User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2342 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    Charming game with a cool interactions on the world and on the society of the game. Its cool the options of that every actions affect your aspect giving you personality,thats cool but it needs more depth ,also annoying some AI don't act well and some weird glitches. The graphics are colorful , the gameplay is easy and simple.
  2. Sep 6, 2010
    8
    This is a very solid RPG. Especially for a system that has few RPGs. The story is pretty good and the gameplay is fun but some of the quests can get kind of repetitive but this is not a very major problem. The main problem is that there is not much replay value after you beat the main quest. After the game you might spend 2 hours after the game and this is kind of dull for most RPGs. ThisThis is a very solid RPG. Especially for a system that has few RPGs. The story is pretty good and the gameplay is fun but some of the quests can get kind of repetitive but this is not a very major problem. The main problem is that there is not much replay value after you beat the main quest. After the game you might spend 2 hours after the game and this is kind of dull for most RPGs. This doesn't count the DLC which was actually a lot of fun for me. All and all, this is a very solid RPG with a good story, fun missions, and some cool gameplay. Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    8
    I really don't understand why the user reviews for this game are so low, because Fable II is a lot of fun. Sure, it's fairly linear and the gameplay can become pretty simple, but it's still a very well-designed adventure. Some people might argue that there isn't enough to do, but you really need to appreciate the things you CAN do, because those things are very enjoyable.
  4. Erikheidt
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    I reallt enjoyed fable but the thing is I was very upset that it wasnt open world such as oblivian and fall 3. I liked the three wishes choice ,because that made me want to play it 3 different times and try each one. The thing is this made me eally want to play Fable: Lost chapters veery badly.
  5. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    I'm seeing 2's and 0's here, with an average score of 6.2. What? These are obviously guys who are just PS3 fanboys, or are mad that lionhead changed the fable gameplay formula. Get over it. I prefer this Fable to any of the other fable's, and that includes fable 3 (While good, it wasn't fantastic). The inclusion of the guns and different rates of fire was nice, while also keeping theI'm seeing 2's and 0's here, with an average score of 6.2. What? These are obviously guys who are just PS3 fanboys, or are mad that lionhead changed the fable gameplay formula. Get over it. I prefer this Fable to any of the other fable's, and that includes fable 3 (While good, it wasn't fantastic). The inclusion of the guns and different rates of fire was nice, while also keeping the weapons simple and fluid at the same time. The combat's great, and you have to work to get that ridiculously overpowered spell. The story was really good, and while no mass effect, it was definitely worth experiencing. While co-op is nice, it's way too limited, which has been improved on in the third game, though its still too easy. But all-in-all, this is a brilliant game that you should definitely pick up ahead of the other two fables, with the only bad points being it's quite easy, the co-op is limited. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    Fable has yet to make good on its promise of revolutionizing the RPG. Combat has been simplified, meaning that swords, bows and magic each have their own buttons. There is a significant imbalance between these powers, with magic becoming so strong that you would be stupid to use anything else. The story is one-dimensional and the characters are never developed. The side aspects of the gameFable has yet to make good on its promise of revolutionizing the RPG. Combat has been simplified, meaning that swords, bows and magic each have their own buttons. There is a significant imbalance between these powers, with magic becoming so strong that you would be stupid to use anything else. The story is one-dimensional and the characters are never developed. The side aspects of the game (a variety of jobs, marrying, having a family) are shallow and there is not much point (other than money) to spend any time at them. Getting married is the most uninteresting as every man and woman are pretty much the same. The only information given are their names and moderately useful facts about them. The game is too short and the final boss is underwhelming. Still, I would be lying if I said that I didn't enjoy playing it. There are lots of secrets and plenty of loot to keep players interested. The combat is fast and satisfying. The world is wider and more accessible although Albion never feels as alive or as vibrant as Cyrodil from Oblivion or Hyrule from Legend of Zelda. The Fable series, though entertaining, has many problems at its core and has yet to reach the upper echelons of western RPG's. Expand
  7. Teli
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed The Lost Chapters and everything that prevented TLC from being great has been improved here.
    The user interface needs to be sped up though and my dog doesn't fetch the ball, maybe he's got brain damage, not sure. Other than that I'm really enjoying the game. A lot to do apart from the quests.
  8. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    A truley amazing game.. despite what most people say about it, its amazing so much to do it looks amazing and its awesome to play.. i think i put in 25+ hours and i would deff play it through again
  9. JozefK
    Oct 10, 2009
    5
    I really wanted to like it, but it was frankly a waste of time. The story was shallow, and with the ability to complete pretty much every aspect of the game with little to no-effort... there was little incentive to play. In the original I enjoyed going through the demon doors getting the legendary items, but what's the point when many of the weapons I can get from the stores are I really wanted to like it, but it was frankly a waste of time. The story was shallow, and with the ability to complete pretty much every aspect of the game with little to no-effort... there was little incentive to play. In the original I enjoyed going through the demon doors getting the legendary items, but what's the point when many of the weapons I can get from the stores are better. The main story was completed within some 8 hours with little incentive to play further aside for some slightly 'alternative' endings. Which make no real impact aside from unless you choose to have your dog resurrected (one of the endings) you won't be able to do many of the side quests. It just all feels redundant, especially for those who've played the original fable (which I have to say had significantly more depth). In the original fable it was genuinly fun upgrading my character, and progressing each abilities skill tree. But when you have a definitive 'best' ability, and no challenge within the gameplay itself it has a very 'what's the point in all this' feel, to everything. 800 gamerscore within 1 day of play, at which point it was returned to store. Very disappointing. Expand
  10. AnonymousMC
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    i have never laughed so hard while playing a video game. humorous on levels other games can never hope to reach. i ate 5 live chickens in front of someone, i starved my children, i made a thriving town a ghost town, i farted on wealthy lady, i ran through the steets naked with guards chasing after me, i married 5 people in one day.
    my only gripe is that its WAY TOO EASY!!! you get
    i have never laughed so hard while playing a video game. humorous on levels other games can never hope to reach. i ate 5 live chickens in front of someone, i starved my children, i made a thriving town a ghost town, i farted on wealthy lady, i ran through the steets naked with guards chasing after me, i married 5 people in one day.
    my only gripe is that its WAY TOO EASY!!! you get mountains of money all the time, and if you spend them on health packs you can basically be invincible
    Expand
  11. [Anonymous]
    Oct 25, 2008
    0
    It's slow, and boring. It's too easy, so I have nothing to buy. I can make the game in just my first gear. And the coop is boring. I changed my mind for buying this not-so-long-lasting game. I hope they will fix this.
  12. ChrisD
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    I can definitely say that PM delivered. This is a game where you spend an obsessive amount of hours on one playthrough alone; imagine when you want to start a second and be the opposite of your first (i.e evil instead of good)? Trust me, buy this game!
  13. Oct 29, 2010
    5
    As much as I enjoyed Fable I it hurts for me to say that Fable II felt like a step back. The game barely even felt like an RPG. I enjoyed romping through Albion, but in the end I play RPGs for stories in which I feel I had a great impact. I just did not come close to that with Fable II. It is it's over-simplified combat and black and white morality choices that break the experience forAs much as I enjoyed Fable I it hurts for me to say that Fable II felt like a step back. The game barely even felt like an RPG. I enjoyed romping through Albion, but in the end I play RPGs for stories in which I feel I had a great impact. I just did not come close to that with Fable II. It is it's over-simplified combat and black and white morality choices that break the experience for me. Not to mention that there are less weapons, clothes, and absolutely no armor in the game. Customizing my character's appearance was fun to me. Now it is reduced to a handful of outfits. Being able to change the clothing's color is nice, but its not a saving grace. The addition of a pet is a good idea, as are the job mini-games (but jobs get dull far too fast). In the end this game is just too shallow for me to find playing it to be worth the price of admission. Expand
  14. BrettH
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    It has been one of the finest gaming experiences I've had, and is among the best examples of the art form. That is subjective, of course. As with anything else in life, your enjoyment will depend on how you approach it. For example, if you went into the Sistine Chapel looking for "a kick-ass place to play paintball", and found that it "sucks because there is no Coke machine", It has been one of the finest gaming experiences I've had, and is among the best examples of the art form. That is subjective, of course. As with anything else in life, your enjoyment will depend on how you approach it. For example, if you went into the Sistine Chapel looking for "a kick-ass place to play paintball", and found that it "sucks because there is no Coke machine", you're probably not going to get much out of an RPG like Fable 2. Expand
  15. DickS
    Jan 23, 2010
    2
    Very boring, short, and shallow. Interactions with npcs and choices are very terrible. You interact with people by farting at them which sounds funny but when thats the only upside to the game its garbage. Magic has no balance because there is one spell that does more damage than all the others at the same cost as the others. The plot could be interesting if it had actual depth and took Very boring, short, and shallow. Interactions with npcs and choices are very terrible. You interact with people by farting at them which sounds funny but when thats the only upside to the game its garbage. Magic has no balance because there is one spell that does more damage than all the others at the same cost as the others. The plot could be interesting if it had actual depth and took more than a few hours to complete. The game has no challenge unless your goal is to kill yourself which is impossible. Shooting mechanics are atrocious. The multilayer isn't even worth being called a multilayer its more of a tug of war between people for screen control. I gave this game a two because overextending the fart expression and messing it up causes you to crap your pants. Expand
  16. Aug 17, 2010
    4
    once again lionhead studio's fails to deliver . the first fable was a overhyped bunch of lies that was a mediocore game at best . the second is just as bad . the story is very dull and for a RPG its very key to have a story that will draw you in to keep you wanting to push foward. the combat is yet again a dull button masher . navagating the world map just sucks period. your dog which manyonce again lionhead studio's fails to deliver . the first fable was a overhyped bunch of lies that was a mediocore game at best . the second is just as bad . the story is very dull and for a RPG its very key to have a story that will draw you in to keep you wanting to push foward. the combat is yet again a dull button masher . navagating the world map just sucks period. your dog which many of the big critics have said is so loveable and endearing ,fels more like a annoyance. the joy of being evil or good doesnt feel near as fun as what Star Wars KOTR or Fall Out or Elder Scrolls Delivers . it is abit longer then the first one though i couldnt beat it it i got to bored with the story to want to finish it . the co-op is a broken and stupid set up . the only fun i had in this game was buying and selling realestate . just how said is that when in a RPG thats the funnest thing to do. Expand
