Fable II Xbox 360

Fable II Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 95 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2383 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set 500 years after the original, Fable II provides gamers with an epic story and innovative real-time gameplay, including a massive amount of freedom and choice to explore a vast collection of dungeons, catacombs and caves in the world of Albion. Fable II expands upon the scope and depth ofSet 500 years after the original, Fable II provides gamers with an epic story and innovative real-time gameplay, including a massive amount of freedom and choice to explore a vast collection of dungeons, catacombs and caves in the world of Albion. Fable II expands upon the scope and depth of the Xbox classic by adding incredible new features and creating a wider, more complex kingdom of limitless choices and consequences. Players have the option to play as a man or woman, get married, have children, and live a life of their own design. Revisit the sprawling world of Albion more than 500 years after the events of the original Fable, where you are free to explore the landscape and openly roam the countryside. For the right price every house, hut, dungeon and castle is for sale. Players can witness how the world grows and changes in response to their decisions in incredible and unique ways as they rediscover Albion as if for the first time. Fable II pioneers a new combat system designed to allow players to truly master hand weapons such as swords and maces, ranged combat weapons such as cross-bows and guns, and an entirely new magic system. These three disciplines, while very accessible, are also amazingly deep, and allow players to mix combat styles and become everything from master swordsman to skilled ranger to evil magic welder, utilizing a single button on the Xbox 360 controller. [Lionhead] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 95
  2. Negative: 0 out of 95
  1. 100
    Inclusive and often thought-provoking, this is a daring portrait of a game-world with all the failure cut out, and it's hard not to love a game that loves you so much in return. Fable II will charm you, thrill you, and leave you very, very happy.
  2. 95
    Invest in Albion, its inhabitants and its history; embrace the power you’re afforded to shape yourself and the world around you and Fable II is an astonishing achievement. It’s not an easily definable, singular vision but an impressive, unparalleled attempt at empowering the player in ways no other game has before.
  3. While the story isn’t very strong, the experience is full and very rewarding; it’s easy to lose hours doing trivial things and finding tucked away secrets. There’s a lot of interesting concepts within Fable II that make this a truly unique gaming experience. Albion is such a beautiful world that there’s no doubt you will want to see everything and visit the world often.
  4. games(TM)
    90
    Immerse yourself in its choices and the peerless beauty of the world that supports them, and it reveals a quality that cannot be detected through objective distance. This is a game you can love, and that’s at least as rare as perfection. [Dec 2008, p.122]
  5. Fable II is a game that should be enjoyed by gamers, no matter when they get a chance to play it, and it shouldn’t be taken for granted. There’s plenty of content, and even though the actual story is only ten to twelve hours long, there are dozens of more hours of content in the game on each play.
  6. While the story of Fable 2 is the weakest link in the game, the buffet of available extra features is sure to keep you salivating for quite some time.
  7. There's some innovation in the cooperative play and some interesting moments of aesthetics, storytelling, and decision-making; but for a game that plays like an RPG, there is surprisingly little sophistication in the implementation of character development, inventory, and NPC interactions.

See all 95 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 228
  1. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    A truley amazing game.. despite what most people say about it, its amazing so much to do it looks amazing and its awesome to play.. i think iA truley amazing game.. despite what most people say about it, its amazing so much to do it looks amazing and its awesome to play.. i think i put in 25+ hours and i would deff play it through again Expand
  2. Gregg
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game!! I have recently purchased the game and probably played only 6 hours. This is a hugely entertaining game and I Absolutely fantastic game!! I have recently purchased the game and probably played only 6 hours. This is a hugely entertaining game and I have spent the majority of this time working as a blacksmith and investing in property, Im actually rating myself as quite the property guru. Therein lies the beauty of this game; you can play it as you see fit. In fact my girlfriend is playing this game in a sims like manner, buying houses, decorating them, buying clothes, changing her apperance, getting married, having kids and accumalting a nice little fortune. All of the above mentioned is a small part in wonderfully diverse game. The overall atmosphere of the game is great, from the voice acting to the presentation of the cities and the landscape. Walking around bowerstone market is much like walking around a real-life market, you hear the cries of "sales", the gossiping between the ladies, the men and woman at their respective stores or stands pushing for sales; all of this is truly immersive and of course if you are well liked you will have followers or at least you will be greeted as walk from place to another. Obviously there are all the normal rpg elements such as levelling up, increasing the potency of weapons etc. Of course there is the main storyline to follow which I believe is quite an epic tale. There are so many variables in this game such as the way your apperance changes depending on your actions, either good or evil, corrupt or pure; you can also become fat which is defendant on the food you eat, there really is just so much to the game. All in all this a fantastic immeresive experience and as mentioned one in which you can play as you see fit.....bottom line; you cannot really ask more from an RPG. Well Done PM!! Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    This is my favorite of the series. Fable 2 improves on everything from the original and takes it into the next generation. Granted the endingThis is my favorite of the series. Fable 2 improves on everything from the original and takes it into the next generation. Granted the ending was a bit stupid and the most anti-climactic one I think I've ever experience, but even so the game as a whole just shines. Great story, fun combat pretty locations and some really witty dialogue. Although, I will comment that some of the character models, particularly women, are rather poorly designed at points.

