Fable III Xbox 360


Generally favorable reviews - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
Buy On
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    Fable III is a good game, and in some ways it's a great one. But playing it, one can't help but wonder what it would be with better combat and a more thoughtful second half.
  2. Dec 19, 2010
    For all the game has got going for it, which is still a lot, Fable III is unable to transcend the sum of its parts and we're left to lament what could have been.
  3. Edge Magazine
    Dec 14, 2010
    In terms of quest interaction, there's simply not a great deal going on. Fable III largely gets away with it through sheer charm, and the infectious sense of fun in its detail. [Christmas 2010, p.80]
  4. Dec 14, 2010
    The gameplay throughout has taken a back seat to the titles aspirations, and since a good deal of those aspirations do not quite pan out an outright purchase cannot be recommended. Fans of the previous titles will want to give it a Saturday's rental, however, if for no other reason than try to bed-down a peasant girl and possibly contract something nasty (no joke).
  5. games(TM)
    Dec 14, 2010
    All of the areas where the game truly excels are exactly what we expect from the series - and from Lionhead as a studio - while its great leaps forward mostly fall flat and upset the balance of the whole. [Christmas 2010, p.90]
  6. Dec 14, 2010
    The Fable franchise has always been ambitious, promising big things and often failing to deliver. Unfortunately, Fable III suffers from the same plight, serving up a mediocre experience that's difficult to get excited over.
  7. Oct 26, 2010
    If the Albion lives its revolution in Fable III, that's certainly not the case for the Fable saga, which gets here an episode pleasant to go, but too close from its predecessor, at least in terms of its first and biggest part.
  8. Oct 25, 2010
    The main goal in this action RPG is to gather companions and then manage a kingdom. Lionhead has obviously wanted to simplify everything from Fable II, but the result is unnecessarily cumbersome and a lot of depth has been phased out in favor of ideas that does not feel particularly interesting. There is still a vibrant and atmospheric game world, and I had fun during the play through, but this could have been so much better with the right focus.
  9. Oct 27, 2010
    All the heroics of harder games without any of the fuss, and set in a place you've made your own.
  10. Jan 15, 2011
    Flaws in design and execution are even more obvious with this new game and, as usual, Lionhead fails to live up to the expectations.
  11. Dec 14, 2010
    The game plays like it should, and takes players across a variety of well-designed levels smattered with interesting characters and cheeky British humor. But a triumph for Albion it is not.
  12. Oct 26, 2010
    An aggravatingly poor sequel that insists on changing things that didn't need changing and refusing to fix those that did.
  13. Oct 26, 2010
    Too bad money is so ridiculously easy to accrue that Fable III's silly shift into a morality tale about the burden of the crown falls flat.
  14. Oct 25, 2010
    It's just the rough trimming around the edges, the ways that those grand elements could have been better realized and better conveyed to the player, that make this as frustrating a game as it is lovable.
  15. Oct 25, 2010
    Very disappointing. Lacking the sense of adventure of the previous games and making the most simple of elements more awkward and overdrawn, Fable III feels like a step back for the franchise. It's a shame because its narrative goals are truly outstanding and there's still a lot of simplistic roleplaying fun to be had. These positives are outweighed, however, by a downsized sense of scale, cumbersome attempts at innovation, and a total neglect when it comes to fixing some important problems.
  16. Dec 19, 2010
    Fable III attempts to radically reinvent the franchise, a reinvention that fans neither wanted nor asked for. Instead of following on the success of the previous entries, Fable III tries to be something other than it is, but I don't think the developers were even sure what this is supposed to be.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 602 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 168
  2. Negative: 41 out of 168
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    It's been interesting to see how critics respond to the latest iteration of a well known game franchise over the course of this year. With soIt's been interesting to see how critics respond to the latest iteration of a well known game franchise over the course of this year. With so many top-notch titles the market itself has felt more than saturated with grade-A content. This is far from a bad thing for us gamers. Quite the opposite as it marks a new step in gaming where we aren't overstocked on too much random IP and have a plethora of games to choose from.

    The drawback has been in the way games have been received and the strange ambiguity that game critics have put forth of late. It's been a neverending series of "damned-if-you-do-damned-if-you-don't" reviews that seem to be in constant conflict with other games. When a game like Fable III hits the shelves you'll see critics lauding the game as a triumph for its hilarity, size and willingness to change the mold, and yet another game will be crushed for doing the same. What do we as players want? The same game again? Do we want it to change? The difference in this perspective is causing critics to appear extremely random in their desires. The frustration of this all is knowing that yet another by-the-numbers FPS will be out here shortly that will roll in praise for no solid reason. We, as gamers, deserve better than that. As a result I urge you to enjoy the title for yourself and ignore negative reviews for this game because after several hours (all night) I can stamp it with a seal of greatness.

    Fable III has what I will call the Star Wars: The Force Unleashed syndrome. By that I mean you'll have harsh critical bile spewed over changes in the franchise and yet the fans will flock to it because it has a certain charm that just can't be labeled. The humor of the game is as hilarious as it's ever been and yet there are moments of true human drama that should tug at you emotionally. The games engine feels slightly dated at times, but it's never a drawback and might be considered a perk to veterans of the series. The story can feel slightly contrived at times, but there are twists to be found that make it worthwhile. It's difficult to discuss without spoilers but suffice it to say that the story is far more engaging than the so far more critically appraised Fable II.