  17. JoeD.
    Oct 20, 2008
    2
    Very disappointed with this game again lionhead studios have lied about just what features this game has pick up fallout or farcry2 before you bother with this title will only leave you with buyers regret raced out to pick this up at midnight launch here in Australia wish id stayed in bed AVOID.
  18. MattP
    Oct 30, 2008
    6
    In a word, meh. Fable was a really interesting game when it came out for the Xbox, and followed in the same vein as Jade Empire in the action-RPG realm, but Fable 2 doesn't really build on that idea any more, rather it expands on the general idea of Fable and just makes it MORE. There aren't enough items to keep me really interested (it reminded me of the the item recycling in In a word, meh. Fable was a really interesting game when it came out for the Xbox, and followed in the same vein as Jade Empire in the action-RPG realm, but Fable 2 doesn't really build on that idea any more, rather it expands on the general idea of Fable and just makes it MORE. There aren't enough items to keep me really interested (it reminded me of the the item recycling in WoW) and there is not immediacy to the game: nothing seems like it HAS to be done, which, in an RPG where you really don't have to do anything besides the main story, isn't good. In KotOR, you were really interested to see was happened when you solved the murder on Maanan, or in Oblivion you wanted to see the new and inventive way you could murder people in the Dark Brotherhood. But in Fable, meh. Expand
  19. Mar 5, 2012
    4
    This game is just boring, first of, there is no challenge in the game you cant die so the game is easy as hell istead when you are defeted you just lose some experience points but these are not hard to earn, second the character has no personality wathsoever, never talks and nevers expresses himself, at lest in some games like zelda Link doesnt talk but when something bad happend heThis game is just boring, first of, there is no challenge in the game you cant die so the game is easy as hell istead when you are defeted you just lose some experience points but these are not hard to earn, second the character has no personality wathsoever, never talks and nevers expresses himself, at lest in some games like zelda Link doesnt talk but when something bad happend he screams or something like that but here the character doesnt do anything of that, is the most unexpresive character I ever seen in videogames. The world is good in a visual perspective the enemieas are well designed and the location but techniclly speaking the world sucks. The dungeons are really easy and boring just move straight forward and there you go the travel is tedious and slow if you dont use autotravel. If you are looking for a good RPG look somewhere else. Expand
  20. NasosT.
    Oct 20, 2008
    10
    The only game in ages to rival Zelda OOT epicness and greatness, fun and addictive combat that takes many replays to experience fully, amazing varied vistas, things to do until the second coming, a whole world to buy, interact with, and that is just an appetizer :) The story is great too, the quests varied and unique as in no game before, and when you are done replaying it 6-10 times, The only game in ages to rival Zelda OOT epicness and greatness, fun and addictive combat that takes many replays to experience fully, amazing varied vistas, things to do until the second coming, a whole world to buy, interact with, and that is just an appetizer :) The story is great too, the quests varied and unique as in no game before, and when you are done replaying it 6-10 times, there is always co-op and more things to do to your unique world Simply put, EPIC !!!! Expand
  21. AGamer
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    This was an awesome game, honestly I had no problems with this game. Some people might not like a Game like this(it's not as serious as some), but I had no problems with that either, so A Must-Buy for any Un-Serious Gamer.
  22. MatthewM
    Mar 30, 2009
    6
    While not terrible, there simply isn't enough to do, most the side quests are completed as the main story progresses and if you miss any early ones out, it appears to become irreversible. While the bugs are less noticable than other titles, there are still several parts of this game that ruin its "open world" feel. As much as you can go back to places you've visited the roads While not terrible, there simply isn't enough to do, most the side quests are completed as the main story progresses and if you miss any early ones out, it appears to become irreversible. While the bugs are less noticable than other titles, there are still several parts of this game that ruin its "open world" feel. As much as you can go back to places you've visited the roads there are all too linear. As much as decision making was hyped up there can be parts of Fable 2 where players aiming for pure good/evil characters are forced to go down an unfavourable route to keep thier traits. i shall admit that the graphics work well with the setting.not really worth playing for those new to the series or genre. fable fans can expect some fun from it but dont get your hopes up on it besting the first game. Fable 2, an average game more light on content than light hearted. 63/100. Expand
  23. Mar 9, 2011
    6
    Fable II is entertaining and, at least for a time, fun. The main quest line is very short, though, and the myriad side quests and "life" elements that supposedly provide "hours and hours" of gameplay really aren't very much fun. Combat is really easy, and the proliferation of life phials means that even in the off chance that you do fall in battle, you're revived without consequence.Fable II is entertaining and, at least for a time, fun. The main quest line is very short, though, and the myriad side quests and "life" elements that supposedly provide "hours and hours" of gameplay really aren't very much fun. Combat is really easy, and the proliferation of life phials means that even in the off chance that you do fall in battle, you're revived without consequence. Even if you DON'T have said life phial., you're resurrected with a negligible loss of experience and a scar somewhere on your body. Oh no, my video game character is scarred! Now I have to restart the whole game! The interface to switch between spells is also poorly constructed, making it nearly impossible to create a true mage. Ranged weapons are handy here and there, but the game is really geared toward the swordsman build. Overall, the RPG elements are lacking.

    But then, you're supposed to be able to spend hours "living the life" of the hero. Sure, you can get married. Multiple times, even. To a man and a woman, if you want. But who cares? You can get a job doing the same thing - chopping wood, pouring beer, banging a hammer on an anvil - over and over and over and over again. Woo-hoo. You can buy every single piece of property in the entire game world, if you have to patience to save up the money. You can watch your weight or get fat. You can get tattoos and haircuts, as well as change your clothes. But these are things I have to do in real life! I don't want to have to do them in a video game, too! Fable II is a mildly entertaining, quaint game that gets old after about 10 hours. Even for the obsessive compulsive completionist, this game will disappoint.
    Expand
  24. Aug 13, 2011
    4
    I enjoy RPG and i bought this for my xbox360. As an RPG it is just rubbish. The graphics are shoddy and the story is for kids. Nothing new and nothing great.
  25. WillWright
    Mar 10, 2008
    0
    Amazing how people are voting on an unreleased game! However, I guarantee you that it will not meet the hype. We all know which game will be the best.
  26. Mar 5, 2012
    4
    If you're a fan of JRPG this isn't the game for you. Storyline is very thin, combat is very simplistic. I really tried to like this game but it's become one of those games I will never finish cause I find it's a waste of my time. Also the framerate at some area's is very low and that doesn't improve the feeling of the game either.
  27. AshtonJ
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    This is one of those games I enjoyed so much it hurt to finish. It had a story I loved and gameplay which kept me entertained throughout. One of the best games I have played to date.
