI and no significant purpose. Do not buy this game. Expand
  49. JohnK
    Jul 2, 2009
    9
    I always find the disparity between critic and user votes interesting, but this this the strangest example of it. The critics usually detract for the most minor drawbacks in the game while die-hard fans usually get past them with ease. That being said, this game was great. I didn't want it to end. Which is why I am surprised the user score is seemingly low.
  50. NicholasA
    Jan 15, 2010
    7
    This turn out the be a cool game at first but the only down thing about it is that once you are finished, there not much else to do. but this is a really good RPG
  51. DickS
    Jan 23, 2010
    2
    Very boring, short, and shallow. Interactions with npcs and choices are very terrible. You interact with people by farting at them which sounds funny but when thats the only upside to the game its garbage. Magic has no balance because there is one spell that does more damage than all the others at the same cost as the others. The plot could be interesting if it had actual depth and took Very boring, short, and shallow. Interactions with npcs and choices are very terrible. You interact with people by farting at them which sounds funny but when thats the only upside to the game its garbage. Magic has no balance because there is one spell that does more damage than all the others at the same cost as the others. The plot could be interesting if it had actual depth and took more than a few hours to complete. The game has no challenge unless your goal is to kill yourself which is impossible. Shooting mechanics are atrocious. The multilayer isn't even worth being called a multilayer its more of a tug of war between people for screen control. I gave this game a two because overextending the fart expression and messing it up causes you to crap your pants. Expand
  52. QuincyS
    Nov 1, 2008
    1
    This game was horrible. I could cite all the reasons why it sucked, but this guy did it for me. I wrote a review of the game on a FFXI forum, and I found it funny that this gentleman saw all the same problems that I did, but even more accurately. http://www.nickhalstead.com/2008/10/29/10-reasons-why-fable-2-sucks/
  53. ChrisZ
    Nov 11, 2008
    4
    First off, I had very high expectations for this game. This was not a consequence of Lionhead's hype machine but rather because of how much fun I had playing Fable 1. Fable 1 really allowed the player to make choices in "Boasting" before a quest. Boasting allowed you to alter the difficulty of your quests by running around naked or weaponless or by requiring you to execute the First off, I had very high expectations for this game. This was not a consequence of Lionhead's hype machine but rather because of how much fun I had playing Fable 1. Fable 1 really allowed the player to make choices in "Boasting" before a quest. Boasting allowed you to alter the difficulty of your quests by running around naked or weaponless or by requiring you to execute the objectives of the quest flawlessly in exchange for additional experience and gold. The boasting feature really did add that extra ounce of replayability for the gamers who wanted to do a quest a different way for added challenge. With that said, Fable 2 is Fable 1 without the decision making that accompanied the boasting feature. Not once in Fable 2 was a decision difficult for me to make. There was exactly one part in the game where you can lose anything tangible to gameplay and that was at the very end of the game thereby negating any kind of consequnces for making that decision. The decisions you do make are practically already made for you depending on the alignment you choose. Being a mute hero, most, if not all, of the decisions you make are either 100% "good" or 100% "evil". There is very little gray area. When you tack on the rest of the gripesmy fellow reviewers have about this game: rediculous load times, repetitive quests, and absolutely 0 challenge... I cant say I have ever seen such a mess of a game. I must argue with those who say it is a good introduction to gaming to non-gamers. I started off with Mario 1 on the NES and random Atari games that were more difficult on LEVEL 1(!!!) than the entirety of Fable 2. Overall, more of the same but less of the substance. 4 Expand
  54. TimV
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Amazing visuals and sound. Mind-blowing scale of map and game quests. Seemingly limitless outcome possibilities. Ironically, the actual main storyline feels a bit detached from the overall game experience, and is perhaps a bit too underdeveloped, as most of the playing time is spent on addictive side quests and character development. Excellent combat action, easy to learn and use. Overall Amazing visuals and sound. Mind-blowing scale of map and game quests. Seemingly limitless outcome possibilities. Ironically, the actual main storyline feels a bit detached from the overall game experience, and is perhaps a bit too underdeveloped, as most of the playing time is spent on addictive side quests and character development. Excellent combat action, easy to learn and use. Overall a great game, with a great interface and thoughtful details, but I think will probably be less effective in multiplayer mode (disclaimer: haven't tried it or co-op mode yet) and therefore not a game you'll likely be playing more than a few weeks (i.e., once you've completed all quests). Expand
