Fable II Xbox 360

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2383 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    Charming game with a cool interactions on the world and on the society of the game. Its cool the options of that every actions affect your aspect giving you personality,thats cool but it needs more depth ,also annoying some AI don't act well and some weird glitches. The graphics are colorful , the gameplay is easy and simple.
  2. Sep 6, 2010
    8
    This is a very solid RPG. Especially for a system that has few RPGs. The story is pretty good and the gameplay is fun but some of the quests can get kind of repetitive but this is not a very major problem. The main problem is that there is not much replay value after you beat the main quest. After the game you might spend 2 hours after the game and this is kind of dull for most RPGs. ThisThis is a very solid RPG. Especially for a system that has few RPGs. The story is pretty good and the gameplay is fun but some of the quests can get kind of repetitive but this is not a very major problem. The main problem is that there is not much replay value after you beat the main quest. After the game you might spend 2 hours after the game and this is kind of dull for most RPGs. This doesn't count the DLC which was actually a lot of fun for me. All and all, this is a very solid RPG with a good story, fun missions, and some cool gameplay. Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    8
    I really don't understand why the user reviews for this game are so low, because Fable II is a lot of fun. Sure, it's fairly linear and the gameplay can become pretty simple, but it's still a very well-designed adventure. Some people might argue that there isn't enough to do, but you really need to appreciate the things you CAN do, because those things are very enjoyable.
  4. Erikheidt
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    I reallt enjoyed fable but the thing is I was very upset that it wasnt open world such as oblivian and fall 3. I liked the three wishes choice ,because that made me want to play it 3 different times and try each one. The thing is this made me eally want to play Fable: Lost chapters veery badly.
  5. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    I'm seeing 2's and 0's here, with an average score of 6.2. What? These are obviously guys who are just PS3 fanboys, or are mad that lionhead changed the fable gameplay formula. Get over it. I prefer this Fable to any of the other fable's, and that includes fable 3 (While good, it wasn't fantastic). The inclusion of the guns and different rates of fire was nice, while also keeping theI'm seeing 2's and 0's here, with an average score of 6.2. What? These are obviously guys who are just PS3 fanboys, or are mad that lionhead changed the fable gameplay formula. Get over it. I prefer this Fable to any of the other fable's, and that includes fable 3 (While good, it wasn't fantastic). The inclusion of the guns and different rates of fire was nice, while also keeping the weapons simple and fluid at the same time. The combat's great, and you have to work to get that ridiculously overpowered spell. The story was really good, and while no mass effect, it was definitely worth experiencing. While co-op is nice, it's way too limited, which has been improved on in the third game, though its still too easy. But all-in-all, this is a brilliant game that you should definitely pick up ahead of the other two fables, with the only bad points being it's quite easy, the co-op is limited. Expand
  6. May 31, 2013
    5
    fable 2 is disappointing but that dose not mean it is bad. Fable 2 has a mediocre story and average side quests, but there are two main problems which are the game is to easy i was never on the edge or worried that i was going to die because i never died once in the entire game. The second problem was the combat was only based on one button so in combat all i needed to do was keep pressingfable 2 is disappointing but that dose not mean it is bad. Fable 2 has a mediocre story and average side quests, but there are two main problems which are the game is to easy i was never on the edge or worried that i was going to die because i never died once in the entire game. The second problem was the combat was only based on one button so in combat all i needed to do was keep pressing x all the time to win. Thats not to say its all bad managing my property was pretty cool and a nice addition to the game, it was also very addictive. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2014
    6
    This game is way too short. Several great ideas, like the ability to purchase properties to bring in a constant income, are negated because (a) the games too short for that to have a positive impact, and (b) at some point you won't know what to do with that excess money anyway!

    People talk about Fable's charm, and while I somewhat see that, sometimes it just boils down to fart jokes
    This game is way too short. Several great ideas, like the ability to purchase properties to bring in a constant income, are negated because (a) the games too short for that to have a positive impact, and (b) at some point you won't know what to do with that excess money anyway!

    People talk about Fable's charm, and while I somewhat see that, sometimes it just boils down to fart jokes and constant flipping the bird. That's not charm folks; that's child's play.

    Combat is somewhat more enjoyable than the original, but that's not saying much. For a game that prides itself on choice, you really only have two impacting choices in the game: be good or be evil.

    The story if lackluster, which is typical of all Fable games. The characters are a little more interesting. It's just not enough to keep you hooked. I struggled to finish the game, which is terrible considering how short it is! Some of the mini-games are fun though.