  28. RavenWolfx
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    Goods news first. This game is entertaining and worth the purchase if you are into Action RPGs. The graphics are good (not amazing), the companion is interesting, the Spells are pretty cool looking, and the interface is user friendly. The bad news. The story is fairly short. Even with side quests, you will probably beat it in about 10 hours, maybe 15. There is no armor in the game, so you Goods news first. This game is entertaining and worth the purchase if you are into Action RPGs. The graphics are good (not amazing), the companion is interesting, the Spells are pretty cool looking, and the interface is user friendly. The bad news. The story is fairly short. Even with side quests, you will probably beat it in about 10 hours, maybe 15. There is no armor in the game, so you can only get more health, which annoys the hell outta me. The co-op doesn't let both of you use your own characters or weapons, which is a definate let down. Framerate drops when you use a high-level spell (especially in co-op). The appearance for Good characters is rather plain. The Evil characters get a lot more thought put into them. The character looks needs more customization, too few hair/tattoo options. They have cut out the tattooes for arms and legs, you can only get tattooes on your face and chest. While I listed a lot more bad points, I'm a negative kind of person. This game is still fun and at least worth a rent (a buy if you liked the orginal Fable or action RPGs). Expand
  29. Gregg
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game!! I have recently purchased the game and probably played only 6 hours. This is a hugely entertaining game and I have spent the majority of this time working as a blacksmith and investing in property, Im actually rating myself as quite the property guru. Therein lies the beauty of this game; you can play it as you see fit. In fact my girlfriend is playing this Absolutely fantastic game!! I have recently purchased the game and probably played only 6 hours. This is a hugely entertaining game and I have spent the majority of this time working as a blacksmith and investing in property, Im actually rating myself as quite the property guru. Therein lies the beauty of this game; you can play it as you see fit. In fact my girlfriend is playing this game in a sims like manner, buying houses, decorating them, buying clothes, changing her apperance, getting married, having kids and accumalting a nice little fortune. All of the above mentioned is a small part in wonderfully diverse game. The overall atmosphere of the game is great, from the voice acting to the presentation of the cities and the landscape. Walking around bowerstone market is much like walking around a real-life market, you hear the cries of "sales", the gossiping between the ladies, the men and woman at their respective stores or stands pushing for sales; all of this is truly immersive and of course if you are well liked you will have followers or at least you will be greeted as walk from place to another. Obviously there are all the normal rpg elements such as levelling up, increasing the potency of weapons etc. Of course there is the main storyline to follow which I believe is quite an epic tale. There are so many variables in this game such as the way your apperance changes depending on your actions, either good or evil, corrupt or pure; you can also become fat which is defendant on the food you eat, there really is just so much to the game. All in all this a fantastic immeresive experience and as mentioned one in which you can play as you see fit.....bottom line; you cannot really ask more from an RPG. Well Done PM!! Expand
  30. SarahS
    Oct 27, 2008
    7
    Like the first Fable, this is a decent title. It has a few bugs, it suffers from long load times, and you can't really enjoy exploring because of the poor graphics on a standard television... the menu is a bit clunky and slow, and that makes eating multiple items a chore. Combat is somewhat entertaining later on (it gets better as you 'level') but it's never Like the first Fable, this is a decent title. It has a few bugs, it suffers from long load times, and you can't really enjoy exploring because of the poor graphics on a standard television... the menu is a bit clunky and slow, and that makes eating multiple items a chore. Combat is somewhat entertaining later on (it gets better as you 'level') but it's never challenging. It has some cute features, such as marriage and getting your wife pregnant, and buying and selling property, but they aren't enough to sustain it. Also, the game is really rather short... I feel those features would be better utilized in a longer game. Also, the load times are annoying when you're traveling back and forth via fast travel to make a buck. Would be better on a PC (or if you could install.) Expand
  31. IronE
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    Engaging, open and fun. Main quest advances quickly, but if you take a bit of time exploring it becomes a lot more enjoyable. New magic system take some getting used to, but i like it. In an age of the MMOs creating a playstyleof find the '!' and complete the task, it is nice that they allow some freedom to have some imagination with the game. It is not quite as open as an Engaging, open and fun. Main quest advances quickly, but if you take a bit of time exploring it becomes a lot more enjoyable. New magic system take some getting used to, but i like it. In an age of the MMOs creating a playstyleof find the '!' and complete the task, it is nice that they allow some freedom to have some imagination with the game. It is not quite as open as an Oblivion, but you can have more impact on the game. I am sure that DLC will be coming soon and will expand the game even further. Expand
  32. DaveH
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Great game - I have put in over 30 hours already doing all the various activities around the world and am not halfway through the MQ. There are a few ways to play, either rush through the MQ, or explore and enjoy the world around you and sink tons of hours into the game by doing other things that are substantial to the world. There's no reason to complain that this game is too short Great game - I have put in over 30 hours already doing all the various activities around the world and am not halfway through the MQ. There are a few ways to play, either rush through the MQ, or explore and enjoy the world around you and sink tons of hours into the game by doing other things that are substantial to the world. There's no reason to complain that this game is too short if you have just rushed through it. Also of note is that the world and regions change after certain events (and depending on what your do makes them either prosperous or in ruin). Fable II is heaps better than the first installment. In my experience, spellcasting is EASY to use and as you add points into your spells, your lower tier spells charge faster and are more powerful. Combat is satisfying and often can encourage the use of many techniques (from melee, range, spellcasting) and is rewarded by boosting XP bonuses. Expand
  33. Jack
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    I loved the original, and from digging into the unreleased content of the first game, I have found out what Peter meant when he said he was unsatisfied with the game. The second Fable promises to include everything from before as well as much more and also refining everything to perfection. I have no doubt that this will be the best 360 game of all time. Yeah rock on.
  34. NickM
    Feb 1, 2009
    10
    A fantastically immersive game with a ridiculously broad scope. Aside minor control issues and a few minor bugs, I found my main criticism was that the game wasn't even bigger, unfair but illustrative of the huge potential this well crafted universe has. Fable 3 is definitely one to watch.
  35. CoryD
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    I never played the first Fable so it took me a little while to settle into the second installment, but it's a blast once you start upgrading and getting into the meat of the game. Honestly, it took me little while to warm up to it, cuz it's quite a bit different than my fave rpg of all time, Oblivion, but it's a very solid game.. recommended buy!
  36. GabrielB
    Apr 2, 2009
    4
    I don't understand how these critics could rate Fable 2 so well, considering it's many flaws. I played through it, expecting the same feeling of immersion I got from the first Fable game, only to get a shallow experience that left me asking myself "Is that it?". There were a total of literally five enemies to fight, NPCs were all boring and exactly the same and the treasures I don't understand how these critics could rate Fable 2 so well, considering it's many flaws. I played through it, expecting the same feeling of immersion I got from the first Fable game, only to get a shallow experience that left me asking myself "Is that it?". There were a total of literally five enemies to fight, NPCs were all boring and exactly the same and the treasures were so easy to find I felt no need to go back and look for them. Perhaps the greatest disappointment was the dog, that Peter Molyneaux raved about; it turned out to have a simple AI and no significant purpose. Do not buy this game. Expand
  37. NickO
    Oct 25, 2009
    3
    I really wanted to like this game but it's very hard. There are a few good qualities but the bad elements are overwhelming. The economy is kind of the most fun part of the entire game. You can make money and buy houses and businesses to make more money but houses and businesses are all there is to buy. You don't need the money to buy weapons because it's next to impossible I really wanted to like this game but it's very hard. There are a few good qualities but the bad elements are overwhelming. The economy is kind of the most fun part of the entire game. You can make money and buy houses and businesses to make more money but houses and businesses are all there is to buy. You don't need the money to buy weapons because it's next to impossible to die and there is no armor so the monetary system is sort of irrelevant. It's the worst looking RPG on the 360 in my opinion and a lot of the cool concepts and the things that made the first game immersive have been changed or completely removed. It's kind of a slap in the face to hardcore gamers and people who loved the first game like I did. I feel like molyneux tried to make the game accessible to everyone and ruined everything that made the first fable feel so magical. There are some innovative things lionhead tried to do with the multiplayer but they are so poorly implemented they are almost unplayable. In both local and online multiplayer you have to keep both players on the screen so you're both constantly fighting for screen space and it's very irritating. The terrible loot also makes exploring kind of a chore. Why would I want to go all the way through a cave for 20 minutes just to find a health potion or some dye that's a color you can buy for nothing in town? The combat has taken a back seat to social interactions with townfolk. I never had a problem killing anything, even in the pathetic excuse for an arena. I died twice during my playthrough and the first time was to see what would happen. There isn't even a limit to your magic. You can literally stand there and hit the B button to do area damage over and over until your enemies die. Molyneux tried to make an RPG that appeals to everyone and it's very boring and shallow. Highly disappointing. Expand
  38. MeroAlhammadi
    Oct 26, 2008
    0
    I have never been so disappointed like this before, this game clearly over hyped there is just nothing next gen in it. The graphics seems like it is old Gen. even though the gameplay is cool. but Hey I paid for a next gen console where is my next gen games???
  39. JayC
    Nov 13, 2009
    6
    For all the expansiveness of the world, it felt like an uninspired sequel. You couldn't retain as ridiculous levels of power, making it less fun, and the only hard fights are the spires. There wasn't a feeling of a boss fight, especially at the end of the game, which robbed me of most of the joy I'd had up to that point. Nonetheless, I was entertained, but not impressed.
  40. Aug 17, 2010
    2
    Very boring, short, and shallow. Interactions with npcs and choices are very terrible. You interact with people by farting at them which sounds funny but when thats the only upside to the game its garbage. Magic has no balance because there is one spell that does more damage than all the others at the same cost as the others. The plot could be interesting if it had actual depth and tookVery boring, short, and shallow. Interactions with npcs and choices are very terrible. You interact with people by farting at them which sounds funny but when thats the only upside to the game its garbage. Magic has no balance because there is one spell that does more damage than all the others at the same cost as the others. The plot could be interesting if it had actual depth and took more than a few hours to complete. The game has no challenge unless your goal is to kill yourself which is impossible. Shooting mechanics are atrocious. The multilayer isn't even worth being called a multilayer its more of a tug of war between people for screen control. I gave this game a two because overextending the fart expression and messing it up causes you to crap your pants. -Now that I have an account i'm reposting. Expand
  41. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    IT Is very positive and amaizing roll game. It's let me remember my childhood specialy when i was play with my brother and sister, it's something else.