  55. ChrissyT
    Nov 12, 2008
    6
    Having enjoyed Fable1 on my 360 a year ago (bargain bin) I immediately picked up this sequel at launch. But so far I didn't get very far into the game. The game just doesn't manage to get me hooked, and that's probably due to some small annoyances and too much hype. First of all the whole thing with the real estate and family planning is just a gimmick like in the first Having enjoyed Fable1 on my 360 a year ago (bargain bin) I immediately picked up this sequel at launch. But so far I didn't get very far into the game. The game just doesn't manage to get me hooked, and that's probably due to some small annoyances and too much hype. First of all the whole thing with the real estate and family planning is just a gimmick like in the first game, but more elaborate. It doesn't really feel like you're doing anything usefull or fun, trying to get one o the onlookers to accept your engagement ring. It's just not rewarding. Neither are the minigames that make you money. Yes you'll get cash, but do I really want to sit through endless button mashing for that? I found a lack of a decent mapping system very annoying. You can only see a small area map in the menu, only shows your current 'zone'. There is no accessable world map. This means that it all depends on either trial and error OR flipping on the stupid light-up-trail OR the instant travel.Neither of these options are particulary fun. Maybe I just need to give the game a rest and try again in a month or so. Or maybe I'm just getting tired of RPGs. Expand
  56. emileb
    Nov 14, 2008
    6
    I wouldn
  57. VioletLove
    Nov 16, 2008
    8
    Fable 2 IS an extremely fun game to play, and the graphics are amazing. Many people see through all the good things of this game, only recoginzing the flaws of it and how it isn't what they expected it would be. If some people couldactually pay attention to the good parts of it than they would most likely love it. I do agree though, some parts of the game do confuse me and upset me. Fable 2 IS an extremely fun game to play, and the graphics are amazing. Many people see through all the good things of this game, only recoginzing the flaws of it and how it isn't what they expected it would be. If some people couldactually pay attention to the good parts of it than they would most likely love it. I do agree though, some parts of the game do confuse me and upset me. I had no idea how many glitches there were in this game and how badly they could affect your Xbox 360 system. I had only found this out while trying to solve the single glitch I had gotten so far-In the Love Hurts Quest When I try to give the man the lower body part he only stands there mindlessly- and I was completely gratefull that I hadn'tgotten the game ending glitches like the Rescuing Charlie quest. I do also agree that the game should have been released later and that they should of double checked for all the glitches, because for most people they are very annoying and ruin game experiance. It is blood boiling to know that they took years to make this game when it is below the standards of most Fable fans and that they had the longest time given to of looked for the flaws and they never took the time to fix them. Also, it was very short. Truthfully, it is the first game that I have ever truelly beaten by myself, without using cheats or making my brothers do part of it for me, which declares it as very easy. Another thing that bugs me is the lack of clothes and hairstyles in the game, and how I always seem to look fat when the fat level says zero and the fact that I have level 2 phisice ( or however you spell it ). They say that there is endless possiblities and that It would surprise them to see two different heros look the same when i highly disagree with that. I bet that if every player of Fable 2 posted how their character looked online there would be triplets and up for every perosn's character. I also wish that there was a map avalible in Fable 2, since the golden trail isn't always very dependent. After reading all the bad things about this game it is hard to give it an 8, but even through it's flaws I would most definetly choose it over Oblivion. It amazes me also that so many people think that Oblivion is better than Fable 2 by a landslide when I personally hate the graphics-the faces of the people in Oblivion look inhuman and the quests are a waste of time. I have never played the origanal Fable, and now I plan to soon. Lastly, it confuses me that they are may start working on Fable 3, even through all the negative comments. The strange thing is that even though Im confused, I still cant wait for it. Expand