    I'm not sure I'd recommend any Fable game, and after this one I didn't even try the third (although I hear it's more of the same). Look elsewhere for fun RPGs.
    Expand
  8. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    Fable has yet to make good on its promise of revolutionizing the RPG. Combat has been simplified, meaning that swords, bows and magic each have their own buttons. There is a significant imbalance between these powers, with magic becoming so strong that you would be stupid to use anything else. The story is one-dimensional and the characters are never developed. The side aspects of the gameFable has yet to make good on its promise of revolutionizing the RPG. Combat has been simplified, meaning that swords, bows and magic each have their own buttons. There is a significant imbalance between these powers, with magic becoming so strong that you would be stupid to use anything else. The story is one-dimensional and the characters are never developed. The side aspects of the game (a variety of jobs, marrying, having a family) are shallow and there is not much point (other than money) to spend any time at them. Getting married is the most uninteresting as every man and woman are pretty much the same. The only information given are their names and moderately useful facts about them. The game is too short and the final boss is underwhelming. Still, I would be lying if I said that I didn't enjoy playing it. There are lots of secrets and plenty of loot to keep players interested. The combat is fast and satisfying. The world is wider and more accessible although Albion never feels as alive or as vibrant as Cyrodil from Oblivion or Hyrule from Legend of Zelda. The Fable series, though entertaining, has many problems at its core and has yet to reach the upper echelons of western RPG's. Expand
  9. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    A truley amazing game.. despite what most people say about it, its amazing so much to do it looks amazing and its awesome to play.. i think i put in 25+ hours and i would deff play it through again
  10. Teli
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed The Lost Chapters and everything that prevented TLC from being great has been improved here.
    The user interface needs to be sped up though and my dog doesn't fetch the ball, maybe he's got brain damage, not sure. Other than that I'm really enjoying the game. A lot to do apart from the quests.
  11. JozefK
    Oct 10, 2009
    5
    I really wanted to like it, but it was frankly a waste of time. The story was shallow, and with the ability to complete pretty much every aspect of the game with little to no-effort... there was little incentive to play. In the original I enjoyed going through the demon doors getting the legendary items, but what's the point when many of the weapons I can get from the stores are I really wanted to like it, but it was frankly a waste of time. The story was shallow, and with the ability to complete pretty much every aspect of the game with little to no-effort... there was little incentive to play. In the original I enjoyed going through the demon doors getting the legendary items, but what's the point when many of the weapons I can get from the stores are better. The main story was completed within some 8 hours with little incentive to play further aside for some slightly 'alternative' endings. Which make no real impact aside from unless you choose to have your dog resurrected (one of the endings) you won't be able to do many of the side quests. It just all feels redundant, especially for those who've played the original fable (which I have to say had significantly more depth). In the original fable it was genuinly fun upgrading my character, and progressing each abilities skill tree. But when you have a definitive 'best' ability, and no challenge within the gameplay itself it has a very 'what's the point in all this' feel, to everything. 800 gamerscore within 1 day of play, at which point it was returned to store. Very disappointing. Expand
  12. AnonymousMC
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    i have never laughed so hard while playing a video game. humorous on levels other games can never hope to reach. i ate 5 live chickens in front of someone, i starved my children, i made a thriving town a ghost town, i farted on wealthy lady, i ran through the steets naked with guards chasing after me, i married 5 people in one day.
    my only gripe is that its WAY TOO EASY!!! you get
    i have never laughed so hard while playing a video game. humorous on levels other games can never hope to reach. i ate 5 live chickens in front of someone, i starved my children, i made a thriving town a ghost town, i farted on wealthy lady, i ran through the steets naked with guards chasing after me, i married 5 people in one day.
    my only gripe is that its WAY TOO EASY!!! you get mountains of money all the time, and if you spend them on health packs you can basically be invincible
    Expand
  13. ChrisD
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    I can definitely say that PM delivered. This is a game where you spend an obsessive amount of hours on one playthrough alone; imagine when you want to start a second and be the opposite of your first (i.e evil instead of good)? Trust me, buy this game!
  14. [Anonymous]
    Oct 25, 2008
    0
    It's slow, and boring. It's too easy, so I have nothing to buy. I can make the game in just my first gear. And the coop is boring. I changed my mind for buying this not-so-long-lasting game. I hope they will fix this.
  15. Oct 29, 2010
    5
    As much as I enjoyed Fable I it hurts for me to say that Fable II felt like a step back. The game barely even felt like an RPG. I enjoyed romping through Albion, but in the end I play RPGs for stories in which I feel I had a great impact. I just did not come close to that with Fable II. It is it's over-simplified combat and black and white morality choices that break the experience forAs much as I enjoyed Fable I it hurts for me to say that Fable II felt like a step back. The game barely even felt like an RPG. I enjoyed romping through Albion, but in the end I play RPGs for stories in which I feel I had a great impact. I just did not come close to that with Fable II. It is it's over-simplified combat and black and white morality choices that break the experience for me. Not to mention that there are less weapons, clothes, and absolutely no armor in the game. Customizing my character's appearance was fun to me. Now it is reduced to a handful of outfits. Being able to change the clothing's color is nice, but its not a saving grace. The addition of a pet is a good idea, as are the job mini-games (but jobs get dull far too fast). In the end this game is just too shallow for me to find playing it to be worth the price of admission. Expand
  16. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    That was it? Throughout playing the game, I kept going back and forth from giving this game an eight or a seven. With the defeat of the main threat over (and still having over half of the side quests to do) I easily settled on a seven. It's not so much that this game has potential, it reached extremely well everything that they wanted to do to make it a unique and entertaining, it's justThat was it? Throughout playing the game, I kept going back and forth from giving this game an eight or a seven. With the defeat of the main threat over (and still having over half of the side quests to do) I easily settled on a seven. It's not so much that this game has potential, it reached extremely well everything that they wanted to do to make it a unique and entertaining, it's just that they forgot to flesh out a story for your hero. A big plus was the "Sims interaction" approach with all the npcs. It certainly doesn't feel like your hero is the loneliest person on the planet any more. The combat starts off annoying due to the button mashing, but after leveling up your not having to hit the same ol' button (too much anyway). The use of a gun and the ability granted to shoot the body, head (always go for the head) or the weapon was a nice unique feature that you can't even find in today's shooters. And even though they went with caricatures of a 2-D style, the game's artwork and graphics were stunning. Probably one of the best looking RPG's I've played to date (and this game is three years old at this point) because of the artists strong attention to detail they give this game. After reading other reviews, I keep seeing the words "for the experience", and, yes, I agree. I recommend this above else for the experience of what Lionhead has created. But the sad parts are, for one, you are stuck on paths and have very little room to explore the world that was created. And the mapping system left me seriously disorientated to where I was at in the relationship to the continent? country? world? of Albion. Which is how I think this game comes off; disorientating yet worth getting lost into. Even if it's for the short duration of its plot line. Expand
  17. BrettH
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    It has been one of the finest gaming experiences I've had, and is among the best examples of the art form. That is subjective, of course. As with anything else in life, your enjoyment will depend on how you approach it. For example, if you went into the Sistine Chapel looking for "a kick-ass place to play paintball", and found that it "sucks because there is no Coke machine", It has been one of the finest gaming experiences I've had, and is among the best examples of the art form. That is subjective, of course. As with anything else in life, your enjoyment will depend on how you approach it. For example, if you went into the Sistine Chapel looking for "a kick-ass place to play paintball", and found that it "sucks because there is no Coke machine", you're probably not going to get much out of an RPG like Fable 2. Collapse
  18. DickS
    Jan 23, 2010
    2
    Very boring, short, and shallow. Interactions with npcs and choices are very terrible. You interact with people by farting at them which sounds funny but when thats the only upside to the game its garbage. Magic has no balance because there is one spell that does more damage than all the others at the same cost as the others. The plot could be interesting if it had actual depth and took Very boring, short, and shallow. Interactions with npcs and choices are very terrible. You interact with people by farting at them which sounds funny but when thats the only upside to the game its garbage. Magic has no balance because there is one spell that does more damage than all the others at the same cost as the others. The plot could be interesting if it had actual depth and took more than a few hours to complete. The game has no challenge unless your goal is to kill yourself which is impossible. Shooting mechanics are atrocious. The multilayer isn't even worth being called a multilayer its more of a tug of war between people for screen control. I gave this game a two because overextending the fart expression and messing it up causes you to crap your pants. Expand
  19. Aug 17, 2010
    4
    once again lionhead studio's fails to deliver . the first fable was a overhyped bunch of lies that was a mediocore game at best . the second is just as bad . the story is very dull and for a RPG its very key to have a story that will draw you in to keep you wanting to push foward. the combat is yet again a dull button masher . navagating the world map just sucks period. your dog which manyonce again lionhead studio's fails to deliver . the first fable was a overhyped bunch of lies that was a mediocore game at best . the second is just as bad . the story is very dull and for a RPG its very key to have a story that will draw you in to keep you wanting to push foward. the combat is yet again a dull button masher . navagating the world map just sucks period. your dog which many of the big critics have said is so loveable and endearing ,fels more like a annoyance. the joy of being evil or good doesnt feel near as fun as what Star Wars KOTR or Fall Out or Elder Scrolls Delivers . it is abit longer then the first one though i couldnt beat it it i got to bored with the story to want to finish it . the co-op is a broken and stupid set up . the only fun i had in this game was buying and selling realestate . just how said is that when in a RPG thats the funnest thing to do. Expand
  20. JoeD.
    Oct 20, 2008
    2
    Very disappointed with this game again lionhead studios have lied about just what features this game has pick up fallout or farcry2 before you bother with this title will only leave you with buyers regret raced out to pick this up at midnight launch here in Australia wish id stayed in bed AVOID.
  21. MattP
    Oct 30, 2008
    6
    In a word, meh. Fable was a really interesting game when it came out for the Xbox, and followed in the same vein as Jade Empire in the action-RPG realm, but Fable 2 doesn't really build on that idea any more, rather it expands on the general idea of Fable and just makes it MORE. There aren't enough items to keep me really interested (it reminded me of the the item recycling in In a word, meh. Fable was a really interesting game when it came out for the Xbox, and followed in the same vein as Jade Empire in the action-RPG realm, but Fable 2 doesn't really build on that idea any more, rather it expands on the general idea of Fable and just makes it MORE. There aren't enough items to keep me really interested (it reminded me of the the item recycling in WoW) and there is not immediacy to the game: nothing seems like it HAS to be done, which, in an RPG where you really don't have to do anything besides the main story, isn't good. In KotOR, you were really interested to see was happened when you solved the murder on Maanan, or in Oblivion you wanted to see the new and inventive way you could murder people in the Dark Brotherhood. But in Fable, meh. Expand
  22. Mar 5, 2012
    4
    This game is just boring, first of, there is no challenge in the game you cant die so the game is easy as hell istead when you are defeted you just lose some experience points but these are not hard to earn, second the character has no personality wathsoever, never talks and nevers expresses himself, at lest in some games like zelda Link doesnt talk but when something bad happend heThis game is just boring, first of, there is no challenge in the game you cant die so the game is easy as hell istead when you are defeted you just lose some experience points but these are not hard to earn, second the character has no personality wathsoever, never talks and nevers expresses himself, at lest in some games like zelda Link doesnt talk but when something bad happend he screams or something like that but here the character doesnt do anything of that, is the most unexpresive character I ever seen in videogames. The world is good in a visual perspective the enemieas are well designed and the location but techniclly speaking the world sucks. The dungeons are really easy and boring just move straight forward and there you go the travel is tedious and slow if you dont use autotravel. If you are looking for a good RPG look somewhere else. Expand
  23. NasosT.
    Oct 20, 2008
    10
    The only game in ages to rival Zelda OOT epicness and greatness, fun and addictive combat that takes many replays to experience fully, amazing varied vistas, things to do until the second coming, a whole world to buy, interact with, and that is just an appetizer :) The story is great too, the quests varied and unique as in no game before, and when you are done replaying it 6-10 times, The only game in ages to rival Zelda OOT epicness and greatness, fun and addictive combat that takes many replays to experience fully, amazing varied vistas, things to do until the second coming, a whole world to buy, interact with, and that is just an appetizer :) The story is great too, the quests varied and unique as in no game before, and when you are done replaying it 6-10 times, there is always co-op and more things to do to your unique world Simply put, EPIC !!!! Expand
  24. AGamer
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    This was an awesome game, honestly I had no problems with this game. Some people might not like a Game like this(it's not as serious as some), but I had no problems with that either, so A Must-Buy for any Un-Serious Gamer.
  25. MatthewM
    Mar 30, 2009
    6
    While not terrible, there simply isn't enough to do, most the side quests are completed as the main story progresses and if you miss any early ones out, it appears to become irreversible. While the bugs are less noticable than other titles, there are still several parts of this game that ruin its "open world" feel. As much as you can go back to places you've visited the roads While not terrible, there simply isn't enough to do, most the side quests are completed as the main story progresses and if you miss any early ones out, it appears to become irreversible. While the bugs are less noticable than other titles, there are still several parts of this game that ruin its "open world" feel. As much as you can go back to places you've visited the roads there are all too linear. As much as decision making was hyped up there can be parts of Fable 2 where players aiming for pure good/evil characters are forced to go down an unfavourable route to keep thier traits. i shall admit that the graphics work well with the setting.not really worth playing for those new to the series or genre. fable fans can expect some fun from it but dont get your hopes up on it besting the first game. Fable 2, an average game more light on content than light hearted. 63/100. Expand
  26. Mar 9, 2011
    6
    Fable II is entertaining and, at least for a time, fun. The main quest line is very short, though, and the myriad side quests and "life" elements that supposedly provide "hours and hours" of gameplay really aren't very much fun. Combat is really easy, and the proliferation of life phials means that even in the off chance that you do fall in battle, you're revived without consequence.Fable II is entertaining and, at least for a time, fun. The main quest line is very short, though, and the myriad side quests and "life" elements that supposedly provide "hours and hours" of gameplay really aren't very much fun. Combat is really easy, and the proliferation of life phials means that even in the off chance that you do fall in battle, you're revived without consequence. Even if you DON'T have said life phial., you're resurrected with a negligible loss of experience and a scar somewhere on your body. Oh no, my video game character is scarred! Now I have to restart the whole game! The interface to switch between spells is also poorly constructed, making it nearly impossible to create a true mage. Ranged weapons are handy here and there, but the game is really geared toward the swordsman build. Overall, the RPG elements are lacking.