    I Give this game 10
  42. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This game is good, is the combat simplistic, yes but it works more towards the games advantage than against, is the story simple and cliche why yeah, but so are a ton of other games, the world is more open than fable was, the game looks good, it plays well, I like the game. I'm not trying to say it's perfect, but there are no glaring issue that take away from my enjoyment of the game as aThis game is good, is the combat simplistic, yes but it works more towards the games advantage than against, is the story simple and cliche why yeah, but so are a ton of other games, the world is more open than fable was, the game looks good, it plays well, I like the game. I'm not trying to say it's perfect, but there are no glaring issue that take away from my enjoyment of the game as a enjoyable whole. Expand
  43. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    That was it? Throughout playing the game, I kept going back and forth from giving this game an eight or a seven. With the defeat of the main threat over (and still having over half of the side quests to do) I easily settled on a seven. It's not so much that this game has potential, it reached extremely well everything that they wanted to do to make it a unique and entertaining, it's justThat was it? Throughout playing the game, I kept going back and forth from giving this game an eight or a seven. With the defeat of the main threat over (and still having over half of the side quests to do) I easily settled on a seven. It's not so much that this game has potential, it reached extremely well everything that they wanted to do to make it a unique and entertaining, it's just that they forgot to flesh out a story for your hero. A big plus was the "Sims interaction" approach with all the npcs. It certainly doesn't feel like your hero is the loneliest person on the planet any more. The combat starts off annoying due to the button mashing, but after leveling up your not having to hit the same ol' button (too much anyway). The use of a gun and the ability granted to shoot the body, head (always go for the head) or the weapon was a nice unique feature that you can't even find in today's shooters. And even though they went with caricatures of a 2-D style, the game's artwork and graphics were stunning. Probably one of the best looking RPG's I've played to date (and this game is three years old at this point) because of the artists strong attention to detail they give this game. After reading other reviews, I keep seeing the words "for the experience", and, yes, I agree. I recommend this above else for the experience of what Lionhead has created. But the sad parts are, for one, you are stuck on paths and have very little room to explore the world that was created. And the mapping system left me seriously disorientated to where I was at in the relationship to the continent? country? world? of Albion. Which is how I think this game comes off; disorientating yet worth getting lost into. Even if it's for the short duration of its plot line. Expand
  44. Apr 19, 2011
    6
    There were a lot of cool things in the game, but the game was just not well balanced and integrated. First, it is extremely easy. I kept thinking that this was a kid's game and then realized that it had adult content. The interface is horrible. Inventory use and management is prohibitively slow and awkward. The economy is completely out of scale- I had millions of gold with very littleThere were a lot of cool things in the game, but the game was just not well balanced and integrated. First, it is extremely easy. I kept thinking that this was a kid's game and then realized that it had adult content. The interface is horrible. Inventory use and management is prohibitively slow and awkward. The economy is completely out of scale- I had millions of gold with very little to spend it on. On a related issue, re: treasures you have to patiently wait for the dog to find the 'dig spot', and then patiently wait until the digging animation was done. And then.. boom.. the treasures were almost always useless. When I have over 2 million gold, a sack of 5,000 gold is unrewarding. To me, it is as though they made the game, but never bothered playing it. Because anyone who played the game would notice these issues. It is unfortunate, because there were some very cool features in the game, and the potential was there for a great game but the lack of *balance* and *integration* really made the game hard to be fun. I'm not sure how some critics (or users) felt justified giving this game a 10. It's definitely not a 10. Some of the features of the game may have deserved a 10, but, as a whole, I think the User Score average captured it with a 6.2. Expand
  45. Apr 21, 2011
    6
    Fable 2 is the second in Lionhead Studio's series of games that over reach and promise to be a complete and immersive game experience but just sort of end up being mediocre action/adventure titles, Though nice to look at and filled with some great comedic dialougue and some good SIM-life options Fable 2 falls short of the hype. Should it be judged so harshly on hype? Normally I would sayFable 2 is the second in Lionhead Studio's series of games that over reach and promise to be a complete and immersive game experience but just sort of end up being mediocre action/adventure titles, Though nice to look at and filled with some great comedic dialougue and some good SIM-life options Fable 2 falls short of the hype. Should it be judged so harshly on hype? Normally I would say 'No." but the developers here have used their 'innovation" and "unique and creative game design" buzzwords to create a frothing pulsing hype around what they claim to be a game changer but just ends up being "pretty entertaining".

    Fable 2 is kind of short. From the standpoint of any RPG fan. The main story missions will take you well under 15 hours to complete. There are side quests and jobs to perform and houses to buy so that you could just try and inhabit the world for hours after you've completed the game but since none of this seems necessary to the overall plot I found myself not giving a hoot. The story attempts greatness and I must say, since I was reading the Dark Tower series while playing this, there were certain elements that thoroughly intrigued me, but it does fall apart almost comically in the third act. To the point where you're left wonder what the hell just happened.

    It isn't all bad. The combat system is top notch allowing action gamers like me to take control of of 3 different play styles all at once and giving you a great sense of power and finesse throughout. Even in the most mundane of battles I found myself enjoying it to the last swing, shot or fireball. It's a great looking game as well. None of that photo-realistic mumbo jumbo, this thing is completely stylish (like a Fable) and it all looks great. The arcetechture and clothes all contribute to a great setting.

    All in all I did want to enjoy this more than I did. But with customization options just laying there like a limp noodle as well as the story. The short list of good points don't add up to a "game changer".
    Expand
  46. SeanL
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    addictive, deep and very fun. ignore all negative reviews, any fan of a solid rpg adventure will be in love with this game. there all small flaws, but the undeniable charm and beautiful graphics more than make up for it. combat is simple to pick up, but you can spend a long time truly mastering it. the plot is weak, but all the spoken dialouge is amazing. a must buy. anyone who gave this addictive, deep and very fun. ignore all negative reviews, any fan of a solid rpg adventure will be in love with this game. there all small flaws, but the undeniable charm and beautiful graphics more than make up for it. combat is simple to pick up, but you can spend a long time truly mastering it. the plot is weak, but all the spoken dialouge is amazing. a must buy. anyone who gave this game a negative review was obviously not playing the game a true gamer should. Expand
  47. JamesK
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    Fable 2 is a very cool game and I enjoy it very much. the only reson why I gave it an 8 instead of a 10 is because the loading scenes are too frequent and too long.
  48. RobH
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    love it, best RPG ever made. The play is amazing, loving the dog as a companion and the fighting is so simple but very addictive and can be used in many different styles from mashing the button to skilfully slaying enemys with well timed hits and combos. I also love buying everything in the game and the ability for towns to grow and change due to what you do is good as you feal as though love it, best RPG ever made. The play is amazing, loving the dog as a companion and the fighting is so simple but very addictive and can be used in many different styles from mashing the button to skilfully slaying enemys with well timed hits and combos. I also love buying everything in the game and the ability for towns to grow and change due to what you do is good as you feal as though what you do is better than if nothing happened ie. you destroy a town and days later its back to its old ways. Expand
  49. CarloF
    Nov 7, 2008
    5
    A big disappointment.... Not a gg at all. Very short and i can't immagine how to excuse the lack of deph that a RPG that has this metacritic score should have.
  50. ErikP.
    Oct 21, 2008
    6
    I have only played a little bit of the game, but I can already tell it's only going to be a marginal release. The graphics are beautiful on an HD quite stunning. That's the only good thing I can say at the moment. The controls are sluggish, the weapon design is weak, talking to people could be better. I mean if you're going to make a live action rpg take a note from I have only played a little bit of the game, but I can already tell it's only going to be a marginal release. The graphics are beautiful on an HD quite stunning. That's the only good thing I can say at the moment. The controls are sluggish, the weapon design is weak, talking to people could be better. I mean if you're going to make a live action rpg take a note from Bethesda with Oblivion. Make something dope and interesting that continues to have a lasting affect for days to come. There will be kids that like Fable and some that will not enjoy it. Those who don't enjoy it know what a real RPG is and can be. I would say look out for Fallout 3. That game is going to be crazy good. Expand
  51. ShawnK
    Dec 23, 2008
    7
    The first fable was way better but I think it still should be a must have for all xbox 360 owners. The graphics are awesome it is fun to play and I like how the people in the game react to your character. It could have had more regions like fable 1 and the map system could have been a lot better. They also should have never released it with all the glitches but it still is a great game The first fable was way better but I think it still should be a must have for all xbox 360 owners. The graphics are awesome it is fun to play and I like how the people in the game react to your character. It could have had more regions like fable 1 and the map system could have been a lot better. They also should have never released it with all the glitches but it still is a great game anyway. I really hope that lionhead makes a fable 3 but if they in fact do they should really concentrate on it a lot more and go back to more of the concepts from fable 1. Expand
  52. Daithi
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    This is a great game. Of course, Lionhead promised more than they could possibly deliver, but the depth is there for those who realize what they are looking at, with MANY hidden features. and this game is FUNNY. the comedy in this game is top notch, from the commentary down to the little descriptions of every little item or object. any game that sells "Flaccid Celery" is awesome in my book.