  58. PatrickR.
    Nov 18, 2008
    3
    My main problem with fable 2 is that its more like an atempt at creating the game we were all promised with the first Fable. When the first came out i was anxious to play it and to get drawn into the "deep and ever changing world" that peter monylex promised me. I soon found out that i was lied to. Where i was promised unparralled freedom i found only shackles. what was promised to me in My main problem with fable 2 is that its more like an atempt at creating the game we were all promised with the first Fable. When the first came out i was anxious to play it and to get drawn into the "deep and ever changing world" that peter monylex promised me. I soon found out that i was lied to. Where i was promised unparralled freedom i found only shackles. what was promised to me in fable instead found its self in GTA: San Andreas. How is it that a game supposedly developed for this character growth and interaction is much better done in a game where it was an after thought? Fable 2 is simply the attempt to make the first game with all the promised content, accept they still couldnt fit it all in. Shame on Peter Monylex for 1) selling us an incomplete game years ago 2) trying to resell it to us in "completed form and 3) being arrogant enough to think we wouldnt notice. Expand
  59. ChristianC
    Nov 18, 2008
    7
    I never had the chance to play the first Fable, so instead of buying that game, I decided to wait and spend my money on the sequel. Now that a have it, I can say that I feel very disappointed. This game has very nice visual effects and music score, sometimes is fun and... well, that's were ends the goods. After a while the game becomes very tedious, the controls are slow and I never had the chance to play the first Fable, so instead of buying that game, I decided to wait and spend my money on the sequel. Now that a have it, I can say that I feel very disappointed. This game has very nice visual effects and music score, sometimes is fun and... well, that's were ends the goods. After a while the game becomes very tedious, the controls are slow and sometimes don't respond, menus are very slow also, you can't sort items and only one item can be use at a time, then you need to navigate through the slow menus again just to use another item... And the game is so easy... you name it: battles, money, experience, even sex and getting married!, everything in this game is so easy to do that it feels like "Action RPG for Dummies". Money is so easy to gain, just bought properties and rent them, and you forget about worrying for money. Battles are not deep, just [X] for melee attacks (repeat for extra moves), [Y] to shoot your weapons (keep pressed for manual aim) and [B] to use your magic (keep pressed for stronger magic, while the enemies are hitting you). Characters and general designs are just ugly... yes, that's the word, ugly. People are deformed, house and buildings are simple... it feels like a PS2 game with nice visuals running emulated in the XBOX 360. The only nice things in the game are the dawns & dusks over the water, and the lights through the forrest. And the worst thing in this game is the A.I., is so dumb... oh well, you've got the idea... The comments I read about the first Fable and the ADs and videos I watched showing how the sequel would be, I just got "hypnotized" expecting a fabulous game, instead, I have this over-hyped buggy-short-game that only deserves no more than a 7 of 10. Expand
  60. MB
    Nov 1, 2008
    7
    Flawed but overall a decent effort. Feels more like a Fable reimagined, with the hints to the previous game highlighting the lack of substantial changes. Note this is not an RPG. True depth isn't present with regards to customization but it is more of an Adventure game with RPG elements. Lionhead designed the game to be accessible to all, not just gamers. Hence the difficulty not Flawed but overall a decent effort. Feels more like a Fable reimagined, with the hints to the previous game highlighting the lack of substantial changes. Note this is not an RPG. True depth isn't present with regards to customization but it is more of an Adventure game with RPG elements. Lionhead designed the game to be accessible to all, not just gamers. Hence the difficulty not matching similar titles. Overall a decent addition to any gamers collection. Expand
  61. MayorM
    Nov 20, 2008
    3
    I really wanted to play this game. I don't mind that it's basically a button masher with lttle depth. If this game had actually workes, I would have given it at least a 7, probably higher. That being said, why does this game have so many bugs? It's ridiculous. And they are just little glitches; they're pretty game breaking. Whatever, I'll pray for a patch and I really wanted to play this game. I don't mind that it's basically a button masher with lttle depth. If this game had actually workes, I would have given it at least a 7, probably higher. That being said, why does this game have so many bugs? It's ridiculous. And they are just little glitches; they're pretty game breaking. Whatever, I'll pray for a patch and remember never to by another game from LH again. Expand
  62. TeemuH
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    My first game for Xbox 360, and damn, its very good! Gameplay is very good, it was confusing in the beginning but when you get used to it, it rocks! This game got very nice voice acting, musics and graphics too. Ok, they aren't any Crysis or something, but i absolutely love the environments and lights. I've played for about 50 hours now, played through with good once, now My first game for Xbox 360, and damn, its very good! Gameplay is very good, it was confusing in the beginning but when you get used to it, it rocks! This game got very nice voice acting, musics and graphics too. Ok, they aren't any Crysis or something, but i absolutely love the environments and lights. I've played for about 50 hours now, played through with good once, now I'm halfway through with bad. It's a lot different when you play bad, assassination quests and everything. Get this game if you like adventure games! Expand
