Fable II Xbox 360

Fable II Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 95 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2415 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set 500 years after the original, Fable II provides gamers with an epic story and innovative real-time gameplay, including a massive amount of freedom and choice to explore a vast collection of dungeons, catacombs and caves in the world of Albion. Fable II expands upon the scope and depth ofSet 500 years after the original, Fable II provides gamers with an epic story and innovative real-time gameplay, including a massive amount of freedom and choice to explore a vast collection of dungeons, catacombs and caves in the world of Albion. Fable II expands upon the scope and depth of the Xbox classic by adding incredible new features and creating a wider, more complex kingdom of limitless choices and consequences. Players have the option to play as a man or woman, get married, have children, and live a life of their own design. Revisit the sprawling world of Albion more than 500 years after the events of the original Fable, where you are free to explore the landscape and openly roam the countryside. For the right price every house, hut, dungeon and castle is for sale. Players can witness how the world grows and changes in response to their decisions in incredible and unique ways as they rediscover Albion as if for the first time. Fable II pioneers a new combat system designed to allow players to truly master hand weapons such as swords and maces, ranged combat weapons such as cross-bows and guns, and an entirely new magic system. These three disciplines, while very accessible, are also amazingly deep, and allow players to mix combat styles and become everything from master swordsman to skilled ranger to evil magic welder, utilizing a single button on the Xbox 360 controller. [Lionhead] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 95
  2. Negative: 0 out of 95
  1. 100
    Inclusive and often thought-provoking, this is a daring portrait of a game-world with all the failure cut out, and it's hard not to love a game that loves you so much in return. Fable II will charm you, thrill you, and leave you very, very happy.
  2. 95
    Invest in Albion, its inhabitants and its history; embrace the power you’re afforded to shape yourself and the world around you and Fable II is an astonishing achievement. It’s not an easily definable, singular vision but an impressive, unparalleled attempt at empowering the player in ways no other game has before.
  3. While the story isn’t very strong, the experience is full and very rewarding; it’s easy to lose hours doing trivial things and finding tucked away secrets. There’s a lot of interesting concepts within Fable II that make this a truly unique gaming experience. Albion is such a beautiful world that there’s no doubt you will want to see everything and visit the world often.
  4. games(TM)
    90
    Immerse yourself in its choices and the peerless beauty of the world that supports them, and it reveals a quality that cannot be detected through objective distance. This is a game you can love, and that’s at least as rare as perfection. [Dec 2008, p.122]
  5. Fable II is a game that should be enjoyed by gamers, no matter when they get a chance to play it, and it shouldn’t be taken for granted. There’s plenty of content, and even though the actual story is only ten to twelve hours long, there are dozens of more hours of content in the game on each play.
  6. While the story of Fable 2 is the weakest link in the game, the buffet of available extra features is sure to keep you salivating for quite some time.
  7. There's some innovation in the cooperative play and some interesting moments of aesthetics, storytelling, and decision-making; but for a game that plays like an RPG, there is surprisingly little sophistication in the implementation of character development, inventory, and NPC interactions.

See all 95 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 229
  1. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    A truley amazing game.. despite what most people say about it, its amazing so much to do it looks amazing and its awesome to play.. i think iA truley amazing game.. despite what most people say about it, its amazing so much to do it looks amazing and its awesome to play.. i think i put in 25+ hours and i would deff play it through again Expand
  2. JamesB
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    I am surprised at the level of criticism this game is recieving and I am not sure what people are expecting, but I find it very frustrating I am surprised at the level of criticism this game is recieving and I am not sure what people are expecting, but I find it very frustrating that people give a 3 for a game that is quite obviously deserving of a higher mark. Now if you were to say IronMan then fair enough that is a 3! There is a lot of love that has been put into this game. The basic questing is relatively simple but it done in an intuative way. The game environments are excellent and engaging and I like the style they have used. Where as the game isn't necessarily unique it does what it does well. It is quite easy to explore and go off route and just appreciate the game for what it is. Honestly look at all the mainstream reviews and make up your own mind, but a thoroughly great game that deserves to be played. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    Let me tell you straight away, I don't fully understand why I enjoyed this game, it's far from perfect. The combat isn't that good, yourLet me tell you straight away, I don't fully understand why I enjoyed this game, it's far from perfect. The combat isn't that good, your characters face is weird looking, the story could be drastically improved, but I have still spent an unimaginably high amount of time playing this game, and I don't regret a damn thing (maybe I regret getting the DLC). I recommend this game, even if I don't really know why. Expand
  4. NathanG
    Oct 24, 2008
    8
    So far, so good! I'm really enjoying this game, but there are a few things that I don't like, and hold it back from being a truly So far, so good! I'm really enjoying this game, but there are a few things that I don't like, and hold it back from being a truly amazing rpg (like oblivion). They seemed to remove some of the cool things from fable 1 which bring the score down. For instance... where'd the combat multiplier go? I loved that bad boy! Now it just gives you bonus after each fight... thats no fun! Also, the GUI is slow and clunky. In fable 1 you could access your items by pressing UP on the d-pad... why did they get rid of that? All whining aside, this is a fun game and I look forward to exploring, adventuring, and playing it again and again, Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2014
    6
    This game is way too short. Several great ideas, like the ability to purchase properties to bring in a constant income, are negated becauseThis game is way too short. Several great ideas, like the ability to purchase properties to bring in a constant income, are negated because (a) the games too short for that to have a positive impact, and (b) at some point you won't know what to do with that excess money anyway!

    People talk about Fable's charm, and while I somewhat see that, sometimes it just boils down to fart jokes and constant flipping the bird. That's not charm folks; that's child's play.

    Combat is somewhat more enjoyable than the original, but that's not saying much. For a game that prides itself on choice, you really only have two impacting choices in the game: be good or be evil.

    The story if lackluster, which is typical of all Fable games. The characters are a little more interesting. It's just not enough to keep you hooked. I struggled to finish the game, which is terrible considering how short it is! Some of the mini-games are fun though.

    I'm not sure I'd recommend any Fable game, and after this one I didn't even try the third (although I hear it's more of the same). Look elsewhere for fun RPGs.
    Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2010
    5
    As much as I enjoyed Fable I it hurts for me to say that Fable II felt like a step back. The game barely even felt like an RPG. I enjoyedAs much as I enjoyed Fable I it hurts for me to say that Fable II felt like a step back. The game barely even felt like an RPG. I enjoyed romping through Albion, but in the end I play RPGs for stories in which I feel I had a great impact. I just did not come close to that with Fable II. It is it's over-simplified combat and black and white morality choices that break the experience for me. Not to mention that there are less weapons, clothes, and absolutely no armor in the game. Customizing my character's appearance was fun to me. Now it is reduced to a handful of outfits. Being able to change the clothing's color is nice, but its not a saving grace. The addition of a pet is a good idea, as are the job mini-games (but jobs get dull far too fast). In the end this game is just too shallow for me to find playing it to be worth the price of admission. Expand
  7. MeroAlhammadi
    Oct 26, 2008
    0
    I have never been so disappointed like this before, this game clearly over hyped there is just nothing next gen in it. The graphics seems likeI have never been so disappointed like this before, this game clearly over hyped there is just nothing next gen in it. The graphics seems like it is old Gen. even though the gameplay is cool. but Hey I paid for a next gen console where is my next gen games??? Expand

See all 229 User Reviews