  53. BarryP
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Firstly, Robert H is a bit ignorant to think the only good game on the 360 is gears of war, JUST because it's a shooting game. In my opinion we need less of these types of whiny shooter players and more of these RPG games. Too many shooters and not enough variety of different genres. Fable II looks amazing, the story is captivating and it's so smooth to play.
  54. SteveM.
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Notice every low score for this game is written by an idiot? That said, I am no fanboy, and although I love me some good RPG's, this is it's own thing. This game, graded against it's own merits, is wonderful. Really, color me impressed. To not like this game, well, you must not have an appreciation for innovation. Or dogs.
  55. CrazyGameR
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Wow! If you haven't played the first Fable game (like me), I think you're in for an even bigger treat. This game is just simply pure fun. I find it so easy to get caught up in the world; so many things to do, so little time. The combat is very different from other games I've played (especially RPGs) but it is satisfying and deep nonetheless. The art direction is charming Wow! If you haven't played the first Fable game (like me), I think you're in for an even bigger treat. This game is just simply pure fun. I find it so easy to get caught up in the world; so many things to do, so little time. The combat is very different from other games I've played (especially RPGs) but it is satisfying and deep nonetheless. The art direction is charming and very fitting for the story. However, there are a lot of bugs that need patching (come on, Lionhead Studios) but, when you look at the game as a whole, they really won't bother you all that much. I promise. If you don't go out and buy this game, it will be your loss. Expand
  56. PatrickD
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Very deep, funny game with a lot of replay value. It;s an action RPG that skews a bit more adult in terms of humor (that's a good thing) and an interesting although not engrossing plot. It's not a perfect game as it is a bit buggy and co-op is a bit of a downer. The campaign is a great time though and if you want a good RPG experience, pick this game up.
  57. DanM
    Oct 25, 2008
    4
    I was excited for this game to come out and had it preordered. I've played maybe 13 hours in total and just feel that this has not been the experience I was looking for. The graphics are great but I'm just running into so many bugs and other problems. Plus my console has crashed too many times during those 13 or so hours because of this - I stopped counting at 6 crashes. I will I was excited for this game to come out and had it preordered. I've played maybe 13 hours in total and just feel that this has not been the experience I was looking for. The graphics are great but I'm just running into so many bugs and other problems. Plus my console has crashed too many times during those 13 or so hours because of this - I stopped counting at 6 crashes. I will be trading it in since the exchange value is still good. Expand
  58. MattF.
    Oct 26, 2008
    3
    Why does this game keep getting good reviews? The combat is awkward, navigation is anything but easy...I've lost so much respect for reviewers with all the 100's and high scores this gets. Just another over hyped game that people are too ignorant to realise is shit.
  59. JasonD
    Oct 26, 2008
    9
    Wonderfully designed game. Gameplay is engaging, the world is very large, and the game's sense of humor is spot on (I especially enjoyed the Evil Dead and Anchorman references). I find it very hard to put the game down. Highly recommended.
  60. JamalJ
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    Honestly, it's a fun game. Graphically and musically, a masterpiece in my opinion. If you've played fable 1, you'll notice a lot of the plot themes are recycled (one bad guy, tragic childhood, magical savior, bandit camp, an arena, a swampy area, and so on). I thought it was hilarious that, through the load screen captions, Lionhead made fun of themselves.."my village Honestly, it's a fun game. Graphically and musically, a masterpiece in my opinion. If you've played fable 1, you'll notice a lot of the plot themes are recycled (one bad guy, tragic childhood, magical savior, bandit camp, an arena, a swampy area, and so on). I thought it was hilarious that, through the load screen captions, Lionhead made fun of themselves.."my village burned down and parents are dead..cliche.." Going on..the story really isn't about the main quest, so i kept it till the end. Real estate had been greatly expanded- would have loved to see a general menu to control everything for that though--families are nice, and so on. Menu glitches get annoying..but be patient. This game will honestly make you feel like a little kid again from beginning to end, it is without a doubt worth playing through, but if you haven't already, do yourself a favor and play Fable I first. Expand
  61. NickP.
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    Extremely addicting. The more effort put into the game, the more fun and surprises encountered. Play with patience, and you will be rewarded with one of the most fun experiences with a video game ever.
  62. MikeR.
    Oct 27, 2008
    6
    Filled with glitches and the online Co-op is a waste of time. A few more months of development and polish could have made this game live up to its hype.
  63. PcF
    Oct 29, 2008
    8
    This game is pretty good and can be alot of fun. One thing that I really miss is that there is no mini map in the corner of your screen so it makes it diffcult to really explore. The little yellow sparkly line that guides you to quests will sometimes disappear for a few minutes, and once it lead me away from the quest that I had selected. The only other flaw I can say is that why does This game is pretty good and can be alot of fun. One thing that I really miss is that there is no mini map in the corner of your screen so it makes it diffcult to really explore. The little yellow sparkly line that guides you to quests will sometimes disappear for a few minutes, and once it lead me away from the quest that I had selected. The only other flaw I can say is that why does moving feel so weird. It feels like your feet aren't really moving you. Just your feet move when you move but it just feels disjointed. And turning makes you slow down like your running through molasses. Some minor flaws but nothing to bad, and overall a wonderful, addictive gaming experiance. Expand
  64. JustinC
    Oct 29, 2008
    4
    Awesome game play, very nostalgic. However, there aren't enough weapons/outfits. The spells didn't seem as fun, nor were they as useful (no multi-arrow, etc). The Game was incredibly short... it actually felt SHORTER than Fable: The Lost Chapters. After 4 years of waiting I was pretty let down. That being said I still say its worth a play through and I hope when they release the Awesome game play, very nostalgic. However, there aren't enough weapons/outfits. The spells didn't seem as fun, nor were they as useful (no multi-arrow, etc). The Game was incredibly short... it actually felt SHORTER than Fable: The Lost Chapters. After 4 years of waiting I was pretty let down. That being said I still say its worth a play through and I hope when they release the Coop patch they include more content. It still has the potential to grow. Expand
  65. StevenH
    Oct 31, 2008
    7
    This is a very enjoyable game but very familiar to the original Fable game. Not necessarily a bad thing to be honest but they could have at least made an effort to make the way the events came in different. for example...you're young, grow up, quest for a bit (this isn't what i mean i'm just using it to get to my point) there is a tournament with a different name, there is This is a very enjoyable game but very familiar to the original Fable game. Not necessarily a bad thing to be honest but they could have at least made an effort to make the way the events came in different. for example...you're young, grow up, quest for a bit (this isn't what i mean i'm just using it to get to my point) there is a tournament with a different name, there is a prison-esque place where you spend many years staying in without your equipment...it goes on. I enjoyed the first Fable but was a little annoyed at playing it over again with next gen gloss and a different name for things (the crucible instead of the arena). Apart from this there is an awesome game inside. There is the odd glitch and load times are a bit long sometimes and costumes do no difference defence wise which is a shame because it was an integral part of the original. Nice things this time round include property development, jobs, your dog and the combat system is easy to get into but complex enough to master. All in all a good game if not really being Fable 1.5 Expand
  66. EricW
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    An improvement over the original in every way. Lionhead has finally "almost" lived up to Fable's potential. They may have dropped the ball with the co-op, but the single player game is a solid casual RPG. It's not meant to be as deep as a Fallout, or Mass Effect, and that's part of why it's great. You can just jump in, and enjoy it for what it is. There's plenty An improvement over the original in every way. Lionhead has finally "almost" lived up to Fable's potential. They may have dropped the ball with the co-op, but the single player game is a solid casual RPG. It's not meant to be as deep as a Fallout, or Mass Effect, and that's part of why it's great. You can just jump in, and enjoy it for what it is. There's plenty to do even after the main story line is over; and in fact a large part of the game doesn't even open up UNTIL the main story is done. It's not perfect, but it's a great compliment to a deeper Mass Effect or Fallout. Expand
  67. PaxW
    Oct 30, 2008
    1
    Fable 2 wins the achievement of buggiest Xbox 360 title so far! I found that using Blade level 3 area effect almost always guaranteed a crash. I have 5 crashes 3 of which were the Blade spell. No longer using that magic. One was opening a chest while doing the first part of the TOBY quest after betting the game and the other was a random going to pause the game and it crashed. I also have Fable 2 wins the achievement of buggiest Xbox 360 title so far! I found that using Blade level 3 area effect almost always guaranteed a crash. I have 5 crashes 3 of which were the Blade spell. No longer using that magic. One was opening a chest while doing the first part of the TOBY quest after betting the game and the other was a random going to pause the game and it crashed. I also have the problem with the Archon's Knot Dungeon Glitch. Bit of a pain! I wanted the best weapon in the game. Really disappointed over this, talked 2 of my friends out of buying the game and have lent it to one of them and the other has dibs after. Console coders are getting sloppy! Other then the bugs its a great game... but there's bugs, shouldn't have been released, so 1 point! Expand