  63. BennyH.
    Nov 30, 2008
    7
    Amazing graphics, awesome dog but not enough side quests, and not enough towns. Combat looks great and is pretty fun (lots of cool moves to learn) but is often very easy, especially considering you can't die. Storyline sucks balls, not enough clothing variety (though dyes are awesome) or kick ass legendary weapons, your kids don't grow up, there is no dynamic environmental Amazing graphics, awesome dog but not enough side quests, and not enough towns. Combat looks great and is pretty fun (lots of cool moves to learn) but is often very easy, especially considering you can't die. Storyline sucks balls, not enough clothing variety (though dyes are awesome) or kick ass legendary weapons, your kids don't grow up, there is no dynamic environmental morphing, instead environments only change as a result of conscious choices, as opposed to sub-conscious actions. Lack of cutscenes means the game has a different atmosphere to Fable 1, which is sad because the atmosphere in Fable 1 was one of the main things that made it stand out from other RPGs. The jobs are pretty cool, havent tried co-op yet but that looks good. The new spell system sucks. The guns rock. No fist fighting? WTF??? Where are the pub brawls and the utilisation of the environment during combat that i was expecting? Being a woman looks cool and there is a good replayability factor. Where is the fucking minimap? The breadcrumb trail is more constricting than the minimap because i always follow it sub-consciously! What a fucking frustrating game, moments of brilliance and moments of mediocrity vie for superiority. Ho hum. Expand
  64. EricB
    Nov 5, 2008
    5
    At most i'd say that this was a solid game; not incredibly good but at the same time not terrible. The main story line was a definite disappointment, took maybe 12 to 14 hours to beat and the ending was a total bummer. Gameplay was fun if your a straight up warrior type, just hack n' slash melee (which is fine with me cuase i'm not much of the caster type). Guns were a fun At most i'd say that this was a solid game; not incredibly good but at the same time not terrible. The main story line was a definite disappointment, took maybe 12 to 14 hours to beat and the ending was a total bummer. Gameplay was fun if your a straight up warrior type, just hack n' slash melee (which is fine with me cuase i'm not much of the caster type). Guns were a fun addition but not really a huge part of the experience because mobs run right up to u as soon as thier hit, and i never did manage to get a decapitation. After the main storyline theres a couple more quests to do and a lot of buying houses which, im not really sure how that is a quest but whatever. All in All, I think the first one was definitely better and I wouldn't really reccommend buying this game if you know someone who already has it. Just barrow it and play it for 2 days and you'll be done Expand
  65. RobertC
    Nov 5, 2008
    9
    It keeps enough of the positives of Fable and manages to add a few perks as well. While the gameplay is simplistic, it's still very smooth and a joy to use. And the dog has to be one of the cleverest game-perks on this generation. As I've told friends, this is a God game masquerading as an action-RPG, and I mean that in the best way possible. It is a game meant to be played It keeps enough of the positives of Fable and manages to add a few perks as well. While the gameplay is simplistic, it's still very smooth and a joy to use. And the dog has to be one of the cleverest game-perks on this generation. As I've told friends, this is a God game masquerading as an action-RPG, and I mean that in the best way possible. It is a game meant to be played multiple times with multiple results, and I look forward to each journey. Expand
  66. Beguiler
    Nov 6, 2008
    8
    I found this game to be fun and enjoyable but not as fulfilling as the original
  67. gabep
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    Looks like ps3 fanboys have messed up this great game score like gears of war 2, this game its exeptional,this is the best rpg that ive played on my life graphics are great, great storyline, fast-paced action and much more, a game that a 360 owner must have.
  68. TmanL.
    Nov 7, 2008
    4
    It's fun for sure. But for how long, and how fun were sad disappointments when compared to the first. I disagree with those who say this is better by a long shot. Namely because it has so many unrefined issues plaguing it from being as glorious as it could have been (especially after all the years Lionhead had to play with it) - I expected a whole lot more, and got a whole lot less. It's fun for sure. But for how long, and how fun were sad disappointments when compared to the first. I disagree with those who say this is better by a long shot. Namely because it has so many unrefined issues plaguing it from being as glorious as it could have been (especially after all the years Lionhead had to play with it) - I expected a whole lot more, and got a whole lot less. Game-stopping glitches, as well goofy glitches took away heavily from the charm (NPC Expand
  69. BryanF.
    Nov 7, 2008
    0
    Boring, no point, not something im buying when it comes out, i sent the disc to a friend even tho it was a present from my job.
  70. JonO
    Nov 8, 2008
    5
    I had been waiting ages to play this game and in the end it was just a load of hype. The game looks fantastic with brilliant backgrounds and excellent lighting but that is about it. The story line is poor and combat is boring and too easy. I loved the first Fable but this is an abomonation of a follow up.