    Everything is improved in every way. From the graphics to the story to the humor to your dog there is nothing that hasn't seen a step up in the series. Enjoy it for yourself and take the game in the lighthearted fashion it is meant to be played. If you don't you will miss out on one of this years top must play games.
    Full Review »
  2. xxx
    Nov 1, 2010
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. As a long-time player of both Fable and Fable 2, I wanted to like Fable 3, i really did. So much so, that i initially dismissed the many issues including the alarmingly prevalent technical problems and the lack of any combat complexity or difficulty. What starts out as the familiarly monty-python-esque fable adventure, and devolves into an experience as devoid of life and meaning as (if not more so than) your 'end'-game foe. But it's not all doom-and-gloom, fable 3 does have its well-crafted episodes. Like previous installments, side-quests are delightfully cheeky and loads of fun. I found myself laughing--out loud!--at the witty dialogue and situations in one quest where you became part of a D&D style, board game adventure. Many of the rare books you find have great excepts read to you in-game which really speak volumes (forgive me) about the creative writing found throughout the fable franchise. And what good would great writing be without great voice-acting? Michael Fassbender, Stephen Fry and the legendary John Cleese do not disappoint. And for those who appreciate aesthetics and atmosphere, Fable 3 looks great and has a fitting soundtrack (though not as inspired as the previous two installments). These attributes, though excellent, were a polish meant to blind us from its rusty, disfigured core. Bugs. Too many to chalk up to the needlessly pandering "it's just an early version all games have bugs-golly gee, that's what patches are for!" excuse we (fans) use too often. As stated in some reviews, there were not only frustrating glitches, but game-ending ones as well. Frustrating, i can live with; game ending...that is just embarrassing (and EVIL!). I personally did not experience the worst glitches, but i guess i was lucky. It's not the hardest game either. Most of us realize though that it is fable, and not Mike Tyson's Punch-Out, Ninja Gaiden Black, or playing Starcraft on Korean servers. At least in fable 2 you could have fun casting more than two spells in one battle and PRETENDING like you were about to die-err, get 'knocked out'. Although the animated executions of bad guys are fun, fighting ends up being more chore than it was in fable 2. Not to mention the reward is most often only guild seals. Guild Seals, spent on the road to rule, are experience points. The concept of Guild Seals and the Road to Rule is terrific-for another game. When you get to the bottom of it, it's partially for aesthetics (it looks good), and partially about balancing it and keeping you from becoming too strong. For fable, becoming too strong too fast is as silly as the grunting noises made when shaking hands with an NPC. Not to mention the choices given in the Road to Rule are extremely limiting and more than half of them don't do anything meaningful. If you've played it already, I'm sure you skipped most everything but the combat upgrades, adding to the superfluity of combat. Why not put in more chests, with harder choices associated with them? Why not make you choose between level 3 weapons, a legendary hammer, and a super cool-looking set of armor? Or a chest with lots of cash in it? Or the title to Reaver's Mansion? How about SOMETHING BESIDES DYES? The 'end' of Fable 2 was brilliant. If you haven't played it, stop reading this and do so. Fable 3 developers should have realized a good thing when they had it. Instead, as king (the big selling point of the game) you are relegated to essentially being the CFO of Albion-when you should be out in fantastic realms killing fantastic creatures to come and display in your fantastic castle where everyone can admire just how fantastic you are (it is also far too easy to end the game before you want it to-no warning at all). I was affected by the end decision in Fable 2-it was a hard one to make because you were only guaranteed one option...not 2 or all 3. Now, you can have you cake and eat it too (or eat your cake and have it too) with ease through owning property. Instead of every choice being having people hate you or love you, why not make it more meaningful? Like giving you the same choices Logan had you make in the beginning (albeit with actual consequences). Maybe having time only to save the Aurorans from certain death by whatever, or your castle staff and guards who will die without an antidote to cure whatever and then actually getting to go physically carry out your decision instead of having Reaver talk to you about what he did. Because the choices are based upon your wealth, and becoming wealthy is about as easy as combat, there really isn't a choice at all. And because there isn't a choice, there isn't any real interest, any real attachment at all aside from appearances. Which is really all Fable 3 amounts to. It's just sugar coated; the you longer lick it, the more it starts to melt away until you're left with such a prickly mess , you'll never want to taste the sugar again. Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    I was having a great time with this game until the glitches started ruining the game. I reloaded a 2 hour old save twice to try and get past aI was having a great time with this game until the glitches started ruining the game. I reloaded a 2 hour old save twice to try and get past a specific point but it always screws up. There's an enemy in the room that has to be defeated before you can continue, and you can hear him, but he isn't there. I tried using Aoe magic in all the corners, even tried to go back, so my game can't be finished. I like the game otherwise but this is absolutely retarded. How can a game be released with so many issues? Did they take a page out of infinity ward and not even test the game before it was launched? Full Review »