    But then, you're supposed to be able to spend hours "living the life" of the hero. Sure, you can get married. Multiple times, even. To a man and a woman, if you want. But who cares? You can get a job doing the same thing - chopping wood, pouring beer, banging a hammer on an anvil - over and over and over and over again. Woo-hoo. You can buy every single piece of property in the entire game world, if you have to patience to save up the money. You can watch your weight or get fat. You can get tattoos and haircuts, as well as change your clothes. But these are things I have to do in real life! I don't want to have to do them in a video game, too! Fable II is a mildly entertaining, quaint game that gets old after about 10 hours. Even for the obsessive compulsive completionist, this game will disappoint.
    Expand
  27. WillWright
    Mar 10, 2008
    0
    Amazing how people are voting on an unreleased game! However, I guarantee you that it will not meet the hype. We all know which game will be the best.
  28. Aug 13, 2011
    4
    I enjoy RPG and i bought this for my xbox360. As an RPG it is just rubbish. The graphics are shoddy and the story is for kids. Nothing new and nothing great.
  29. Mar 5, 2012
    4
    If you're a fan of JRPG this isn't the game for you. Storyline is very thin, combat is very simplistic. I really tried to like this game but it's become one of those games I will never finish cause I find it's a waste of my time. Also the framerate at some area's is very low and that doesn't improve the feeling of the game either.
  30. MeroAlhammadi
    Oct 26, 2008
    0
    I have never been so disappointed like this before, this game clearly over hyped there is just nothing next gen in it. The graphics seems like it is old Gen. even though the gameplay is cool. but Hey I paid for a next gen console where is my next gen games???
  31. Jack
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    I loved the original, and from digging into the unreleased content of the first game, I have found out what Peter meant when he said he was unsatisfied with the game. The second Fable promises to include everything from before as well as much more and also refining everything to perfection. I have no doubt that this will be the best 360 game of all time. Yeah rock on.
  32. Gregg
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game!! I have recently purchased the game and probably played only 6 hours. This is a hugely entertaining game and I have spent the majority of this time working as a blacksmith and investing in property, Im actually rating myself as quite the property guru. Therein lies the beauty of this game; you can play it as you see fit. In fact my girlfriend is playing this Absolutely fantastic game!! I have recently purchased the game and probably played only 6 hours. This is a hugely entertaining game and I have spent the majority of this time working as a blacksmith and investing in property, Im actually rating myself as quite the property guru. Therein lies the beauty of this game; you can play it as you see fit. In fact my girlfriend is playing this game in a sims like manner, buying houses, decorating them, buying clothes, changing her apperance, getting married, having kids and accumalting a nice little fortune. All of the above mentioned is a small part in wonderfully diverse game. The overall atmosphere of the game is great, from the voice acting to the presentation of the cities and the landscape. Walking around bowerstone market is much like walking around a real-life market, you hear the cries of "sales", the gossiping between the ladies, the men and woman at their respective stores or stands pushing for sales; all of this is truly immersive and of course if you are well liked you will have followers or at least you will be greeted as walk from place to another. Obviously there are all the normal rpg elements such as levelling up, increasing the potency of weapons etc. Of course there is the main storyline to follow which I believe is quite an epic tale. There are so many variables in this game such as the way your apperance changes depending on your actions, either good or evil, corrupt or pure; you can also become fat which is defendant on the food you eat, there really is just so much to the game. All in all this a fantastic immeresive experience and as mentioned one in which you can play as you see fit.....bottom line; you cannot really ask more from an RPG. Well Done PM!! Expand
  33. IronE
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    Engaging, open and fun. Main quest advances quickly, but if you take a bit of time exploring it becomes a lot more enjoyable. New magic system take some getting used to, but i like it. In an age of the MMOs creating a playstyleof find the '!' and complete the task, it is nice that they allow some freedom to have some imagination with the game. It is not quite as open as an Engaging, open and fun. Main quest advances quickly, but if you take a bit of time exploring it becomes a lot more enjoyable. New magic system take some getting used to, but i like it. In an age of the MMOs creating a playstyleof find the '!' and complete the task, it is nice that they allow some freedom to have some imagination with the game. It is not quite as open as an Oblivion, but you can have more impact on the game. I am sure that DLC will be coming soon and will expand the game even further. Expand
  34. RavenWolfx
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    Goods news first. This game is entertaining and worth the purchase if you are into Action RPGs. The graphics are good (not amazing), the companion is interesting, the Spells are pretty cool looking, and the interface is user friendly. The bad news. The story is fairly short. Even with side quests, you will probably beat it in about 10 hours, maybe 15. There is no armor in the game, so you Goods news first. This game is entertaining and worth the purchase if you are into Action RPGs. The graphics are good (not amazing), the companion is interesting, the Spells are pretty cool looking, and the interface is user friendly. The bad news. The story is fairly short. Even with side quests, you will probably beat it in about 10 hours, maybe 15. There is no armor in the game, so you can only get more health, which annoys the hell outta me. The co-op doesn't let both of you use your own characters or weapons, which is a definate let down. Framerate drops when you use a high-level spell (especially in co-op). The appearance for Good characters is rather plain. The Evil characters get a lot more thought put into them. The character looks needs more customization, too few hair/tattoo options. They have cut out the tattooes for arms and legs, you can only get tattooes on your face and chest. While I listed a lot more bad points, I'm a negative kind of person. This game is still fun and at least worth a rent (a buy if you liked the orginal Fable or action RPGs). Expand
  35. SarahS
    Oct 27, 2008
    7
    Like the first Fable, this is a decent title. It has a few bugs, it suffers from long load times, and you can't really enjoy exploring because of the poor graphics on a standard television... the menu is a bit clunky and slow, and that makes eating multiple items a chore. Combat is somewhat entertaining later on (it gets better as you 'level') but it's never Like the first Fable, this is a decent title. It has a few bugs, it suffers from long load times, and you can't really enjoy exploring because of the poor graphics on a standard television... the menu is a bit clunky and slow, and that makes eating multiple items a chore. Combat is somewhat entertaining later on (it gets better as you 'level') but it's never challenging. It has some cute features, such as marriage and getting your wife pregnant, and buying and selling property, but they aren't enough to sustain it. Also, the game is really rather short... I feel those features would be better utilized in a longer game. Also, the load times are annoying when you're traveling back and forth via fast travel to make a buck. Would be better on a PC (or if you could install.) Expand
  36. DaveH
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Great game - I have put in over 30 hours already doing all the various activities around the world and am not halfway through the MQ. There are a few ways to play, either rush through the MQ, or explore and enjoy the world around you and sink tons of hours into the game by doing other things that are substantial to the world. There's no reason to complain that this game is too short Great game - I have put in over 30 hours already doing all the various activities around the world and am not halfway through the MQ. There are a few ways to play, either rush through the MQ, or explore and enjoy the world around you and sink tons of hours into the game by doing other things that are substantial to the world. There's no reason to complain that this game is too short if you have just rushed through it. Also of note is that the world and regions change after certain events (and depending on what your do makes them either prosperous or in ruin). Fable II is heaps better than the first installment. In my experience, spellcasting is EASY to use and as you add points into your spells, your lower tier spells charge faster and are more powerful. Combat is satisfying and often can encourage the use of many techniques (from melee, range, spellcasting) and is rewarded by boosting XP bonuses. Expand
  37. CoryD