  71. LeonardG.
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    I haven't been attracted to a game like this since Mario Galaxy. The world is beautiful, the characters are entertaining the designs are original, the acting is good. Most importantly, the game is FUN and addictive. With Fallout 3 sucking everyone else's time away, I may stick to Fable 2 for my entertainment for a while. This game is great. My only complaints are only minimal, I haven't been attracted to a game like this since Mario Galaxy. The world is beautiful, the characters are entertaining the designs are original, the acting is good. Most importantly, the game is FUN and addictive. With Fallout 3 sucking everyone else's time away, I may stick to Fable 2 for my entertainment for a while. This game is great. My only complaints are only minimal, if it could have had about 4 more months in the oven, it could be perfect. The interface needed a bit more work. After I got married, I felt more unsure of how to have sex than I did in real life the first time. I had the bed there, she "wants sex" but I just couldn't figure out how to perform. Didn't see it in the menus and the brief popup info at the top went away too quickly, but this is only minor. I LOVE this game! Expand
  72. MichaelA.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    No RPG ever made has been perfect (except arguably Chrono Trigger). This game comes the closest I've seen to perfection since the mid-late '90s. Mass Effect, while a good game, is currently rated a 91 on here. Two points above this work of art. That hopefully will not continue for much longer.
  73. ChapmanS.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    This game is everything you wanted Fable 1 to be and more. A very worthy sequel and very deep rewarding gameplay. If it wasn't for Little Big Planet this would probably be game of the year.
  74. DavidN.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    It takes a while the get the hang of it, but then it's just pure and plain OWNAGE! From the combat system to the traveling menus and online, not anything to complain of. There's just one "If only...." and it's the fact you can't local coop. Then you wonder if they'll make it in an update, then you shut up and continue playing fable.
  75. ChrissyT
    Dec 2, 2008
    6
    About 2 weeks ago I rated the game a 6, having only put a few hours into it and not feeling very compelled to continue playing.
    Yesterday I decided to continue playing. After playing what feels like only 1/3 through the game, I was treated to the end credits. I had heard about the '10 hours main quest' but to me it feels more like 5-7 hours. Seeing how the walkthroughs on
    About 2 weeks ago I rated the game a 6, having only put a few hours into it and not feeling very compelled to continue playing.
    Yesterday I decided to continue playing. After playing what feels like only 1/3 through the game, I was treated to the end credits. I had heard about the '10 hours main quest' but to me it feels more like 5-7 hours. Seeing how the walkthroughs on gamefaqs cover the main story in only a few pages, I was forced to accept that this indeed was all there is to Fable 2. I think you can count the total number of maps on 2 hands. Yes the location maps are quite big but there ant nearly as much of them as in Fable 1, and they are still mostly good looking but 'empty' environments.
    You can still continue playing the side quests, but there arent'y really a lot of those either, and most of them are rather short.
    So unless you fancy running around and digging for treasure or trying to get a truckload of wives or real estate which is all rather pointless, this game is not worth your money. Rent or buy used.
    Expand
  76. DigitalE.
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    Fable II is everything you wanted the first Fable to be. It's still on the short side, but there's much more reason to play this time after the game is over and replay since you can play as a girl or guy. A must purchase if you are a fan of the original!!!
  77. EdwardB.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    I've played just a few hours of it. Lionhead's goal with this game have really shown and have provent to be quiet effective. I found myself smiling when my dog just wouldn't leave and I actually grew very fond of the darn thing. I do feel like the childhood portion may have been too short, but it works outs. Even when it was said the hobbes used to be little children kind I've played just a few hours of it. Lionhead's goal with this game have really shown and have provent to be quiet effective. I found myself smiling when my dog just wouldn't leave and I actually grew very fond of the darn thing. I do feel like the childhood portion may have been too short, but it works outs. Even when it was said the hobbes used to be little children kind of saddened me. I think Peter Molyneux's vision of creating some emotional attachment to an otherwise imaginable place is successful. I look forward to progressing and seeing what decisions wait for me ahead, Expand
  78. maxs
    Oct 23, 2008
    5
    after the first one disappointed me so much, and hearing how good this one was, i decided to pick it up. More of the same! I can't believe after how boring the first was, that they continue the same. Such a disappointment, i can't believe how gimmicky this game tries to be.
  79. IngramvanHelvoort
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    It's clear that Robert H. has never actually played the game and is just trying to bash it, so don't mind him.
    The only reason people are downvoting this is because A: they don't like peter moly, B: they don't like the genre, or C: they don't like xbox 360 and it being exclusive..