    Overall:
    Fable 2 is, for me at least, the best fantasy game I have played on the the XBox 360 to date.
    Expand
  4. AndrewM.
    Oct 22, 2008
    8
    Really solid game. Huge improvement over the first Fable, which I didn't really enjoy too much. Still a bit on the short side, and has Really solid game. Huge improvement over the first Fable, which I didn't really enjoy too much. Still a bit on the short side, and has the all-too-familiar 75% finished feel to it as far as the storyline goes. I guess it means it's easy for them to sell us the expansion when it comes out. The combat felt awesome, although was really a bit too easy, which coming from me, indicates that it was far, far too easy. Property ownership is expanded and more worthwhile, and engagement with the other people in the world is a lot more interesting, although there's no real challenge to it. Fun, though. A prostitute offered me sex, so I married her instead. She lives in a caravan. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2011
    6
    Fable II is entertaining and, at least for a time, fun. The main quest line is very short, though, and the myriad side quests and "life"Fable II is entertaining and, at least for a time, fun. The main quest line is very short, though, and the myriad side quests and "life" elements that supposedly provide "hours and hours" of gameplay really aren't very much fun. Combat is really easy, and the proliferation of life phials means that even in the off chance that you do fall in battle, you're revived without consequence. Even if you DON'T have said life phial., you're resurrected with a negligible loss of experience and a scar somewhere on your body. Oh no, my video game character is scarred! Now I have to restart the whole game! The interface to switch between spells is also poorly constructed, making it nearly impossible to create a true mage. Ranged weapons are handy here and there, but the game is really geared toward the swordsman build. Overall, the RPG elements are lacking.

    But then, you're supposed to be able to spend hours "living the life" of the hero. Sure, you can get married. Multiple times, even. To a man and a woman, if you want. But who cares? You can get a job doing the same thing - chopping wood, pouring beer, banging a hammer on an anvil - over and over and over and over again. Woo-hoo. You can buy every single piece of property in the entire game world, if you have to patience to save up the money. You can watch your weight or get fat. You can get tattoos and haircuts, as well as change your clothes. But these are things I have to do in real life! I don't want to have to do them in a video game, too! Fable II is a mildly entertaining, quaint game that gets old after about 10 hours. Even for the obsessive compulsive completionist, this game will disappoint.
    Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2016
    5
    How this is a sequel to the first Fable, I'll never know.
    The Hero's guild is all but gone - there are no heroes left, no rival to grow up
    How this is a sequel to the first Fable, I'll never know.
    The Hero's guild is all but gone - there are no heroes left, no rival to grow up with and train - it's an unnecessary Player vs. the world concept, a world you are not part of. Though it was a decent game, the interaction with NPCs was hollowed out, the lore and books were boring and the fact that you use guns was a step in the wrong direction.
    Expand
  7. MeroAlhammadi
    Oct 26, 2008
    0
    I have never been so disappointed like this before, this game clearly over hyped there is just nothing next gen in it. The graphics seems likeI have never been so disappointed like this before, this game clearly over hyped there is just nothing next gen in it. The graphics seems like it is old Gen. even though the gameplay is cool. but Hey I paid for a next gen console where is my next gen games??? Expand

See all 228 User Reviews