  68. JohnS.
    Oct 30, 2008
    5
    I enjoyed this game very much, despite all the bugs, shallow gameplay and lack of content. The gameplay feels just right, but there is very little depth in it and most of the time its just button mashing. The spell system is alright, however it's overshadowed by you melee weapon. Once your spells reach its maximum level of potency, they become VERY powerful, however, it takes to long I enjoyed this game very much, despite all the bugs, shallow gameplay and lack of content. The gameplay feels just right, but there is very little depth in it and most of the time its just button mashing. The spell system is alright, however it's overshadowed by you melee weapon. Once your spells reach its maximum level of potency, they become VERY powerful, however, it takes to long to charge, therefore you are better of using your melee weapon. Another problem with spells is that there are no supportive spells (like Heal, Protective shield thing, ect.) like there were in Fable 1, therefore, investing all your points in just Will Power is just a waste of time unless you plan on getting swords stuck up your ass while you're waiting for your spells to charge. Guns are also nice, but again they are overshadowed by your melee weapon once enemies get in close range. Another problem with guns is that most of the time you don't know where enemies are, thus making sniping via the zoom function useless. I find the lack of minimap very frustrating. I truly hate the little glowing thing which you follow, It shouldn't of replace the minimap. Let me explain why: when your following the glowing trail, you follow the glowing trail, and most of the time you don't pay attention to anything else but the glowing trail because you generally don't have an idea of where you are going due to the fact that unfamiliar with the surrounding area. With the minimap, it tells you in the "general" direction where to go, so you can start going in that direction and not stare at the ground constantly. There are very few things to buy, and there are few armor sets which are all very poor looking. The UI is atrocious; slow, unresponsive and glitchy. I haven't try the coop yet TBH so I won't talk about it. The storyline is WEAK. Particularly the ending; probably the must disappointing ending in any game i've ever play. I expect an EPIC boss fight, but NO, it just had to END. I pretty much agree with everything that Danny H said, so I won't say anymore. This game feels unpolished, shallow and its very buggy. Expand
  69. Pieter
    Oct 30, 2008
    0
    I bought the game mainly to play online coop with a friend. The online coop is really unplayable: no more control over the camera, the second player can't play with his "hero" but has to use a sidekick, the players _have_ to stay within a range of about 20 meters from eachother, ... In my opinion, the coop exists online to be able to put "online coop" on the box. A pure marketing stunt.
  70. CeeJ
    Jan 17, 2009
    6
    This game is really not all it is cracked up to be. Don't get me wrong, its a pretty good game. Its just not great. The game is short, the controls are at times awkward, the menu and map system also very clumsy and awkward. It is ridiculously easy and unsatisfying. This game does not contain the "open world" that it claims. For a very good RPG see Oblivion or Fallout 3.
  71. StevenH
    Jan 2, 2009
    6
    Well, first of all.... The game started off pretty welcoming, I was expecting alot more from Fable 1, but... I kinda expected the short story line, so that did not bother me. What did dissapoint me, was lack in armor, and the 1 second lag whenever you try to perform an action. Also the D-pad menu bar doesn't stay up, like in Fable 1. The dog is pretty cool, but makes findingWell, first of all.... The game started off pretty welcoming, I was expecting alot more from Fable 1, but... I kinda expected the short story line, so that did not bother me. What did dissapoint me, was lack in armor, and the 1 second lag whenever you try to perform an action. Also the D-pad menu bar doesn't stay up, like in Fable 1. The dog is pretty cool, but makes finding treasures very very easy. The impossibility to truly die on the game makes it tooo easy of a game. Plus, you can kill like 209742974 enemies easy. I like how you can turn safe mode on and off, that keeps you from messing up too much in town. There isn't a very big spell list on the game, and You can only use 1 spell at a time, because it takes too long to switch spells. Easy to fall in love/marry. Too easy, I thought the adult content to it was kinda funny, condoms? lol... but there could of been alot of work added to it. Found some glitches, like little kids talking, about the same thing... over, and over, and over.... Not very new monsters... I do like how your decisions change everything in the future for you. It isn't fun going to the menu every second for something, (the hotkey function in Fable1 isn't on this one for the D-pad use) kinda a pain in the .... I wish the dog would like, attack things, instead of bark. The co-op should of let the other player play as a real character rather then a henchman. There were less melee weapons this time, and no great sword either. Money is too easy to get. The leveling in abilities was kinda rediculous tho, first you get 1 level of a spell for 600, then later 2300, then later 12000? kinda a big jump eh? You will beat the game before your max in power, but you don't really need all that power to beat the game tho. (cuse you never really die) I was expecting a 9/10 with this game, but was dissapointed in a way. People rating this 10/10 must be crazy, and these people rating under 4 must be children with no sense. As much as I want to give this game a 10, it just isn't a 10 rating game. Hoping for a Fable 3 though, with... improvements due to everyone's responses... Also one more thing, the territory isn't very vast, and you really can't travel everywhere too much. I love the ability to jump off some ledges, but can't we get the ability to jump when we want? lol... hard to find RPGs where you can simply... jump... even kids jump. More monsters, less lagg, more armor, more weapons, more spells, more landscape to travel, more difficulty, more story, better co-op. Thanks! Expand
  72. HayleyW
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    I think Fable II is much better than the first! You have the choice to be a woman which makes it so much more interesting, and you have different and new exciting places to explore. I really enjoy it because its so magical and addictive. The new Fable also has more humour, and its great you have new expressions and can access them more easily. I think it was a really good idea that theyI think Fable II is much better than the first! You have the choice to be a woman which makes it so much more interesting, and you have different and new exciting places to explore. I really enjoy it because its so magical and addictive. The new Fable also has more humour, and its great you have new expressions and can access them more easily. I think it was a really good idea that they added in long-term quests like the Gargoyles, it gives you a great experience and makes you really enjoy it. Expand
  73. JohnK
    Jul 2, 2009
    9
    I always find the disparity between critic and user votes interesting, but this this the strangest example of it. The critics usually detract for the most minor drawbacks in the game while die-hard fans usually get past them with ease. That being said, this game was great. I didn't want it to end. Which is why I am surprised the user score is seemingly low.
  74. NicholasA
    Jan 15, 2010
    7
    This turn out the be a cool game at first but the only down thing about it is that once you are finished, there not much else to do. but this is a really good RPG
  75. QuincyS
    Nov 1, 2008
    1
    This game was horrible. I could cite all the reasons why it sucked, but this guy did it for me. I wrote a review of the game on a FFXI forum, and I found it funny that this gentleman saw all the same problems that I did, but even more accurately. http://www.nickhalstead.com/2008/10/29/10-reasons-why-fable-2-sucks/
  76. ChrisZ
    Nov 11, 2008
    4
    First off, I had very high expectations for this game. This was not a consequence of Lionhead's hype machine but rather because of how much fun I had playing Fable 1. Fable 1 really allowed the player to make choices in "Boasting" before a quest. Boasting allowed you to alter the difficulty of your quests by running around naked or weaponless or by requiring you to execute the First off, I had very high expectations for this game. This was not a consequence of Lionhead's hype machine but rather because of how much fun I had playing Fable 1. Fable 1 really allowed the player to make choices in "Boasting" before a quest. Boasting allowed you to alter the difficulty of your quests by running around naked or weaponless or by requiring you to execute the objectives of the quest flawlessly in exchange for additional experience and gold. The boasting feature really did add that extra ounce of replayability for the gamers who wanted to do a quest a different way for added challenge. With that said, Fable 2 is Fable 1 without the decision making that accompanied the boasting feature. Not once in Fable 2 was a decision difficult for me to make. There was exactly one part in the game where you can lose anything tangible to gameplay and that was at the very end of the game thereby negating any kind of consequnces for making that decision. The decisions you do make are practically already made for you depending on the alignment you choose. Being a mute hero, most, if not all, of the decisions you make are either 100% "good" or 100% "evil". There is very little gray area. When you tack on the rest of the gripesmy fellow reviewers have about this game: rediculous load times, repetitive quests, and absolutely 0 challenge... I cant say I have ever seen such a mess of a game. I must argue with those who say it is a good introduction to gaming to non-gamers. I started off with Mario 1 on the NES and random Atari games that were more difficult on LEVEL 1(!!!) than the entirety of Fable 2. Overall, more of the same but less of the substance. 4 Expand
  77. TimV
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Amazing visuals and sound. Mind-blowing scale of map and game quests. Seemingly limitless outcome possibilities. Ironically, the actual main storyline feels a bit detached from the overall game experience, and is perhaps a bit too underdeveloped, as most of the playing time is spent on addictive side quests and character development. Excellent combat action, easy to learn and use. Overall Amazing visuals and sound. Mind-blowing scale of map and game quests. Seemingly limitless outcome possibilities. Ironically, the actual main storyline feels a bit detached from the overall game experience, and is perhaps a bit too underdeveloped, as most of the playing time is spent on addictive side quests and character development. Excellent combat action, easy to learn and use. Overall a great game, with a great interface and thoughtful details, but I think will probably be less effective in multiplayer mode (disclaimer: haven't tried it or co-op mode yet) and therefore not a game you'll likely be playing more than a few weeks (i.e., once you've completed all quests). Expand