    This game is great and a lot of fun, and a user score of 7.5 is total bull.. anyone
    It's clear that Robert H. has never actually played the game and is just trying to bash it, so don't mind him.
    The only reason people are downvoting this is because A: they don't like peter moly, B: they don't like the genre, or C: they don't like xbox 360 and it being exclusive..
    This game is great and a lot of fun, and a user score of 7.5 is total bull.. anyone who's actually played the game properly will generally give it around a 8/9 because that's what it's actually worth (at least), not 7.5 or below (it used to be lower due to ignorant bashers)
    Expand
  80. NathanV.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    So I love it when someone comes and votes for a game who doesn't even like the genre, let alone the particular game in question and gives the game an incredibly low score. Having played and loved the first one despite its shortcomings, it only took two minutes of playing Fable 2 last night to realize just how much better the game was. Two minutes turned into several hours and I had So I love it when someone comes and votes for a game who doesn't even like the genre, let alone the particular game in question and gives the game an incredibly low score. Having played and loved the first one despite its shortcomings, it only took two minutes of playing Fable 2 last night to realize just how much better the game was. Two minutes turned into several hours and I had barely done anything, I was so absorbed in running around talking to people and playing with my dog. How anyone, even a hater of the genre and the Xbox 360 could play this game and rate it as low as a 2 leads me to believe they didn't play it at all. Gears of War 2 will be awesome, but don't hate on our game while you wait. Expand
  81. MikeFromPA
    Dec 30, 2008
    7
    Pros: Beautiful landscapes, co-op play, no level grinding needed, nice story, brilliant interacting abilities with townfolks. Nice combination of several genres of gaming. Gameplay suits folks of many different play levels and styles. I enjoyed a game that is finally catering to the older gamer. Cons: would have like to see more quests instead of jobs for gold. Jobs themselves are silly, Pros: Beautiful landscapes, co-op play, no level grinding needed, nice story, brilliant interacting abilities with townfolks. Nice combination of several genres of gaming. Gameplay suits folks of many different play levels and styles. I enjoyed a game that is finally catering to the older gamer. Cons: would have like to see more quests instead of jobs for gold. Jobs themselves are silly, pushing a button over and over again is mind-numbing. While the golden trail to follow was helpful in the beginning, an option to turn it off would be nice. The areas felt confined, with many limited to a set path--I've been spoiled by more recent RPGs and MMOs. Recommended overall, very good game. Expand
  82. RobinF.
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    I have not played fable 1,and Iam pretty new to the xbox game scene.I played Fable 2 for a couple of hours the other night and the game sucked me right in.WOW
  83. JohnS
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Despite the bugs and a few glitches if you are too shallow to look past its minor problems you wil lose out on one of the best gaming experiences. Its a very good game perhaps the bast and the story line is more emotional than any other i have seen. I highly recommend this game.
  84. NathanG
    Oct 24, 2008
    8
    So far, so good! I'm really enjoying this game, but there are a few things that I don't like, and hold it back from being a truly amazing rpg (like oblivion). They seemed to remove some of the cool things from fable 1 which bring the score down. For instance... where'd the combat multiplier go? I loved that bad boy! Now it just gives you bonus after each fight... thats no So far, so good! I'm really enjoying this game, but there are a few things that I don't like, and hold it back from being a truly amazing rpg (like oblivion). They seemed to remove some of the cool things from fable 1 which bring the score down. For instance... where'd the combat multiplier go? I loved that bad boy! Now it just gives you bonus after each fight... thats no fun! Also, the GUI is slow and clunky. In fable 1 you could access your items by pressing UP on the d-pad... why did they get rid of that? All whining aside, this is a fun game and I look forward to exploring, adventuring, and playing it again and again, Expand
  85. jimbo
    Oct 24, 2008
    1
    This game is bland boring and same from Microshaft. They are trying to dominate and stagnate the gaming industry as they have done with the PC industry for the past 20 years. Microshaft would like the public and tech in general to advance when they say we can advance. I don't have Windows anything at home is use Linux, FreeBSD and Solaris.