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    I never played the first Fable so it took me a little while to settle into the second installment, but it's a blast once you start upgrading and getting into the meat of the game. Honestly, it took me little while to warm up to it, cuz it's quite a bit different than my fave rpg of all time, Oblivion, but it's a very solid game.. recommended buy!
  38. NickM
    Feb 1, 2009
    10
    A fantastically immersive game with a ridiculously broad scope. Aside minor control issues and a few minor bugs, I found my main criticism was that the game wasn't even bigger, unfair but illustrative of the huge potential this well crafted universe has. Fable 3 is definitely one to watch.
  39. GabrielB
    Apr 2, 2009
    4
    I don't understand how these critics could rate Fable 2 so well, considering it's many flaws. I played through it, expecting the same feeling of immersion I got from the first Fable game, only to get a shallow experience that left me asking myself "Is that it?". There were a total of literally five enemies to fight, NPCs were all boring and exactly the same and the treasures I don't understand how these critics could rate Fable 2 so well, considering it's many flaws. I played through it, expecting the same feeling of immersion I got from the first Fable game, only to get a shallow experience that left me asking myself "Is that it?". There were a total of literally five enemies to fight, NPCs were all boring and exactly the same and the treasures were so easy to find I felt no need to go back and look for them. Perhaps the greatest disappointment was the dog, that Peter Molyneaux raved about; it turned out to have a simple AI and no significant purpose. Do not buy this game. Expand
  40. AshtonJ
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    This is one of those games I enjoyed so much it hurt to finish. It had a story I loved and gameplay which kept me entertained throughout. One of the best games I have played to date.
  41. NickO
    Oct 25, 2009
    3
    I really wanted to like this game but it's very hard. There are a few good qualities but the bad elements are overwhelming. The economy is kind of the most fun part of the entire game. You can make money and buy houses and businesses to make more money but houses and businesses are all there is to buy. You don't need the money to buy weapons because it's next to impossible I really wanted to like this game but it's very hard. There are a few good qualities but the bad elements are overwhelming. The economy is kind of the most fun part of the entire game. You can make money and buy houses and businesses to make more money but houses and businesses are all there is to buy. You don't need the money to buy weapons because it's next to impossible to die and there is no armor so the monetary system is sort of irrelevant. It's the worst looking RPG on the 360 in my opinion and a lot of the cool concepts and the things that made the first game immersive have been changed or completely removed. It's kind of a slap in the face to hardcore gamers and people who loved the first game like I did. I feel like molyneux tried to make the game accessible to everyone and ruined everything that made the first fable feel so magical. There are some innovative things lionhead tried to do with the multiplayer but they are so poorly implemented they are almost unplayable. In both local and online multiplayer you have to keep both players on the screen so you're both constantly fighting for screen space and it's very irritating. The terrible loot also makes exploring kind of a chore. Why would I want to go all the way through a cave for 20 minutes just to find a health potion or some dye that's a color you can buy for nothing in town? The combat has taken a back seat to social interactions with townfolk. I never had a problem killing anything, even in the pathetic excuse for an arena. I died twice during my playthrough and the first time was to see what would happen. There isn't even a limit to your magic. You can literally stand there and hit the B button to do area damage over and over until your enemies die. Molyneux tried to make an RPG that appeals to everyone and it's very boring and shallow. Highly disappointing. Expand
  42. JayC
    Nov 13, 2009
    6
    For all the expansiveness of the world, it felt like an uninspired sequel. You couldn't retain as ridiculous levels of power, making it less fun, and the only hard fights are the spires. There wasn't a feeling of a boss fight, especially at the end of the game, which robbed me of most of the joy I'd had up to that point. Nonetheless, I was entertained, but not impressed.
  43. Aug 17, 2010
    2
    Very boring, short, and shallow. Interactions with npcs and choices are very terrible. You interact with people by farting at them which sounds funny but when thats the only upside to the game its garbage. Magic has no balance because there is one spell that does more damage than all the others at the same cost as the others. The plot could be interesting if it had actual depth and tookVery boring, short, and shallow. Interactions with npcs and choices are very terrible. You interact with people by farting at them which sounds funny but when thats the only upside to the game its garbage. Magic has no balance because there is one spell that does more damage than all the others at the same cost as the others. The plot could be interesting if it had actual depth and took more than a few hours to complete. The game has no challenge unless your goal is to kill yourself which is impossible. Shooting mechanics are atrocious. The multilayer isn't even worth being called a multilayer its more of a tug of war between people for screen control. I gave this game a two because overextending the fart expression and messing it up causes you to crap your pants. -Now that I have an account i'm reposting. Expand
  44. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    IT Is very positive and amaizing roll game. It's let me remember my childhood specialy when i was play with my brother and sister, it's something else.
    I Give this game 10
  45. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This game is good, is the combat simplistic, yes but it works more towards the games advantage than against, is the story simple and cliche why yeah, but so are a ton of other games, the world is more open than fable was, the game looks good, it plays well, I like the game. I'm not trying to say it's perfect, but there are no glaring issue that take away from my enjoyment of the game as aThis game is good, is the combat simplistic, yes but it works more towards the games advantage than against, is the story simple and cliche why yeah, but so are a ton of other games, the world is more open than fable was, the game looks good, it plays well, I like the game. I'm not trying to say it's perfect, but there are no glaring issue that take away from my enjoyment of the game as a enjoyable whole. Expand
  46. Apr 19, 2011
    6
    There were a lot of cool things in the game, but the game was just not well balanced and integrated. First, it is extremely easy. I kept thinking that this was a kid's game and then realized that it had adult content. The interface is horrible. Inventory use and management is prohibitively slow and awkward. The economy is completely out of scale- I had millions of gold with very littleThere were a lot of cool things in the game, but the game was just not well balanced and integrated. First, it is extremely easy. I kept thinking that this was a kid's game and then realized that it had adult content. The interface is horrible. Inventory use and management is prohibitively slow and awkward. The economy is completely out of scale- I had millions of gold with very little to spend it on. On a related issue, re: treasures you have to patiently wait for the dog to find the 'dig spot', and then patiently wait until the digging animation was done. And then.. boom.. the treasures were almost always useless. When I have over 2 million gold, a sack of 5,000 gold is unrewarding. To me, it is as though they made the game, but never bothered playing it. Because anyone who played the game would notice these issues. It is unfortunate, because there were some very cool features in the game, and the potential was there for a great game but the lack of *balance* and *integration* really made the game hard to be fun. I'm not sure how some critics (or users) felt justified giving this game a 10. It's definitely not a 10. Some of the features of the game may have deserved a 10, but, as a whole, I think the User Score average captured it with a 6.2. Expand
  47. Apr 21, 2011
    6
    Fable 2 is the second in Lionhead Studio's series of games that over reach and promise to be a complete and immersive game experience but just sort of end up being mediocre action/adventure titles, Though nice to look at and filled with some great comedic dialougue and some good SIM-life options Fable 2 falls short of the hype. Should it be judged so harshly on hype? Normally I would sayFable 2 is the second in Lionhead Studio's series of games that over reach and promise to be a complete and immersive game experience but just sort of end up being mediocre action/adventure titles, Though nice to look at and filled with some great comedic dialougue and some good SIM-life options Fable 2 falls short of the hype. Should it be judged so harshly on hype? Normally I would say 'No." but the developers here have used their 'innovation" and "unique and creative game design" buzzwords to create a frothing pulsing hype around what they claim to be a game changer but just ends up being "pretty entertaining".