  78. ChrissyT
    Nov 12, 2008
    6
    Having enjoyed Fable1 on my 360 a year ago (bargain bin) I immediately picked up this sequel at launch. But so far I didn't get very far into the game. The game just doesn't manage to get me hooked, and that's probably due to some small annoyances and too much hype. First of all the whole thing with the real estate and family planning is just a gimmick like in the first Having enjoyed Fable1 on my 360 a year ago (bargain bin) I immediately picked up this sequel at launch. But so far I didn't get very far into the game. The game just doesn't manage to get me hooked, and that's probably due to some small annoyances and too much hype. First of all the whole thing with the real estate and family planning is just a gimmick like in the first game, but more elaborate. It doesn't really feel like you're doing anything usefull or fun, trying to get one o the onlookers to accept your engagement ring. It's just not rewarding. Neither are the minigames that make you money. Yes you'll get cash, but do I really want to sit through endless button mashing for that? I found a lack of a decent mapping system very annoying. You can only see a small area map in the menu, only shows your current 'zone'. There is no accessable world map. This means that it all depends on either trial and error OR flipping on the stupid light-up-trail OR the instant travel.Neither of these options are particulary fun. Maybe I just need to give the game a rest and try again in a month or so. Or maybe I'm just getting tired of RPGs. Expand
  79. emileb
    Nov 14, 2008
    6
    I wouldn
  80. VioletLove
    Nov 16, 2008
    8
    Fable 2 IS an extremely fun game to play, and the graphics are amazing. Many people see through all the good things of this game, only recoginzing the flaws of it and how it isn't what they expected it would be. If some people couldactually pay attention to the good parts of it than they would most likely love it. I do agree though, some parts of the game do confuse me and upset me. Fable 2 IS an extremely fun game to play, and the graphics are amazing. Many people see through all the good things of this game, only recoginzing the flaws of it and how it isn't what they expected it would be. If some people couldactually pay attention to the good parts of it than they would most likely love it. I do agree though, some parts of the game do confuse me and upset me. I had no idea how many glitches there were in this game and how badly they could affect your Xbox 360 system. I had only found this out while trying to solve the single glitch I had gotten so far-In the Love Hurts Quest When I try to give the man the lower body part he only stands there mindlessly- and I was completely gratefull that I hadn'tgotten the game ending glitches like the Rescuing Charlie quest. I do also agree that the game should have been released later and that they should of double checked for all the glitches, because for most people they are very annoying and ruin game experiance. It is blood boiling to know that they took years to make this game when it is below the standards of most Fable fans and that they had the longest time given to of looked for the flaws and they never took the time to fix them. Also, it was very short. Truthfully, it is the first game that I have ever truelly beaten by myself, without using cheats or making my brothers do part of it for me, which declares it as very easy. Another thing that bugs me is the lack of clothes and hairstyles in the game, and how I always seem to look fat when the fat level says zero and the fact that I have level 2 phisice ( or however you spell it ). They say that there is endless possiblities and that It would surprise them to see two different heros look the same when i highly disagree with that. I bet that if every player of Fable 2 posted how their character looked online there would be triplets and up for every perosn's character. I also wish that there was a map avalible in Fable 2, since the golden trail isn't always very dependent. After reading all the bad things about this game it is hard to give it an 8, but even through it's flaws I would most definetly choose it over Oblivion. It amazes me also that so many people think that Oblivion is better than Fable 2 by a landslide when I personally hate the graphics-the faces of the people in Oblivion look inhuman and the quests are a waste of time. I have never played the origanal Fable, and now I plan to soon. Lastly, it confuses me that they are may start working on Fable 3, even through all the negative comments. The strange thing is that even though Im confused, I still cant wait for it. Expand
  81. PatrickR.
    Nov 18, 2008
    3
    My main problem with fable 2 is that its more like an atempt at creating the game we were all promised with the first Fable. When the first came out i was anxious to play it and to get drawn into the "deep and ever changing world" that peter monylex promised me. I soon found out that i was lied to. Where i was promised unparralled freedom i found only shackles. what was promised to me in My main problem with fable 2 is that its more like an atempt at creating the game we were all promised with the first Fable. When the first came out i was anxious to play it and to get drawn into the "deep and ever changing world" that peter monylex promised me. I soon found out that i was lied to. Where i was promised unparralled freedom i found only shackles. what was promised to me in fable instead found its self in GTA: San Andreas. How is it that a game supposedly developed for this character growth and interaction is much better done in a game where it was an after thought? Fable 2 is simply the attempt to make the first game with all the promised content, accept they still couldnt fit it all in. Shame on Peter Monylex for 1) selling us an incomplete game years ago 2) trying to resell it to us in "completed form and 3) being arrogant enough to think we wouldnt notice. Expand
  82. ChristianC
    Nov 18, 2008
    7
    I never had the chance to play the first Fable, so instead of buying that game, I decided to wait and spend my money on the sequel. Now that a have it, I can say that I feel very disappointed. This game has very nice visual effects and music score, sometimes is fun and... well, that's were ends the goods. After a while the game becomes very tedious, the controls are slow and I never had the chance to play the first Fable, so instead of buying that game, I decided to wait and spend my money on the sequel. Now that a have it, I can say that I feel very disappointed. This game has very nice visual effects and music score, sometimes is fun and... well, that's were ends the goods. After a while the game becomes very tedious, the controls are slow and sometimes don't respond, menus are very slow also, you can't sort items and only one item can be use at a time, then you need to navigate through the slow menus again just to use another item... And the game is so easy... you name it: battles, money, experience, even sex and getting married!, everything in this game is so easy to do that it feels like "Action RPG for Dummies". Money is so easy to gain, just bought properties and rent them, and you forget about worrying for money. Battles are not deep, just [X] for melee attacks (repeat for extra moves), [Y] to shoot your weapons (keep pressed for manual aim) and [B] to use your magic (keep pressed for stronger magic, while the enemies are hitting you). Characters and general designs are just ugly... yes, that's the word, ugly. People are deformed, house and buildings are simple... it feels like a PS2 game with nice visuals running emulated in the XBOX 360. The only nice things in the game are the dawns & dusks over the water, and the lights through the forrest. And the worst thing in this game is the A.I., is so dumb... oh well, you've got the idea... The comments I read about the first Fable and the ADs and videos I watched showing how the sequel would be, I just got "hypnotized" expecting a fabulous game, instead, I have this over-hyped buggy-short-game that only deserves no more than a 7 of 10. Expand
  83. MB
    Nov 1, 2008
    7
    Flawed but overall a decent effort. Feels more like a Fable reimagined, with the hints to the previous game highlighting the lack of substantial changes. Note this is not an RPG. True depth isn't present with regards to customization but it is more of an Adventure game with RPG elements. Lionhead designed the game to be accessible to all, not just gamers. Hence the difficulty not Flawed but overall a decent effort. Feels more like a Fable reimagined, with the hints to the previous game highlighting the lack of substantial changes. Note this is not an RPG. True depth isn't present with regards to customization but it is more of an Adventure game with RPG elements. Lionhead designed the game to be accessible to all, not just gamers. Hence the difficulty not matching similar titles. Overall a decent addition to any gamers collection. Expand
  84. MayorM
    Nov 20, 2008
    3
    I really wanted to play this game. I don't mind that it's basically a button masher with lttle depth. If this game had actually workes, I would have given it at least a 7, probably higher. That being said, why does this game have so many bugs? It's ridiculous. And they are just little glitches; they're pretty game breaking. Whatever, I'll pray for a patch and I really wanted to play this game. I don't mind that it's basically a button masher with lttle depth. If this game had actually workes, I would have given it at least a 7, probably higher. That being said, why does this game have so many bugs? It's ridiculous. And they are just little glitches; they're pretty game breaking. Whatever, I'll pray for a patch and remember never to by another game from LH again. Expand
  85. TeemuH
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    My first game for Xbox 360, and damn, its very good! Gameplay is very good, it was confusing in the beginning but when you get used to it, it rocks! This game got very nice voice acting, musics and graphics too. Ok, they aren't any Crysis or something, but i absolutely love the environments and lights. I've played for about 50 hours now, played through with good once, now My first game for Xbox 360, and damn, its very good! Gameplay is very good, it was confusing in the beginning but when you get used to it, it rocks! This game got very nice voice acting, musics and graphics too. Ok, they aren't any Crysis or something, but i absolutely love the environments and lights. I've played for about 50 hours now, played through with good once, now I'm halfway through with bad. It's a lot different when you play bad, assassination quests and everything. Get this game if you like adventure games! Expand