  86. whoevernever
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    fuck off sony fanboys this game i amazing good dont listn to the fucking reviews who ever gave this game below 9.0 is the biggest idiot in the planet the graphics is abit better than gta4 and the voice acting is aamzing theirs so much to do i was stuned ! it world is amaziingly detailed and the gameplay is fucking well no words can express it but it has some downs do theirs alot of glitchsfuck off sony fanboys this game i amazing good dont listn to the fucking reviews who ever gave this game below 9.0 is the biggest idiot in the planet the graphics is abit better than gta4 and the voice acting is aamzing theirs so much to do i was stuned ! it world is amaziingly detailed and the gameplay is fucking well no words can express it but it has some downs do theirs alot of glitchs and bug becus its so huge buto ther than thatt its fucknig truly amazing and poeple stop fucking complaining about coop becuas coop is still good erven though u cant bring your own heros Expand
  87. ChrisD
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    I can definitely say that PM delivered. This is a game where you spend an obsessive amount of hours on one playthrough alone; imagine when you want to start a second and be the opposite of your first (i.e evil instead of good)? Trust me, buy this game!
  88. JustinS.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    Love the conversations, Love the multipalyer, Love the wonderful country side and cities and inhabitants that live there. There isn't much not to love in Albion. I have been through it once and have invested about 48 hours of play am still enjoying new discoveries.
  89. KaiN.
    Oct 25, 2008
    4
    Awesome game, apart from the game breaking bugs, shoddy CDs that stop working after you have played the game for more than X hours, and the crummy choices of CoOp characters that player 2 must choose from, instead of using his own characters apperance from their own game.
  90. MrG
    Oct 25, 2008
    6
    Quite a dull game, I got bored of it very quickly, and have already traded it in. Suprised to see so many 10's I wonder how many of them work for Microsoft?
  91. FelixJC
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Mesmerizing, and enthralling experience. The temptations, and emotions elluded to for years by Mollyneux, are realized beyond expectation. Fable 2 is a tremendous effort to evolve this now epic franchise.
  92. MikeL.
    Oct 26, 2008
    8
    Great game, lush visuals, fantastic lighting, and numerous side quests to add up the hours in this wonderful rpg, its one weak spot would have to be its main story. it just seems a bit dull, but even with this in mind i can honestly say this is a must buy for any rpg fan.
  93. DinglerD
    Oct 26, 2008
    7
    The main quest was too short, but luckily there's still alot to do. The combat system is simply brilliant and so is the skill/exp system. Good dialouge, solid story and a nice soundtrack. The social aspect lacks depth and falls to the ground; hard! I experienced quite a few bugs and graphical glithes during my first playthrough reducing this games ability to draw one into its The main quest was too short, but luckily there's still alot to do. The combat system is simply brilliant and so is the skill/exp system. Good dialouge, solid story and a nice soundtrack. The social aspect lacks depth and falls to the ground; hard! I experienced quite a few bugs and graphical glithes during my first playthrough reducing this games ability to draw one into its universe. All in all this game didn't justify the hype, but really no game ever did. If you're a fan of the first Fable it's definitely worth a spin. Or if your just tired of JRPG this game proves that western RPG's can be solid and entertaining, to some extent at least. Expand
  94. Pieter
    Oct 26, 2008
    3
    I bought the game mainly to play online coop with a friend. The online coop is really unplayable: no more control over the camera, the second player can't play with his "hero" but has to use a sidekick, the players _have_ to stay within a range of about 20 meters from eachother, ... In my opinion, the coop exists online to be able to put "online coop" on the box. A pure marketing stunt.
  95. LeroyR.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Fable 2 is in short an amazing game and I think the qhole pet aspect of the game is extremely charming and well thought-out the first time I saw my pet in action I had this huge grin on my face. Its simply the coolest and most realistic thing on a game that I have seen. Oh and the game is awesome too.
  96. SamE.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    This is just an amazing game; must have! Beautifull graphics, great gameplay, and the voice acting is A+! A ust have for every RPG-gamer. And please, don't look to the user score, cause much people gave it a score like 0 before the game was actually released, it are just Microsoft haters!
  97. DanielG.
    Oct 26, 2008
    6
    Could have been so much more. The world is large, beautifully rendered, and all the mechanics are here for a long and inspired adventure. It's too bad Lionhead squandered all that hard-work on a 6 hour campaign that is padded with marginally interesting side-quests. This could have been a Masterpiece; instead, it's a piece of...Well it's not that bad....But it is Could have been so much more. The world is large, beautifully rendered, and all the mechanics are here for a long and inspired adventure. It's too bad Lionhead squandered all that hard-work on a 6 hour campaign that is padded with marginally interesting side-quests. This could have been a Masterpiece; instead, it's a piece of...Well it's not that bad....But it is disappointing. Save your money; rent it. Expand