    Fable 2 is kind of short. From the standpoint of any RPG fan. The main story missions will take you well under 15 hours to complete. There are side quests and jobs to perform and houses to buy so that you could just try and inhabit the world for hours after you've completed the game but since none of this seems necessary to the overall plot I found myself not giving a hoot. The story attempts greatness and I must say, since I was reading the Dark Tower series while playing this, there were certain elements that thoroughly intrigued me, but it does fall apart almost comically in the third act. To the point where you're left wonder what the hell just happened.

    It isn't all bad. The combat system is top notch allowing action gamers like me to take control of of 3 different play styles all at once and giving you a great sense of power and finesse throughout. Even in the most mundane of battles I found myself enjoying it to the last swing, shot or fireball. It's a great looking game as well. None of that photo-realistic mumbo jumbo, this thing is completely stylish (like a Fable) and it all looks great. The arcetechture and clothes all contribute to a great setting.

    All in all I did want to enjoy this more than I did. But with customization options just laying there like a limp noodle as well as the story. The short list of good points don't add up to a "game changer".
    Expand
  48. maxs
    Oct 23, 2008
    5
    after the first one disappointed me so much, and hearing how good this one was, i decided to pick it up. More of the same! I can't believe after how boring the first was, that they continue the same. Such a disappointment, i can't believe how gimmicky this game tries to be.
  49. IngramvanHelvoort
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    It's clear that Robert H. has never actually played the game and is just trying to bash it, so don't mind him.
    The only reason people are downvoting this is because A: they don't like peter moly, B: they don't like the genre, or C: they don't like xbox 360 and it being exclusive..
    This game is great and a lot of fun, and a user score of 7.5 is total bull.. anyone
    It's clear that Robert H. has never actually played the game and is just trying to bash it, so don't mind him.
    The only reason people are downvoting this is because A: they don't like peter moly, B: they don't like the genre, or C: they don't like xbox 360 and it being exclusive..
    This game is great and a lot of fun, and a user score of 7.5 is total bull.. anyone who's actually played the game properly will generally give it around a 8/9 because that's what it's actually worth (at least), not 7.5 or below (it used to be lower due to ignorant bashers)
    Expand
  50. whoevernever
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    fuck off sony fanboys this game i amazing good dont listn to the fucking reviews who ever gave this game below 9.0 is the biggest idiot in the planet the graphics is abit better than gta4 and the voice acting is aamzing theirs so much to do i was stuned ! it world is amaziingly detailed and the gameplay is fucking well no words can express it but it has some downs do theirs alot of glitchsfuck off sony fanboys this game i amazing good dont listn to the fucking reviews who ever gave this game below 9.0 is the biggest idiot in the planet the graphics is abit better than gta4 and the voice acting is aamzing theirs so much to do i was stuned ! it world is amaziingly detailed and the gameplay is fucking well no words can express it but it has some downs do theirs alot of glitchs and bug becus its so huge buto ther than thatt its fucknig truly amazing and poeple stop fucking complaining about coop becuas coop is still good erven though u cant bring your own heros Expand
  51. JonathanRafii
    Oct 26, 2008
    1
    you know what game i like, a game that isn't absoulute wank and a pile of shite. peter edbrook told me to buy this game and i hate him for it it's a pile of shit and a waste of money. FUCK YOU EDBROOK! I'd like a game where it'd tell where the fuck to go, instead of a the shit way they do now!
  52. Ian
    Oct 26, 2008
    6
    Not bad, I honestly enjoyed fable 1 more, the story was certainly better in fable 1 (not that fable 1's story was good), there are certainly some more polished aspects of gameplay added in this version of fable, others less. very ho-hum after beating it (which took all of 10 hours).
  53. mfg.me.uk
    Oct 29, 2008
    0
    this game get a big fat 0 from me, id rather suck a cock than play this for another minute. it sucks big fat dick with an std dont buy it buy a sony game that is decent maybe like LBP or GT5 or HOME i mean seriusly get a life i dunt wanna run aboot with my fucking pet camel. pS3 FTW
  54. ChrissyT
    Dec 2, 2008
    6
    About 2 weeks ago I rated the game a 6, having only put a few hours into it and not feeling very compelled to continue playing.
    Yesterday I decided to continue playing. After playing what feels like only 1/3 through the game, I was treated to the end credits. I had heard about the '10 hours main quest' but to me it feels more like 5-7 hours. Seeing how the walkthroughs on
    About 2 weeks ago I rated the game a 6, having only put a few hours into it and not feeling very compelled to continue playing.
    Yesterday I decided to continue playing. After playing what feels like only 1/3 through the game, I was treated to the end credits. I had heard about the '10 hours main quest' but to me it feels more like 5-7 hours. Seeing how the walkthroughs on gamefaqs cover the main story in only a few pages, I was forced to accept that this indeed was all there is to Fable 2. I think you can count the total number of maps on 2 hands. Yes the location maps are quite big but there ant nearly as much of them as in Fable 1, and they are still mostly good looking but 'empty' environments.
    You can still continue playing the side quests, but there arent'y really a lot of those either, and most of them are rather short.
    So unless you fancy running around and digging for treasure or trying to get a truckload of wives or real estate which is all rather pointless, this game is not worth your money. Rent or buy used.
    Expand
  55. StevenH
    Jan 2, 2009
    6
    Well, first of all.... The game started off pretty welcoming, I was expecting alot more from Fable 1, but... I kinda expected the short story line, so that did not bother me. What did dissapoint me, was lack in armor, and the 1 second lag whenever you try to perform an action. Also the D-pad menu bar doesn't stay up, like in Fable 1. The dog is pretty cool, but makes findingWell, first of all.... The game started off pretty welcoming, I was expecting alot more from Fable 1, but... I kinda expected the short story line, so that did not bother me. What did dissapoint me, was lack in armor, and the 1 second lag whenever you try to perform an action. Also the D-pad menu bar doesn't stay up, like in Fable 1. The dog is pretty cool, but makes finding treasures very very easy. The impossibility to truly die on the game makes it tooo easy of a game. Plus, you can kill like 209742974 enemies easy. I like how you can turn safe mode on and off, that keeps you from messing up too much in town. There isn't a very big spell list on the game, and You can only use 1 spell at a time, because it takes too long to switch spells. Easy to fall in love/marry. Too easy, I thought the adult content to it was kinda funny, condoms? lol... but there could of been alot of work added to it. Found some glitches, like little kids talking, about the same thing... over, and over, and over.... Not very new monsters... I do like how your decisions change everything in the future for you. It isn't fun going to the menu every second for something, (the hotkey function in Fable1 isn't on this one for the D-pad use) kinda a pain in the .... I wish the dog would like, attack things, instead of bark. The co-op should of let the other player play as a real character rather then a henchman. There were less melee weapons this time, and no great sword either. Money is too easy to get. The leveling in abilities was kinda rediculous tho, first you get 1 level of a spell for 600, then later 2300, then later 12000? kinda a big jump eh? You will beat the game before your max in power, but you don't really need all that power to beat the game tho. (cuse you never really die) I was expecting a 9/10 with this game, but was dissapointed in a way. People rating this 10/10 must be crazy, and these people rating under 4 must be children with no sense. As much as I want to give this game a 10, it just isn't a 10 rating game. Hoping for a Fable 3 though, with... improvements due to everyone's responses... Also one more thing, the territory isn't very vast, and you really can't travel everywhere too much. I love the ability to jump off some ledges, but can't we get the ability to jump when we want? lol... hard to find RPGs where you can simply... jump... even kids jump. More monsters, less lagg, more armor, more weapons, more spells, more landscape to travel, more difficulty, more story, better co-op. Thanks! Expand
  56. AnonymousMC
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Honestly, I was not terribly impressed with Fable I, but Fable II is definitely an improvement over the original in just about every way. It's simply one of those titles that you play the **** out of until you're bored and feel like underrating it just because it's gotten old to you. I guess I'm less impulsive than some of the other reviewers. Yeah, I guess itHonestly, I was not terribly impressed with Fable I, but Fable II is definitely an improvement over the original in just about every way. It's simply one of those titles that you play the **** out of until you're bored and feel like underrating it just because it's gotten old to you. I guess I'm less impulsive than some of the other reviewers. Yeah, I guess it wasn't the brightest RPG of '07 (that would've been fallout 3), but it wasn't the dimmest either. Expand
  57. charliespencer
    Feb 1, 2009
    1
    rrrraaaaagh im so pissed off wth this game. apparently theyve covered everything and its so big and all this but i cnt even go through the first portal! why??? cos it keeps crashing im being genrous with a 1 and im takin it bk asap good job i kept the recipt. and my m8 has a full ring of death from it! *sigh* thats my little rant and rave
  58. MikeChambers
    Feb 15, 2009
    7
    I was pleasantly surprised by both the number of user reviews and the overall average review score of these users. It is a far more accurate representation of this game's quality than the one given by official publications, and inline with not only my own opinion but that of everyone I know who has played it.
    Never has a game, in thirty years of playing them, left me feeling more
    I was pleasantly surprised by both the number of user reviews and the overall average review score of these users. It is a far more accurate representation of this game's quality than the one given by official publications, and inline with not only my own opinion but that of everyone I know who has played it.
    Never has a game, in thirty years of playing them, left me feeling more disappointed than this one. It could and should have been great, especially seeing as it is more Fable 1.5 than a true successor. Where was all that development time spent?
    Play Fable The Lost Chapters instead, and have a much better time doing so!
    Expand
  59. HayleyW
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    I think Fable II is much better than the first! You have the choice to be a woman which makes it so much more interesting, and you have different and new exciting places to explore. I really enjoy it because its so magical and addictive. The new Fable also has more humour, and its great you have new expressions and can access them more easily. I think it was a really good idea that theyI think Fable II is much better than the first! You have the choice to be a woman which makes it so much more interesting, and you have different and new exciting places to explore. I really enjoy it because its so magical and addictive. The new Fable also has more humour, and its great you have new expressions and can access them more easily. I think it was a really good idea that they added in long-term quests like the Gargoyles, it gives you a great experience and makes you really enjoy it. Expand
  60. SamJohnson
    Feb 22, 2009
    5
    Too short, offline multiplayer sucked, Too easy, button mashy combat, awkward spell system, the story sucked and the ending was ridiculous. Don't expect an epic final boss battle, unless u count shooting bottles as a boss battle.