  86. BennyH.
    Nov 30, 2008
    7
    Amazing graphics, awesome dog but not enough side quests, and not enough towns. Combat looks great and is pretty fun (lots of cool moves to learn) but is often very easy, especially considering you can't die. Storyline sucks balls, not enough clothing variety (though dyes are awesome) or kick ass legendary weapons, your kids don't grow up, there is no dynamic environmental Amazing graphics, awesome dog but not enough side quests, and not enough towns. Combat looks great and is pretty fun (lots of cool moves to learn) but is often very easy, especially considering you can't die. Storyline sucks balls, not enough clothing variety (though dyes are awesome) or kick ass legendary weapons, your kids don't grow up, there is no dynamic environmental morphing, instead environments only change as a result of conscious choices, as opposed to sub-conscious actions. Lack of cutscenes means the game has a different atmosphere to Fable 1, which is sad because the atmosphere in Fable 1 was one of the main things that made it stand out from other RPGs. The jobs are pretty cool, havent tried co-op yet but that looks good. The new spell system sucks. The guns rock. No fist fighting? WTF??? Where are the pub brawls and the utilisation of the environment during combat that i was expecting? Being a woman looks cool and there is a good replayability factor. Where is the fucking minimap? The breadcrumb trail is more constricting than the minimap because i always follow it sub-consciously! What a fucking frustrating game, moments of brilliance and moments of mediocrity vie for superiority. Ho hum. Expand
  87. EricB
    Nov 5, 2008
    5
    At most i'd say that this was a solid game; not incredibly good but at the same time not terrible. The main story line was a definite disappointment, took maybe 12 to 14 hours to beat and the ending was a total bummer. Gameplay was fun if your a straight up warrior type, just hack n' slash melee (which is fine with me cuase i'm not much of the caster type). Guns were a fun At most i'd say that this was a solid game; not incredibly good but at the same time not terrible. The main story line was a definite disappointment, took maybe 12 to 14 hours to beat and the ending was a total bummer. Gameplay was fun if your a straight up warrior type, just hack n' slash melee (which is fine with me cuase i'm not much of the caster type). Guns were a fun addition but not really a huge part of the experience because mobs run right up to u as soon as thier hit, and i never did manage to get a decapitation. After the main storyline theres a couple more quests to do and a lot of buying houses which, im not really sure how that is a quest but whatever. All in All, I think the first one was definitely better and I wouldn't really reccommend buying this game if you know someone who already has it. Just barrow it and play it for 2 days and you'll be done Expand
  88. RobertC
    Nov 5, 2008
    9
    It keeps enough of the positives of Fable and manages to add a few perks as well. While the gameplay is simplistic, it's still very smooth and a joy to use. And the dog has to be one of the cleverest game-perks on this generation. As I've told friends, this is a God game masquerading as an action-RPG, and I mean that in the best way possible. It is a game meant to be played It keeps enough of the positives of Fable and manages to add a few perks as well. While the gameplay is simplistic, it's still very smooth and a joy to use. And the dog has to be one of the cleverest game-perks on this generation. As I've told friends, this is a God game masquerading as an action-RPG, and I mean that in the best way possible. It is a game meant to be played multiple times with multiple results, and I look forward to each journey. Expand
  89. Beguiler
    Nov 6, 2008
    8
    I found this game to be fun and enjoyable but not as fulfilling as the original
  90. gabep
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    Looks like ps3 fanboys have messed up this great game score like gears of war 2, this game its exeptional,this is the best rpg that ive played on my life graphics are great, great storyline, fast-paced action and much more, a game that a 360 owner must have.
  91. TmanL.
    Nov 7, 2008
    4
    It's fun for sure. But for how long, and how fun were sad disappointments when compared to the first. I disagree with those who say this is better by a long shot. Namely because it has so many unrefined issues plaguing it from being as glorious as it could have been (especially after all the years Lionhead had to play with it) - I expected a whole lot more, and got a whole lot less. It's fun for sure. But for how long, and how fun were sad disappointments when compared to the first. I disagree with those who say this is better by a long shot. Namely because it has so many unrefined issues plaguing it from being as glorious as it could have been (especially after all the years Lionhead had to play with it) - I expected a whole lot more, and got a whole lot less. Game-stopping glitches, as well goofy glitches took away heavily from the charm (NPC Expand
  92. BryanF.
    Nov 7, 2008
    0
    Boring, no point, not something im buying when it comes out, i sent the disc to a friend even tho it was a present from my job.
  93. JonO
    Nov 8, 2008
    5
    I had been waiting ages to play this game and in the end it was just a load of hype. The game looks fantastic with brilliant backgrounds and excellent lighting but that is about it. The story line is poor and combat is boring and too easy. I loved the first Fable but this is an abomonation of a follow up.
  94. LeonardG.
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    I haven't been attracted to a game like this since Mario Galaxy. The world is beautiful, the characters are entertaining the designs are original, the acting is good. Most importantly, the game is FUN and addictive. With Fallout 3 sucking everyone else's time away, I may stick to Fable 2 for my entertainment for a while. This game is great. My only complaints are only minimal, I haven't been attracted to a game like this since Mario Galaxy. The world is beautiful, the characters are entertaining the designs are original, the acting is good. Most importantly, the game is FUN and addictive. With Fallout 3 sucking everyone else's time away, I may stick to Fable 2 for my entertainment for a while. This game is great. My only complaints are only minimal, if it could have had about 4 more months in the oven, it could be perfect. The interface needed a bit more work. After I got married, I felt more unsure of how to have sex than I did in real life the first time. I had the bed there, she "wants sex" but I just couldn't figure out how to perform. Didn't see it in the menus and the brief popup info at the top went away too quickly, but this is only minor. I LOVE this game! Expand
  95. MichaelA.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    No RPG ever made has been perfect (except arguably Chrono Trigger). This game comes the closest I've seen to perfection since the mid-late '90s. Mass Effect, while a good game, is currently rated a 91 on here. Two points above this work of art. That hopefully will not continue for much longer.
  96. ChapmanS.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    This game is everything you wanted Fable 1 to be and more. A very worthy sequel and very deep rewarding gameplay. If it wasn't for Little Big Planet this would probably be game of the year.
  97. DavidN.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    It takes a while the get the hang of it, but then it's just pure and plain OWNAGE! From the combat system to the traveling menus and online, not anything to complain of. There's just one "If only...." and it's the fact you can't local coop. Then you wonder if they'll make it in an update, then you shut up and continue playing fable.
  98. ChrissyT
    Dec 2, 2008
    6
    About 2 weeks ago I rated the game a 6, having only put a few hours into it and not feeling very compelled to continue playing.
    Yesterday I decided to continue playing. After playing what feels like only 1/3 through the game, I was treated to the end credits. I had heard about the '10 hours main quest' but to me it feels more like 5-7 hours. Seeing how the walkthroughs on
    About 2 weeks ago I rated the game a 6, having only put a few hours into it and not feeling very compelled to continue playing.
    Yesterday I decided to continue playing. After playing what feels like only 1/3 through the game, I was treated to the end credits. I had heard about the '10 hours main quest' but to me it feels more like 5-7 hours. Seeing how the walkthroughs on gamefaqs cover the main story in only a few pages, I was forced to accept that this indeed was all there is to Fable 2. I think you can count the total number of maps on 2 hands. Yes the location maps are quite big but there ant nearly as much of them as in Fable 1, and they are still mostly good looking but 'empty' environments.
    You can still continue playing the side quests, but there arent'y really a lot of those either, and most of them are rather short.
    So unless you fancy running around and digging for treasure or trying to get a truckload of wives or real estate which is all rather pointless, this game is not worth your money. Rent or buy used.
    Expand
  99. DigitalE.
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    Fable II is everything you wanted the first Fable to be. It's still on the short side, but there's much more reason to play this time after the game is over and replay since you can play as a girl or guy. A must purchase if you are a fan of the original!!!
  100. EdwardB.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    I've played just a few hours of it. Lionhead's goal with this game have really shown and have provent to be quiet effective. I found myself smiling when my dog just wouldn't leave and I actually grew very fond of the darn thing. I do feel like the childhood portion may have been too short, but it works outs. Even when it was said the hobbes used to be little children kind I've played just a few hours of it. Lionhead's goal with this game have really shown and have provent to be quiet effective. I found myself smiling when my dog just wouldn't leave and I actually grew very fond of the darn thing. I do feel like the childhood portion may have been too short, but it works outs. Even when it was said the hobbes used to be little children kind of saddened me. I think Peter Molyneux's vision of creating some emotional attachment to an otherwise imaginable place is successful. I look forward to progressing and seeing what decisions wait for me ahead, Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 95 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 95
  2. Negative: 0 out of 95
  1. Fable II is everything Molyneux promised the first time around. It's funny, deep, emotional, epic, and, yes, wildly charming. We are already eager for a second playthrough, and we're betting a lot of you will have exactly the same reaction. [Dec 2008, p.68]
  2. It’s a game that builds gradually and then becomes irresistible, a beautiful lump of an RPG that continues beyond the close of its main campaign, and will have you thinking about it when you’re not at your 360. [Dec 2008, p.79]
  3. The combat handles well, it’s visually stunning, the voice acting and musical score are brilliant, and the epic storyline doesn’t end before it begins (like the first game did). But the most appealing thing about it is that it delivers everything that Molyneux has promised, plus it is oozing with wit and charm - something sorely lacking from many games nowadays. At the end of the day, Fable II is a triumph and a must buy.