  98. FawfulS.
    Oct 26, 2008
    3
    The main quest is terrible. There's no depth in the combat system at all. There are literally only 5 classes of enemies in this game, and they were all reused from the first one. Not only that, but they have no depth. As for the combat, it really just involves pressing x. Or if you want skill, pressing Y. I don't know how these Xbox gamers can enjoy button-mashing X for hours on The main quest is terrible. There's no depth in the combat system at all. There are literally only 5 classes of enemies in this game, and they were all reused from the first one. Not only that, but they have no depth. As for the combat, it really just involves pressing x. Or if you want skill, pressing Y. I don't know how these Xbox gamers can enjoy button-mashing X for hours on end. It gets old and boring after 5 minutes. The experiences system is a bit better, but overall doesn't make up for the depth-less combat. It makes me wonder happens if you make a 360 gamer play a real RPG. You know, an RPG with more than 5 enemies and requires thinking. I mean, would these gamers be able to handle it? It requires them to think! Story is also predictable and rehashed from the first game. There's also the occasional puzzle, but they are way too easy. Overall the main quest was short, shallow, and rehashed from the first game. Where this game shines is the exploration. There's far more exploration in this game then main quest, which is good, because there's actually fun to be had in it. It's fun trying to get married, sell real-estate, find silver keys, and figure out clever demon doors. I also like how your evolves through depending on what you do, like the first game. But also like the first game, being evil or good doesn't really affect the overall outcome of the game, which I hated. Overall this game is not very good at all. I judge games on their main-quest, not their side-quests. And this is typical shallow western-RPG crap that gamers who can't think will gobble up as the greatest RPG ever. If you find button mashing for hours fun, simple puzzles too complicated/annoying, and awesome graphics = awesome game-play, then you'll love this game. Expand
  99. GeorgeM
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    being a happy / frustrated fan of the first Fable, i HAD to take a chance with Fable 2....and luckily this improves upon its predessor in all the right places. Fable 1 was probably one of the most hyped games of its time because the talk was that it was gonna include a great and many things that simply DID NOT make the cut, which in turn gave us a good but not the great game everyone was being a happy / frustrated fan of the first Fable, i HAD to take a chance with Fable 2....and luckily this improves upon its predessor in all the right places. Fable 1 was probably one of the most hyped games of its time because the talk was that it was gonna include a great and many things that simply DID NOT make the cut, which in turn gave us a good but not the great game everyone was anticipating, false promises of this and that didn't make it in the game. Fable 2 DOES indeed fill a great and many of what was missing in Fable 1, but does that make it a great game.....well yeah, of course. graphically, if reminds me alot of Fable 1 just with the HD treatment and a much larger world, which all-in-all looks fantastic, colorful and very lively looking.....it simply pops off your screen and the lighting is the only MAJOR upgrade i noticed. music is top-notch and soundeffects ring loud and clear. Now the gameplay, this is where things get iffy depending on the gamer.....the controls in Fable 2 are VERY user-friendly, there is NOTHING complex about its gameplay....most of what you do is controlled by the use of single buttons which makes for a very accessible game and thats good or bad depending on how dumbed down you like your gameplay. The more traidtional RPG players and fans of games like Elder Scrolls Oblivion will probably play this and think its a little TOO basic and lacking depth, but for what its worth....the controls are spot-on. Overall, i'm very happy with this game.....its nice to visit this world once again, watch your character beomce good or evil, and farting, getting drunk, and sleepin around makes for a smile inducing good time. Expand
  100. JohnM.
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    Refreshing and unique. A fantastic range of flexibility and innovation. Despite a couple flaw, it would be a better world if more RPG developers put this much effort into their games.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 95 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 95
  2. Negative: 0 out of 95
  1. Fable II is everything Molyneux promised the first time around. It's funny, deep, emotional, epic, and, yes, wildly charming. We are already eager for a second playthrough, and we're betting a lot of you will have exactly the same reaction. [Dec 2008, p.68]
  2. Edge Magazine
    90
    It’s a game that builds gradually and then becomes irresistible, a beautiful lump of an RPG that continues beyond the close of its main campaign, and will have you thinking about it when you’re not at your 360. [Dec 2008, p.79]
  3. The combat handles well, it’s visually stunning, the voice acting and musical score are brilliant, and the epic storyline doesn’t end before it begins (like the first game did). But the most appealing thing about it is that it delivers everything that Molyneux has promised, plus it is oozing with wit and charm - something sorely lacking from many games nowadays. At the end of the day, Fable II is a triumph and a must buy.