    Excellent graphics, great customisation, you can own any building at all and plenty of weapons to look out for. overall, very disappointing, Fable
    Too short, offline multiplayer sucked, Too easy, button mashy combat, awkward spell system, the story sucked and the ending was ridiculous. Don't expect an epic final boss battle, unless u count shooting bottles as a boss battle.

    Excellent graphics, great customisation, you can own any building at all and plenty of weapons to look out for.

    overall, very disappointing, Fable lost chapters is certainly a much better game
    Expand
  61. PatrickRoche
    Mar 2, 2009
    5
    Let me begin by saying that this is not necessarily a bad game. I mean the art style is pretty unique, the combat can be fun and it is kinda cool to make your character look like the badasses from "Brotherhood of the Wold" but that is where the praise for this game ends. This game is the definition of the word disappointment. I loved the first Fable and i believe it was a better game thenLet me begin by saying that this is not necessarily a bad game. I mean the art style is pretty unique, the combat can be fun and it is kinda cool to make your character look like the badasses from "Brotherhood of the Wold" but that is where the praise for this game ends. This game is the definition of the word disappointment. I loved the first Fable and i believe it was a better game then this one. Everything we were promised seems superficial in this game. I mean so i can affect the world but only see the actual effects of my actions in certain areas. I can "customize" my character by dressing him in the same ridiculous looking clothing. Oh but wait i can use horrible looking dye to make my character look like a walking banana if i want to. Also why is it that every male character has Buzz Lightyear's chin? I mean my character looked like Jay Leno's brother and it was annoying. As far as influence goes the social system makes me feel like i was a mime trying to flail my arms about as the inhabitants of Albion painfully explained every finite detail to me because my character is incapable of asking questions. The first Fable was an awesome game that gave us great ideas and begged for a sequel to capitalize on the amazing principles of the first game. Unfortunately this is not that sequel. Peter Molyneaux next time you make a game tell us it is going to be a game about monkeys throwing feces so when we get something slightly more impressive we can actually be impressed. Expand
  62. ericurena
    Mar 20, 2009
    6
    i really wanted to rate this higher but i can't the game was just not very good. the story line was mediocre at best the battles were way too easy & no final battle to speak of or if there was a final battle, it was so easy that i didn't realize it was a final battle. after waiting so long for the sequel, i have to say what a disappiontment. by the way i was a huge fable one fan
  63. EliJ.
    Jul 12, 2009
    6
    this game isnt bad. but then again the combat is complete button smashing and it didn't impress. I also love how edge magazine gives it a 90. I've never seen edge magazine give a ps3 game above an 80. It just goes to show you how biased this site is, especially when it comes to xbox vs. ps3..it makes me laugh.
  64. AnonymousMC
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    LULZ THIS GAME SUCKS!!!

    Oh wait, no it doesn't. Who cares if you can't customize your character the same as in the first one? Big fucking deal. So much of the game is amazing: the art style, combat, the story, and more. Sure the dog and other aspects of the game aren't as revelatory as they were supposed to be, but have you come to expect anything else from Peter Molynux?
    LULZ THIS GAME SUCKS!!!

    Oh wait, no it doesn't. Who cares if you can't customize your character the same as in the first one? Big fucking deal. So much of the game is amazing: the art style, combat, the story, and more. Sure the dog and other aspects of the game aren't as revelatory as they were supposed to be, but have you come to expect anything else from Peter Molynux? Seriously.
    Expand
  65. fablelovercook
    Jun 11, 2008
    2
    This game is rubbish i wanted to go to a building and it didnt let me in but it is where i needed to go to get misson 2 i am so disappointed about the makers i think it the intro is rubbish there is one good thing about it its name and graphics !!!!!!!!
  66. JohnA.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    This game has so many features, and that alone merits the game a score of 10! Peter Molyneux really put his heart in this one, and there no broken promises like the previous one. This game is awesome!
  67. BrandonM.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    Great graphics,social interaction that has never been done this well in an rpg before,combat: ease of use and difficulty to master makes this enjoyable to all.removing armor stats in clothing lets you look any way you want without hindering yourself, and amazing ai even for the dog.
  68. LeonardG.
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    I haven't been attracted to a game like this since Mario Galaxy. The world is beautiful, the characters are entertaining the designs are original, the acting is good. Most importantly, the game is FUN and addictive. With Fallout 3 sucking everyone else's time away, I may stick to Fable 2 for my entertainment for a while. This game is great. My only complaints are only minimal, I haven't been attracted to a game like this since Mario Galaxy. The world is beautiful, the characters are entertaining the designs are original, the acting is good. Most importantly, the game is FUN and addictive. With Fallout 3 sucking everyone else's time away, I may stick to Fable 2 for my entertainment for a while. This game is great. My only complaints are only minimal, if it could have had about 4 more months in the oven, it could be perfect. The interface needed a bit more work. After I got married, I felt more unsure of how to have sex than I did in real life the first time. I had the bed there, she "wants sex" but I just couldn't figure out how to perform. Didn't see it in the menus and the brief popup info at the top went away too quickly, but this is only minor. I LOVE this game! Expand
  69. Dan
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    I only received this yesterday(thanks Hardly Normal for breaking the embargo, Suckers!) but have been having a blast so far. An excellently crafted world full of charm and life. Your canine companion is one of the best examples of in game animation I have seen ever making it very hard not to feel a connection with him. From what I have seen there is plenty of depth to the I only received this yesterday(thanks Hardly Normal for breaking the embargo, Suckers!) but have been having a blast so far. An excellently crafted world full of charm and life. Your canine companion is one of the best examples of in game animation I have seen ever making it very hard not to feel a connection with him. From what I have seen there is plenty of depth to the combat,magic,ranged weapons,economic and social systems, whilst if you don't want to get to involved any of these areas you dont have to. I am playing on the good side so far, but I can see there is a huge potential to have a lot of wicked fun as an evil S.O.B. Have to try co-op soon as it shouod be great. There are some flaws but the overall package is that good that they are easily overlooked. Cant wait finish work and see how much money my pie shop has earned. Happy Adventuring all!!!! Expand
  70. ErikP.
    Oct 21, 2008
    6
    I have only played a little bit of the game, but I can already tell it's only going to be a marginal release. The graphics are beautiful on an HD quite stunning. That's the only good thing I can say at the moment. The controls are sluggish, the weapon design is weak, talking to people could be better. I mean if you're going to make a live action rpg take a note from I have only played a little bit of the game, but I can already tell it's only going to be a marginal release. The graphics are beautiful on an HD quite stunning. That's the only good thing I can say at the moment. The controls are sluggish, the weapon design is weak, talking to people could be better. I mean if you're going to make a live action rpg take a note from Bethesda with Oblivion. Make something dope and interesting that continues to have a lasting affect for days to come. There will be kids that like Fable and some that will not enjoy it. Those who don't enjoy it know what a real RPG is and can be. I would say look out for Fallout 3. That game is going to be crazy good. Expand
  71. MichaelA.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    No RPG ever made has been perfect (except arguably Chrono Trigger). This game comes the closest I've seen to perfection since the mid-late '90s. Mass Effect, while a good game, is currently rated a 91 on here. Two points above this work of art. That hopefully will not continue for much longer.
  72. ChapmanS.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    This game is everything you wanted Fable 1 to be and more. A very worthy sequel and very deep rewarding gameplay. If it wasn't for Little Big Planet this would probably be game of the year.
  73. DavidN.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    It takes a while the get the hang of it, but then it's just pure and plain OWNAGE! From the combat system to the traveling menus and online, not anything to complain of. There's just one "If only...." and it's the fact you can't local coop. Then you wonder if they'll make it in an update, then you shut up and continue playing fable.
  74. RobertH.
    Oct 22, 2008
    2
    Give me Gears 2, dross like this is getting more wide spread on the 360! Its becoming a 2nd rate system thats selling well due to its low price, but its a budget machine, closed off system. Only one game worth playing on it and thats Gears.
  75. AndrewM.
    Oct 22, 2008
    8
    Really solid game. Huge improvement over the first Fable, which I didn't really enjoy too much. Still a bit on the short side, and has the all-too-familiar 75% finished feel to it as far as the storyline goes. I guess it means it's easy for them to sell us the expansion when it comes out. The combat felt awesome, although was really a bit too easy, which coming from me, Really solid game. Huge improvement over the first Fable, which I didn't really enjoy too much. Still a bit on the short side, and has the all-too-familiar 75% finished feel to it as far as the storyline goes. I guess it means it's easy for them to sell us the expansion when it comes out. The combat felt awesome, although was really a bit too easy, which coming from me, indicates that it was far, far too easy. Property ownership is expanded and more worthwhile, and engagement with the other people in the world is a lot more interesting, although there's no real challenge to it. Fun, though. A prostitute offered me sex, so I married her instead. She lives in a caravan. Expand
  76. RobinF.
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    I have not played fable 1,and Iam pretty new to the xbox game scene.I played Fable 2 for a couple of hours the other night and the game sucked me right in.WOW
  77. DigitalE.
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    Fable II is everything you wanted the first Fable to be. It's still on the short side, but there's much more reason to play this time after the game is over and replay since you can play as a girl or guy. A must purchase if you are a fan of the original!!!
  78. EdwardB.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    I've played just a few hours of it. Lionhead's goal with this game have really shown and have provent to be quiet effective. I found myself smiling when my dog just wouldn't leave and I actually grew very fond of the darn thing. I do feel like the childhood portion may have been too short, but it works outs. Even when it was said the hobbes used to be little children kind I've played just a few hours of it. Lionhead's goal with this game have really shown and have provent to be quiet effective. I found myself smiling when my dog just wouldn't leave and I actually grew very fond of the darn thing. I do feel like the childhood portion may have been too short, but it works outs. Even when it was said the hobbes used to be little children kind of saddened me. I think Peter Molyneux's vision of creating some emotional attachment to an otherwise imaginable place is successful. I look forward to progressing and seeing what decisions wait for me ahead, Expand
  79. AlanD
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    Epic, the story draws you in and has some really good twists, raises some interesting moral questions and the voices are just impressive. The art and graphics are wonderful and lush, there is a lot of extra content to get involved with and just lost. It's one of those rare games that has a certain magic something - all you can think about during the day is what to do with your hero Epic, the story draws you in and has some really good twists, raises some interesting moral questions and the voices are just impressive. The art and graphics are wonderful and lush, there is a lot of extra content to get involved with and just lost. It's one of those rare games that has a certain magic something - all you can think about during the day is what to do with your hero as soon as you get home, you cancel dates with friends just to be able to spend some more time in Albion. The music is just perfect. The local multiplayer is great for when a friend comes around and you don't want to stop playing - he can just quickly drop in! The online part of it is less interesting but still cool to show off your world and hero. The orbs (set to Everyone under options) is just pure genius. Expand
  80. NathanV.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    So I love it when someone comes and votes for a game who doesn't even like the genre, let alone the particular game in question and gives the game an incredibly low score. Having played and loved the first one despite its shortcomings, it only took two minutes of playing Fable 2 last night to realize just how much better the game was. Two minutes turned into several hours and I had So I love it when someone comes and votes for a game who doesn't even like the genre, let alone the particular game in question and gives the game an incredibly low score. Having played and loved the first one despite its shortcomings, it only took two minutes of playing Fable 2 last night to realize just how much better the game was. Two minutes turned into several hours and I had barely done anything, I was so absorbed in running around talking to people and playing with my dog. How anyone, even a hater of the genre and the Xbox 360 could play this game and rate it as low as a 2 leads me to believe they didn't play it at all. Gears of War 2 will be awesome, but don't hate on our game while you wait. Expand
  81. Daithi
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    This is a great game. Of course, Lionhead promised more than they could possibly deliver, but the depth is there for those who realize what they are looking at, with MANY hidden features. and this game is FUNNY. the comedy in this game is top notch, from the commentary down to the little descriptions of every little item or object. any game that sells "Flaccid Celery" is awesome in my book.
  82. JohnS
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Despite the bugs and a few glitches if you are too shallow to look past its minor problems you wil lose out on one of the best gaming experiences. Its a very good game perhaps the bast and the story line is more emotional than any other i have seen. I highly recommend this game.
  83. CrazyGameR
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Wow! If you haven't played the first Fable game (like me), I think you're in for an even bigger treat. This game is just simply pure fun. I find it so easy to get caught up in the world; so many things to do, so little time. The combat is very different from other games I've played (especially RPGs) but it is satisfying and deep nonetheless. The art direction is charming Wow! If you haven't played the first Fable game (like me), I think you're in for an even bigger treat. This game is just simply pure fun. I find it so easy to get caught up in the world; so many things to do, so little time. The combat is very different from other games I've played (especially RPGs) but it is satisfying and deep nonetheless. The art direction is charming and very fitting for the story. However, there are a lot of bugs that need patching (come on, Lionhead Studios) but, when you look at the game as a whole, they really won't bother you all that much. I promise. If you don't go out and buy this game, it will be your loss. Expand
  84. PatrickD
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Very deep, funny game with a lot of replay value. It;s an action RPG that skews a bit more adult in terms of humor (that's a good thing) and an interesting although not engrossing plot. It's not a perfect game as it is a bit buggy and co-op is a bit of a downer. The campaign is a great time though and if you want a good RPG experience, pick this game up.
  85. BarryP
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Firstly, Robert H is a bit ignorant to think the only good game on the 360 is gears of war, JUST because it's a shooting game. In my opinion we need less of these types of whiny shooter players and more of these RPG games. Too many shooters and not enough variety of different genres. Fable II looks amazing, the story is captivating and it's so smooth to play.
  86. PeterA.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Awesome game so far. Took everything I loved about the first game and made it so much better. I love my dog and I am glad they improved the usefulness of the gun/crossbow compared to the prior game. I am also voting just to offset the idiot who did not play the game but gave it a 2.
  87. NathanG
    Oct 24, 2008
    8
    So far, so good! I'm really enjoying this game, but there are a few things that I don't like, and hold it back from being a truly amazing rpg (like oblivion). They seemed to remove some of the cool things from fable 1 which bring the score down. For instance... where'd the combat multiplier go? I loved that bad boy! Now it just gives you bonus after each fight... thats no So far, so good! I'm really enjoying this game, but there are a few things that I don't like, and hold it back from being a truly amazing rpg (like oblivion). They seemed to remove some of the cool things from fable 1 which bring the score down. For instance... where'd the combat multiplier go? I loved that bad boy! Now it just gives you bonus after each fight... thats no fun! Also, the GUI is slow and clunky. In fable 1 you could access your items by pressing UP on the d-pad... why did they get rid of that? All whining aside, this is a fun game and I look forward to exploring, adventuring, and playing it again and again, Expand
  88. jimbo
    Oct 24, 2008
    1
    This game is bland boring and same from Microshaft. They are trying to dominate and stagnate the gaming industry as they have done with the PC industry for the past 20 years. Microshaft would like the public and tech in general to advance when they say we can advance. I don't have Windows anything at home is use Linux, FreeBSD and Solaris.
  89. SteveM.
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Notice every low score for this game is written by an idiot? That said, I am no fanboy, and although I love me some good RPG's, this is it's own thing. This game, graded against it's own merits, is wonderful. Really, color me impressed. To not like this game, well, you must not have an appreciation for innovation. Or dogs.
  90. DanM
    Oct 25, 2008
    4
    I was excited for this game to come out and had it preordered. I've played maybe 13 hours in total and just feel that this has not been the experience I was looking for. The graphics are great but I'm just running into so many bugs and other problems. Plus my console has crashed too many times during those 13 or so hours because of this - I stopped counting at 6 crashes. I will I was excited for this game to come out and had it preordered. I've played maybe 13 hours in total and just feel that this has not been the experience I was looking for. The graphics are great but I'm just running into so many bugs and other problems. Plus my console has crashed too many times during those 13 or so hours because of this - I stopped counting at 6 crashes. I will be trading it in since the exchange value is still good. Expand
  91. MrG
    Oct 25, 2008
    6
    Quite a dull game, I got bored of it very quickly, and have already traded it in. Suprised to see so many 10's I wonder how many of them work for Microsoft?
  92. FelixJC
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Mesmerizing, and enthralling experience. The temptations, and emotions elluded to for years by Mollyneux, are realized beyond expectation. Fable 2 is a tremendous effort to evolve this now epic franchise.
  93. IndyR.
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Must buy. Only problem, needs a more open map and longer campaign. But don't let this put you off at all, the game is so sick that anyone who enjoyed the first will love this one.
  94. James
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I am blown away by this game, its magical. I never really got on with these games as I lost my direction but this holds your hand through it, (if you want). The graphics are mindblowing I am amazed that reviews haven't really mentioned that and they really add to the games charm, also I love the British humour!! BUY IT!
  95. JackB.
    Oct 25, 2008
    5
    This game is so fun, too bad I have a game ending glitch keeping me from finishing. I had to start the game over once already. Froze in Brightwood. Minor bugs are one thing, but this is unacceptable. Please post on Lionhead forums if you are freezing, so they can release a patch. Again, I love this game, just wish I could actually play it.
  96. JishanF
    Oct 25, 2008
    8
    While this game is not as great as it could have been its not horrible either. It's a pretty good RPG and I have enjoyed playing through the story on single player. The co-op leaves much to be desired and could perhaps be fixed with a future patch. Otherwise, still worth taking a look at but I can't reccommend a purchase.
  97. Ryencoke
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    What a great game. Very well done I must say Lionhead Studios. I did beat the game and do everything that you can do for the side quests and the game itself was excellent took about 23 hours, but they really should have held out on us for a couple more months to fix and add some stuff. Allow me to just point out some stuff that they really should have added to the game; Minimap, What a great game. Very well done I must say Lionhead Studios. I did beat the game and do everything that you can do for the side quests and the game itself was excellent took about 23 hours, but they really should have held out on us for a couple more months to fix and add some stuff. Allow me to just point out some stuff that they really should have added to the game; Minimap, breadcrumb trail is a let me hold your hand aspect that should have been selective. Loadtimes are the one reason that I knock this to a 9 instead of a 10. They are often and are a wait. Big downfall. Other 2 minor aspects that were bad for me: way to small variation of clothing. Like 7 pairs in total? And there is no armor which totally sucks. And of course other small things. Aside from the bad aspects though, the game was great don't get me wrong. The story was great, gameplay was exciting and fun. Just needed to make it bigggggggggggggggggger. The world seemed small. So far though in all honesty it's my Game Of The Year. Let's see how Fallout 3, LBP & Gears Of War 2 are first. But it's in 1st so far. Very worthy buy. Love and enjoy. Expand
  98. CarolD.
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Excellent game. my family will be playing this for ages. Thumbs up to Molyneaux for expanding the RPG universe. Truly makes you care - goes from fun to annoyance - some people make you want to smack them over and over! - to yes, missing that dog when he wanders off. Oblivion was cardboard compared to this. One gripe - the mao is too small.
  99. JustinS.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    Love the conversations, Love the multipalyer, Love the wonderful country side and cities and inhabitants that live there. There isn't much not to love in Albion. I have been through it once and have invested about 48 hours of play am still enjoying new discoveries.
  100. JohnJ.
    Oct 25, 2008
    8
    I'm a fan of the original fable and this definitely surpasses it. It's a gorgeous world with detailed game play and lush graphics. Though the story is not particularly engrossing, the writing is nevertheless clever and witty, in a very ''British Comedy'' sort of way, and even where the story lacks, immersion is no less with the fantastic AI and the addictive I'm a fan of the original fable and this definitely surpasses it. It's a gorgeous world with detailed game play and lush graphics. Though the story is not particularly engrossing, the writing is nevertheless clever and witty, in a very ''British Comedy'' sort of way, and even where the story lacks, immersion is no less with the fantastic AI and the addictive gameplay. Oblivion has to be mentioned, for it's the only real competition (though they're both wholly different) fable has in terms of a western RPG on the 360, and it does seem to draw a few influences from that. It may even surpass it in AI, but overall Itstill falls slightly short of it. It's a slightly flawed yet fantastic rpg, and Lionhead is getting better with each swing, so it may be safe to expect that we've seen nothing yet. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 95 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 95
  2. Negative: 0 out of 95
  1. Fable II is everything Molyneux promised the first time around. It's funny, deep, emotional, epic, and, yes, wildly charming. We are already eager for a second playthrough, and we're betting a lot of you will have exactly the same reaction. [Dec 2008, p.68]
  2. Edge Magazine
    90
    It’s a game that builds gradually and then becomes irresistible, a beautiful lump of an RPG that continues beyond the close of its main campaign, and will have you thinking about it when you’re not at your 360. [Dec 2008, p.79]
  3. The combat handles well, it’s visually stunning, the voice acting and musical score are brilliant, and the epic storyline doesn’t end before it begins (like the first game did). But the most appealing thing about it is that it delivers everything that Molyneux has promised, plus it is oozing with wit and charm - something sorely lacking from many games nowadays. At the end of the day, Fable II is a triumph and a must buy.